Skip to main content
نسرين جابر بجانب صورة أخيها محمد والذي لم تره منذ العام 2016. تصوير: ألفت الكرد، بتسيلم 2.5.2019
Menu
المواضيع

"بدأت أنسى ملامح أخي": إسرائيل تواصل التطرّف في تشديد القيود على زيارات ذوي الأسرى من قطاع غزة في السجون الإسرائيلية

تفيد المعطيات من نهاية شهر نيسان 2019 أنّ إسرائيل تحتجز 5,152 أسيرًا ومعتقلًا فلسطينيًّا (فيما يلي: الأسرى) معرّفين كـ"أمنيّين". يقبع معظم هؤلاء الأسرى في سجون داخل الحدود السياديّة لدولة إسرائيل وهي تستغلّ هذا الأمر لكي تفرض على زيارات عائلاتهم لديهم قيودًا متطرّفة في تشدّدها. هكذا بالإضافة إلى تقييد عدد الزوّار ووتيرة الزيارات ومنذ تمّوز 2017 تمنع إسرائيل الزيارة على الإطلاق عن 1,329 أسيرًا معرّفين كأسرى حماس قلّة منهم من قطاع غزة ومعظمهم من الضفة. تفعل إسرائيل ذلك بهدف الضغط على حماس لكي تعيد أبراهام منجيستو وهشام السيّد المحتجزين لدى التنظيم وكذا جثماني الجنديّين أورون شاؤول وهدار جولدين. تنقطع العلاقة تمامًا بين الأسير وأسرته لأنّ إسرائيل تمنع الأسرى "الأمنيّين" أيضًا من إجراء محادثات هاتفيّة.

في الحالات التي تتاح فيها زيارات الأسرى - التي ينظّمها الصّليب الأحمر - لا تخلو أيّة زيارة من مشقّات السفر. يبدأ السّفر قبل طلوع الفجر وينتهي في ساعات المساء. الزيارة نفسها قصيرة ولا تمتدّ سوى 45 دقيقة أو ساعة في الحدّ الأقصى وفي أثنائها يفصل بين الأسير وزائريه حاجز زجاجيّ ويتحدّث الطرفان معًا بواسطة جهاز هاتف داخليّ.

من بين الأسرى الذين تحتجزهم إسرائيل هناك 303 أسرى من سكّان قطاع غزّة تُخضعهم إسرائيل لقيود أكثر وأكثر تشدّدًا, ثلاثة منهم قاصرون تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16-18 عامًا. بعض هؤلاء الأسرى جرى اعتقالهم قبل تطبيق "خطّة الانفصال" في 2005 وبعضهم بعد ذلك. إضافة إلى ذلك تحتجز إسرائيل 15 فلسطينيًّا من سكّان القطاع جرّاء مكوثهم غير القانونيّ في إسرائيل وتعتبرهم سجناء "جنائيّين".

وهكذا وفي عام 2007 منعت إسرائيل زيارة عائلات الأسرى من قطاع غزة. ابتداءً من عام 2012 سمحت بالزيارات ولكن تحت تقييدات شديدة الصرامة. تحدد إسرائيل هوية الزائرين المسموحة بوالدي الأسير وزوجاتهم وأبنائهم حتى سن 16 عامًا فقط وتسمح لهم بزيارة واحدة فقط كلّ شهرين (بدلًا من زيارة كلّ شهر كما في حالة الأسرى من الضفة الغربية). ولا تسمح إسرائيل لإخوة وأخوات الأسرى بالزيارة سوى في حالة وفاة الوالدين أو إصابتهما بمرض عضال إذا كان الأسير أعزبًا. وفي هذه الحالة يُسمح لهم بالزيارة فقط مرّة كلّ ستّة أشهر بناءً على تنسيق خاصّ وبعد تقديم تقارير طبّية - هذا إذا لم تعرّفهم إسرائيل "ممنوعون أمنيًّا" وهو تعريف تطبّقه بشكل تعسّفيّ ولا يمكن الاعتراض عليه.

