تقديم آليات المحاسبة حول انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الأراضي المحتلة

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11

< פאטמה זהראן עם תמונת בנה, עבד אל-כרים זהראן. תצלום: איאד חדאד, 25.6.08 , דיר אבו משעל, מחוז רמאללה.

إن تقديم آليات المحاسبة حول انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان من أجل إيجاد الردع ومنع تكرار هذه الانتهاكات. ولهذا السبب يحدد القانون الدولي انه ينبغي على كل دولة إجراء تحقيق فعال بخصوص الاشتباه بانتهاك حقوق الإنسان وتقديم المسؤولين عن هذا للمحاكمة. كما يطالب القانون الدولي بتعويض من لحق به الضرر جراء هذه الانتهاكات.

إن الهدف الرئيسي للقانون الإنساني الدولي هو تقليص عدد المدنيين الذين يصابون خلال الحرب. ولهذا فقد حدد هذا القانون قواعد واضحة ترتب متى يُسمح باستعمال القوة وضد من. "مبدأ التمييز" يحدد بأن الأطراف المقاتلة ملزمة بالتمييز بين المقاتلين وبين المدنيين خلال القتال وأن المس بالمدنيين وبالأهداف المدنية ممنوع. ويحدد "مبدأ التناسب" انه عندما توجد نية لاستهداف هدف عسكري مشروع، من الواجب التأكد من أن الأفضلية العسكرية المتوقعة نتيجة هذا الهجوم أكبر من المس المتوقع بالمدنيين. طبقا لهذا المبدأ، ينبغي على الجيش اتباع جميع الوسائل الممكنة من أجل تقليص المس بالمدنيين. ومن هنا، فإن كل مس بالمدنيين هو نتيجة غير مرغوبة للقتال وليست جزءا متكاملا منه، حتى لو لم يتم اعتبار مثل هذا المس في ظروف معينة بمثابة انتهاك للقانون.

ينبع من منع المس بالمدنيين واجب التحقيق في الحالات التي يمس فيها المدنيين، حتى خلال الصراع المسلح. هكذا، على سبيل المثال، كي لا يتم اعتبار موت المدنيين بمثابة انتهاك للقانون حسب هذا المبدأ يجب توفر سلسلة من الشروط. ومن بين ذلك، يجب توجيه الهجمات فقط نحو الأهداف المشروعة، ويجب على الجيش أن يبذل ما يستطيع من جهد من أجل تقليص المس بالمدنيين ويجب أن تكون الأفضلية المتوقعة من الهجوم أعلى من المس المتوقع خلال تنفيذ الهجوم. هذه الأسئلة يجب أن تُفحص في اطار تحقيق، قبل أن يتحدد بأن موت شخص لم يشكل انتهاكا للقانون.

إن واجب القائد العسكري لا يقتصر على التحقيق بالمس الموجه إلى المدنيين. عليه أن يتأكد أن الجنود والضباط ينفذون أوامر الجيش والقانون الإسرائيلي. هذه تمنع ليس فقط إطلاق النار الموجه للقتل بل أيضا سلسلة طويلة من الأعمال، بما في ذلك التسبب بالموت بسبب الإهمال، العنف، النهب وغيرها.
مبدأ المسؤولية الشخصية يلزم الدولة بالتحقيق بشكل جوهري ودون تحيز في أي شبهة حول ارتكاب جرائم دولية من قبل أفراد عملوا من طرفها أو بموافقتها. إذا تبين أن نتائج التحقيقات تدعم الشبهات الأصلية فان تلك الدولة ملزمة باعتقال المشبوهين وتقديمهم للمحاكمة. عدم الإيفاء بهذه الواجبات، يخول دولا أخرى في العالم للقيام باعتقال هؤلاء المشبوهين بارتكاب تلك الجرائم، لدى تواجدهم على أراضي تلك الدول وذلك من أجل تقديمهم للمحاكمة أو لتسليمهم إلى دولة أخرى.

