Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

إدانة جنديّ بالتسبب بمقتل عديّ دراويش عن طريق الإهمال، وهو فلسطينيّ دخل إلى إسرائيل عبر ثغرة في الجدار من أجل العمل

مستجدات: في يوم 17/6/2013 أبلغت النيابة العسكرية أنّ الجنديّ الذي أطلق النار على دراويش حُكم بالسجن سبعة أشهر، وبالسجن مع وقف التنفيذ وبتخفيض رتبته إلى درجة ملازم. في يوم 14.7.2014 قدمت النيابة العسكرية لائحة اتهام ضد الضابط، قائد الجندي الذي أطلق النار، بتهمة التسبّب بموت دراويش جرّاء الإهمال. في 15.7.15 أبلغت النيابة العسكرية بتسيلم أنّ تم تبرئت قائد الجندي من تهمة التسبّب بالموت جرّاء الإهمال.

ُدي دراويش. الصورة بلطف من العائلةوفقًا للمعلومات التي بحوزة بتسيلم، خرج عُدي دراويش (21 عامًا) من بيته في دورا في يوم السبت 12/1/2013 قرابة الساعة 12:30، إلى العمل بالبناء في إسرائيل. وقد استقلّ دراويش سيارة تجارية أقلّت فلسطينيين يعملون في إسرائيل من دون تصاريح حتى الثغرة الموجودة في الجدار الفاصل. في الجانب الثاني لهذه الثغرة كان من المفترض أن يستقلّ العمالُ سيارة أخرى. وقرابة الساعة 13:30 وصلت السيارة بمحاذاة الثغرة في الجدار الفاصل في منطقة الرماضين، على بعد بضعة مئات من الأمتار غربيّ حاجز ميتار. وقد توقف السائق وانتظر ذهاب سيارة جيب عسكرية كانت تقف عبر الجانب الآخر من الثغرة. بعد ابتعاد سيارة الجيب اقتربت السيارة إلى الجدار ونزل المسافرون وبدؤوا بعبور الثغرة. وفيما هم يعبرون، رأى العمال جنودًا كانوا يختبئون على ما يبدو في مكان مجاور للثغرة. فبدأ العمال يركضون صوب السيارة. فقام الجنود الذين كانوا خلفهم بالمناداة عليهم وطلب التوقف وبدؤوا بإطلاق الرصاص في الهواء وعليهم. وقد أصيب دراويش بالرصاص في القسم السفليّ من جسمه وبقي متخلفًا عن زملائه. بعد قرابة النصف ساعة نُقل إلى مستشفى “سوروكا” في سيارة إسعاف، إلا أنه توفي متأثرًا بجراحه بعد فترة قصيرة من ذلك.

"ب.ج."، أحد العمال الذين وصلوا مع دراويش في السيارة التي أقلتهم، وصف أمام الباحث الميداني في بتسيلم، موسى ابو هشهش ما حدث:

"خرجنا معا من دورا ثلاثة أشخاص في يوم السبت، 12/1/2013، قرابة الساعة 12:30. صعدنا إلى سيارة أجرة أقلتنا إلى قرية الظاهرية. وهناك ركبنا سيارة لنقل العمال كانت تقلّ أيضًا نساءً كُنّ في طريقهنّ لعبور الجدار إلى إسرائيل. وقرابة الساعة 13:30 وصلنا إلى المنطقة الحدودية على بعد قرابة 300 متر غربيّ ميتار. وعندما وصلنا رأيت سيارة جيب عسكرية وقفت بالضبط وراء الجدار. انتظرنا قرابة نصف ساعة حتى مغادرة الجيب وبعدها قررنا الدخول عبر فتحة في الجدار. وفور دخولنا تلقينا اتصالات هاتفية من عمال آخرين ومن سائقي السيارات التي كانت بانتظارنا هناك، وحذّرونا من أنّ الجنود يتقدّمون صوبنا. أدركنا أنّ الجيب أنزل على ما يبدو الجنود في الوادي من دون أن ننتبه. تبلبلنا. ولكننا في نفس الوقت لم نستطع التراجع والعودة إلى الطرف الثاني من الجدار لأنّ الجنود كانوا قريبين من الثغرة. بدأنا ثلاثتنا بالركض باتجاه الطريق الترابية حيث انتظرتنا السيارة. عندما وصلنا كانت السيارة هناك، ولكن عندما رأى السائق الجنود استدار بسرعة وانتظرنا على بعد قرابة 30 مترًا.

بدأنا بالركض إلى السيارة. سمعت صوت إطلاق رصاص وصرخات الجنود من ورائنا، الذين كانوا يشتموننا. لم نتوقف لأننا كنا نأمل بالوصول إلى السيارة بسرعة. كان عُدي يركض أمامنا. وقد أصابت الرصاصات الأرض تحت رجليّ ومن ورائي. بعد عدة لحظات وصلنا إلى السيارة. سمعت عُدي يصرخ ويقول إنه أصيب برجله. في تلك اللحظة كنت قد دخلت إلى السيارة وبعدي دخل اخي "م". ثم سافرت السيارة بسرعة وابتعدت عن المكان."

