Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

قضاة محكمة العدل العليا يرفضون إلغاء الاعتقال الإداريّ للقيق المُضرب عن الطعام٬ وعلى الرّغم من الظروف فقد حكموا ب"تعليق" غامض; الإضراب عن الطعام متواصل

مستجدّات: وفق تقارير وسائل الإعلام، توصّل محمّد القيق والسلطات والإسرائيليّة في تاريخ 26/2 إلى اتفاق يوقف القيق بموجبه الإضراب عن الطعام، المستمرّ منذ 93 يومًا، ويُطلَق سراحه من اعتقاله الإداريّ في 19 تمّوز 2016.

محمّد القيق٬ الصورة بلطف من العائلةقرر اليوم، 4/2/2016، ثلاثة قضاة المحكمة العليا٬ نائب رئيس المحكمة الياكيم روبنشتاين، تسفي زيلبرطال ودافنا باراك-ايرز، "تعليق" أمر الاعتقال الإداري لمحمد القيق، صحافي يبلغ من العمر 33 عامًا، من سكان قرية أبو قش في محافظة رام الله، متزوج وله طفلان. ألقت السلطات الاسرائيليّة القبض على القيق في تاريخ 21/11/2015 وتم نقله للتحقيق. بعد شهر، في تاريخ 17/12/2015، أصدر ضدّه أمر اعتقال إداري. بعد فترة وجيزة من اعتقاله واستجوابه أعلن القيق إضرابه عن الطعام، احتجاجًا على الاعتقال، والذي يواصل فيه منذ 72 يومًا.

يرفض القيق الخضوع للفحص وتلقّي أيّ علاج طبيّ. في تاريخ 4/2/2016، زاره طبيب مستقل من منظّمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان، الذي ترك لديه انطباع بأنّ حالته صعبة جدًا. معظم الحديث الذي دار بينهما تمّ بواسطة الورق، ذلك لأنّ القيق يعاني من صعوبة في النطق والسمع. وفقا للمرجعيّات الطبيّة، فإنّ المضربين عن الطّعام لمدّة تزيد عن أربعين يومًا، يواجهون خطرًا يتهدّد حياتهم.

في الجلسة التي انعقدت في محكمة العدل العليا قبل أكثر من أسبوع (في-27/1/2016)، أقرّ القضاة بأنّ "الأدلّة الاستخباراتية" تبرّر الاعتقال الإداري للقيق، وأنّ وضعه الصحيّ الصعب بسبب إضرابه عن الطعام لا يبرّر إطلاق سراحه. مع ذلك، أقرّ القضاة أنّه إذا استمر التدهور في وضعه الصحيّ، فإنّ ذلك قد يؤثّر على ضرورة استمرار اعتقاله. أمر القاضي روبنشتاين بإطلاع المحكمة يوميًا بشأن وضعه الصحيّ.

في أعقاب المتابعات التي تلقتها المحكمة، أقرّ القضاة يوم الاثنين (1/2/2016) أنّهم سيعقدون في تاريخ، 4/2/2016، جلسة نظر في اعتقاله الإداري، وتعهدوا بأن يكونوا حاضرين حتّى قبلها، في حال أن تطلّب وضعه الصحيّ ذلك. في الحكم الذي صدر من المحكمة، وصف القاضي روبنشتاين حالة القيق كما يلي:

نظرا لاستمرار الإضراب عن الطعام وظهور عجز عصبيّ يتجلّى في مشاكل في السمع، صعوبات في النطق، صداع، أوجاع في الساقين، ووهن شديد يرى الأطباء "أنّ المريض في هذه المرحلة، وعمليًا في الفترة الأخيرة، يواجه خطرًا شديدًا ومعرّض للموت بشكل فجائيّ". قيل، إنّه تمّ شرح الأمر مجدّدًا لمقدّم الالتماس، لكنّه يرفض أيّ علاج، إنّه يتواجد "في وعيه الكامل ولكنه يميل إلى النوم وضعيف جدا. هناك تدهور تدريجي من يوم لآخر".