تحدّث إخوة وأخوات أسرًى من قطاع غزة في إفادات أدلوا بها أمام باحثي بتسيلم الميدانيّين عن المصاعب التي يعانونها جرّاء حرمانهم من رؤية إخوتهم:

نسرين جابر (43 عامًا) عزباء من سكّان مدينة غزّة وتعمل مربّية رياض أطفالوهي شقيقة الأسير محمد جابر (38 عامًا) الذي اعتُقل في عام 2003 وحُكم عليه بالسّجن 18 عامًا يقضيها في سجل "إيشل" في بئر السبع. منذ تجديد السماح بالزيارات في 2012 رأت نسرين شقيقها مرّتين فقط. قبل عشر سنوات توفّي الوالد أمّا الوالدة فلا تستطيع زيارة ولدها منذ بداية عام 2016 بسبب وضعها الصحّي. إثر ذلك ومنذ عام 2016 قدّمت نسرين وشقيقتها نور (26 عامًا) أكثر من 10 طلبات لزيارة شقيقهما ولم تحصلا على موافقة سوى مرّتين. في إفادة أدلت بها يوم 2.5.19 أمام باحثة بتسيلم الميدانيّة ألفت الكرد قالت نسرين جابر:

نسرين جابر. تصوير: ألفت الكرد, بتسيلم, 2.5.19

اعتُقل محمد في عام 2003 وكانت إسرائيل حينئذٍ تسمح لنا بزيارته. كانت زيارتي الأولى مع الوالدين في عام 2004 ثمّ زرته في 2005. وبسبب تقييد عدد الزائرين لم أذهب من بعد ذلك حيث أخذ والداي معهما نور وأحمد أخويّ الأصغر منّي. منذ عام 2007 منعت إسرائيل الزيارات كلّيًّا. منذ خمس سنوات تقريبًا لم يذهب أحد منّا لزيارة محمّد.

توفّي والدي في عام 2009 في تلك الفترة كان ممنوعًا علينا جميعا زيارته أي أنّه فارق الحياة دون أن يتمكّن من زيارة محمد ورؤيته. هذا الأمر ضاعف بالنسبة لنا مأساة وفاة والدي. لقد كان فترة عصيبة جدًّا,

في عام 2012 جدّدت إسرائيل السماح لعائلات الأسرى بزيارتهم ولكنّها استثنت من ذلك الإخوة والأخوات. كان من الصعب جدًّا تقبّل هذا الأمر. كانت حاتلي النفسية سيئة بسبب هذا القرار. في تلك السنة كانت والدتي تسافر وحدها لزيارة محمد ورغم أنّها امرأة مسنّة ومريضة لم يسمحوا لنا بمرافقتها. كانت والدتي تعود منهكة من الزيارة وترقد مريضة في الفراش طيلة أسبوع. ما يصعّب عليها الزيارة بشكل خاصّ أنّ سجن بئر السّبع فيه أدراج كثيرة ويجب أيضًا السّير لمسافات طويلة. لكنّ هذه المصاعب لم تثن والدتي عن زيارة محمد.

في بداية عام 2016 قدّمت والدتي تقارير طبّية إلى إدارة السجن عن طريق الصليب الأحمر لكي يسمحوا لي ولشقيقتي نور بالزيارة. اختارت والدتي أن نستبدلها نحن البنات لا إخوتي الشباب لأنّها كان تعلم أنّ الموافقة على طلبها ستكون أسهل. أوضحت لها السلطات الإسرائيلية أنه لا يمكنها زيارة ولدها طالما نور وأنا نزوره ووافقت والدتي على ذلك.

منذ بداية عام 2016 تسجّلت للزيارة أنا ونور لدى الصّليب الأحمر سبع مرّات وفي كلّ مرّة كانت إسرائيل ترفض طلبنا "لأسباب أمنيّة". فجأة في تمّوز 2017 اتّصلوا بنا من الصّليب الأحمر وقالوا إنّ هناك موافقة على طلبنا. كانت سعادتي لا توصف حين أبلغونا بذلك. لم أغفُ في تلك الليلة لشدّة فرحتي وانفعالي من اقتراب لقائي مع أخي الذي لم أرَه منذ 11 سنة.

