Skip to main content
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

افتحوا عينيكم | مدونة الصور

كورونا في بيت لحم

نيسان 2020

מרווה ר'אנם, בצלםشاءت الصّدف أن تنتقل مركّزة المعلومات في بتسيلم مروة غنّام للسّكن في بيت لحم قبل إغلاق المدينة.

من انتقال مصحوب بطاقات إيجابيّة إلى إغلاق شبه تامّ 

أنا في الـ30 من عمري من مواليد حيفا وانتقلت للسّكن وحدي - في منزل كبير في مدينة غريبة عنّي نوعاً ما محاطة بالحواجز ومطوّقة بجدار. أضطرّ لعبور حاجز في طريقي من وإلى عملي في القدس، ولكن بعد تجربة العيش في القدس طوال سبع سنوات وجدت بيت أحلامي في مدينة فلسطينيّة ساحرة - بيت حجر قديم فيه نوافذ كثيرة تُدخل الضوء وتبعث الأمل. 

عندما قالت لي أمّي إنّها تخشى أن تغلق الطرق فلا أتمكّن من زيارتهم هدّأت من روعها. قلت لها هذا لن يحدث. ولكنّني أعرف تماماً أنّ هذا قد يحدث فأنا اكتب لبتسيلم تقارير مفصّلة عن شوارع تُغلق وقرى تحاصَر في الضفة الغربيّة. فقط أردت أن أجنّب والدتي مزيداً من القلق. 

حسناً حدث ذلك في 9.3.20. احتلّ الفيروس المدينة.

اقتضت تعليمات وزارة الصحّة أن أبقى في بيتي وألتزم العزل الصحّي طوال 14 يوماً. هكذا أيضاً جميع سكّان بيت لحم. سألت نفسي: "إغلاق؟ ولمَ الإغلاق؟ في داخل إسرائيل تنشر وزارة الصحّة منذ أسبوع مسارات تتبّع انتشار الوباء ولم تُغلَق مدنهم وبلداتهم!". كانت هذه صدمة بالنسبة لي ولسكّان بيت لحم والضفّة. حدّثني أصدقاء أنّ حصاراً فُرض على بيت لحم في عام 2002 طيلة 40 يوماً. كأنّهم معتادون.

ابتدأت حياتي الجديدة: أعمل من المنزل أقضي الوقت مع الأصدقاء عبر محادثات الفيديو أما أشواقي للعائلة  فقد نفثتُها عن بُعد.  اختُزل العالم الخارجيّ المتاح أمام عينيّ إلى صورة أشاهدها عبر نافذتي أو صور أرسمها في خيالي.

خرجت ذاتَ يوم لشراء بعض الحاجيّات. شاهدت رجلاً فوق بُرجٍ عالٍ يدقّ جرس الكنيسة قبالتي. انضمّ إليه صوت المؤذّن من المسجد القريب. اتّجهت نحو سيّارتي في المدينة الخالية. مطر يهطل. ذهني يكتب سيناريو القيامة.

مرّت أيّام العزل الـ14 ولكن في هذه الأثناء حدثت تطوّرات أدخلت البلاد كلّها في العزل. وجدت نفسي ملزمة باتّخاذ قرار: هل أبقى في بيت لحم وحدي، يعلم الله إلى متى، أم أحاول العودة إلى بيت والديّ رغم الإغلاق والحواجز؟

أعددت حقيبتي وشغّلت سيّارتي وانطلقت عائدة إلى بيت والديّ.

