Skip to main content
نساء يعبرن شارع رقم 60 بالقرب من مدخل خربة قلقس. الصورة من التوثيق بالفيديو.
مرة مشاهدة: 945

روتين الاحتلال في حيّ خربة قلقس في الخليل: معزولون عن المدينة منذ أكثر من 17 عامًا

خربة قلقس هي حيّ في جنوب الخليل، يعيش فيها نحو 3000 شخص، وكانت سابقًا قرية مستقلّة. يفصل بين الحيّ وبقيّة أحياء مدينة الخليل شارع 60. كافّة نواحي حياة السكّان مرتبطة، بطبيعة الحال، بمدينة...
قراءة المقال كاملاً العودة إلى وضع الفيديو

روتين الاحتلال في حيّ خربة قلقس في الخليل: معزولون عن المدينة منذ أكثر من 17 عامًا

خربة قلقس هي حيّ في جنوب الخليل، يعيش فيها نحو 3000 شخص، وكانت سابقًا قرية مستقلّة. يفصل بين الحيّ وبقيّة أحياء مدينة الخليل شارع 60. كافّة نواحي حياة السكّان مرتبطة، بطبيعة الحال، بمدينة الخليل: هم يتلقّون فيها الخدمات الصحّية، يجرون مشترياتهم فيها، كثير منهم يعملون فيها، والمزارعون يبيعون محاصيلهم في سوق الخضرة، في وسط البلد. إضافة إلى ذلك، هناك نحو مائة طالب ثانوي وجامعي يرتادون يوميًّا المؤسّسات التعليمية في المدينة.

هناك أربع طرق تؤدّي إلى خربة قلقس. الشارع الرئيسي، من جهة الشمال، يصلها مباشرة بشارع 60، ومن هناك إلى بقيّة أنحاء الخليل. لكنّ الجيش - منذ عام 2000، مع اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية، سدّ جهتَي شارع 60 بالصخور وأكوام التراب، ومنذ ذلك الحين لا يتمكّن السكّان من السفر فيه.

لكي يصلوا إلى الخليل، يلجأ السكّان منذ أكثر من 17 عامًا إلى خيارين كلاهما محفوف بالمخاطر. الخيار الأول: السير على الأقدام من منازلهم إلى شارع 60، تسلّق السدّة التي تغلقه في أحد طرفيه، واجتياز الشارع سيرًا على الأقدام وصولاً إلى السدّة التي في طرفه الآخر (مسافة تبلغ 150 مترًا)، ومن ثمّ السّفر بالمواصلات العامّة إلى وسط البلد. اجتياز الشارع السّريع يعرّضهم لخطر شبه محقّق - بين الأعوام 2014 و-2017 توفّي دهسًا ستّة أشخاص بينهم طفلان: خمسة من سكّان خربة قلقس، وشخص من سكّان الريحيّة المجاورة، حين حاولوا اجتياز شارع 60 سيرًا على الأقدام.

الخيار الثاني: السّفر من منازلهم إلى المدينة في سيّارة خصوصيّة أو بسيارة اجرة (تكلفته نحو 50 ش.ج) عبر مسار التفافيّ طوله 8 كيلومترات تقريبًا، ويستغرق أكثر من نصف ساعة أحيانًا - بسبب اعتراض السكّان عند "حاجز الفحص" الموجود على هذا المسار (حاجز الأغنام). يلاصق هذا الحاجز شارع 60، ويقع جنوبيّ المنطقة المصنّفة H2، التي يسكنها المستوطنون، ويتاخم المنطقة الصناعية؛ وهو مكوّن من بوّابتين حديديّتين طويلتين، نُصبتا عند طرفي شارع 60. تبقى البوّابتان مفتوحتين في معظم الأوقات، لكنّ الحاجز يشغله عادةً جنود يفتّشون العابرين ويعيقونهم لفترات متفاوتة.