ينبغي أن يكون اعتقاله الإداري بمثابة إجراء وقائي، يستشرف المستقبل، وليس كخطوة عقابيّة. عندما يكون الشخص في وضع صحيّ صعب للغاية، فإنّه من الواضح أنّ قدرته على أداء الأعمال التي قد تبرّر هذا الاعتقال هي شبه معدومة. مع ذلك، طالب ممثلو الدولة المحامي يوناتان بيرمان والمحامي عنار هلمان- من القضاة المصادقة على اعتقاله الإداريّ.

لأسباب يحتفظون بها لأنفسهم، رفض القضاة إلغاء أمر الاعتقال الإداري والأمر بالإفراج عن القيق. بدلا من ذلك، أمروا ب "تعليق" الأمر وأقرّوا بأنّه "لم يتمّ تفعيله إلى الآن". واصل القاضي روبنشتاين، موضحًا بأنّ "الحديث يدور حول تعليق الأمر، والآثار المترتبة وفق اللازم، دون أن نبديَ الرأي".

صدر قرار مماثل، كتبه نائب الرئيس روبنشتاين، في حالة محمد علان وهو معتقل إداريّ أضرب عن الطّعام وكان عرضة للموت. ولكن الحال الآن كما في السّابق، معنى "تعليق" أمر الاعتقال الإداري غير واضح لأن القضاة امتنعوا عن توضيح المعنى القانوني والآثار المترتبة عليه.

معنى ذلك عمليًا هو أن القيق سيبقى في العناية المركزة في مستشفى "هعيمق". وفقا للحكم، يمكن لذويه بزيارته، "كَطليق"، ومع ذلك، لا يُلزم هذا الكلام المسؤولون الرسميّون منحهم تصاريح دخول إلى إسرائيل. يشير القاضي روبنشتاين إلى أنّه في حال مطالبة القيق بمغادرة المستشفى بعد تحسن حالته، له الحقّ بالتوجه إلى السلطات التي، كما سبق وذكر، ليست ملزمة بشيء. في الواقع، لم يطرأ أي تغيير على حالة القيق بعد هذا القرار، ووفقا لتقارير وسائل الإعلام يواصل الإضراب عن الطعام.

قدّم القيق أيضًا التماسًا ضدّ استمرار تكبيله-من قدميه في النهار، ومن يديه وقدميه في الليل حتى في وضعه الراهن. رأت النيابة أن تكبيله يعود إلى الاعتبارات الأمنية. أقرّ القضاة أن هذا الالتماس زائد عن الحاجة، بمعنى أنّه لا يوجد مبرر لتكبيله، وذلك بسبب قرارهم "تعليق" أمر الاعتقال الإداري.

الاعتقال الإداري هو الوسيلة الأكثر تطرفًا: المعتقلون الإداريون لا يمكنهم أن يعرفوا متى سيتم الافراج عنهم على الرغم من أنّ كل أمر اعتقال مدّته محدّدة بنصف سنة، لا يوجد تحديد لعدد المرات التي يمكن تمديد الاعتقال فيها. على مر السنين، احتجزت قوات الأمن آلاف الفلسطينيين في الاعتقال الإداري لفترات تتراوح بين عدة أشهر إلى عدة سنوات. حتى بعض الإسرائيليين، يشمل المستوطنين، خضعوا للاعتقال الإداريّ لفترات قصيرة مدّتها بضعة أشهر. في فترات معيّنة، أثناء الانتفاضة الثانية، احتجز جهاز الأمن أكثر من ألف معتقل إداري. حتى نهاية كانون الأول 2015 احتجزت إسرائيل، وفقا للمعطيات المحيّنة التي نقلتها مصلحة السّجون الإسرائيليّة إلى بتسيلم، فإنّ 584 فلسطينيًا يتواجدون في الاعتقال الإداري، وهو أعلى رقم منذ عام 2008.

يخضع الاعتقال الإداري، بموجب القانون، لمراجعة دستوريّة. لكنّ المحاكم تمتنع بشكل شبه دائم عن استخدام صلاحيّتها وتفعيل الاعتبار المستقلّ في الجلسات التي تتعلق بالاعتقالات الإداريّة. في معظم الحالات، يصادق القضاة على أوامر الاعتقال، حتى لو أنّهم يقومون في بعض الحالات بتقصير فترة الاعتقال. لكنّ قرار المحكمة العليا في هذه القضية - رفض القضاة إلغاء أمر اعتقال القيق على الرغم من حالته واختيارهم حلاّ قضائيًا مبتكرًا لا معنى له - هو قرار متطرّف في هذا الوضع.