كان الزيارة صعبة بالنسبة إليّ كما بالنسبة لأهالي الأسرى الآخرين. إدارة سجن بئر السّبع تجري على الزّائرين تفتيشات دقيقة جدًّا ومحرجة. إنّهم يفتّشون حتى الملابس الداخليّة. كذلك يوم الزيارة طويل ومضنٍ وهذا كلّه لأجل لقاء مدّته 45 دقيقة لا أكثر. تحمّلت كلّ هذا العذاب لأنّني أردت رؤية أخي محمد مهما كانت الظروف.

عندما رأيت محمد يأتي برفقة السجّان قلت للسجّان أنّني أريد أن أمسك بيد أخي ولكنّه رفض ولم يسمح لنا. صرنا نبكي ونصرخ أنا ونور.

كنت سعيدة لرؤيته. كان محمد قد أصيب بأزمة قلبيّة بعد أن سمع أنّ أبانا توفّي لكنّه في هذه الزيارة حدّثني أنّه منذ ذلك الحين يعاني مشاكل في الرؤية خاصّة في عينه اليسرى. قال لنا إنّهم لا يقدّمون لهم العلاج الطبّي في السّجن وأنّه إذا تألّم يقدّمون لهم الأكامول فقط. انقضت الزيارة بسرعة ولم أشعر كيف مرّ الوقت من فرط سعادتي رغم أنّني لم أتمكّن من معانقته ولمس يديه وتقبيله. عدت من الزيارة مسرورة جدًّا ولكن متعبة ومرهقة.

بعد نصف سنة قدّمنا طلبًا آخر لي ولنور لزيارة كانت محدّدة ليوم 10.3.18. وافقوا على الطلب وفرحنا جدًّا بذلك ولكن عندما التقينا محمد حدّثنا أنّه تقريبًا فقد قدرته على الإبصار بعينه اليسرى وأوصانا ألّا نخبر والدتي بذلك. أنا أيضًا لا أدري كيف يمكنني إخبارها بمثل هذا الأمر.

بعد هذه الزيارة قدّمت عدّة طلبات لكنّهم في كلّ مرّة كانوا يرفضون الطلب. إنّني أحسّ بغياب أخي محمّد في جميع المناسبات - في الأعياد وفي الأعراس والآن على وجه الخصوص لأنّنا نقترب من شهر رمضان. لكنّ غيابه أكثر ما كان محسوسًا في يوم وفاة والدي وفي عرسَي شقيقيّ رامي وفادي. لم نشعر بالفرح في ذلك اليوم لأنّ محمد لم يكن معنا. آمل أن يفرج عنه قريبًا. لم نره أنا ونور منذ سنة وشهرين. في الصّليب الأحمر يقولون لنا في كلّ مرّة إنّ طلبنا قد رُفض وهم لا يعلمون ما السّبب. ليتهم يوافقون ويسمحوا لي بزيارة محمد فأنا قلقة جدًّا على صحّته وأشتاق له طوال الوقت. أرغب في معانقته ولمسه. محمد لا يغيب عن بالي ولو للحظة.

محمد الآغا (38 عامًا) من سكّان مدينة غزة وهو أعزب وعاطل عن العمل. قضى محمد 12 سنة في السّجن كان في السنتين الأخيرتين ونيف منها سجينًا مع أخيه ضياء (45 عامًا). منذ الإفراج عنه في عام 2015 لم ير محمد أخاه حيث تُمنع عن الأسرى زيارات الإخوة والأخوات. في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 25.4.19 أمام باحث بتسيلم الميداني محمد صباح حدّث عن الوضع اليوم:

