Skip to main content
مخيم الفوار. تصوير: موسى أبو هشهش، بتسيلم
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

روتين الاحتلال: جنود يقتحمون منزلين في مخيّم الفوّار للّاجئين في محافظة الخليل، يضربون ويعتدون على أفراد العائلة ويفجّرون خزانة كهرباء في مصلحة تجاريّة

في ساعات الفجر من يومي 25.6.20 و-7.7.20 اقتحم عشرات الجنود منزلين لعائلة أبو هشهش في مخيّم الفوّار للّاجئين بحجّة البحث عن ثلاثة مطلوبين من أفراد العائلة. دخل الجنود إلى المنازل بدون كمّامات واقية. في المنزل الأوّل ضربوا ثلاثة من أفراد الأسرة وفجّروا خزانة كهرباء في مصلحة تجاريّة لأحد أفرادها. في المنزل الثاني حرّضوا كلباً على ثلاثة من أفراد الأسرة وضربوا أحدهم. الجدير بالذكر أنّه لا توجد أيّة شبهة ضدّ الأسرتين نفسيهما ورغم ذلك اتّصل بهما فور انتهاء الاقتحامين شخص من "الشاباك" يطالب بتسليم المطلوبين ويتوعّد إحداهما بصريح العبارة أنّ الجنود سوف يعودون إلى المنزل ويجعلونه "ساحة حرب" إذا لم يسلّم المطلوبون أنفسهم.

اقتحام الجيش لمنازل الفلسطينيّين في دُجى اللّيل وإفزاع الأسر من نومها بما في ذلك الأطفال الصّغار والرضّع أصبح منذ زمن بعيد جزءاً من الروتين الذي أنشأه ويديره نظام الاحتلال في الضفة الغربيّة. هذه الاقتحامات - التي اشتملت في الحالة التي أمامنا على ممارسة العُنف ضدّ أفراد العائلة وترهيبهم وإتلاف ممتلكاتهم - تحدث دون أن يحتاج الجنود إلى أوامر تفتيش أو حتّى تقديم أسباب أيّاً كانت. إنّه فقط مثال آخر على الطريقة التي يستغلّ بها الجيش قوّته حتى في أيّام الوباء العصيبة هذه حيث يعمّ الحجر الصحّي معظم مناطق الضفة الغربيّة وحيث الخوف والقلق لدى السكّان أعلى من أيّ وقت آخر.

أدناه وصف للأحداث وأقوال من إفادات سجّلها باحث بتسيلم الميدانيّ موسى أبو هشهش، الذي يصادف أنّه أحد أفراد العائلة الضحيّة:

20، اقتحام منزل سناء ويوسف أبو هشهش

نحو الرّابعة من فجر يوم الخميس الموافق 25.6.20 اقتحم ما يقارب 30 جنديّاً مبنًى في وسط مخيّم الفوّار للّاجئين الواقع جنوب غرب الخليل تسكنه عائلة أبو هشهش. يقيم في المبنى سبعة إخوة أربعة منهم متزوّجون يقيمون هناك مع عائلاتهم، ويبلغ مجمل عدد سكّان المبنى 25 شخصاً بضمنهم 12 طفلاً. زعم الجنود أنّهم أتوا للقبض على اثنين من الإخوة - سري (41 عاماً) ومحمد (50 عاماً) وكلاهما كان غائباً عن المنزل في تلك اللّيلة.

في البداية اقتحم الجنود منزلاً في الطابق الأرضيّ يسكنه يوسف أبو هشهش (46 عاماً) وزوجته سناء (41 عاماً). أمر الجنود الزوجين وابنتهما جود (8 سنوات) أن يدخلوا إلى غرفة الصّالون. لدى دخول الجنود المنزل فرّ ابناهما وهما ياسين (17 عاماً) وآدم (19 عاماً) فيما بقي الابن إسلام (12 عاماً) نائماً. ابنهما الرابع محمود (20 عاماً) كان يبيت في تلك اللّيلة لدى أعمامه في الطابق الأوّل.

تولّى ثلاثة جنود حراسة أفراد الأسرة واقفين عند باب الغرفة شاهرين أسلحتهم فيما صعد بقيّة الجنود إلى الطابق الأوّل حيث يقيم ثلاثة من الإخوة العازبين. حين فتح يعقوب (33 عاماً) باب المنزل عاجله جنديّ بضربة بعقب البندقيّة على أنفه تسبّبت في كسره ثمّ اقتادوه إلى صالون الطابق الأرضيّ مع أخيه إبراهيم (42 عاماً) ومنعوا الأخير من ارتداء ملابس ملائمة. كذلك انتزع أحد الجنود محمد ابن يوسف وسناء من فراشه حيث كان يبيت في منزل أعمامه وجرّه من شعره إلى صالون الطابق الأرضيّ حيث منزل والديه.

واصل الجنود إلى الطابق الثاني حيث يقيم ثلاثة إخوة متزوّجين كلّ مع أسرته. أحد المنازل كان خالياً في تلك اللّيلة. في المنزل الثاني سأل الجنود إياد أبو هشهش (54 عاماً) عن مكان شقيقيه سري ومحمد. وفي المنزل الثالث حين قال زياد (58 عاماً) إنّه لا يعرف أين شقيقاه ركله جنديّ وصفعه مرّتين ثمّ اقتاده الجنود بدوره إلى غرفة الصّالون نفسها في منزل سناء ويوسف أبو هشهش.