ومثلما في حالات أخرى تفرض فيها إسرائيل القيود على الحركة، أيضًا هنا يُلحق إغلاق الشارع الرّئيسي الأضرار بالشرائح الضعيفة على وجه الخصوص، مثال الأشخاص الذين لا يملكون تحمّل تكاليف السّفر عبر الشارع الالتفافي، والمسنّين والمرضى الذين يحتاجون العلاج الطبّي في الخليل - بينهم نحو عشرين شخصًا مرضى سرطان أو فشل كلويّ تامّ. لكنّ الإغلاق يمسّ بمجرى حياة جميع سكّان خربة قلقس، إذ يمنعهم من إدارة حياة سليمة ومعقولة، ويجعل كلّ خروج من منازلهم عمليّة شاقّة ومحفوفة بالمخاطر. ابتداءًا من شهر آب 2017، بعد أن توفّي دهسًا على شارع 60 محمد أبو تركي - أحد سكّان خربة قلقس، خرج السكّان طيلة أشهر في مظاهرات أسبوعيّة أيّام الجمعة، احتجاجًا على إغلاق الشارع. شارك في هذه المظاهرات مئات السكّان الذين كانوا يقيمون خلالها صلاة الجمعة قرب السدّة. وفي كلّ مرّة كانت قوّات الأمن تفرّق المظاهرة باستخدام قنابل الصوت والغاز المسيل للدّموع.

دفعة واحدة، عزلت إسرائيل سكّان خربة قلقس عن مدينة الخليل رغم اعتمادهم عليها، وحوّلت حياتهم إلى جحيم لا يطاق. أبسط الأمور أصبحت بالنسبة لهؤلاء السكّان مهمّة عسيرة تقتضي تمحيصها مطوّلاً، حتّى أنّ الكثيرين يفضّلون التخلّي عن القيام بها نظرًا لما تنطوي عليه من مشقّة. إنّه مثال آخر يجسّد معنى الحياة تحت وطأة الاحتلال - حيث تستغلّ إسرائيل سلطتها وقوّتها لتتّخذ قرارات في تجاهل تامّ للفلسطينيين، علمًا منها أنّها قرارات تعرقل حياتهم بشكل جذري.

Thumbnail
خارطة السدّات والطرق الالتفافية من خربة قلقس لمركز مدينة الخليل

اضغطوا لمشاهدة الخارطة بحجم اكبر..

في إفادات سجّلها الباحثان الميدانيّان من بتسيلم، موسى أبو هشهش ومنال الجعبري، وصف سكّان خربة قلقس روتين حياتهم:

محمد أبو تركي (21 عامًا) طالب صيدلة في جامعة أبو ديس؛ توفّيت والدته دهسًا عام 2014، عندما كانت تحاول الوصول إلى الخليل باجتياز شارع 60 سيرًا على الأقدام. في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 26.3.2018، أمام الباحث الميداني من بتسيلم، موسى أبو هشهش، تحدّث عن الصعوبات التي يواجهها جرّاء الإغلاق:

أسكن مع أسرَتي في خربة قلقس: والدي، أختي وأخي المتزوّج وزوجته وأطفالهما الأربعة. يقع منزلنا عند مدخل الخربة الشمالي. يعاني والدي شللًا تامًّا ويلازم الفراش منذ العام 2000. والدتي توفيت دهسًا في كانون الأوّل 2014، حين حاولت اجتياز شارع 60 وهي في طريق عودتها من زيارة أختي المتزوّجة في حيّ وادي الهرية، في الخليل.

أنا اليوم طالب سنة ثالثة صيدلة في جامعة أبو ديس، قرب القدس. عندما ابتدأت الدراسة استأجرت شقّة في أبو ديس، لكنّي عدت للسّكن مع العائلة نظرًا للتكاليف الباهظة، ولأنّه لا يوجد من يعتني بوالدي. أعاني يوميًّا من إغلاق مدخل الخربة. أخرج من منزلي كلّ يوم في الساعة 6:00 صباحًا لكي لا أتأخر في الوصول إلى الجامعة: أخرج أوّلاً مشيا إلى حيث السدّة على مدخل الخربة، اعبر شارع رقم 60 – مسافة اكثر من 100 متر – للوصول الى السدة الثانية، على أمل أن تمرّ سيارة عمومية، لكن في العادة اضطرّ إلى التقدّم كيلومترًا واحدًا لأجد سيارة اجرة أستقلّها حتى المحطة المركزية في الخليل، ومن هناك أسافر إلى أبو ديس. في موعد عودتي من الجامعة لا توجد سيارات اجرة في المحطة، فأنتظر وقتًا طويلًا إلى أن تأتي واحدة، أو أنّني أطلب سيارة اجرة خاصة تكلّفني 15 شيكل. أنا أدفع كلّ يوم ما معدّله 50 شيكل لأجل الذهاب إلى الجامعة والعودة إلى البيت.

