Skip to main content
إيناس وبيان أبو خماش. صورة قدّمتها العائلة مشكورة
Menu
المواضيع

سلاح الجوّ الإسرائيلي ألقى قنبلة على منزل في دير البلح وقتل امرأة حاملًا في شهرها التاسع وطفلة لم تبلغ السّنتين من عمرها

في يوم الخميس الموافق 9.8.2018، قرب الساعة 1:30 بعد منتصف الليل، ألقى سلاح الجوّ الإسرائيلي قنبلة موجّهة على أحد المنازل في حيّ الجعفراوي في الأطراف الجنوبيّة الشرقيّة لبلدة دير البلح. جرى إسقاط القنبلة ضمن تبادُل نيران كثيفة بين إسرائيل ومسلّحين في قطاع غزّة أطلقوا قذائف على بلدات إسرائيليّة أسفرت عن جرح 23 شخصًا، جراح أحدهم بليغة. لم تنفجر القنبلة لكنّها اخترقت سقف منزل يسكنه بالإيجار محمّد وإيناس أبو خماش، وحطّت في صالون المنزل، مؤدّية إلى مقتل إيناس أبو خماش، 22 عامًا، طالبة في كلية التربية وكانت حاملًا في شهرها التاسع؛ وابنتها الطفلة بيان، البالغة من العمر سنة وعشرة أشهر. أمّا الزوج، محمد خماش ويعمل ضابطًا في شرطة حكومة حماس، فقد أصيب بجراح من شظايا وتمّ إخلاؤه إلى مستشفى شهداء الأقصى في دير البلح حيث تبيّن لديه كسر في كاحل قدمه اليسرى. بعض القطع من القنبلة اخترقت الحائط الشرقي للمنزل وأصابت حائط مسجد يقع على بُعد أمتار قليلة ثمّ خرجت عبر سطح المسجد.

Thumbnail
الفتحة التي أحدثتها القنبلة في سطح منزل عائلة أبو خماش. تصوير خالد العزايزة، بتسيلم، 9.8.2018

في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 13.8.2018 أمام الباحث الميداني لدى بتسيلم، خالد العزايزة، حدّث محمد خماش بما حدث في تلك الليلة:

Thumbnail
بيان أبو خماش. صورة قدّمتها العائلة مشكورة

في المساء، أدّيت صلاة العشاء في "مسجد التقوى والإيمان"، الذي يقع بالضبط مقابل منزلنا، ثمّ عدت إلى المنزل. جلست مع زوجتي، ثمّ أعددنا طفلتنا بيان للنوم في فراش نضعه على أرضيّة الصّالون، الواقع عند مدخل المنزل. بسبب الحرّ وانقطاع الكهرباء، اعتدنا النوم في الصّالون لأنّ مجرى الهواء هناك أفضل. ونظرًا للتوتّر الأمني انشغلت بالاستماع إلى المذياع ومتابعة الأخبار. طلبت زوجي أن أقفل المذياع، فأقفلته. بعد ذلك استلقيت ونمت إلى جانب ابنتي وزوجتي، وغفونا.

عندما استيقظت وجدت نفسي في مستشفى شهداء الأقصى. اتّضح لي أنّ قذيفة أو صاروخًا كبيرًا أطلقته طائرة حربيّة كان قد سقط على منزلنا قرب السّاعة 1:30 بعد منتصف اللّيل، اخترق السقف وحطّ فوقنا مباشرة. قال لي الجيران أنّهم وجدوني فاقدًا الوعي تقريبًا وأتلو آيات من القرآن وأدعية.

علمت عن إيناس وبيان فقط في صباح اليوم التالي، السبت 11.8.2018، عندما جاء أخي كمال لزيارتي في المستشفى. لقد حاول أخي التروّي في تبليغ النبأ، فأعدّني مذكّرًا بشقيقنا مختار الذي استُشهد في مسيرات العودة (في 14.5.2018)، وعندها أخبرني أنّ زوجتي وابنتي أيَضًا استُشهدتا. قلت له "هذا الكلام غير صحيح"؛ ولكن بعد ذلك جاء حميّ وعاد على ما قاله أخي. تملّكتني الصّدمة. لقد غفوت بجانب عائلتي واستيقظت في المستشفى دون أن أشعر بالقصف بتاتًا. كان من الصعب عليّ أن أصدّق ما حدث.