فُتح تحقيق لدى الشرطة العسكرية المحققة في نفس اليوم، بما يتلاءم مع السياسة التي أعلنتها النيابة العسكرية في نيسان 2011، والتي تقضي بفتح تحقيق فوريّ لدى الشرطة العسكرية في كلّ حالة يقتل فيها جنودٌ فلسطينيًا خارج إطار النشاطات الاقتتالية.

يتضح من النشر في وسائل الإعلام أنه جرت في 18/3/2013 إدانة جنديّ إسرائيليّ مسؤول عن الاتصالات في الوحدة، بالتسبب عن طريق الإهمال بمقتل عُدي دراويش. وبحسب ما نُشر فإنّ الادّعاء سعى لاتهام الجندي ببند القتل غير المتعمّد، إلا أنّ هذا البند تحوّل في ضمن صفقة الادعاء إلى بند أقلّ خطورة. ولم يصدر قرار العقوبة بعد. كما نُشر عن إجراء استماع سارٍ عشية تقديم لائحة اتهام ضدّ قائد الوحدة التي يخدم فيها الجنديّ.

وتُعتبر لوائح الاتهام الموجّهة ضدّ جنود كانوا ضالعين في قتل فلسطينيين، نادرة جدًا. وقد قتلت قوات الأمن منذ اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية في 29/9/2000 وحتى 31/03/2011 في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة، 3,024 فلسطينيًا على الأقل لم يشاركوا في الاقتتال، 2,821 منهم على يد قوات الجيش. وحتى تغيير سياسة التحقيقات لدى النيابة العسكرية في نيسان 2011، فإنّه لم يُفتح أيّ تحقيق في غالبية حالات قتل الجنود لفلسطينيين. ويتضح من تقرير نشرته منظمة "ييش دين" ووفقا للمعلومات المتوفرة لدى بتسيلم، أنّ 14 حالة فقط أدّت إلى تقديم لوائح اتهام ضدّ جنود، من بين مجمل الحالات التي وقعت حتى شهر نيسان 2011.

من بين 14 لائحة اتهام، بُرّئ المتهمان في حالتيْن اثنتيْن. وقد أفضت 12 لائحة اتهام إلى إدانة جنود، خمسة منهم في إطار صفقة ادعاء. اثنان من المتهمين أدينا بالتسبب بالقتل عن طريق الإهمال (أحدهما أدين أيضًا بالإدلاء بمعلومات كاذبة وبتصرّف غير لائق)، فيما أدين الباقون ببنود أقلّ خطورة: أدين ستة باستخدام غير لائق للسلاح، وأدين ثلاثة بالإهمال وواحد بالخروج على صلاحياته لدرجة تشكيل الخطر على الحياة أو الصحة.

منذ الإعلان عن السياسة الجديدة في نيسان 2011، والتي يُفتح في إطارها تحقيق لدى الشرطة العسكرية المحققة في كل حالة يُقتل فيها فلسطينيّ في الضفة الغربية خارج أطر الاقتتال، قُتل في الضفة 18 فلسطينيًا في 16 حادثة مختلفة. وحتى اليوم قُدّمت في أعقاب هذه الحالات لائحة اتهام واحدة، جراء مقتل دراويش. ومن بين الحالات الأخرى: في حالة واحدة لم يُفتح تحقيق، وفي حالة أخرى أغلق ملف التحقيق من دون اتخاذ أيّ تدابير قضائية. في ثلاث حالات انتهى التحقيق وما يزال الملف بانتظار حسم النيابة العسكرية، فيما ما يزال التحقيق جاريًا في عشر حالات، كانت أولاها في شهر آب 2011.

عناية سلطات الجيش في حالة دراويش استثنائية أيضًا على مستوى النجاعة التي أدير بها التحقيق والسرعة التي صدر بها قرار الحكم. في جميع الحالات الأخرى قد تمرّ أكثر من سنة من يوم الحادثة وحتى صدور قرار الحكم، فيما كان متوسط الفترة حتى صدور قرار الحكم أكثر من سنتيْن من يوم الحادثة.

Soldier convicted of negligent homicide of ‘Udai Darawish, a Palestinian entering Israel through gap in Separation Barrier

Published: 
9 Apr 2013
Updated: 
26 Oct 2015

Update: On 17 June 2013 the MAG Corps wrote that the soldier who shot Darawish was given a seven-month prison sentence, a suspended prison sentence and was demoted to sergeant. For the full verdict (in Hebrew), click here. On 14 July 2014 the MAG Corps indicted the commanding officer of the soldier who fired on charges of negligent manslaughter with regard to Darawish. Israeli daily Haaretz reported that the officer was acquitted on 17 May 2015. On 15 July 2015 the MAG Corps informed B’Tselem that the soldier’s commander had been acquitted of charges of negligent manslaughter.