محمد الآغا. تصوير: محمد صباح, بتسيلم, 28.4.19

تحرّرت من السّجن بعد سنوات من الشوق لإخوتي لأنّه لم يكن يُسمح لهم بزيارتي حتى قبل عام 2007. في كلّ فترة سجني لم يزرني أحد غير والدتي وبين السنوات 2007-2012 حتى هي لم يُسمح لها بزيارتي بعد منع الزيارات تمامًا. في عام 2013 نقلوني إلى سجن نفحة وهناك التقيت أخي ضياء المسجون منذ عام 1992. كنّا معًا أكثر من سنتين وقد زارتنا والدتي عدّة مرّات في السّجن نفسه. منذ الإفراج عنّي في عام 2015 لم أره لأنّ إسرائيل تمنع عن الأسرى زيارات الإخوة والأخوات.

بقيّة إخوتي لم يروا ضياء منذ 27 عامًا أي منذ اعتقاله. هو لا يعرف أيًّا منهم لأنّهم ممنوعون من زيارته. أنا على الأقلّ رأيته في السّجن وجلست معه وتحدّثنا سويّة. لفترة معيّنة كنّا مسجونين في الغرفة نفسها حتى. أشتاق إليه كثيرًا أرغب برؤيته ومجالسته وتبادل الحديث معه عن كلّ شيء يحدث في مجتمعنا وفي العائلة. أريد أن أراه ولو لبضع ساعات لكي أطمئنّ عليه بدل القلق الذي ينتابني باستمرار.

آمال أبو عيدة (47 عامًا) متزوّجة وأمّ لستّة أولاد وربّة منزل من سكّان مخيّم جباليا للّاجئين لم تر أخاها محمد أبو عيدة (40 عامًا) منذ 12 عامًا تقريبًا. اعتُقل محمد في عام 2005 وكان أفراد أسرته يزورونه حتى عام 2007 ثمّ منعت السلطات الإسرائيليّة زيارات ذوي أسرى قطاع غزة. والدة آمال ومحمد توفّيت بضعة أشهر قبل تجديد الزيارات في عام 2012 وزوجة محمد تعيش في الإمارات العربيّة المتّحدة أمّا الوالد فقد توفّي منذ سنوات. في إفادة أدلت بها آمال أبو عيدة يوم 23.4.19 أمام باحثة بتسيلم الميدانيّة ألفت الكرد، حدّثت عن أشواقها الحارّة لأخيها:

 

آمال أبو عيدة . تصوير: ألفت الكرد, بتسيلم, 23.4.19

صُدمت حين اعتُقل محمد. سكن محمّد وعمل في الإمارات مدّة خمس سنوات وقد تزوّج هناك. اعتقلوه في معبر رفح عندما أتى في زيارة للقطاع. أبلغنا الصّليب الأحمر أنّه موجود في سجن عسقلان وحصلنا في تلك الفترة على تصريح دخول لزيارته مرّة كلّ أسبوعين. كانت ظروف الزيارة في تلك الأيّام أفضل بكثير من اليوم. في عام 2007 منعونا من زيارته. مضت خمس سنوات تقريبًا لم نزر فيها محمد بتاتًا وكانت هذه فترة صعبة وقاسية جدًّا. كنّا قلقين عليه. في عام 2007 توفّي أخي جهاد. وفي عام 2012 قبل بضعة أشهر من تجديد الزيارات توفّيت والدتي. كان هذا مصابًا أليمًا للعائلة. كان وضعنا سيئًا للغاية.

منذ تجديد الزيارات سمحوا فقط لولاء زوجة محمد بزيارته. لكنّ ولاء تسكن في الإمارات عند أهلها. عندما تأتي إلى القطاع تقدّم طلبًا لزيارة زوجها في السّجن. قبل سنتين ولدت ابنًا بعد أن حملت من نطفة مهرّبة من السجن. منذ عام 2005 زارته 5-6 مرّات تقريبًا.