وما زلت تحت تأثير الصّدمة، أحسّ وكأنّني في كابوس. لا أصدّق ما حدث. كانت زوجتي، إيناس، طالبة جامعيّة في السنة الرابعة، تدرس التربية الأساسيّة في جامعة الأزهر، في غزة. لم يبق لها سوى فصلين لتُنهي دراستها. بيان ابنتي، كانت ذكيّة وشقيّة ومتعلّقة بي كثيرًا. كانت تنتظرني خلف باب المنزل عندما كنت أذهب للصلاة في المسجد، وكانت تطلّ من تحت الباب لكي تفاجئني عندما أعود. كانت تستيقظ كلّ ليلة وتناديني باسمي: "يا محمد، يا محمد". كانت تحبّ الذّهاب معي لزيارة عمّتها، التي تسكن قربنا، لكي تلعب مع أطفالها.

أنا خرّيج كلّية الشرطة في السّودان. أنهيت دراستي وعدت بعد حرب 2014. لم أتخيّل أبدًا أن تُصيب طائرات الاحتلال منزلي بهذه الطريقة. لقد خلدنا إلى النّوم دون أن يخطر في بالنا أنّنا سنكون مستهدَفين. كنت في انتظار طفلتي الجديدة. وقد عقدت النيّة على أن أسمّيها روزان. وكانت زوجتي قد أعدّت قائمة بالأغراض التي ينبغي أن نجهّزها لها قبل ولادتها - ملابس وأغراض أخرى. وقد جهّزت كلّ احتياجاتها واحتياجات زوجتي، لكن كلّ شيء انتهى خلال ثانية - فقدت عائلتي، ودون أيّ سبب أو مبرّر.

Thumbnail
صالون منزل عائلة أبو خماش بعد سقوط القنبلة عليه. تصوير خالد العزايزة، بتسيلم، 28.8.2018

أحد جيران عائلة أبو خماش (53 عامًا، متزوّج وأب لثمانية أولاد)، حدّث في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 13.8.2018 أمام الباحث الميداني من بتسيلم، خالد العزايزة، قائلًا:

في يوم الخميس الموافق 9.8.2018، استيقظت عند الساعة 1:30 ليلًا على صوت خبط وارتطام أشياء، من ناحية المسجد. خرجت إلى الشارع فرأيت مياهًا تجري من المسجد إلى الشارع، وبعض الجيران يتجمّعون قرب المسجد. صعد أحدهم إلى سطح المسجد وأغلق حنفيّات الماء. طلبت من الناس العودة إلى منازلهم، بسبب الوضع الأمنيّ الخطير، حيث كان يجري في تلك الليلة تبادُل إطلاق صواريخ وقاذفات بين المقاومة وجيش الاحتلال.

في طريقي عودتي إلى منزلي، قبالة بوّابة المسجد والبيت المستأجر الذي يسكن فيه محمد أبو خماش، سمعت من داخل المنزل صوت شخص يئنّ ويطلب المساعدة. صرخت وناديت الجيران وأبنائي فأتوا. قفز ابني (أ، 14 عامًا) من فوق بوّابة المنزل وفتحها فدخلنا. حين دخلت إلى المنزل وجدت محمد أبو خماش نائمًا مضرّجًا بدمائه داخل حفرة بعُمق متر وطول مترين في صالون منزله. رأيت كذلك قطع من جسد ملتصقة بحائط الصالون. كانت الكهرباء مقطوعة ولذلك استخدمنا مصابيح هواتفنا. منعت الناس من التقدّم أكثر داخل المنزل وطلب أن يستدعوا سيّارة إسعاف. بعد عشر دقائق جاءت سيّارتا إسعاف تابعتان للهلال الأحمر. أخلى المسعفون محمد ونقلوه إلى مستشفى شهداء الأقصى. كانت حالته صعبة لدرجة أنّ الناس كانوا يقولون له "تشاهد" فكان يردّد الشهادتين وهو نصف مغمًى عليه.

جثّتا إيناس وبيان كانتا مقطّعتين إربًا ومسحوقتين. زوجتي ساعدت المسعفين في تجميع قطع جسديهما. والأثاث كان محطّمًا. كانت في السقف فتحة، في الناحية الغربية، قطرها 80-100 سم تقريبًا. لم يكن هناك صاروخ. اتّضح لي لاحقًا أنّ الصّاروخ بعد أن حطّ في منزل العائلة ارتدّ خارجًا من حائط الصالون الغربي وأصاب سقف المسجد.