إن مسؤولية كل دولة تجاه الأعمال غير القانونية التي اقترفتها جهات أو أفراد عاملين من قبلها أو بموافقتها، تلزمها أن تقوم بإصلاح نتائج هذه الأعمال. العمل الأول الذي يفرضه واجب التصليح هو إعادة الوضع إلى سابق عهده. غير أنه وبكل ما يتعلق بمعظم الانتهاكات ضد حقوق الإنسان، فانه لا يمكن مسح الضرر الناجم من خلال "إعادة الوضع إلى ما كان عليه سابقا". في كل هذه الحالات، فإن الواجب الأساسي هو تعويض الضحايا عن الأضرار التي لحقت بهم، سواء بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر، جراء المساس بحقوقهم. واجب التعويض راسخ بشكل واضح في القانون الدولي الإنساني وفي القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان.

منذ العام 2000، عند اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية، تتنصل إسرائيل بشكل متزايد من واجبها في تقديم الحساب حول الانتهاكات الخطيرة لحقوق الإنسان والتي اقترفت ضد سكان الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة والتي هي مسئولة عنها. هذا التنصل يتجسد من بين ما يتجسد من خلال السياسة التي كانت سارية  في الضفة الغربية لغاية نيسان 2011 بعدم فتح تحقيق مطلقا في التحقيق الجنائي في الحالات التي قتل فيها الجنود فلسطينيون لم يكونوا ضالعين في القتال وكذلك التشريع الذي يسلب تقريبا بصورة تامة الامكانية المتاحة للفلسطينيين الذي تضرروا ضمن عملية غير قانونية قامت بها عناصر قوات الأمن بالمطالبة بتعويضات في المحكمة بإسرائيل.

Accountability for the violation of human rights in the Occupied Territories

Published: 
1 Jan 2011

Accountability for human rights violations is crucial to deterrence, in order to ensure that they are not repeated. Therefore, international law requires that states effectively investigate suspected breaches of human rights and prosecute those responsible. The law also requires that victims be compensated for the injuries they suffered through violation of their rights.

The major goal of international humanitarian law (IHL) is to reduce the number of civilians harmed in hostilities. Toward this end, IHL specifies clear rules on when, and against whom, force may be used. Under the “principle of distinction,” the sides engaged in hostilities must distinguish between combatants and civilians during combat. Attacks intentionally directed against civilians and civilian objects are prohibited. The “principle of proportionality” dictates that, in attacking a legitimate military object, the anticipated military advantage from the attack must be greater than the anticipated injury to civilians resulting from the attack. Accordingly, the state mounting the attack must take all possible precautions to reduce harm to civilians. Injury to civilians is never considered an integral part of hostilities and is always an undesirable outcome although it is legally permitted under certain circumstances.

As it is prohibited to aim attacks at civilians, states are obligated to investigate cases in which civilians are injured, including during the course of armed conflict. For instance, a series of conditions must exist for the killing of civilians in hostilities not to be considered a breach of law. Among other things, attacks must be aimed only at legitimate targets, the military must take all feasible precautions to reduce harm to civilians, and the anticipated military advantage from the attack must be greater than the anticipated injury to civilians. Determining that the death of a person did not result from a breach of law can be made only after these questions are examined in the framework of an investigation.

The military’s duty goes beyond investigating intentional harm to civilians. Military officials must also verify that soldiers and officers carry out military orders and Israeli law. These prohibit not only firing with intention to kill, but also causing death by negligence, violence, pillage, and many more acts.

Every state is responsible for illegal acts carried out by bodies or persons acting on its behalf, and is therefore obligated to remedy the consequences of these acts. Its primary obligation is to restore the original situation before the offense. However, after most serious human rights violations, the damage cannot be undone. In these cases, the state's main obligation is to compensate the victims for the injury caused to them, directly and indirectly, by infringement of their rights. The obligation to compensate is explicitly stated both in international humanitarian law and in international human rights law.

Since 2000, with the outbreak of the second intifada, Israel has increasingly avoided accountability for serious violations of human rights of West Bank and Gaza residents for which it is responsible. One example is the policy enforced in the West Bank until April 2011: as a rule, not to open criminal investigations in cases in which soldiers killed Palestinians who were not taking part in the hostilities. Another is the enactment of legislation that denies Palestinians harmed by illegal acts of Israeli security forces almost any possibility to file compensation suits in Israeli courts.