هذه السّدّة هي مصدر معاناة يوميّة لنا جميعًا. أنا مجبَر بسببها على النهوض باكرًا جدًّا لكي أعثر على سيارة اجرة، خاصّة إذا كان لديّ امتحان في ذلك اليوم. لو لم يكن مدخل خربة قلقس مسدودًا لما استغرق وصولي إلى الخليل أكثر من خمس دقائق، لكنّني أضيّع أكثر من نصف ساعة بين المنزل ومحطة السيارات العمومية المركزية في الخليل. جميعنا نعاني. معظم السكّان يضطرّون إلى التنقّل سيرًا على الأقدام واجتياز الشارع السريع. إضافة إلى والدتي، قُتل خمسة أشخاص آخرين دهسًا حين حاولوا اجتياز شارع 60 مشيًا.

سارة أبو ماضي (51 عامًا)، مطلّقة وأمّ لـ13 ولدًا، تعاني تصلّب الشرايين. في إفادة أدلت بها يوم 7.11.2017 أمام الباحثة الميدانية من بتسيلم، منال الجعبري، تحدّثت عن الصعوبات اليوميّة التي تواجهها:

أسكن مع أربعة من بناتي على بُعد أكثر من كيلومتر من مدخل القرية. أعاني مرضًا في القلب وآلامًا في المفاصل والرّكبتين، ولديّ حجارة في الكلى. وتعاني إحدى بناتي (سمية) من الروماتيزم، منذ تسع سنين. وهكذا فنحن الاثنتين نحتاج دائمًا الذهاب للعلاج في مستشفيات الخليل.

في عام 2000 سدّ الجيش الإسرائيلي مدخل قريتنا بالصخور وأكوام التراب. منذئذٍ نذهب أنا وابنتي مشيًا إلى حيث السدّة، ونقطع من هناك شارع 60 مشيًا، وهو أمر خطير جدًّا لأنّ سرعة السيّارات هناك كبيرة جدًّا. عندما نصل إلى الطرف الآخر من الشارع نأخذ سيارة اجرة أو باص إلى الخليل. المشي من بيتنا إلى حيث نستقلّ سيارة اجرة في الطرف الآخر من شارع 60 صعب جدًّا عليّ وعلى ابنتي. أحيانًا يشفق علينا أشخاص من قريتنا ويدعوننا للسفر معهم في سيّارتهم. أحيانًا أخرى، يساعدنا ابني عبد الحميد. هو يعاني عجزًا، لكنّه يعمل بائع خضار على عربة يجرّها حصان، وإذا كان موجودًا في القرية يقلّنا على عربته. لا يوجد لديّ مصدر دخل، ولذلك لا نستطيع أن ندفع 50 شيكل تكاليف السفر في سيارة اجرة خصوصية عن طريق وادي السمن والفحص.

لديّ ستّ بنات متزوّجات ويسكنّ خارج خربة قلقس. أرغب في زيارتهنّ، مثل كلّ الأمّهات، لكنّي لا أستطيع ذلك إلّا مرّة كلّ شهرين أو أكثر. كذلك هنّ يتصعّبن في زيارتي، بسبب صعوبة الوصول إلينا مشيًا، خاصّة في ساعات اللّيل، وبالنظر إلى أنّهن مع أولاد صغار.

لديّ ابنة أخرى (عائشة، 22 عامًا) متزوّجة هنا في خربة قلقس قريبًا منّي. قبل نصف سنة تقريبًا جاءها مخاض الولادة في ساعات المساء، ولم نجد سيّارة تنقلها إلى المستشفى، فولدت في البيت. جميعنا كنّا في حالة هلع، لأنّه لم يسبق لنا توليد امرأة من قبل. مضت 40 دقيقة حتّى تمكّنت سيّارة الإسعاف من الوصول ونقلها مع مولودها إلى مستشفى محمد علي في الخليل. كان ذلك مخيفًا جدًّا. حياتنا هنا أصبحت مغموسة بالمعاناة اليومية والمستمرّة، وكلّ ما أتمنّاه أن تنتهي هذه المعاناة يومًا ما.

Thumbnail
عبد الحميد أبو سنينة بجانب احدى السدات. تصوير: منال الجعبري، بتسيلم. 8.11.17.