بعد مضيّ نصف السّاعة أمر الجنود أفراد العائلة أن ينتقلوا إلى بيت الدّرج ثمّ فجّروا بموادّ متفجّرة خزانة كهرباء في ورشة حدادة في الطابق الأرضيّ يملكها يوسف أبو هشهش وغادروا. احتاج يعقوب أبو هشهش إلى عمليّة جراحيّة لمعالجة الكسر في أنفه وقد أجريت له في 29.6.20.

فورَ خروج الجنود اتّصل بمنزل عائلة أبو هشهش مسؤول من "الشاباك" وتوعّدهم بأنّ الجنود سوف يعودون إليهم إذا لم يسلّم سري ومحمد أبو هشهش نفسيهما إلى الجيش. بعد ذلك وعلى مدار ثلاثة أيّام كان مسؤول "الشاباك" يتّصل بعدد من أفراد الأسرة عدّة مرّات ويكرّر التهديد والوعيد.

خزانة الكهرباء التي فجرها الجنود في محددة يوسف أبو هشهش. الصورة قدمتها العائلة مشكورة

في اليوم الثالث سلّم سري أبو هشهش نفسه في حاجز الفوّار حيث اعتُقل وخضع للتحقيق لدى "الشّاباك" ومن ثمّ صدر في حقّه أمر اعتقال إداريّ لمدّة ثلاثة أشهر. في الوقت الحاليّ يُمضي سري الاعتقال في سجن "عوفر".

أدناه إفادة سناء أبو هشهش (41 عاماً) وهي متزوّجة وأمّ لخمسة أبناء - أدلت بها في 1.7.20 محدّثة عن أحداث ذلك اليوم:

في يوم الخميس الموافق 25.6.20 قرب السّاعة 4:00 فجراً استيقظت مذعورة بسبب طرقات على باب المنزل. توجّه زوجي لكي يفتح الباب وفجأة اقتحم منزلنا عشرات الجنود. أحد الجنود وهو الضابط على الأرجح أمرنا أن ندخل غرفة الصّالون وقال للجنود أن يفتّشوا المنزل. أدركت أنّهم يبحثون عن سلفي سري وسلفي محمد اللّذان كانا غائبين عن المنزل في ذلك الوقت.

دخلنا إلى الصّالون أنا وزوجي وابنتنا الصّغيرة جود ابنة الـ8 أعوام. فرّ اثنان من أبنائي وهما آدم (19 عاماً) وياسين (17 عاماً) من المنزل حين دخل الجنود فيما واصل ابني إسلام (12 عاماً) – نومه. أمّا ابني محمود (20 عاماً) فلم يبت في المنزل في تلك اللّيلة وإنّما في منزل أعمامه في الطابق الأوّل من البناية نفسها. كانت طفلتي جود خائفة جدّاً. لم يحدث من قبل أن اقتحم جنود منزلنا. كانت تبكي وتتمسّك بي بقوّة.

بعد دقائق معدودة دخل سِلفي يعقوب إلى الصّالون. كان مصابًا في أنفه الذي بدا معوجّاً نحو اليمين. بعد عدة دقائق أخرى دخل سِلفي الثاني إبراهيم وكان حافياً وشبه عارٍ حيث ارتدى "بوكسر" فقط. خجلت عندما رأيته في هذه الحال وهو أيضاً شعر بالخجل.

عند مدخل الصّالون كان يقف ثلاثة جنود وهُم يوجّهون سلاحهم نحونا. أحدهم قال لنا ممنوع القيام بأيّة حركة وممنوع الكلام. بعد بضع دقائق دخل إلى الصّالون سِلفي زياد ثمّ بعدَه بدقائق دخل ابني محمود. لاحقاً قال لي محمود إنّ الجنود دخلوا إلى الغرفة التي كان نائماً فيها وإنّ أحدهم لكمه ثمّ جرّه من شعره وظلّ يجرّه حتى جلبه إلى الصّالون.

احتجزونا طوال نصف ساعة تقريباً ثمّ أمرونا بدخول بيت درج البناية والوقوف هناك. دخل بعض الجنود إلى حظيرة المواشي المجاورة للعمارة حيث توجد هناك أيضاً محددة زوجي. بعد دقائق عدّة سمعت انفجاراً ثمّ غادر الجنود البناية ونحن دخلنا المنزل بدورنا. كنت أهدّئ من روع طفلتي جود وأنا نفسي مصدومة. بعد ذلك توجّهنا إلى المحددة فوجدنا خزانة الكهرباء قد فجّرها الجنود.

كانت هذه من أصعب التجارب التي عشتها في حياتي. من جهة صعوبة حبسي وطفلتي في غرفة وحرَجي أمام سِلفي وهو شبه عارٍ ومنظر الجنود وهم يشهرون أسلحتهم في وجوهنا طوال الوقت. ومن جهة ثانية كنت قلقة على ولديّ ياسين وآدم لأنّهما خارج المنزل وخفت أن يكون الجنود قد ضربوهما مثلما ضربوا يعقوب وربّما اعتقلوهما. خشيت أيضاً أن تقع مواجهة بين الجنود وإخوة زوجي فيطلق الجنود الرّصاص عندئذٍ.