في الإفادة التي سجلها باحث بتسيلم الميدانيّ موسى أبو هشهش في تاريخ 28/1/2016، من فيحاء شلش، 29 عامًا، زوجة محمد القيق، تحدّثت عن اعتقال زوجها وعن إضرابه عن الطعام:

أنا وزوجي، محمد أحمد سليمان القيق، البالغ من العمر 33 عامًا، وطفلانا، إسلام البالغ من العمر أربع سنوات ولور ابنة البالغة من العمر سنة ونصف، نعيش في منزل مستأجر في قرية أبو قش، في محافظة رام الله. زوجي يعمل منذ ست سنوات كمراسل لقناة التلفزيون السعودية "المجد". يتنقل بين مدن الضفة الغربية ويغطّي الأحداث السياسية والمدنية. أنا أعمل كصحفيّة مستقلّة.

في تاريخ 21/11/2015، في تمام الساعة 3:00 فجرًا، اقتحم الجيش الإسرائيلي منزلنا. لم ينتظروا حتّى أن يفتح زوجي الباب وإنّما فجرّوه. دخل أكثر من 15 جنديا الى منزلنا وقام بعملية تفتيش سريعة. طلبوا رؤية الكمبيوتر الشخصيّ التابع لزوجي وهاتفينا الخلويين، وبطاقة هويتي. جلس ضابط مع زوجي وسأله عن عمله وعن منزلنا. طلب مني زوجي أن أحضر له بطاقته الصحفية، ولكن الجنود أخذوه قبل أن أتمكن من القيام بذلك. نظرت من النافذة ورأيتهم يقتادونه خارج المنزل. رأيت الجنود يوثقون يديه خلف ظهره ويغطون عينيه.

في الأيام الأولى بعد اعتقال لم أكن أعرف أين يحتجزون زوجي. بعد أربعة أو خمسة أيام اتصل بي محام خاصّ، اكتشف على ما يبدو صدفةً مكان احتجازه، وأبلغني أنه يتواجد في مركز تحقيقات كيشون (الجلمة).

منذ اعتقال زوجي لم يسمحوا لي بزيارته مرة واحدة. حتى الأولاد أو أفراد الأسرة الآخرين لم يتمكّنوا من رؤيته. قدمنا، عبر الصليب الأحمر، طلبات بالحصول على تصاريح زيارة، ولكن تم رفضها جميعها لأسباب أمنية. وافقوا فقط منح تصريح لابننا إسلام، ابن الرابعة، لكنّي لم أوافق على ذهابه لوحده لزيارة والده في المعتقل.

علمت من وسائل الإعلام ومن محاميّي زوجي أنه أضرب عن الطعام في تاريخ -25/11/2015. أخبرني المحامي أن زوجي مرّ بتنكيل أثناء التحقيق الجلوس بوضعيّة وثق اليدين والقدمين بالكرسي، الاهانات والتهديدات، بما في ذلك التهديد بالإيذاء الجنسيّ والاعتقال الإداري لفترة طويلة، وحرمانه من رؤية أطفاله.

في وقت لاحق، سمعت من وسائل الإعلام ومن المحامي أنّهم قاموا بتغذية زوجي بشكل قسريّ عن طريق الوريد. أسمع أن وضعه الصحي خطير وأنا قلقة عليه جدًا. قالوا لي انه يواجه صعوبة في الرؤية وفي النّطق وفقد الإحساس في اليد اليسرى. وفقًا للتقارير، فقد زوجي ثلث وزنه ويتقيأ طيلة الوقت. يعاني من أوجاع شديدة في الرأس والظهر والمفاصل، ومن الحمى.

اعتقال زوجي ترك في قلبي ثقبًا. أعتقد أنه اعتقال تعسفي. تُركنا أنا وأطفالي بشعور نقص رهيب. يسألني إسلام كلّ يومٍ متى سيعود والده إلى المنزل ولماذا اعتقلوه. لا أستطيع أن أشرح له لماذا اعتقل والده. هو يطلب باستمرار المشاركة في مسيرات التضامن مع زوجي، التي تشهدها منطقتنا.