عبد الحميد أبو سنينة، ابن سارة أبو ماضي، 34 عامًا، متزوّج وأب لطفلة، يعمل في بيع الخضار. في إفادته التي أدلى بها يوم 7.11.2017 أمام الباحثة الميدانية من بتسيلم، منال الجعبري، تحدّث عن روتين الحياة القاسي في خربة قلقس:

عندما كنت صغيرًا أصبت بمرض شلل الأطفال وبقيت مشلولاً في يدي اليسرى. أبيع الخضار في سوق الخليل وأيضًا كبائع متجوّل على "حنطور". منذ أن سدّ الجيش الشارع المؤدّي إلى الخليل دُهس هنا أناس من القرية، وبضمنهم نساء وأولاد، لأنّ شارع 60 "شارع سريع" ونشط إذ تمرّ فيه مئات السيارات في الساعة. كثير من السكّان يجتازونه كلّ يوم مشيًا. أشاهد نساء يجتزن الشارع وهنّ يحملن أكياس الخضار، بالونات غاز، ومشتريات أخرى. هناك مسنّون ومرضى ونساء يحملن أطفالهنّ - جميعهم يجتازون الشارع مشيًا على الأقدام.

كذلك أنا أضطرّ لاجتياز شارع 60 مع "الحنطور" في طريقي إلى الخليل ولدى عودتي منها. قبل سبع سنوات تعثّر الحصان بعد أن تجاوزت السدّة، فوقعت وجُرحت يدي المشلولة، وسبّابة اليد الثانية - التي اضطرّ الأطبّاء لقطعها. مع كلّ هذا، أنا أواصل السّفر على الحنطور، لأنّه الطريقة الوحيدة لإعالة زوجتي وابنتي. الأمر صعب عليّ جدًّا، وأحيانًا أطلب من المارّة أن يساعدوني في رفع العربة فوق السدّة. نعم، هناك شارع بديل، لكنّ طوله ثمانية كيلومترات، وسكّان الخربة معظمهم فقراء، ليس لديهم رخصة سواقة ولا يملكون سيّارة، ولذلك يضطرّون لاجتياز الشارع سيرًا على الأقدام.

مؤخّرًا، بدأنا نخرج في مظاهرة أسبوعيّة - كلّ يوم جمعة - احتجاجًا على إغلاق الشارع، ويشارك فيها مئات السكّان، وهم يقيمون صلاة الجمعة قرب السدّة، وعندها يأتي الجنود ويلقون نحونا قنابل الصوت والغاز المسيل للدّموع.

عبد العزيز أبو سنينة، 43 عامًا، من سكّان خربة قلقس، متزوّج وأب لثلاثة، يعمل سائق شاحنة ومزارع. في آب 2017 قُتل أخوه دهسًا عندما اجتاز شارع 60 في طريقه إلى الخليل. في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 21.2.2017، حدّث أبو سنينة عن المعاناة التي أصبحت جزءًا من حياة سكّان خربة قلقس:

معظم عملي في مدينة الخليل. أنا أزرع الخضار في القرية وأبيع المحصول في الخليل، وكذلك أعمل في نقل الحجارة والحصى في الشاحنة. أحد أبنائي (14 عامًا) أصمّ، ويتعلّم في مدرسة خاصّة للصمّ في المدينة.

قبل عشر سنوات تقريبًا وسّعت بلدية الخليل الشارع البديل المؤدّي إلى المدينة وعبّدته. لكن هذا الشارع طوله ضعفا طول الشارع القديم الذي سدّه الجيش. قبل ذلك كانت المسافة بين مدخل قريتنا وسوق الخضار في مدينة الخليل لا تتجاوز 4 كيلومترات، ولا تستغرق سوى دقائق معدودة. لكنّي اليوم أسافر على الأقل 8 كيلومترات لكي أصل إلى السوق، حيث أمرّ من خلّة الواد، وادي السمن، حاجز الفحص، ومن هناك إلى وسط البلد في الخليل. يستغرق ذلك أكثر من نصف ساعة، بدلا عن دقائق قبل اغلاق الشارع.

أحيانًا ينصب الجيش وشرطة حرس الحدود حواجز فجائيّة عند مدخل الفحص ويجرون تفتيشات، ممّا يُجبرني على الانتظار ساعة أو أكثر. في أحيان أخرى تجد شرطة المرور تنتظر عند مدخل الفحص وتسجّل مخالفات. في الأسبوع الماضي سجّلوا ضدّي مخالفتين كلّ منهما بمبلغ 500 شيكل بسبب حمولة زائدة في الشاحنة. ولكنّي مضطرّ لتحميل الشاحنة هكذا، لكي أوفّر في تكاليف النقل على الشارع الطويل. بدلاً من 8 كيلومترات ذهابًا وإيابًا - من وإلى الخليل، أسافر على الأقل 15كم.