زوجي يوسف هو المعيل الوحيد للأسرة والآن سيتدهور وضعنا المادّي بعد أن فجّروا له خزانة الكهرباء في المحددة. لقد ألحقوا بالمحلّ أضراراً بآلاف الشواكل فضلًا عن أن العمل لديه ضعيف في الآونة الأخيرة بسبب الكورونا.

لقد عاقبوني وعاقبوا أسرتي على أمرٍ لا علاقة لنا به. عاقبونا فقط لأنّنا نقيم في البناية نفسها.

عن أحداث ذلك اليوم حدّث يعقوب أبو هشهش في إفادة أدلى بها في 26.6.20:

يعقوب أب هشهش بعد الواقعة. الصورة قدمتها العائلة مشكورة
يعقوب أب هشهش بعد الواقعة. الصورة قدمتها العائلة مشكورة

تقريباً عند السّاعة 4:00 فجراً استيقظت على صوت جلبة في بيت درج البناية. فتحت باب غرفتي وإذ بجنديّ يضربني على أنفي بعقب بندقيّته. عندما خرجت من الغرفة شاهدت عدداً كبيراً من الجنود قد اقتحموا البناية وانتشروا داخلها.

آلمني أنفي كثيراً وقبل أن أستوعب ما يجري جرّني جنديّان إلى الطابق الأرضي وأدخلوني إلى غرفة الصّالون في منزل أخي يوسف. كان في الغرفة يوسف وسناء زوجته وابنتهما الصغيرة. وقف ثلاثة جنود عند مدخل الغرفة موجّهين أسلحتهم إلينا. بعد دقائق معدودة جلبوا إلى الصالون أخي إبراهيم وكان شبه عارٍ لا يرتدي سوى "بوكسر" ثمّ بعد عدّة دقائق أخرى جلبوا أيضاً أخي زياد ثمّ محمود ابن أخي.

وضعت يدي على أنفي وحاولت وقف النزيف وكنت أعاني ألماً شديداً. سناء كانت مذعورة وكذلك ابنتها. كانت الطفلة تمسك بأمّها وتبكي. بعد مضيّ نصف السّاعة تقريباً أخرجنا الجنود إلى بيت الدّرج ودخلوا إلى محددة أخي يوسف. سمعنا انفجاراً. بعد ذلك تبيّن لنا أنّهم قد فجّروا خزانة الكهرباء. قبل أن يغادر الجنود أمرونا أن نُبلغ أخوينا محمد وسَري أنّ عليهما تسليم نفسيهما.

في الصّباح ذهبت إلى المستشفى الأهلي في الخليل حيث أجريت لي فحوصات وصور أشعّة تبيّن فيها أنّ هناك كسر في عظمة الأنف. قرّر الأطبّاء أنّني أحتاج عمليّة جراحيّة وتمّ تعيين الموعد في 29.6.20.

أدناه إفادة زياد أبو هشهش عن أحداث ذلك اليوم، وهو متزوّج وأب لولدين - أدلى بها في 2.7.20:

زياد أبو هشهش. الصورة قدمتها العائلة مشكورة

استيقظت على صوت طرقات قويّة على باب المنزل. فتحت الباب بسرعة وشاهدت أمامي أربعة جنود أخذوا يسألونني عن أخي سَري. قلت لهم إنّني كنت نائماً ولا أعرف أين هو. صفعني أحد الجنود وأخذ يكرر السؤال نفسه. أجبته بأنّني لا أعرف وعندها صفعني مرّة ثانية وركلني في بطني ثمّ أمرني أن أخرج من المنزل بسرعة. في ذلك الوقت لم تكن زوجتي والأولاد في المنزل إذ ذهبت لزيارة والديها. اقتادني الجنود إلى الطابق الأرضيّ وأدخلوني إلى غرفة الصّالون في منزل أخي يوسف وزوجته سناء. في الصّالون كانت أيضاً الطفلة جود ابنة يوسف وسناء وكان أخي يعقوب وقد لاحظت أنّه مصاب في أنفه وأخي إبراهيم الذي كان شبه عارٍ. بعد دقائق معدودة جلبوا أيضاً محمود ابن أخي إلى الصّالون.

احتجزونا قرابة نصف السّاعة وفي هذه الأثناء فتّشوا منزل يوسف وحظيرة الأغنام ثمّ أمرونا بالوقوف في بيت الدّرج. بعد دقائق معدودة سمعت صوت انفجار من ناحية محددة يوسف.

أتى الجنود يبحثون عن شقيقيّ محمد وسري ولم يكونا في المنزل. سري سلّم نفسه في حاجز الفوّار بعد ثلاثة أيّام تلقّينا خلالها عبر الهاتف تهديدات من مسؤول في "الشاباك" يُدعى نضال. توعّدنا هذا الشخص باقتحام المنزل ثانية وجعله ساحة حرب.

7.7.20، اقتحام منزل أريج وموسى جميل أبو هشهش:

في الخامسة والنصف من صباح يوم الثلاثاء الموافق 7.7.20 اقتحم نحو 20 جنديّاً منزل موسى أبو هشهش (51 عاماً) وزوجته أريج (41 عاماً) وأبنائهما الخمسة المتراوحة أعمارهم بين 10 - 20 عاماً. تربط الزوجين قرابة بعيدة بالإخوة أبو هشهش المذكورين أعلاه. أتى الجنود ومعهم كلب وقالوا إنّهم أتوا بهدف اعتقال الابن محمد (19 عاماً) والذي لم يكن في المنزل حينذاك.