في عام 2018 قدّمنا - أنا وشقيقتاي نوال ومها - طلبات لزيارة محمد في السّجن لأنّ زوجته ليست موجودة هنا. وافقوا فقط على طلب مها وقد ذهبت وزارته في شهر حزيران. فرحنا جدًّا بذلك لأنّ هذه الزيارة طمأنتنا عليه. بعد ذلك قدّمنا طلبات أخرى لزيارته ولكنّهم في هذه المرّة رفضونا جميعًا. لم يوافقوا حتى على طلب مها رغم أنّهم سمحوا لها من قبل. أنا لم أره منذ 12 سنة. بدأت أنسى ملامح وجهه. نحن نرسل له نقودًا مع عائلات الأسرى من غزة. حاولت إرسال ملابس أيضًا لكنّهم لم يوافقوا على إدخالها.

أنا أتذكّره طوال الوقت خاصّة في المناسبات العائليّة. توفّيت والدتي ولم تره في آخر 5 سنوات من حياتها. وهي على فراش الموت كانت تناديه "أنا أموت يا محمد أريد أن أراك". كنّا نبكي عليها وعليه. كانت وفاتها صدمة قاسية لنا لأنّها توفّيت وفي قلبها حسرة وشوق لرؤية محمد. نفتقد محمد كثيرًا في المناسبات السعيدة أيضًا. تزوّج أخي محمود في عام 2010. كم وددت لو أنّ محمد كان معنا وشاركنا فرحتنا. قبل خمس سنوات زوّجتُ ابنتي فاطمة وفي هذه المناسبة أيضًا افتقدته كثيرًا.

كان محمد محبوبًا لدى الجميع. أنا أحبّه كثيرًا. كان يأتي لزيارتنا ويلعب مع أولادي ويدلّلهم. كان يحبّ أولادي كثيرًا وهم يحبّون خالهم جدًّا. كم أشتاق لرؤيته. أتمنى أن يكون بخير وعافية. سوف يتحرّر من السّجن ويعود إليّ وللعائلة جميعها إن شاء الله.

مازن العيلة (46 عامًا) متزوّج وأب لستّة أولاد وهو عاطل عن العمل من سكّان مدينة غزّة. لم ير أخاه رامي (40 عامًا) منذ 11 عامًا. والدة وزوجة رامي - المسجون في سجن نفحة - تزورانه مرّة كلّ شهرين. ابنه محمد زاره إلى أن بلغ الـ16 من عمره مؤخّرًا. في إفادة أدلى بها في 24.4.19 أمام باحث بتسيلم الميداني محمد صباح، قال مازن العيلة:

مازن العيلة . تصوير: محمد صباح, بتسيلم, 24.4.19

منذ أن اعتُقل رامي في عام 2008 لم نره أنا وأخي وأخواتي الأربع. تذهب والدتي وزوجته لزيارته مرّة كلّ شهرين تقريبًا. وكان ابنه محمد يزوره معهما إلى ما قبل وقت قصير حتى بلغ سنّ الـ16. كلّما قدّمنا بواسطة الصليب الأحمر طلبًا للزيارة أجابنا الطرف الإسرائيلي بأنّ زيارات الإخوة والأخوات ممنوعة.

منذ أن اعتُقل وأنا في انتظار أن أزوره. مرّت 11 سنة ولم أره بتاتًا. كنّا مقرّبين جدًّا وأنا أشتاق له كثيرًا. لم يكن رامي أخي وحسب بل كان صديقي أيضًا. أشتاق للجلوس معه وقضاء الوقت سويّة. أفتقده طوال الوقت. عندما تعود والدتي من زيارة رامي في السّجن تقول لي دائمًا "كان يسأل عنك كلّ الوقت". وهو يقول لها إنّه يشتاق كثيرًا لإخوته ويتمنّى لو يتمكّنوا من زيارته لنلتقي مثلما بقيّة الإخوة في العالم.