في كلّ صباح آقلّ ابني إلى مدرسته الخاصّة. هو لا يسمع، ولا يمكنه اجتياز شارع 60 وحده مثل بقيّة الأولاد، فهذا خطير جدًّا. لا أريد أن يموت دهسًا مثلما حدث لأخي، الذي دهسته شاحنة حين حاول اجتياز الشارع في طريق عودته إلى القرية.

سكّان الخربة الذين لا يملكون سيّارات يعانون أكثر حتّى. هم يضطرّون إمّا إلى اجتياز الشارع كلّ يوم، أو إلى دفع 40 - 50 شيكل تكاليف السّفر في سيارة اجرة خصوصي عبر الشارع الالتفافي.

محمد صبيح، 35 عامًا، متزوّج وأب لأربعة، صاحب بقالة. في إفادة أدلى بها يوم 21.12.2017 أمام الباحث الميداني من بتسيلم، موسى أبو هشهش، حدّث عن صعوبات إدارة مصلحة في خربة قلقس:

قبل بضعة سنوات فتحت في القرية بقالة، ومعظم السكّان يشترون من عندي حاجيّاتهم الأساسية. لأجل الوصول إلى بقالتي من وسط البلد يضطرّ وكلاء المبيعات إلى السّفر عبر الشارع الالتفافي، مسافة ثمانية كيلومترات. لذلك هم يُحجمون عن المجيء إليّ، وفي أحيان كثيرة يؤجّلون تزويدي بالبضاعة. كذلك، هم يجبرونني على شراء كميّات كبيرة لكي يوفّروا على أنفسهم السّفر، ويطلبون أن أعوّضهم بدل تكاليف الوقود والوقت.

عندما يرفضون المجيء إليّ، أضطرّ للذهاب بنفسي إلى الخليل وشراء البضاعة وتحميلها في سيّارتي الخاصّة. أسافر عبر الطريق الطويلة، التي تمرّ من خلّة الواد، وادي السمن والفحص - ثمانية كيلومترات في كلّ اتّجاه؛ وعندما ينصب الجيش وحرس الحدود حواجز فجائيّة عند مدخل الفحص، أعلق في طابور التفتيش الطويل هناك، أحيانًا طيلة ساعات.

 

زينب الأطرش، 39 عامًا، متزوّجة وأمّ لثمانية، ربّة منزل. في إفادة ادلت بها يوم 8.11.2017، أمام الباحث الميداني من بتسيلم، موسى أبو هشهش تحدّثت عن مشقّة اجتياز شارع 60:

Thumbnail
زينب الأطرش مع طفلها. تصوير: منال الجعبري، بتسيلم. 8.11.2017.

أسكن مع زوجي وأولادي الثمانية في خربة قلقس، جنوب مدينة الخليل. منذ عام 2000 سدّ الجيش الشارع الموصل إلى الخليل من طرفيه، وعندما أحتاج الوصول إلى الخليل أضطرّ إلى السير على الأقدام مسافة نصف كيلومتر من منزلنا إلى حيث السدّة، ومن ثمّ اجتياز الشارع مشيًا لكي أستقلّ سيارة اجرة عمومي؛ وأعيد الكرّة لدى عودتي إلى المنزل.

لديّ طفل صغير، وعليّ أن أكون حذرة جدًّا عندما أحاول تجاوز السدّات، لكي لا أقع هناك؛ والأمر أكثر صعوبة في الشتاء، بسبب الأوحال. تمرّ في شارع 60 طيلة الوقت سيّارات كثيرة، وبسرعة كبيرة - خطر جدًّا اجتيازه. في السنوات الأخيرة دُهس هناك عدّة أشخاص. لا يوجد عندنا مواصلات عامّة تصل إلى السدّة، والسفر في سيارة اجرة خصوصية عبر الشارع الالتفافي مكلف جدًّا.

في الأيام الأخيرة كان طفلي مريضًا، وكان عليّ أن آخذه إلى الطبيب في الخليل، لأنّه لا توجد عندنا عيادة دائمة. الطريق إلى هناك تنهكني. كذلك عليّ الذهاب إلى هناك لشراء حاجيّاتنا، لأنّه لا توجد هناك حوانيت كثيرة. حقًّا يصعب عليّ الذهاب إلى هناك سيرًا على الأقدام مع طفلي على يديّ، واضافة الى ذلك أن أحمل الأغراض، ولذلك أفعل ذلك عادة برفقة زوجي.