صعد الجنود إلى الطابق الأوّل وخلعوا الباب الخارجي المؤدّي إلى صالون الاستقبال. في ذلك الوقت كان الابن أيسر (16 عاماً) يجلس في الصّالون فهجم الكلب عليه فوراً ثمّ تركه وخرج من الغرفة ثمّ عاد وانقضّ عليه ثانية. أمسك أيسر الكلب من رأسه وثبّته ومنعه من التحرّك لكنّ أحد الجنود صرخ عليه وأمره أن يترك الكلب. بعد ذلك أوقف أحد الجنود أيسر ووجهه نحو الحائط ويداه مرفوعتان للأعلى. بعض الجنود توجّهوا إلى بقيّة غرف المنزل. هجم الكلب على أريج ودفعها نحو الحائط ثمّ هاجم موسى الأب وأوقعه أرضاً. يُذكر أنّ الأب يعاني صعوبات في النطق والمشي. بعد ذلك هجم الكلب مرّة أخرى على الأب وهو ملقىً أرضاً. بعد أن نهض موسى وجلس على كرسيّ قبالة غرفة نومه أمره جنديّان بالجلوس في غرفة الصّالون وعندما رفض جرّه أحدهما من ذراعه واقتاده إلى الصّالون. بعد ذلك أمر الجنود بقيّة أفراد الأسرة أن يدخلوا غرفة الصّالون. اقتاد الضابط أيسر إلى إحدى غرف النوم وهناك سأله عن مكان أخيه محمد وكلّما أجاب أيسر أنّه لا يعرف كان الضابط يضربه.

بعد مضيّ نصف السّاعة غادر الجنود المنزل ثمّ فوراً بعد ذلك اتّصل مسؤول من "الشاباك" بهاتف المنزل (الخطّ الأرضيّ) وتوعّد الأمّ قائلاً إنّ الجنود سوف يقتحمون المنزل ثانية في اليوم نفسه إذا لم يسلّم ابنها نفسه. نحو السّاعة 6:30 من صباح اليوم نفسه ذهب محمد إلى الحاجز وسلّم نفسه ومن هناك اقتيد إلى التحقيق في عسقلان ثمّ إلى منشأة "الشاباك" في المسكوبيّة ومن هناك إلى سجن "عوفر" حيث لا يزال موقوفاً حتى الآن.

 

أدناه إفادة أيسر أبو هشهش حول أحداث ذلك اليوم - أدلى بها في 23.7.20:

أيسر أبو هشهش. الصورة قدمتها العائلة مشكورة

في ذلك الصّباح كنّا أنا وأخي محمد في الصّالون نلعب "ببجي" بواسطة الهاتف ثمّ طلب أحد أقاربنا من محمد أن يساعده في تفريغ حُمولة سولار في المحطة القريبة من منزلنا فذهب محمد واستبدلت أنا ملابسي استعداداً للنّوم. سمعت جلبة في بيت الدّرج فظننت أنّه محمد. خرجت لكي أفهم منه لماذا عاد بهذه السّرعة ولكنّني فوجئت بجنود يصعدون إلى الطابق الذي نسكنه. أغلقت الباب وجلست على الكنبة وتظاهرت بأنّني منشغل بالهاتف. بعد عدّة دقائق خلع الجنود الباب فانقض عليّ كلب بنّي للحظة ثمّ تركني وخرج من الغرفة ثمّ عاد وهاجمني ثانية. أمسكت بالكلب من رأسه وحاولت إبعاده عنّي وعندئذٍ صرخ عليّ أحد الجنود يأمرني بأن أترك الكلب.

خرج الكلب من الغرفة فأمرني الجنديّ نفسه أن أقف ووجهي للحائط وأن أرفع يدي إلى الأعلى. سمعت والدتي تصرخ خارج الغرفة ولم أعرف ما الذي يجري في بقيّة أنحاء المنزل. شاهدت جنديّين أحدهما يُمسك بوالدي ويجرّه نحو الصّالون. بعد عدّة دقائق جلبوا والدتي إلى الصّالون ثمّ بعد دقائق معدودة أخرى جلبوا شقيقتي أثير (21 عاماً) وشقيقتي بتول وهي توأمي وأخي الصغير تميم البالغ من العمر عشر سنوات.

كان الجنود يدخلون ويخرجون وقد سمعت جلبة تأتي من أنحاء المنزل. أحد الجنود وهو الضابط في اعتقادي وقف خلفي وصفعني ثلاث مرّات في مؤخرة عنقي. أخذ يسألني عن أخي محمد فأجيبه أنّني لا أعرف أين هو وعندئذٍ أمسكني من خدّيّ وقال لي إنّني أكذب. بعد ذلك تركني وتوجّه نحو والدي وسأله عن محمد لكنّ والدي لم يُجبه. قالت والدتي للضابط إنّه لا يمكن الاتّصال بمحمد في الوقت الحاليّ لأنّ هاتفه قد تعطّل.

