ورقة التوت التي تغطي عورة الاحتلال: جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري كمنظومة لطمس الحقائق

ورقة التوت التي تغطي عورة الاحتلال: جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري كمنظومة لطمس الحقائق

ملخص التقرير، آيار 2016

من المفروض أن يقوم جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكريّ بعلاج الشكاوى المقدمة ضد الجنود حول المساس بالفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية، بما في ذلك وقوع حالات عنف وإطلاق نار، والتي أسفرت عن إصابات أو حالات وفاة ـ وهي جزء لا يتجزأ من روتين الاحتلال، الذي سيدخل قريبًا عامه الخمسين.

تم تعريف دور جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري منذ البداية بشكل محدود: المفروض أنّه يحقّق فقط في حوادث محدّدة يُشتبه فيها بأن الجنود تصرفوا بشكل مخالف لأوامر أو تعليمات أعطيت لهم. الجهاز لا يحقق بتاتا في الأوامر نفسها وفي مسؤولية محددي السياسات ومن أعطوا التعليمات. هكذا فإنّ الجهاز موجّه فقط ضد الجنود الصغار في حين أن المتواجدين في مراتب رفيعة المستوى على الصعيد السياسيّ أو العسكريّ ـ بما في ذلك النائب العسكري الرئيسيّ ـ معفون مقدّمًا من المسؤولية. لذلك حتى إذا أتمّ الجهاز المهمة الملقاة عليه تظلّ فائدته في تطبيق القانون محدودة. لكن فحص أداء جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري يشير إلى أنه لا يسعى حتى إلى تنفيذ هذه المهمة المحدودة.

منذ تأسيسها قبل أكثر من 25 عامًا، توجهت منظمة بتسيلم إلى النيابة العسكرية مطالبةً بالتحقيق في مئات الأحداث التي ألحق فيها جنود الأذى بالفلسطينيين. نتيجة بعض هذه التوجهات، فُتح تحقيق جنائيّ. في كثير من الحالات، ساعدت منظمة بتسيلم المحققين في عملية تنسيق جمع شهادات الضحايا والشهود الفلسطينيين والحصول على الأوراق الطبية أو غيرها من الوثائق ذات الصلة. بعد الانتهاء من التحقيقات واصلت بتسيلم التوجه إلى النيابة العسكرية للحصول على معلومات بشأن نتائج القضية. في بعض الحالات قدمت بتسيلم طعونًا للنيابة العسكرية على قرار إغلاق ملف القضية، وفي بعض الحالات توجهت إلى محكمة العدل العليا نتيجة قرار كهذا، أو نتيجة التأخير غير المعقول في معالجة النيابة للملف.

منذ بداية الانتفاضة الثانية في أواخر عام 2000 توجهت منظمة بتسيلم إلى النيابة العسكرية مطالبة بالتحقيق في 739 حالة قُتل فيها فلسطينيون أو أُصيبوا أو ضُربوا على أيدي جنود أو تضررت ممتلكاتهم أو استخدمهم الجنود كدروع بشرية.

تحليل الإجابات التي حصلت عليها منظمة بتسيلم بشأن معالجة جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري في 739 حالة، يبيّن أنّه في ربع الحالات (182 حالة) لم يجر تحقيق على الإطلاق، وفيما يقارب نصف الحالات (343 حالة) تم إغلاق ملف التحقيق دون نتيجة، وفقط في حالات نادرة (25 حالة) تم تقديم لوائح اتهام ضدّ الجنود المتورطين. تم نقل 13 ملفًا إضافيًا للمحاكم التأديبية كما تتواجد 132 حالة في مراحل مختلفة من المعالجة، 44 حالة اخرى لم تتمكن النيابة العسكرية من تتبع وضعها.

توجهات بتسيلِم إلى النيابة العسكريّة ونتائج معالجتها بين الأعوام 2015-2000: 

المجموع دروع بشرية المس بالممتلكات ضرب مصابون قتلى
بعد نيسان 2011 (بعد تغيير سياسية التحقيقات) حتى نيسان 2011
24 3 3 10 1 4 3 لم يتخذ قرار فتح التحقيق حتى الآن
182 2 12 30 47 9 82 لم يجر تحقيق 
69 2 10 37 4 15 1 قيد التحقيق 
343 15 46 199 38 13 32 إغلاق الملف
39 0 0 1 7 24 7 قيد معالجة النيابة
25 0 2 11 4 2 6 تمّ تقديم لائحة اتهام
13 0 3 5 4 0 1 تمّ تحويله إلى الإجراء التأديبيّ
44 9 2 7 17 1 8 لم يتم العثور على الطلب
739 31 78 300 122 68 140 المجموع

هذه المعطيات بحد ذاتها لا تشير بالضرورة إلى مشاكل في أداء جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري. ومع ذلك ينبغي قراءة المعطيات حول معالجة الجهاز للشكاوى التي تتناول مساس الجنود بالفلسطينيين في سياق أوسع.