كلمات مفتاحية

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

Israel’s HCJ refuses to rescind administrative detention of hunger striker Al-Qiq; his condition notwithstanding, HCJ orders a vague “suspension”

Update: According to media reports, Muhammad al-Qiq and the Israeli authorities reached an agreement whereby al-Qiq would now end his 93-day hunger strike. On 19 May 2016 he was released from administrative detention.

Muhammad al-Qiq. Photo: courtesy of the familyOn Thursday 4 February 2016 Israel’s High Court of Justice (HCJ) decided to “suspend” the administrative detention order against journalist Muhammad al-Qiq. The ruling was made by a panel of three justices: Deputy Chief Justice Elyakim Rubinstein, Zvi Zylbertal, and Daphne Barak-Erez. Al-Qiq, 33, who is married and is the father of two children, lives in the village of Abu Qash in the Ramallah District. He was arrested by the Israeli authorities on 21 November 2015 and transferred for interrogation. Almost a month later, on 17 December, an administrative detention order was issued against him. Shortly after his detention for interrogation Al-Qiq launched a hunger strike to protest the detention, and has been on strike ever since, Thursday marking the 72nd day of the strike.

Al-Qiq refuses to be examined or receive any medical treatment. On Thursday, 4 February 2016, he was visited by an independent physician on behalf of Physician for Human Rights-Israel, who gained the impression that Al-Qiq’s condition is extremely grave. The conversation was conducted mainly by means of written notes, since Al-Qiq has difficulty speaking and even hearing. According to medical literature, after 40 days a hunger strike places the striker’s life in jeopardy.

In a hearing held by the HCJ over a week ago (on 27 Jan. 2016), the justices determined that the “intelligence evidence” justifies Al-Qiq’s administrative detention, and that his serious medical condition as the result of his hunger strike does not yet warrant his release. However, the justices did note that should Al-Qiq’s medical condition continue to deteriorate, that situation may influence the need for his continued detention. Justice Rubinstein ordered that a daily update be forwarded to the Court concerning Al-Qiq’s medical condition.

On Monday last week (1 Feb. 2016), the justices decided on the basis of the updates they received to hold a hearing on Thursday 4 February 2016 to discuss the administrative detention. They undertook to make themselves available prior to this date if Al-Qiq’s medical condition so required. In Thursday’s ruling, Justice Rubinstein describes Al-Qiq’s condition as follows:

Due to the protracted hunger strike, and due to the appearance of neurological deficiencies in the form of hearing problems, difficulty in speech, headaches, pains in the legs, and extreme weakness - the physicians believe that “at this stage, and in fact recently as well, the patient faces grave danger and is in a state of high risk of sudden death”. It has been stated that this matter was again explained to the Appellant, but he is refusing any treatment. He “is fully conscious, but sleepy and very weak. There is a gradual deterioration from one day to the next”.

Administrative detention is intended as a preventative measure, not a punitive one. Clearly, a person in such a dire state of health has virtually no capacity to commit actions justifying this type of detention. Nevertheless, State representatives Attorney Yonatan Berman and Attorney Aner Hellman sought the Court’s approval for Al-Qiq’s ongoing detention.

For reasons known only to themselves, the justices declined to rescind the administrative detention order and order Al-Qiq’s release. Instead, they gave instructions to “suspend” the detention order, and established that it “is no longer active”. Justice Rubinstein further clarified that “this is a suspension of the order, with all this implies as necessary, without our expressing an opinion”.

A similar decision, also written by Deputy Chief Justice Rubinstein, was made in the case of Muhammad ‘Alan, an administrative detainee who staged a hunger strike which brought him to death’s door. In both cases, however, the meaning of the “suspension” of administrative detention remains unclear, since the justices have refrained from elucidating the legal significance and ramifications of this measure.