‘Udai Darawish, family photoAccording to information obtained by B’Tselem, at around 12:30 PM on Saturday 12 January 2013,, 21-year-old ‘Udai Darawish left his house in Dura to travel to a construction job in Israel. Darawish was in a van taking Palestinians who work in Israel without permits as far as a breach in the Separation Barrier. Once through the gap, the workers would get into another vehicle. At around 1:30 PM, the van reached the opening in the barrier near the village of a-Ramadin, a few hundred meters west of the Meitar checkpoint. The driver stopped and waited until a military jeep, standing stationary on the other side of the opening in the barrier, drove away. Once the jeep was some distance away, the van approached the barrier, its passengers got out and began crossing through the opening. As they were crossing, the workers noticed soldiers who evidently had hidden nearby. The workers began to run towards the car on the Israeli side. The pursuing soldiers shouted for the Palestinians to stop and began firing in the air and at them. Darawish was hit in the lower body and was left behind. After about half an hour, an ambulance took him to Soroka Hospital, Israel, but died of his wounds shortly afterwards.

F.G., one of the workers in the van with Darawish, recounted the incident to B’Tselem's field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash:

Three of us left Dura together on Saturday, 12 January 2013, at around 12:30 PM. We got into a taxi that took us as far as the village of a-Dhahiriyah. There, we got into a workers’ transport van that was also transporting women on their way to cross the Separation Barrier into Israel. At around 1:30 PM we got to the border area, about 300 meters west of Meitar. When we got there, I saw a military jeep standing right behind the barrier. We waited about half an hour until the jeep left, and then decided to go in through the opening in the barrier. Right after we crossed, some other workers and transport drivers who were waiting for us there phoned us to wanr us that the soldiers were coming up to us.

We realized that the jeep had apparently dropped off the soldiers in the valley without our noticing. We were flustered. At that point, we couldn’t go back to the other side of the barrier because the soldiers were closer [than we were] to the opening. The three of us started running toward the dirt road where the car was waiting for us. The car was there when we had driven up, but when the driver saw the soldiers, he made a quick U-turn and waited for us about 30 meters away.

We started running toward the car. I heard shots and the soldiers shouting behind us, cursing us. We didn’t stop, because we hoped we’d be able to make it to the car quickly. ‘Udai was running ahead of us. The bullets hit the ground under my feet and behind me. In a few moments we had reached the car. I heard ‘Udai screaming that he had been hit in the leg. I was already in the car and my brother M.G. was getting in behind me. The car drove off at high-speed.

An investigation was launched by the Military Police Investigation Unit (MPIU) that same day, in line with the MAG Corps policy announced in April 2011, stipulating that an MPIU investigation be opened immediately in any incident in which a Palestinian is killed by soldiers, in circumstances other than combat.

According to media reports, on 18 March 2013 a signal operator with the force was convicted of negligent homicide in the death of ‘Udai Darawish. Reportedly the prosecution intended to charge the soldier with homicide, but the charge was reduced in a plea bargain. The soldier has not yet been sentenced. Reports also state that a hearing is currently underway in preparation for filing an indictment against the soldier’s company commander.

The indictment of soldiers who have killed Palestinians is extremely rare. From 29 September 2000, the beginning of the second Intifada, through 31 March 2011, Israeli security forces in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip have killed at least 3,024 Palestinians who were not taking part in combat. Of that number, 2,821 were killed by the military. Until the MAG Corps policy was changed in April 2011, few investigations were conducted in cases of Palestinians killed by soldiers. A Yesh Din report and B’Tselem data show that, of all such incidents through April 2011, only 14 resulted in indictments.

In two of the 14 indictments, the defendants were found not guilty. The other 12 indictments resulted in convictions, including five through plea bargains. Two defendants were convicted of negligent homicide (One of these two defendants was also convicted of giving false information and of unbecoming conduct.) The other soldiers indicted were convicted of lesser offenses: six were convicted of illegal use of weapons, three of negligence, and one of exceeding his authority so as to endanger lives or health.

Since April 2011, when the MAG announced its new policy requiring an MPIU investigation in every case in which a Palestinian is killed in the West Bank not in a combat situation, 18 Palestinians in 16 different incidents have been killed in the West Bank. To date, these incidents culminated in an indictment in only one case – in the killing of Darawish. As for the other incidents: In one case, an investigation was not opened and in another, the case was closed without any legal measures having been adopted. In three cases, in which the investigation has been completed, are pending a decision by the MAG Corps on whether to indict; in the remaining ten cases, the earliest of which dates back to August 2011, the investigation is yet to be completed.

The military’s handling of the Darawish case is exceptional both in the efficiency of the investigation as well as in the rapidity at which a verdict was handed down. In the other cases, an interval of at least a year elapsed between incident and verdict, with an average of more than two years between incident and verdict.