Thumbnail
بيان أبو خماش. صورة قدّمتها العائلة مشكورة

لم تكلّف إسرائيل نفسها عناء توضيح الغاية من وراء تلك الغارة ولا سبب إلقاء تلك القنبلة. لذلك، من غير الواضح أيضًا من كان المستهدَف بها - هل كان منزل عائلة أبو خماش أم هدف آخر. النتائج فقط هي الواضحة: مقتل امرأة حامل في شهرها التاسع وطفلتها التي لم تبلغ بعد سنتين.

إطلاق الصّواريخ وإلقاء القنابل على مناطق مكتظّة بالسكّان كما في قطاع غزة يعرّض المدنيّين للخطر، بحُكم التعريف. نحن لا نتحدّث هنا عن خطر نظريّ، بل هو خطر محقّق: لقد سبق وقتلت إسرائيل، التي تتباهى بقدراتها التكنولوجيّة والاستخباراتيّة العالية، آلاف المدنيّين وبضمنهم مئات الأطفال في غارات القصف الجوّيّ التي شنّتها على قطاع غزّة. خلال "حملة الجرف الصّامد" وحدها قُتل جرّاء الغارات الجوّيّة على الأقلّ من 1055 فلسطينيًّا لم يشاركوا في القتال - تقريبًا نصف الفلسطينيين الذين قُتلوا في تلك الحرب - من بينهم 405 أولاد و-229 نساء. رغم النتائج المعروفة لمثل هذه السياسة، طبّقتها إسرائيل طيلة أسابيع، بيتًا وراء بيت، أسرة وراء أسرة.

تزعم إسرائيل بإصرار أنّ هذه السياسة قانونيّة ولا تشوبها شائبة. لهذا السّبب، لم يحدث أن حوسب أحد على ما يترتّب عليها من نتائج، ولم يرفع كبار المسؤولين العسكريّين والسياسيّين غطاء الدّعم عنها. لكنّ هذه السياسة - بنتائجها المروّعة والمتوقّعة سلفًا - ترفرف من فوقها راية سوداء، والتأويلات القانونيّة التي تشرعنها باطلة ولا تنجح في نزع تلك الرّاية.

Skip to main content
Bayan and Inas Abu Khamash. Photo courtesy of the family
Menu
Topics

Israel bombs Deir al-Balah home, killing pregnant mother and toddler

At about 1:30 A.M. on Thursday, 9 August 2018, the Israeli air force dropped a guided bomb on a home in the al-Ja’frawi neighborhood, which lies on the southeastern outskirts of the Gazan town of Deir al-Balah. The strike was part of a massive exchange of fire between Israel and armed operatives in Gaza. The latter fired rockets at communities within Israel and injured 23 people, one of them seriously. The bomb, which did not explode, went through the roof of a house rented by Muhammad and Inas Abu Khamash and into their living room. The bomb killed Inas, 22, an education student who was nine months pregnant, and Bayan, the couple’s one-year and 10-month-old daughter. Muhammad, an officer with the Hamas government police force, was injured by shrapnel and taken to Shuhadaa al-Aqsa Hospital in Deir al-Balah, where he was also found to have a fractured left ankle. Bits of the bomb went through the eastern wall of the home, hit the wall of a mosque that lies a few meters away and exited through the roof.

Thumbnail
The hole ripped by the bomb in the roof of the Abu Khamash home. Photo: Khaled al-'Azayzeh, B'Tselem, 9 Aug. 2018

Muhammad described that night in a testimony he gave B'Tselem field researcher Khaled al-‘Azayzeh on 13 August 2018:

Thumbnail
Muhammad Abu Khamash with his daughter Bayan. Photo courtesy of the family

I attended late evening prayers at a-Taqwa wal-Ayman Mosque opposite my house. Then I went home. I sat with my wife and then we put our baby daughter Bayan to sleep on her mattress on the living room floor, at the entrance to the house. Because of the heat and the power cuts, we usually sleep in the living room, where there’s more air. I turned the radio on to listen to the news because of the fighting. My wife asked me to turn it off and I did. I lay down next to her and Bayan and we fell asleep.

I woke up in Shuhadaa al-Aqsa Hospital. I was told that at about 1:30 A.M., a bomb or a large missile fired from a fighter plane had landed on my house, gone through the ceiling and fallen right on top of us. The neighbors told me that I was reciting verses from the Quran and praying while I was almost passed out.