Skip to main content
Nisrin Jaber with a photo of her brother Muhammad; she hasn’t seen him since 2016. Photo by Olfat al-Kurd, B’Tselem, 2 May 2019
Menu
Topics

“I’m starting to forget what my brother looks like”: Israel still imposing harsh restrictions on Gazans wishing to visit relatives imprisoned in Israel

At the end of April 2019, Israel had in custody 5,152 prisoners and detainees (hereafter: prisoners) who are being held on what it terms “security” grounds. Most are incarcerated in prison facilities within Israel’s sovereign territory. The state exploits this fact to severely restrict family visits to Palestinian prisoners. In addition to limiting the number of visitors and the frequency of visits, since July 2017 Israel has also banned all visits to 1,329 Hamas-affiliated, most of whom are from the West Bank and some from Gaza. The declared purpose of this ban is to pressure Hamas into returning the Israeli civilians Avera Mengistu and Hisham a-Sayed it is holding captive and the bodies of soldiers Oron Shaul and Hadar Goldin. As “security” prisoners are not allowed to use phones, this restriction makes it impossible for them to maintain any form of contact with their families.

Even when families are permitted to make prison visits, the journey – organized by the Red Cross – is exhausting and long, leaving home before dawn and returning late in the evening. During the visits, which last only 45-60 minutes, the prisoners are kept apart from their visitors by a glass partition and communicate with them via a prison phone line.

Among the Palestinians incarcerated in Israel are 303 residents of Gaza, who are subjected to even harsher restrictions on visits. Some were arrested before the Israeli withdrawal from Gaza in 2005, under the Disengagement Plan, and some after. Three are minors between the ages of 16 and 18. In addition, 15 Palestinians from Gaza who are being held for illegally entering Israel are defined “criminal” prisoners.

In 2007, Israel issued a complete ban on family visits to prisoners from Gaza. As of 2012, it has been allowing visits, but subject to draconian limitations. Among other things, only the parents, spouses and children - under 16 - of prisoners are allowed to visit. They are allowed to make visits only once every two months, as opposed to once a month for prisoners from the West Bank. Siblings are permitted to visit only if their parents are deceased or gravely ill and if the prisoner is unmarried. Even then, visits are allowed only once every six months, subject to special coordination and submitting medical records, and only if the visitors are not defined as “barred entry into Israel for security reasons” - an arbitrary definition that cannot be appealed.

In testimonies given to B’Tselem field researchers, men and women from Gaza who have relatives imprisoned in Israel described the pain of being kept from meeting their loves ones:

Nisrin Jaber, 43, is a preschool teacher. She is unmarried and lives in Gaza City. She. Her brother, Muhammad Jaber, 38, was arrested in 2003 and sentenced to 18 years in prison, which he is serving in Eshel Prison in Beersheba, Israel. Since family visits were reinstated in 2012, Jaber has seen her brother only twice. Their father passed away about ten years ago, and their mother has been unable to visit her son since 2016 due to failing health. Nisrin and her sister Nur, 26, have submitted more than 10 requests to visit their brother since 2016. Only two were approved. In a testimony she gave B’Tselem field researcher Olfat al-Kurd on 2 May 2019, Nisrin stated:

Nisrin Jaber. Photo by Olfat al-Kurd,B'Tselem, 2 May 2019

Muhammad was arrested in 2003 and, at that time, Israel allowed us to visit him in prison. I first visited him with my parents in 2004, and again in 2005. Because the number of visitors is restricted, I didn’t go again. On the other visits, my parents took along Nur and Ahmad, my younger siblings. In 2007, Israel banned visits altogether. No one has been to visit Muhammad in almost five years.

Our father passed away in 2009. Muhammad wasn’t allowed any visits at the time, and my father died without seeing him. The fact that Muhammad is in prison made it even harder for us to deal with my father’s death. It was a difficult period.

In 2012, Israel started allowing prisoners to have family visits again, but without siblings. I had a really hard time accepting that and was in a bad way emotionally. That year, my mother made the trip to visit Muhammad alone. She’s elderly and unwell yet they still wouldn’t let us go with her. For a whole week after the visit, my mother was exhausted and ill. There are a lot of stairs in the prison and you have to walk a long way. That was very difficult for her. Nonetheless, she kept up the visits.