بعد ذلك أخرجني الضابط من الصّالون واقتادني إلى غرفة شقيقتي وصار يدفن وجهي في فرشة سريرها ويسألني مرّة أخرى عن محمد - أين هو وأين يخبّئ السّلاح وكلّما أجبته بأنّني لا أعلم كان يوجّه لكمة إلى ظهري.

بعد أن تكرّر ذلك عدّة مرّات وواصلت أنا الإجابة بأنّني لا أعلم ضربني بعقب بندقيّته على ظهر من أعلى ثمّ رفعني عن السّرير وأعادني إلى غرفة الصّالون وهناك أمرني أن أقف ووجهي إلى الحائط.

في هذه الأثناء فتّش الجنود المنزل. وقد سألوا والدتي عن الطابق الأرضيّ. خرج الجنود من الصّالون فظننت أنّهم غادروا المنزل. فتحت الباب لكي أتأكّد وعندئذٍ صرخ عليّ أحد الجنود يأمرني أن أغلق الباب. فورَ أن خرج الجنود حدّثت والدي ووالدتي وعمّي هاني الذي يقيم قربنا بما جرى في غرفة نوم شقيقتي.

أدناه أقوال موسى جميل أبو هشهش حول أحداث ذلك اليوم - من إفادة أدلى بها في 23.7.20:

موسى جميل أبو هشهش. الصورة قدمتها العائلة مشكورة

استيقظت على صوت صراخ زوجتي وكانت تقف خارج غرفة نومنا. خرجت لأرى ما الأمر وقبل أن أستوعب ما يجري هجم عليّ كلب بنّي اللّون. أوقعني الكلب أرضاً ثمّ ركض نحو المرحاض وعاد يهاجمني مرّة أخرى وأنا ملقىً على الأرض.

كنت مصدوماً لا أستوعب ما يحدث. فورَ أن نهضت وجلست على كرسيّ قبالة غرفة نومنا تقدّم منّي جنديّان وأمراني أن أتجه نحو الصّالون لكنّني تجاهلتهما. عندئذٍ جرّني أحدهما من ذراعي إلى الصّالون. سمعت زوجتي تصرخ وتقول لهم: "اتركوه إنّه مريض".

حين دخلت إلى الصّالون شاهدت ابني أيسر يقف ووجه نحو الحائط ويداه إلى الأعلى. أجلسني الجنديّ على كرسيّ وبعد دقائق معدودة جلبوا أريج زوجتي إلى الصّالون وبعد ذلك جلبوا ابنتيّ أثير وبتول وابني تميم.

شاهدت أحد الجنود وهو ضابط على ما أعتقد يصفع ابني أيسر على مؤخرة عنقه ويسأله أين محمد. حين كان أيسر يجيبه أنّه لا يعرف كان الضابط يُمسكه من طرفي خدّيه ويقول له إنّه يكذب. بعد ذلك أخذ الضابط يسألني عن محمد ويأمرني أن أتّصل به. تدخّلت زوجتي وقالت له إنّه لا يوجد هاتف مع محمد.

سألني الضابط عن مرضي فلم أجبه. بعد ذلك رأيته يقتاد أيسر ويخرج به من الغرفة. بعد خمس دقائق تقريباً أعاده وأمره أن يقف مجدّداً ووجهه نحو الحائط ويداه نحو الأعلى. خرج الضابط من الغرفة وقبل ان يخرج أبقى جنديّاً لحراستنا فوقف هذا وهو يُشهر سلاحه نحونا. بعد مضيّ عدّة دقائق عاد الضابط وبقيّة الجنود إلى غرفة الصّالون وسألوا زوجتي ماذا يوجد في الطابق الأرضي ثمّ غادروا وأمرونا أن نبقى جالسين دون حراك.

كان اقتحام منزلنا عنيفاً دون أيّ سبب. هجوم الكلب عليّ سبّب لي آلاماً في الذراع طوال أسبوع.

أدناه أقوال أريج أبو هشهش - من إفادة أدلت بها في 23.7.20

نحو السّاعة 6:00 غادر الجنود ثمّ بعد ذلك بعشر دقائق تقريباً اتّصل شخص من "الشاباك" اسمه نضال وتحدّث معي بالعربيّة. قال لي إنّه يريد ابني محمد وإنّه يعلم أنّ محمد ليس مجرماً لكنّه مشتبه فيه بعدّة أمور وهو يريد أن يعاقبه بمقتضى القانون. قال إنّ على محمد أن يسلّم نفسه اليوم. لم أجبه بشيء. قال لي إنه سوف يُمهلني عشر دقائق للتفكير في الأمر ويعاود الاتّصال لكي يسمع ماذا قرّرت.

أريج أبو هشهش. الصورة قدمتها العائلة مشكورة

بعد مضيّ عشر دقائق اتّصل ثانية فقلت له إنّ محمد سوف يسلّم نفسه. خفت إن لم يحدث ذلك أن يقتحم الجنود المنزل مرّة أخرى ويسبّبوا الذعر لكلّ أفراد الأسرة وخاصّة زوجي المريض.

بعد وقت قصير وصل سِلفي هاني ورافق محمد إلى الحاجز الواقع عند مدخل المخيّم. سلّم محمد نفسه للجنود. علمت أنّهم في البداية أخذوه إلى سجن عسقلان ومن هناك إلى المسكوبيّة. وسوف يمثل أمام المحكمة في 16.7.20.