حياتنا صعبة جدًّا. لقد تحوّلت خربة قلقس إلى سجن، وهذا الواقع نعيشه منذ أكثر من 17 عامًا، منذ أن كنت شابّة صغيرة. يجب إنهاء هذه المعاناة.

 

آخر الفيديوهات

Skip to main content

Life under occupation: Khirbet Qalqas, a Hebron neighborhood, has been cut off from the rest of the city for over 17 years

Khirbet Qalqas, home to some 3,000 people, is a neighborhood in southern Hebron. It used to be an independent village and is separated from the rest of the city by Route 60. The lives of ...
Read full article Back to video mode

Life under occupation: Khirbet Qalqas, a Hebron neighborhood, has been cut off from the rest of the city for over 17 years

Khirbet Qalqas, home to some 3,000 people, is a neighborhood in southern Hebron. It used to be an independent village and is separated from the rest of the city by Route 60. The lives of Khirbet Qalqas residents naturally revolve mostly around the city: many of them work and do their shopping in Hebron and go there for health and education services. For instance, the farmers sell crops in the vegetable market in Hebron’s city center, and about 100 high-school and university students go into the city every day to study.

There are four roads leading in and out of Khirbet Qalqas. The main one, to the north, connects the neighborhood directly with Route 60, and from there with the rest of the city. When the second intifada broke out in 2000, the Israeli military placed dirt and rock piles on either side of Route 60, so the neighborhood resdients can no longer use the road.

For more than 17 years, in order to reach Hebron’s city center, residents have had to take one of two other routes instead. Each entails difficulties and risks: One option is to walk from home to Route 60, climb over the pile of dirt of stones placed on one side of the road, cross the road, climb over the pile of dirt and stones on one other side of the road (about 150 meters all told), and find a taxi that will take them to Hebron city center. Crossing the highway is very dangerous: from 2014 to 2017, five Khirbet Qalqas residents and one from nearby a-Rihiya were fatally run over as they crossed the road, two of them children.

The other option is to take their own car or a taxi (costing about NIS 50 [USD 14]) from home to the city center, and drive along a bypass route some eight kilometers long. The drive sometimes takes more than half an hour, as it passes through the al-Fahs Checkpoint (“the Sheep Checkpoint”). The checkpoint is at an intersection with Route 60, south of the area defined H2 where Israeli settlers live, and near the industrial zone. It consists of two long iron gates placed on either side of Route 60. The gates are open most of the time, but are usually staffed by soldiers who inspect the vehicles passing through and detain the passengers for varying lengths of time.

Like other instances of travel restrictions imposed by Israel elsewhere, closing off vehicular access to Route 60 from the neighborhood has primarily harmed weaker segments of the population, such as individuals who need medical care in the city (including some 20 who suffer from kidney failure and cancer), and those who cannot afford the cost of taking the bypass route. That said, the blocked access road keeps all residents of Khirbet Qalqas from leading a normal routine and makes every excursion out of the neighborhood an exhausting and sometimes perilous journey.

For a period of several months, beginning in August 2017 – after Khirbet Qalqas resident Muhammad Abu Turki was run over and killed on Route 60 – hundreds of neighborhood residents held demonstrations once a week, on Fridays, to protest the road closure. The protests consisted of praying near the road obstructions, and were dispersed by soldiers firing stun grenades and teargas.

In one fell swoop, Israel’s actions cut off the neighborhood and its residents from the city on which they heavily rely, making their lives unbearable. Ordinary day-to-day activities have become a matter for considerable deliberation, and many prefer to forgo them in order to avoid the considerable hassle involved. The situation in Khirbet Qalqas is yet another example of what it means to live under occupation, with Israel abusing its power to make decisions that drastically change residents’ lives without so much as consulting them. This reality will continue as long as the occupation continues.

Thumbnail
Map of the obstacles and of the alternate route from the neighborhood of Khirbet Qalqas to the center of Hebron.

To expand map, click here.

Residents of Khirbet Qalqas described their daily lives in testimonies they gave B’Tselem field researchers Musa Abu Hashhash and Manal al-Ja’bri:  

Muhammad Abu Turki, 21, is as student of pharmacology at Abu Dis University. His mother was run over and killed in 2014 as she crossed Route 60, heading into Hebron. He spoke with B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash on 26 March 2018 and described the difficulties the roadblock causes: 

I live in Khirbet Qalqas with my family: my father, my sister, and my brother, his wife and their four young children. We live near the northern entrance to the neighborhood. Since 2000, my father has been completely paralyzed and is bedridden. My mother was killed in December 2014 while crossing Route 60 on her way back from visiting my married sister, who lives in the neighborhood of Wadi al-Hariyah in Hebron. 