In practical terms, the ruling means Al-Qiq will remain in the intensive care department at HaEmek Hospital, Israel. According to the ruling, his family may visit him “not as a detainee.” However, this state of affairs does not oblige the Israeli authorities to issue entry permits to Israel to his relatives. Justice Rubinstein notes that if Al-Qiq wishes to leave hospital after his condition improves, he may apply to the authorities. Yet, as noted, they are not obliged to follow any particular course of action. In reality, therefore, this decision has not changed Al-Qiq’s situation, and according to media reports he is continuing his hunger strike.

Al-Qiq has also appealed his continued shackling - by leg during the day, and by hand and leg at night - even in his current condition. The State argued that he must be bound in this manner for security reasons. The justices ruled the petition redundant - i.e., that there is no continued justification for shackling al-Qiq in light of their decision to “suspend” the administrative detention order.

Administrative detention is an exceptionally extreme measure. Administrative detainees do not know when they will be released; although the maximum period of every detention order is six months, the military law that applies in the West Bank allows these orders to be renewed indefinitely. Over the years, Israel’s security forces have placed thousands of Palestinians under administrative detention for periods ranging from several months to several years. Some Israeli citizens, including settlers, have also been placed under administrative detention for short periods of several months. At various times during the second intifada, Israel held a total of over 1,000 administrative detainees in custody at once. According to the latest figures the Israel Prison Service (IPS) provided to B’Tselem, Israel currently has 584 Palestinians in administrative detention, the highest number since 2008.

By law, administrative detention is subject to judicial review. However, the courts almost always refrain from exercising their authority and employing independent discretion in administrative detention hearings. In the vast majority of cases, the judges approve the detention orders, although they do at times shorten the period of detention. Even given this reality, however, the refusal by the HCJ justices in this case to rescind Al-Qiq’s detention order, in his condition, and their preference for an innovative but meaningless legal solution constitutes an extreme approach.

On 28 January 2016, B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash spoke with Al-Qiq’s wife Fihaa Shalash, 29. She told him about her husband’s detention and hunger strike:

I live with my husband, Muhammad Ahmad Suliman al-Qiq, 33, our 4-year-old son Islam and our 18-month-old daughter Lur in a rented house in the village of Abu Qash in the Ramallah District. My husband has worked for six years as a reporter for the Saudi television Al-Majd Network. He travels around the various cities in the West Bank and covers political and civil events. I work as a freelance journalist.

At 3:00 A.M. on 21 November 2015, the Israeli military raided our home. They didn’t even wait for my husband to open the door to the house, but instead smashed it. More than 15 soldiers entered our home and carried out a brief search. They asked to see my husband’s personal computer, as well as his and my phones and my identity card. An officer sat with my husband and asked him about his work and about our home. My husband asked me to get his press card but the soldiers took him away before I could get the card. I watched from the window as they led him away from the house. I saw soldiers tying his hands behind his back and blindfolding him.

For the first few days after his detention, I didn’t even know where they were holding my husband. After four or five days, a private attorney who presumably learned by chance where he was being held called me and told me that he was being held at Kishon interrogation center (Al-Jalama).

Since my husband’s arrest, they haven’t let me visit him even once. The children and other relatives haven’t been able to see him either. We applied for visiting permits through the Red Cross, but all our requests were rejected on security grounds. They only agreed to grant a permit to our son Islam, who is four, but I wouldn’t agree to have him go on his own to visit his father in a detention center. I learned from the media and from my husband’s attorneys that he had launched a hunger strike on 25 November 2015. His attorney told me that my husband was abused during his interrogation – he was forced to sit in the “shabah” position, and he was exposed to humiliations and threats, including threats of sexual assault and threats that he would be held in administrative detention for a long time and would not see his children.

Later I heard from the media and from the attorney that my husband was given nutrients intravenously, against his will. I hear that his state is health is serious and I’m very worried about him. They told me that he can’t see very well and that he’s lost all sensation in his left hand. According to the reports, my husband has lost a third of his body weight and is vomiting constantly. He suffers from bad headaches and pains in his back and joints and he has a fever.

My husband’s detention has left a hole in my heart. I think this is an arbitrary detention. My children and I feel terribly bereft. Islam asks me every day when his Dad is coming home and why he was arrested. It’s hard for me to explain to him why his father was arrested. He also asks all the time to join the solidarity processions with my husband that are held in our area.