هذا الاقتحام كان بالنسبة إليّ تجربة مرعبة لن أنساها طوال حياتي. أكثر ما ذُعرت حين انقضّ الكلب عليّ وعلى زوجي المريض وعلى ابني أيسر.

كلمات مفتاحية

Skip to main content
Al-Fawar refugee camp. Photo by Musa Abu Hashhash, B'Tselem
Menu
From the field
Topics

Occupation routine: Soldiers raid two homes in al-Fawwar Refugee Camp, assault family and destroy fuse box in workshop

In the early hours of 25 June 2020 and 7 July 2020, dozens of soldiers raided two homes of the extended Abu Hashhsash family in al-Fawwar Refugee Camp, under the pretext of searching for three family members. The soldiers entered both homes without masks. In the first, they beat three family members and blew up a fuse box in the metal workshop of another member. In the second, they set a dog on three members of the family and beat one of them. In both cases, right after the raid, an ISA agent called the family, who were not suspected of anything, and demanded that the relatives the military was looking for turn themselves in. In one case, the agent explicitly threatened that soldiers would return and turn the family's home into a “battleground”.

Soldiers raiding Palestinians’ homes at the dead of night, waking entire families, including small children and infants, has long since been a fixture in the routine that the occupation regime imposes in the West Bank. In these raids – which, this time, included the use of violence and intimidation against family members, as well as damage to property – soldiers are not required to show a search warrant or even provide a reason. This is yet another example of the military’s abuse of power, even in the height of a global pandemic, with a lockdown imposed on most of the West Bank and fear among residents running higher than ever.

A description of the incidents and testimonies given to B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhsash (a member of the family) follows.

25 June 2020, the home of Sanaa and Yusef Abu Hashhsash:

On Thursday, 25 June 2020, at around 4:00 A.M., some 30 soldiers raided a building in the center of al-Fawar Refugee Camp that is home to extended Abu Hashhsash family. Seven siblings live in the building, four of them married with children, bringing the total number of inhabitants to 25, including 12 minors . The soldiers said they were there to arrest two of the siblings, Sari (41) and Muhammad (52), who were not home that night.

The soldiers first entered Yusef (46) and Sanaa Abu (41) Hashhash’s apartment on the ground floor and ordered the couple and their eight-year-old daughter, Jud, into the living room. Another two of their children, Yasin (17) and Adam (19), ran out of the house as soon as the soldiers came in. Islam (12) continued sleeping and Mahmoud (20) was sleeping at his uncle’s home on the first floor.

Three soldiers stood watch over the family by the entrance to the living room, with their weapons drawn. The rest of the force went up to the first floor, where three of the single siblings live. Ya’qub (33) opened the door and was immediately assaulted by a soldier who hit him with a rifle butt and broke his nose. The soldiers then led him and his brother Ibrahim (42), who was not allowed to get dressed, down to the living room on the ground floor. One of the soldiers then forcefully woke Mahmoud and dragged him by the hair to the living room.

The soldiers continued to the second floor, where three of the married siblings live with their families. One of the apartments was empty that night. In the second, the soldiers asked Iyad (45) about Sari and Muhammad’s whereabouts. In the last home, a soldier assaulted Ziad (58), slapping him and kicking him in the abdomen after he stated he did not know where his brothers were. The soldiers then took him down to Yusef and Sanaa’s living room.

 

The fuse box soldiers blew up in Yusef Abu Hashhash's metal workshop. Photo courtesy of the family

About half an hour later, the soldiers ordered the family to move to the building’s stairway and then went down the ground floor, where they blew up a fuse box in Yusef Abu Hashhsash’s metal workshop. Then they left the building. Ya’qub Abu Hashhsash had surgery to fix his broken nose on 29 June 2020.

As soon as the soldiers left, an ISA agent called the family and threatened to send the soldiers back unless Sari and Muhammad turned themselves in. He also called other relatives and made the same threat several times a day for three days running, after which Sari Abu Hashhsash turned himself in at the al-Fawar checkpoint. Following his arrest and interrogation, a three-month administrative detention order was issued against him. As of the time of publication, he is being held at the Ofer military prison.

In a testimony she gave on 1 July 2020, Sanaa Abu Hashhsash, a married mother of five, described that day’s events:

On Thursday, 25 June 2020, at around 4:00 A.M., I woke up in a fright from banging on the door. My husband went to open it and dozens of soldiers suddenly came in. One of them, I think he was an officer, ordered us to go into the living room and told the soldiers to search the house. I realized they were looking for my brothers-in-law, Muhammad and Sari, who weren’t home.

My husband, our young daughter Jud (8) and I went into the living room. My sons Adam (19) and Yasin (17) ran out of the house as soon as the soldiers entered. Islam (12) continued sleeping, and Muhammad (20) was sleeping at his uncle’s apartment on the first floor. Jud was petrified. It was the first time soldiers raided our home. She cried and held me tight. After a few minutes, my brother-in-law Ya’qub came into the living room. His nose was broken, and it looked crooked. A few minutes later, Ibrahim, my husband’s second brother, came in half naked, barefoot and only wearing boxer briefs. I was embarrassed to see him in that state, and so was he.