كيف يعمل جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكريّ؟

خلال أكثر من 25 عاما من العمل تراكمت لدينا المعلومات من مئات الشكاوى التي قدمتها منظمة بتسيلم إلى جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري. بالإضافة إلى الحجم الهائل للمواد ذات الصلة بمعالجة هذه الحالات، طالبت منظمة بتسيلم، وحصلت على مدار السنوات على العشرات من ملفات شرطة التحقيقات العسكرية. حتّى أنّ ممثلي المنظّمة أجروا خلال السنوات عشرات اللقاءات مع المسؤولين في مجال تطبيق القانون ومراسلات كثيرة مع النيابة العسكرية وعناصر أخرى داخل الجيش. أكسبت هذه المواد بتسيلم تجربة طويلة ومعرفة تنظيمية واسعة ومفصلة حول طريقة عمل الجهاز واعتباراته٬ والتي على أساسها يمكن الإشارة إلى الإخفاقات الهيكليّة الكامنة في جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري في معالجة عدد كبير من الملفات، حيث أغلق معظمها بلا نتيجة:

تُجرى تحقيقات شرطة التحقيقات العسكريّة بطريقة تنطوي على إهمال لا يسمح للمحققين بالوصول إلى الحقيقة. في إطار التحقيق لم يتم بذل جهد تقريبا للحصول على أدلة خارجيّة، ويتكل الجهاز مرارا وتكرارا على وجود صعوبات معروفة منذ سنوات طويلة دون محاولة إيجاد حلّ لها. بدلا من الأدلة، ترتكز التحقيقات تقريبًا بشكل حصريّ على إفادات الجنود والفلسطينيين. على الرغم من ذلك، يتبين من ملفات التحقيق أن محقّقي شرطة التحقيقات العسكرية يجدون صعوبة في جمعها وفي حالات كثيرة يتم جمعها فقط بعد مرور أشهر طويلة بعد الحدث. خلال جمع الشهادات يعمل المحققون أساسا كناسخين لا يسعون للبحث عن الحقيقة حتى عندما تتكشف تناقضات في أقوال الجنود أنفسهم أو بينهم وبين أقوال أصحاب الشكاوى.

يصل ملف التحقيق إلى نيابة الشؤون الميدانيّة والتي يحدد نظامُ اعتباراتها بشكل مسبق تقريبًا إغلاقَ الملف بلا نتيجة. ملفات كثيرة تُغلق على أساس "غياب التهمة" ـ لأنّ النيابة تقبل روايات الجنود المشتبه فيهم بارتكاب المخالفة على أساس المصداقيّة، غالبا في ضوء غياب الأدلّة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإنّ النيابة ـ التي ترافق التحقيقات منذ البداية وتشرف عليها لم تفعل شيئا طيلة السنوات من أجل تحسين جودتها، وبدلا من ذلك تكتفي بالتحقيقات المهملة التي تجريها شرطة التحقيقات العسكرية من أجل اتخاذ قرار في القضية. في هذه الظروف يتم إغلاق ملفات كثيرة لعدم وجود أدلة وهو أمر متوقع حيث إنه إذا لم تكن هناك محاولات جادّة للوصول إليها منذ البداية فمن الواضح أنّه لا يمكن بناء قضية جنائيّة على أساسها.

في حالات كثيرة تقرّر نيابة الشؤون الميدانيّة عدم فتح تحقيق جنائيّ على الإطلاق. تفسّر النيابة أحيانًا ذلك بادّعاء "غياب التهمة" بشكل استثنائيّ ـ حتّى هنا يكون الأمر تأسيسًا على روايات الجنود. وأحيانًا، في الحالات التي قُتل فيها فلسطينيّون، بادّعاء أن الأمر يدور حول "أحداث قتالية" ـ الأمر الذي يعفي تماما الجنود من التحقيقات الجنائيّة، أكثر بكثير مما يمنحه القانون الانساني الدولي.

يستمدّ جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري شرعيّته أيضًا من التواجد الظاهري لآليات مراقبة داخل الجهاز المدني والمتجسدة في هيئة المستشار القانوني للحكومة والمحكمة العليا، والتي من المفروض أن تراقب عمل النائب العسكري الرئيسيّ ـصاحب الصلاحيّات الواسعة ـ بوجه خاصّ، وعمل النيابة العسكريّة بوجه عام. لكن المستشار القانوني يختار منح معظم صلاحياته للنائب العسكري الرئيسيّ ويمتنع عن التدخّل في قراراته. بالنسبة للمحكمة العليا فليس من المفترض بها أن تعمل منذ البداية كآلية مراقبة ـ وفي الحالات القليلة التي طُلب منها ذلك عادة ما فضّل عدم التدخل.