مروة غنّام، مركّزة معلومات في بتسيلم

تطلّ نافذة غرفتي على سجن. يُقال إنه كان منزلُا لعميل لدى إسرائيل وتم تحويله إلى سجن جنائي. أنظر عبر النافذة وأتساءل: ألا يمكن أنّنا نعيش في وهْم كبير وفي الواقع جميعنا حبيسون في سجن كبير؟
وادي التعامرة المقابل لمنزلي صرت أعرفه جيّداً يمكن القول.
محاصَرون؟ فليكن حتّى النهاية. فلنحاصرِ الصورة بإطار.
فارس أبو جبل (26 عاماً) من سكّان بيت لحم وهو شابّ أعزب يملك بار: أحسّ وكأنّنا نعيش داخل كابوس مُرعب لا ينتهي. أنا معتاد على الذّهاب إلى البار يوميّاً معتاد أن أعمل وأن ألتقي أشخاصاً كثيرين ومتنوّعين، سيّاح ومحلّيّين. الآن - البار مغلق ولا أحد يأتي.
في هذه الفترة دخل حياتي بن. بن هو قطّ جاري الأسكتلندي الذي عاد إلى مدينته عندما أُغلق كلّ شيء هنا. لولا بن لما استطعت الصّمود في هذه الظروف الصّعبة: الأيّام التي لا تمرّ والخُواء والعزلة.
بن
حمدي الحروب من سكّان وادي فوكين أعزب في الـ 29 من عمره وهو صاحب ملحمة: لدينا ملحمة بين الخضر وبيت جالا أعمل فيها مع أخي. فتحنا المحلّ قبل أشهر معدودة فقط وبالكاد اشتغلنا وكسبنا بعض الرزق. ها هي الملحمة الآن مغلقة. في البداية كنّا نستطيع السّفر من قريتنا وادي فروكين في اتّجاه الخضر وبيت لحم أمّا الآن فهذا غير ممكن.
هناك حواجز في كلّ مكان ولكي نخرج يجب أن نحصل على إذن خاصّ من الشرطة الفلسطينيّة. أنا تخلّيت عن هذه الإمكانيّة وأقبع في البيت حاليّاً. يخرج أخي أحياناً ويفتح الملحمة لأنّ لديه تصريح. ولكن حتى لو فتحنا المحلّ لا يأتي الزبائن. الناس كلهم خائفون ويلزمون بيوتهم. هذا الوضع يسبّب الاكتئاب. لا توجد طاقة لشيء.
شادي رمضان من سكّان مخيّم الدّهيشة للّاجئين في بيت لحم أعزب في الـ25 من عمره: العالم كلّه الآن تحت الحجْر. ربّما يشعر الآن ما يشعره الشعب الفلسطيني المحاصَر منذ زمن طويل حتى أنّه اعتاد الحصار. منذ سبعة أيّام هذه المرّة الأولى التي أخرج فيها من المنزل. الاحتلال الإسرائيلي والسّلطة الفلسطينيّة أغلقا جميع مداخل المدينة. لا يوجد أناس. لا يوجد حتى عصافير.
نحن لاجئون طُردنا من منازلنا في عام 48 ولهذا معروف عنّا تمسّكنا بالأرض وبالزّراعة. ربّما لهذا السّبب أقمت دفيئة زراعيّة على سطح منزلنا. هذا يساعدني على تفريغ المشاعر السلبيّة التي تثيرها الأخبار عن الفيروس. وربّما أتمكّن من زراعة ما يكفي من الخضار لاحتياجات الأسرة في هذه الفترة العصيبة.
الكورونا صديق جديد وفيه ما يرمز إلى وحدة المصير: الكورونا أقوى من الاحتلال وتؤثّر علينا وعلى الإسرائيليّين على حدّ سواء. الموت مشترك لنا ولهم. ولكن في ساعات اللّيل تتسلّل إلى قلبي مشاعر فظيعة: ماذا سيحدث لوضع الأسرة الاقتصادي ؟ هل سيستمرّ هذا الوضع لوقت طويل - ماذا سنفعل؟ من أين سنتدبر تكاليف معيشتنا؟ هل سأستطيع العودة إلى العمل؟ لقد بحثت عن عمل طوال ستّة أشهر وفي يوم عملي الأوّل ظهرت الكورونا في المدينة. يا لحظّي العاثر!


Eyes Wide Open Photo Blog by B’Tselem is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. You are free to use the photos in the blog. However, any public use of photos must include copyright credit to the photographer and B’Tselem.

Skip to main content
Menu
From the field
Topics

Eyes Wide Open | Photo Blog

Corona in Bethlehem

April 2020

מרווה ר'אנם, בצלםMarwa Ghannam, a data coordinator with B’Tselem, moved to Bethlehem just days before the city shut down. 

From a hopeful move to almost complete lockdown

I’m 30 years old, from Haifa. I moved to Bethlehem to live in a large house by myself. I hardly know the city and it’s surrounded by checkpoints and the Separation Barrier. I’ll have to go through a checkpoint to get to work in Jerusalem and back. But after seven years in Jerusalem, I’ve found the apartment of my dreams in a fascinating Palestinian city, in an old stone house with lots of windows, sunshine and hope. 