Three soldiers stood at the doorway to the living room, pointing their weapons at us. One of them told us not to move or talk. A few minutes later, the soldiers brought in Ziad, my husband’s brother, and then they brought in my son Mahmoud. Later, Mahmoud told me that soldiers had come into the room he was sleeping in and one of them had kicked him and dragged him by the hair into the living room.

They held us there for about half an hour, and then ordered us to go stand in the building’s stairway. Some of the soldiers entered a livestock pen near the house, where my husband has his workshop. A few minutes later I heard an explosion, and then they left the building. When we went back into the apartment, I was in shock and I tried to calm my daughter Jud down. Then we went to the workshop and I saw they’d blown up the fuse box.

It was one of the hardest experiences I’ve ever had. Not only did they lock me in a room with my little daughter and my brother-in-law, who was half naked, while they kept pointing their weapons at us, but I was also worried about Yasin and Adam. I was afraid the soldiers would beat them like they beat Ya’qub, or that they’d been arrested. I was also scared that a confrontation would start between my brothers-in-law and the soldiers, and then they would start shooting.

My husband Yusef is our main provider, and now after they blew up the fuse box in his workshop, it will be very hard on us financially. They caused thousands of shekels of damage, and business has been slow recently anyway because of the coronavirus.

They punished me and my family for something we were not involved in, just because we live in the same place.

In a testimony he gave on 26 June 2020, Ya’qub Abu Hashhsash recounted:

Ya’qub Abu Hashhsash . Photo courtesy of family
Ya’qub Abu Hashhsash . Photo courtesy of family

At around 4:00 A.M., I was woken by noise from the stairway. I opened my bedroom door and suddenly, a soldier hit me in the nose with his rifle butt. When I left the room, I saw that many soldiers had raided the building and were spread out inside it.

My nose really hurt , and before I realized what was happening, two soldiers carried me to the ground floor and brought me to the living room in my brother Yusef’s apartment. Yusef’s wife, Sanaa, and his little daughter were already there. Three soldiers were standing in the doorway and pointing their weapons at us. After a few minutes, they brought in my brother Ibrahim, who was half naked, and then they also brought in my brother Ziad and my nephew Mahmoud.

I put my hand over my nose and tried to stop the bleeding. The pain was unbearable. Sanaa and her daughter were frightened, and she held onto her mother and cried. After about half an hour, the soldiers took us out to the building’s stairway, and they went into my brother Yusef’s workshop. We heard an explosion. We later found out that they’d blown up the fuse box. Before they left, they ordered us to tell my brothers Muhammad and Sari that they had to turn themselves in.

In the morning, I went to al-Ahli Hospital in Hebron. They examined and x-rayed me, and it turned out that I had a fracture in my nose and that I have to undergo surgery, which is scheduled for 29 June 2020.

In a testimony he gave on 2 July 2020, Ziad Abu Hashhsash, a married father of two, related:

Ziad Abu Hashhsash . Photo courtesy of family

I woke up to loud banging on the front door. I opened up quickly and saw four soldiers in front of me, asking about my brother Sari. I told them I was asleep and that I didn’t know where he was. One of them slapped me and then repeated the question. I told him I didn’t know. Then, he slapped me again , kicked me in the stomach and ordered me to get out of the house quickly. My wife and two kids were away at her parent’s house. The soldiers carried me to the ground floor and put me in Yusef and Sanaa’s living room. My niece Jud, my brother Ya’qub, who I noticed had a nose injury, and my brother Ibrahim, who was half naked, were already in the living room. After a few minutes, they brought in my nephew Mahmoud.

They held us there for half an hour. Meanwhile, they searched Yusef’s house and the livestock pen. They then ordered us to stand in the stairway. A few minutes later, I heard an explosion coming from Yusef’s workshop.

The soldiers were looking for my brothers Muhammad and Sari, who weren’t home. After three days of phone calls from an ISA agent named “Nidal”, who threatened to raid the house again and turn it into a “battleground”, Sari turned himself in at the al-Fawwar checkpoint.

2 July 2020, the home of Arij and Musa Jamil Abu Hashhash:

Musa (51) and Arij Abu Hashhsash (41) and their five children, aged 10 to 21. Arij and Musa are distant relatives of the two wanted brothers . The soldiers said they had come to arrest the couple’s son, Muhammad (19), who was not home at the time.

The soldiers, accompanied by a dog, went up to the first floor and blew up a front door leading to a guest room, where 16-year-old Aysar was sitting. The dog lunged at him and left the room. Moments later, it came back and attacked Aysar again. Aysar held the dog’s head to stop it from moving, and a soldier yelled at him and ordered him to let go. One of the soldiers then told Aysar to stand with his face to the wall and his hands in the air. Some of the soldiers left to search the other rooms. The dog pounced on Arij and pushed her against the wall and then knocked down Musa, who has a speech impediment and difficulty walking. The dog attacked him again as he lay on the floor. After Musa had sat down in a chair opposite his bedroom, two soldiers ordered him to move into the living room. When he refused, one of them dragged him in by the arm. Then, they ordered the rest of the family into living room. An officer took Aysar to one of the bedrooms and questioned him about his brother Muhammad’s whereabouts. Every time he responded that he did not know where Muhammad was, the officer hit him.