In early 2016, my mother submitted her medical records to the prison management via the Red Cross, so that they’d allow Nur and me to visit. She chose us over my brothers because she knew that as women, it would be easier for us to get permits. The Israeli authorities informed us that she couldn’t visit Muhammad as long as Nur and I were his visitors, and she agreed.

Since the beginning of 2016, Nur and I have submitted seven requests via the Red Cross to visit Muhammad. Every time, Israel refused our requests “on security grounds.” Then, suddenly, in July 2017, I got a call from the Red Cross saying our request had been approved. I can’t tell you how happy I was. That night I couldn’t sleep. I was so happy and excited that I’d finally get to see Muhammad, for the first time in 11 years.

The visit was tough, for me and for all the other relatives visiting prisoners. The prison management searches the visitors in a very unpleasant way. They frisk you very thoroughly, even your underwear. The day of the visit is long and exhausting. You go through all that for about 45 minutes together. I went through it all because I was willing to do whatever it took to see Muhammad.

When I saw him come in, escorted by an Israeli prison guard, I told him I wanted to hold his hand. The guard refused and Nur and I cried and shouted.

I was thrilled to see him. Muhammad had a stroke after he heard our father had died. When we met, he told me he’s had trouble with his eyesight ever since, especially with his left eye. He told us he doesn’t get any medical care in prison and that if he’s in pain, they just give him paracetamol [OTC pain reliever]. The visit was over so soon. I didn’t notice how the time flew by because I was so happy - even though I really wanted to hug him, take his hands in mine and kiss him. I got home overjoyed but exhausted.

Six months later, Nur and I submitted another request, to visit Muhammad on 10 March 2018. Our request was approved and we were thrilled. But when we visited him, Muhammad told us he almost couldn’t see out of his left eye any more. He asked us not to tell our mother. I couldn’t bring myself to tell her, anyway.

After that visit, I submitted several more requests, but they were all denied. I feel Muhammad’s absence whenever we have family events and get-togethers – holidays celebrations, weddings, and especially now, with Ramadan approaching. But I missed him most on the day my father died, and when our brothers Rami and Fadi got married. We weren’t happy at their weddings, because Muhammad wasn’t with us. I hope the time passes quickly until his release. It’s been a year and two months since Nur and I last saw him. Every time, the Red Cross says our request has been denied and they don’t know why. I very much want them to let me visit Muhammad, because I’m very worried about his health. I miss him all the time. I want to hug him and touch him. He’s always on my mind.

Muhammad al-Agha, 38, a single and unemployed resident of Gaza City, served a 12-year sentence in Israeli prisons. During the final portion of his sentence, for a period of over two years, he was imprisoned together with his brother Diaa’, 45. Muhammad has not seen his brother since he was released from prison in 2015, due to the ban on sibling visits. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Muhammad Sabah on 25 April 2019, he described the current situation:

Muhammad al-Agha. Photo by Muhammad Sabah,B'Tselem, 28 April 2019

I got out of prison after years of missing my siblings, because they weren’t allowed to visit me even before 2007. The whole time I was in prison, my mother was the only one who was allowed to visit me. From 2007 to 2012, even she couldn’t come, because they banned all visits. In 2013, I was transferred to Nafha Prison, where I met my brother Diaa’, who has been in prison since 1992. We spent more than two years together, and our mother visited us several times there. Since I got out in 2015 I haven’t seen him, because Israel doesn’t allow prisoners to receive visits from siblings.

My other siblings haven’t seen Diaa’ for 27 years, ever since he was arrested. He doesn’t know any of them, because they’re not allowed to visit him. At least I got to see him in prison and got to sit and talk to him. For some time, we were even in the same cell. I miss him so much. I miss seeing him. I miss sitting and talking with him about everything that’s happening in our society and in our family. I want to see him so much, even just for a few hours, to see how he’s doing and not worry about him so much.