I am currently in my third year of pharmaceutical studies at Abu Dis University near Jerusalem. When I first started studying I rented an apartment near the university, but it was expensive and also there was no one else to take care of my father, so I moved back home to Khirbet Qalqas. 

The fact that we can’t use the main road makes for a daily ordeal. I leave home every morning at 6:00 so I can get to university on time. I walk to the obstruction at the entrance to the neighborhood, cross it and Route 60 – more than 100 meters – until I reach the obstruction on the other side and hope to hail a taxi. I usually have to walk another kilometer or so until I find a taxi to take me to the central station in Hebron, and from there I travel to Abu Dis. By the time I head home there are no taxis at the station, so I wait a long time until a taxi arrives or pay 15 shekels (~4 USD) to order one. In total, I pay an average of 50 shekels (~14 USD) a day to get to university and back. 

The closure of the main road has made our daily lives unbearable. I have to set out really early to find a taxi, especially if I have an exam that day. If the entrance to Khirbet Qalqas were open, I could be in Hebron in five minutes. Every day I waste more than half an hour getting from home to the main taxi station in Hebron. We all suffer. Most of the residents have to go by foot and cross the highway. My mother was one of six people killed crossing the highway. 

Sarah Abu Madi, 51, a divorced mother of 13 children, has atherosclerosis. In a testimony she gave B’Tselem field researcher Manal al-Ja’bri on 7 November 2017, she related the daily hardships she faces: 

I live with four of my daughters more than a kilometer way from the entrance to the neighborhood. I have coronary disease, kidney stones and pain in my joints, including my knees. One of my daughters, Sumayah, has had rheumatism for the past nine years. We both have to go in regularly for treatment in hospitals in Hebron. 

In 2000, the Israeli military blocked the entrance to our neighborhood with piles of boulders and earth. Since then, we’ve walked to the obstruction and then cross Route 60 on foot. That’s very dangerous, because the cars drive along that road at high speeds. After we cross the obstruction on the other side of the road, we take a taxi or bus to Hebron. Walking from home to the other side of the road is difficult for me and my daughter. Sometimes, a neighbor takes pity on us and gives us a ride. My son ‘Abd al-Hamid is disabled, but he sells vegetables with a horse and cart. When he’s in the neighborhood, he takes us. I have no income, so we can’t pay 50 shekels to take a taxi through Wadi a-Saman and al-Fahs. 

I have six married daughters who don’t live in Khirbet Qalqas. Like any mother, I want to visit them often. But I can’t. I get to visit them once every two months at most. They also find it hard to visit me because of the rough walk, especially when they come at night with their babies. 

About six months ago another of my daughters, ‘Aeshah (22), who lives close by in the neighborhood, went into labor after dark. We couldn’t find a car to take her to hospital and she gave birth at home. We all panicked. None of us had ever delivered a baby. It took 40 minutes for an ambulance to get here and take her and the baby to Muhammad ‘Ali Hospital in Hebron. It was terrifying. Our lives in the neighborhood mean daily suffering, which I hope will end one day. 

Thumbnail
‘Abd al-Hamid Abu Sneineh near one of the obstacles. Photo by Manal al-Ja’bri, 8 November 2017

‘Abd al-Hamid Abu Sneineh, 34, is Sarah al-Madi’s son. A married father of one, he works as a vegetable vendor. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Manal al-Ja’bri on 7 November 2017, he described how difficult it is to lead a daily routine in the neighborhood: 

I had polio as a child and it left my left hand paralyzed. I sell vegetables in the Hebron market and also by horse and cart. Since the military blocked the road that leads into Hebron, several people from the neighborhood have been run over, including women and children, because it’s a highway and hundreds of cars travel over it every hour. Many neighborhood residents cross the road every day on foot and I see people carrying sacks of foods, cooking gas canisters, and groceries. People of all kinds cross here on foot, including old people, patients, and women carrying babies.