It was only the next morning (Saturday, 11 August), when my brother Kamal came to see me, that he told me about Inas and Bayan. He tried to prepare me for the news by reminding me that our brother Mukhtar was killed in the “Return Protests” on 14 May 2018. Then he told me that my wife and daughter had fallen as martyrs. I told him he was wrong. But then my uncle arrived and told me the same thing. I was shocked, because I’d gone to sleep with my family and woken up in hospital. I hadn’t even felt the bomb, so it was hard to believe it had happened.

I’m still in shock and feel like I’m living in a nightmare. I can’t believe this happened. My wife Inas was studying to be an elementary school teacher at Al-Azhar University in Gaza City. She was in her fourth year and had only two semesters left. Bayan was a bright, mischievous girl and very attached to me. She used to wait for me behind the door when I went to pray at the mosque and peek out to surprise me when I came back. When she woke up at night, she’d call for me by my name: “Muhammad, Muhammad!” She loved going together to my sister, who lives near us, and playing with her cousins.

I graduated from a police academy in Sudan. I came back to Gaza after the 2014 war. I never imagined that the occupation would hit my own home. I was asleep with my family and could never have imagined we’d be a target for anyone. I was waiting for the new baby. I was going to call her Rozan. My wife had already made a list of things we needed to get before the baby was born – clothes and other stuff. I’d gotten it all ready for the baby and for my wife, but everything vanished in a second. I lost my whole family, for no reason whatsoever.

Thumbnail
The Khamash family's living room after the bombing. Photo: Khaled al-'Azayzeh, B'Tselem, 28 Aug. 2018

K. M., 53, married with eight children, lives nearby. In a testimony he gave B'Tselem field researcher Khaled al-‘Azayzeh on 13 August 2018, he related:

At 1:30 A.M. on Thursday, 9 August 2018, I was woken by the sound of thudding and crashing coming from the direction of the mosque. I went out to the street and saw water flowing down to the road from the roof of the mosque. Some neighbors had gathered nearby. One of them climbed up and closed the faucets on the roof. I asked people to go home because the security situation was dangerous. That night there were exchanges of rocket and missile fire between the resistance and the occupation army.

On my way home, I passed by the gate of the mosque and the house that Muhammad Abu Khamash was renting. I heard someone calling for help inside the house. I shouted to the neighbors and to my sons and they joined me. My son A., 14, jumped over the door and opened it. I went inside and found Muhammad lying, bleeding, in a hole about one meter deep and two meters long in middle of the living room. I saw body parts on the walls. The power was out, so we used the lights on our phones. I stopped people from coming in and asked them to call an ambulance. About ten minutes later, two Red Crescent ambulances arrived. The paramedics drove Muhammad to Shuhadaa al-Aqsa Hospital. He was seriously injured. People asked him to recite the “shahadatain” prayer and he did. He was half passed-out.

The bodies of Inas and Bayan were dismembered and crushed. My wife helped the paramedics gather the body parts. The furniture was also shattered. There was a hole in the ceiling, on the western side, about 80 to 100 centimeters wide. The bomb wasn’t there. I learned later that after it hit the house, it went through the eastern wall and hit the roof of the mosque.

Thumbnail
Bayan Abu Khamash. Photos courtesy of the family

Israel didn’t even bother to explain why the bomb was dropped. So it’s not clear what the target was – the Abu Khamash house or something. The only thing that is clear is the result: a woman about to give birth and her less then two-year old daughter were killed.

Firing missiles and dropping bombs into densely-populated areas such as the Gaza Strip endangers civilians by definition. This is not hypothetical. Israel, which prides itself on sophisticated technology and intelligence, has killed thousands of civilians in the Gaza Strip with airstrikes, including hundreds of children. In Operation Protective Edge alone, at least 1,055 Palestinians who were not involved in the fighting were killed by airstrikes – almost half of all the Palestinians killed during the fighting – including 405 children and 229 women. Israel kept this policy up for weeks, bombing home after home, family after family, despite the predictable outcomes.

Israel insists that this policy is legal and justifiable. Accordingly, no-one has ever been held accountable for the lethal outcome, and the policy is still backed by the senior levels of government and military. Yet no legalistic maneuvering can whitewash a policy with such horrifying, foreseeable consequences.