Amal Abu ‘Eida, 47, a homemaker and married mother of six from Jabalya Refugee Camp, last saw her brother Muhammad Abu ‘Eida, 40, almost 12 years ago. Muhammad was arrested in 2005 and his relatives were able to visit him until 2007, when the authorities banned family visits from Gaza. Amal and Muhammad’s mother passed away several months before visits were reinstated in 2012; their father died years ago. Muhammad’s wife lives in the UAE. In a testimony she gave B’Tselem field researcher Olfat al-Kurd on 23 April 2019, Amal Abu ‘Eida spoke about how badly she misses her brother:

Amal Abu ‘Eida. Photo by Olfat al-Kurd, B'Tselem, 23 April 2019

 

When Muhammad was arrested, it came as a complete shock to me. He was living in the UAE at the time. He was working there and had gotten married there. At that point had been living in the UAE for five years. Muhammad was arrested at Rafah Crossing on his way to Gaza for a visit. The Red Cross informed us that he was in Ashkelon Prison, Israel, and we were issued a permit to visit him once every two weeks. Visits were much less restricted then. In 2007, they banned our visits. We didn’t see Muhammad at all for almost five years. It was a brutal time. We were very worried. In 2007, my brother Jihad passed away. Several months before visits were allowed again, in 2012, my mother passed away. The whole family was in deep mourning. Things were very bad.

Since family visits have been reinstated they’ve only allowed Muhammad’s wife, Walaa, to visit him. But she lives in the UAE, with her parents. When she comes to Gaza, she files for a permit to enter Israel so she can visit him in prison. Two years ago, she gave birth to a son conceived with my brother’s sperm, which was smuggled out of prison. Since 2005, she’s visited him about five or six times.

In 2018, my sisters Nawal and Maha and I filed requests to visit Muhammad, because his wife doesn’t live here. They only gave permission to Maha, and she visited him in June. We were very glad and her visit made us feel a bit calmer. Since then we’ve filed more requests to visit him but they were all denied, even Maha was denied even though she had gotten permission before. I haven’t seen him in nearly 12 years. I’m starting to forget what he looks like. We send him money with the relatives of other prisoners from Gaza. I’ve also tried to send clothes with them, but they weren’t allowed to bring them in.

I think about him all the time, and especially when something happens in the family. My mother hadn’t seen him for five years before she passed away. On her deathbed she called out, “Muhammad, Muhammad, my soul is leaving my body, I want to see you so badly!” We cried for her and for him. Her death was an especially heavy blow because she passed on full of longing for Muhammad. We also feel his absence strongly when we have happy celebrations. My brother Mahmoud got married in 2010. I so much wanted Muhammad to be with us and celebrate with us.

Five years ago, my daughter Fatimah got married. Then too, I really wished he could be with us for the celebration.

Muhammad was everyone’s favorite, including my own. He would always come over, play with my kids and spoil them. He was a loving, beloved uncle. I want to see him so much. I hope he’s doing well and in good health. God willing, he will get out of prison and come back home to me and the rest of our family.

Mazen al-‘Elah, 46, a married father of six, is unemployed and lives in Gaza City. He has not seen his brother Rami, 40, since he was arrested 11 years ago. Rami is being held in Nafha Prison, where is mother and wife visit him once every two months. His son Muhammad visited him until he recently turned 16. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Muhammad Sabah on 24 April 2019, Mazen al-‘Elah related:

Mazen al-‘Elah. Photo by Muhammad Sabah, B'Tselem, 24 April 2019

Since Rami was arrested in 2008, my brother, my four sisters and I haven’t seen him. My mother and his wife visit him about once every two months. Until recently his son Muhammad would go with them, but he can’t now that he’s turned 16. Every time we file a request to visit via the Red Cross, the Israeli side replies that siblings are not allowed to visit.

I’ve been waiting and hoping to visit Rami ever since he was arrested. I haven’t seen him in 11 years. We used to be very close and I miss him a lot. He wasn’t just my brother. We were also close friends. I miss sitting and talking with him, hanging out together. I miss him all the time. After my mother comes back from visiting Rami in prison, she always says he keeps asking about me. He tells her that he really wants his brothers and sisters to visit him in prison, and for us to see each other again like siblings do all over the world.