I have to cross Route 60 with my horse-drawn cart to get to Hebron and back. Seven years ago, my horse stumbled while crossing the obstruction. I fell off and injured my paralyzed hand and the index finger on my other hand. They had to amputate the finger. Still, I keep working with the cart because it’s the only way I can provide for my wife and little girl. It’s really tough. Sometimes I have to ask passers-by for help to lift the cart over the obstruction. There is another route, but it’s eight kilometers long. Most of the people who live in the neighborhood are poor and don’t have driving licenses or cars, so they have to cross the road on foot.

Recently, we’ve started holding demonstrations every Friday to protest the closure. Hundreds of us come to pray near the blocked entrance every week, and then soldiers come and hurl stun grenades and teargas at us. 

‘Abd al-‘Aziz Abu Sneineh, 34, a married father of three, is a truck driver and farmer. In August 2017, his brother was killed crossing Route 60 on his way to Hebron. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash on 21 December 2017, Abu Sneineh described the difficulties of daily life in the neighborhood: 

Most of my work is in the city. I grow vegetables in the neighborhood and then sell them in the city. I also transport gravel and stones in my truck. My 14-year-old son is deaf and goes to a private school for the deaf in the city. 

About ten years ago, the Hebron Municipality widened the alternate route into the city and paved it, but it’s twice the length of the old access road that’s been blocked. The distance from the entrance to the neighborhood to the Hebron vegetable market is only four kilometers. But nowadays, I travel at least eight kilometers to transport the produce to the market, travelling via Khallat al-Wad, Wadi a-Saman, the al-Fahs Checkpoint, and from there to the city center. It takes me more than half an hour. Before the closure, it took just a few minutes. 

Sometimes, soldiers and Border Police set up flying checkpoints at the entrance to al-Fahs and I have to wait an hour or more for inspection. Sometimes, police officers also wait there and give traffic tickets. Last week, the police gave me two tickets – 500 shekels (~142 USD) each – for overloading the truck. But I have to fill the truck up to minimize the expense of the long transport route. Instead of eight kilometers in total, I travel at least 15 kilometers to Hebron and back. 

Every morning, I drive my son to the private school. Because he can’t hear, he can’t cross Route 60 alone like the other children, it’s too dangerous. I don’t want to him to be run over like my brother, who was killed by a truck as he was crossing the road back into the neighborhood. 
Other residents who don’t have a car suffer even more – they have to cross the road on foot every day, or pay 40-50 shekels (~11-14 USD) to take a taxi along the alternate route. 

Muhammad Sbeih, 35, a married father of four, owns a grocery store in the neighborhood. He described the difficulties of running the store in a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash on 21 December 2017: 

A few years ago, I opened the grocery store and most of the neighborhood’s residents buy their basic groceries from me. To get to the store from central Hebron, the suppliers have to drive about eight kilometers along the bypass route. They think twice before coming here and often they put it off. They make me buy in bulk to so they can make fewer trips and to make up for their lost time and fuel. 

When they don’t come, I have to drive into the city myself to stock up. I take the long route, which is eight kilometers in every direction and goes through Khallat al-Wad, Wadi a-Saman and al-Fahs. When the military and Border Police place flying checkpoints at the entrance to al-Fahs, I get stuck in line waiting for inspection, sometimes for hours on end. 

Zaynab al-Atrash, 39, is a married mother of eight and a homemaker. In testimony she gave B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash on 8 November 2017, she related the difficulty of crossing Route 60: 

Thumbnail
Zaynab al-Atrash with her baby. Photo by Manal al-Ja’bri, 8 November 2017

My husband and I live with our eight children in Khirbet Qalqas, south of Hebron. Since 2000, the military has blocked the road to Hebron on both sides, so to reach the city I have to walk more than half a kilometer from home to the obstruction, cross the road on foot and take a taxi – and then do the same on the way back. 

I have a baby and have to be very careful not to fall over when crossing the obstructions. In the winter, the mud makes getting over particularly difficult. There’s a lot of traffic along Route 60 all the time and the cars speed along, so it’s very dangerous to cross. Several people have been run over there in recent years. We don’t have public transport to bring us to the obstruction, and taking a taxi via the long alternate route is very expensive. 

In the last few days my baby was sick and I had to take him to see a doctor in Hebron, because we don’t have a regular clinic here. The way there and back is exhausting. I also have to go into the city to buy things, because there aren’t many shops here. It’s really hard to walk there carrying the baby and all the groceries, so I usually make the trip together with my husband. 
Our lives are very hard. Khirbet Qalqas has become a prison. It’s been like that for 17 years, since I was a young girl. This suffering must end.  

 

Latest Videos