When my mother said that the checkpoints could close one day and I wouldn’t be able to visit them, I reassured her it wouldn’t happen. Because I write detailed reports for B’Tselem about roadblocks and closure of villages in the West Bank, I know it can happen, but I was trying to spare my mom the worry.

Well, on 9 March 2020, it happened. Occupation by virus

The health ministry directives sentenced me – and everyone else in Bethlehem – to fourteen days of isolation. I asked myself: “Closure? Why closure!? For a week now, the Israeli health ministry has been publishing its epidemiological investigations of patients inside Israel, but no one is closing their cities and communities!” It was a shock for me and for the residents of Bethlehem and the West Bank. Friends told me that in 2002, Bethlehem was put under full closure for 40 days and they’re supposedly used to it.

So, I started my new life. I worked from home. I got together with friends on video chat and talked to my family from afar to make up for missing them. All I could see, most of the time, was the world outside my window and sometimes in my imagination.

One day, when I went out to get supplies, I saw a man ringing the church bells at the top of the tower up ahead and the voice of the muezzin joined him from the mosque nearby. I walked to my car through the empty city. It was raining. In my head, I was writing the script for an apocalypse.

The fourteen days of isolation are over, but new developments have put the whole country in isolation. I had to decide whether to stay in Bethlehem alone until God knows when, or try to go back to my parents, despite the closure and roadblocks

I packed a suitcase, started the car and went back to my parents. 


Marwa Ghannam, B’Tselem data coordinator

The window in my room overlooks a prison. They say the converted building used to be owned by a collaborator with Israel. I look at it and wonder: Could we all be living in one great illusion? In one big prison?
I got to know Wadi a-T’aamrah, the neighborhood across from me, pretty well
Framing the lockdown...
Fares Abu Jabal, 26, single, bar/pub owner from Bethlehem: I feel like we’re living in a nightmare that never ends. I was used to going to the pub every day, working and meeting different people – tourists and locals. Now the pub is closed and no one is visiting.
This is when Ben came into my life. Ben was my Scottish neighbor’s cat. He went back home when everything here shut down. Without Ben, I wouldn’t have been able to get through this tough time, the days seem to never end, the emptiness, the loneliness.
Ben
Hamdi al-Hrub, 29, single, a butcher shop owner from Wadi Fukin: I’ve been working for a few months now at the butcher shop my brother and I opened in the area between al-Khader and Beit Jala. We didn’t get a chance to enjoy the money we were making, or the work itself, before we had to shut down. At first we could still drive from our village, Wadi Fukin, towards al-Khader and Bethlehem, but we can’t anymore.
There are checkpoints everywhere and we need special permission from the Palestinian police to leave. I’ve given up and for now, am staying home. My brother sometimes goes to the butcher shop because he has a permit, but even when we open, people don’t come. Everyone’s home and afraid to go out. It’s depressing and there’s no energy for anything anymore.
Shadi Ramadan, 25, single, from a-Duheisheh Refugee Camp, Bethlehem: The whole world is under closure now. Could everyone be feeling what the Palestinian people, who are used to closure, usually feel? I left the house today for the first time in seven days. All the entrances to the city have been closed off by the Israeli occupation and the Palestinian Authority. There are no people. There are no birds, even.
As refugees expelled from their homes in 1948, we are known for clinging to the land and for farming. Maybe that’s why I started a greenhouse on my roof. It’s helping me get rid of the negative feelings caused by news about the virus. Maybe I can plant enough vegetables to meet my family’s needs during this crazy time.
The coronavirus is a new friend. Something about it symbolizes a shared fate. The virus is much stronger than the occupation, and it’s affecting the Israelis and us in the same way. Death doesn’t differentiate between them and us. But at night, a terrible feeling worms its way into my heart: What about the family’s financial situation!? If this goes on for a long time – what will we do? Where are we going to get money for our necessities? Will I be able to go back to work? I looked for work for six months and on my first day, the corona showed up in town. Such bad luck!


Eyes Wide Open Photo Blog by B’Tselem is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. You are free to use the photos in the blog. However, any public use of photos must include copyright credit to the photographer and B’Tselem.