About half an hour later, the soldiers left the house. Immediately afterwards, an ISA agent called the family’s home and threatened Arij that if her son did not turn himself in that day, the soldiers would come back. About an hour later , around 6:30 A.M., Muhammad arrived at the checkpoint and turned himself him. He was taken to an interrogation facility in Ashkelon and then to the ISA detention facility in the Russian Compound in Jerusalem. From there he was transferred to the Ofer military prison, where he is currently being held.

In a testimony he gave on 23 June 2020, Aysar Abu Hashhsash spoke about the incident:

Aysar Abu Hashhsash . Photo courtesy of family

That morning, my brother Muhammad and I were in the living room, playing a game of PUBG on the mobile phone. One of our relatives asked Muhammad to help him unload petrol at a station near our house, so he left and I changed into my pajamas and got ready for bed. Then I heard a noise in the stairway. I thought it was Muhammad, so I went out to check why he was back so soon. Suddenly, I saw soldiers heading up to our floor. I closed the door, sat down on the couch and pretended to be busy with my phone. After a few minutes, soldiers broke down our door. A brown dog suddenly jumped at me and then he let go of me. It went out of the room and then came back and attacked me again. I grabbed its head to try and keep it off me, and a soldier yelled at me and ordered me to let go.

The dog left the room and then the same soldier ordered me to get up and face the wall with my hands in the air. I heard my mother shouting outside the room, but I didn’t know what was going on in the rest of the house. I saw two soldiers. One of them was dragging my father into the living room. A few minutes later they brought my mother into the living room and then my sisters Athir (21) and Batul, who is my twin, and my little brother Tamim (10).

The soldiers came and went, and I heard noises from the other rooms. One soldier stood behind me, I think he was an officer, and gave me three slaps on the back of my neck. He asked me about my brother Muhammad. I told him I didn’t know where he was and then he grabbed me by both cheeks and told me I was lying. Then he let go of me and went over to my father. He asked him about Muhammad and my father didn’t answer. My mother told the officer that Muhmmad doesn’t have a phone right now because it’s broken.

The officer took me out of the living room and into my sister’s room. He pushed my face into her mattress and started asking again about Muhammad and where he was hiding the weapons . Every time I said I didn’t know, he punched me in the back.

This happened several times and I kept answering the same thing. Finally, he hit me in the upper back with the butt of his rifle and made me stand up. Then he took me back to the living room and ordered me to stand facing the wall.

Meanwhile, the soldiers searched the house. They asked my mother about the ground floor. They left the living room and I thought that they were gone, so I opened the door to check, and then one of them yelled at me to close it. Right after they left, I told my parents and my uncle, who lives next to us, what had happened in my sister’s bedroom.

In a testimony he gave on 23 July 2020, Musa Jamil Abu Hashhsash related:

Musa Abu Hashhsash . Photo courtesy of family

I woke up from my wife’s shouting. She was standing outside our bedroom. I went out to see what was happening and before I could get a grip, a brown dog jumped at me and knocked me to the ground. He ran to the bathroom and then came back and jumped me again, while I was lying on the floor.

I was shocked and didn’t understand what was happening. I barely managed to get up and sit on a chair in front of our bedroom, when two soldiers came to me and told me to go into the living room. I ignored them, and then one of them dragged me by the arm into the living room. I heard my wife yelling at them: “Leave him alone, he’s sick”.

I went into the living room and saw my son Aysar standing there with his face to the wall and his hands in the air. The soldier sat me on a chair and a few minutes later, they brought my wife Arij, my two daughters, Asil and Batul, and my son Tamim into the room. I saw one of the soldiers, I think he was an officer, slap my son several times on the back of his neck and tell him he was lying. The same officer started asking me about Muhammad and ordered me to call him. My wife intervened and told him that Muhammad doesn’t have a phone.

The officer asked about my illness, but I didn’t answer. I saw him take Aysar out of the room. About five minutes later, he brought him back in and ordered him to go back to facing the wall with his hands in the air. The officer put a soldier on guard to watch over us, with his weapon drawn, and left the room. A few minutes later, the officer and other soldiers came back into the room and asked my wife what’s on the ground floor. Then they left and ordered us to stay sitting and not move.

The raid on our home was unnecessarily violent. My hand hurt for a week because of the dog’s attack.

 

In a testimony she gave on 23 July 2020, Arij Abu Hashhsash recounted:

Arij Abu Hashhsash . Photo courtesy of family

At around 6:00 A.M., the soldiers left. About ten minutes later, an ISA agent named “Nidal” called and spoke to me in Arabic. He told me that he was looking for my son Muhammad, and that he knows he’s not a criminal but he’s suspected of a few things and he wants to punish him by law. He said Muhammad had to turn himself in that day . I didn’t answer him, and then he said he’d give me ten minutes to think about it and call back to see what I’d decided.

After ten minutes, he called again and I told him Muhammad would turn himself in. I was afraid that if he didn’t, the soldiers would raid our home again and scare the whole family, especially my sick husband.

Shortly after that, my brother-in-law Hani arrived and went with Muhammad to the checkpoint at the entrance to the camp. Muhammad turned himself over to the soldiers, and I was told they took him to a prison in Ashkelon and from there to the Russian Compound. They scheduled a court hearing for him on 16 July 2020 . For me, the raid was a moment of horror that I’ll never forget. I was most frightened when the dog attacked me, my sick husband and my son Aysar.

Location