يتميز جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري أيضا بجملة من المشاكل في نهجه اليوميّ: النظام ليس متاحًا على الإطلاق للمشتكين الفلسطينيين، والذين لا يمكنهم أن يقدموا بأنفسهم شكاوى في شرطة التحقيقات العسكريّة ومتعلّقون بمنظمات حقوق الإنسان أو محامين يقومون بتقديم الشكاوى عنهم. تستمر معالجة كلّ شكوى شهورا طويلة وحتى سنوات، وفي أكثر من مرّة يكون الجنود الذين قدمت الشكاوى ضدّهم لا يعود قانون المحاكمة العسكرية ساريًا عليهم. شرطة التحقيقات العسكريّة والنيابة على حد سواء لا تتمتعان بالشفافيّة، كما أنّ الحصول على معلومات منهما- بشأن الشكوى المقدّمة والمعلومات العامة حول عملهم- منوط بتكرار التوجهات إليهم.

هذا هو الجهاز الذي تعرضه مصادر رسميّة في جميع أنحاء العالم وفي إسرائيل لإثبات ادعاءها بأن الجيش يفعل كل ما في وسعه للتحقيق في الشكاوى المقدّمة ضد الجنود المسؤولين عن إلحاق الأذى بالفلسطينيين وتقديمهم للمحاكمة. يتباهى المسؤولون بنجاعة هذا الجهاز وقيمه ويرفضون أي انتقاد جوهري. هذا على الرغم من أنّ أداء الجهاز ونتائج عمله يعرفها المسؤولون في الجيش وخارجه حقّ المعرفة.

على مر السنين وعلى الرغم من إجراء بعض التغييرات في جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري إلا أن هدف هذه التغييرات أساسا تعزيز الجهد الظاهري للوصول إلى الحقيقة وليس حل المشاكل الأساسية للنظام.

في هذا السياق يجب دراسة مداولات لجنة "تيركل" وتوصياتها. اللجنة، التي نشرت توصياتها قبل ثلاث سنوات (شباط 2013)، أوصت بمجموعة من التعديلات التشريعية على جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري. من جملة أمور أخرى، أوصت اللجنة، بتعديلات تشريعيّة تشمل تشريعات ضدّ جرائم الحرب والمسؤولية الجنائيّة للقادة المسؤولين عن أفعال جنودهم، وتحسين طرق عمل شرطة التحقيقات العسكريّة والنيابة- يشمل تحديد جداول زمنيّة أقصر في المعالجة، إنشاء وحدة شرطة التحقيقات العسكريّة هدفها تولّي شكاوى الفلسطينيين، شفافيّة أكبر في عمل النيابة ومجموعة من الإجراءات لتعزيز استقلاليّة النائب العسكري الرئيسيّ إن تنفيذ هذه التوصيات الذي بدأ بالفعل قد يؤدي إلى تحسين المظهر الذي ينتجه الجهاز القائم، ولكن تنفيذها لن يصحح العيوب الأساسية التي تميز جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري.

بعد لجنة "تيركل" أقامت الحكومة لجنة "تشخنوفر" التي قدمت توصياتها في آب عام 2015. وفي تقريرها كتبت اللجنة أنها توصي بتنفيذ بعض توصيات لجنة "تيركل" لأنّ تنفيذ التوصيات الأخرى سيعتمد على تخصيص آخر للموارد وبالنسبة لتوصيات أخرى اقترحت اللجنة تغييرات طفيفة. في ملخص أقوالها تؤكد اللجنة أن التقرير الذي قدّمته ليس نهاية المطاف وأنّه في بعض المواضيع هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العمل. لذلك فهي توصي بإقامة هيئة أخرى لمراقبة تنفيذ توصياتها.

تطبيق صوري القانون

هكذا تقريرًا بعد تقرير٬ ولجنة بعد لجنة٬ النقاش في حد ذاته يخلق حراكًا وهميًّا من التغيير والتحسين في الجهاز. هذا الحراك الوهمي يمكّن عناصر من داخل الجاهز وخارجه من التحدث عن أهمية الهدف المعلن من تطبيق القانون على الجنود في حين أن الإخفاقات الجوهرية باقية ويتواصل إغلاق معظم الملفات دون أية نتيجة.

ظاهرية عمل الجهاز تسمح من جملة أمور أخرى للمسؤولين في إسرائيل بدحض الادعاءات القائلة بأن إسرائيل لا تطبق القانون على الجنود الذين يلحقون الأذى بالفلسطينيين. هكذا تضمن الدولة بقاء جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري في يد الجيش ليتمكن من مواصلة سياسة تحقيقاته والتي يتم التحقيق في إطارها (ظاهريًا) مع من ينتمون إلى الرتب الدنيا في حين أن أصحاب الرتب العليا ـ في الجيش وخارجه ـ معفون من المساءلة حول انتهاكات القانون التي ارتكبت تحت رعايتهم.

هذه الظاهريّة تنجح أيضًا في إضفاء الشرعية ـ في إسرائيل والعالَم ـ لمواصلة الاحتلال. هي تسهل رفض انتقاد جرائم الاحتلال بفضل العرض الكاذب حتى في نظر الجيش بأن هناك أفعالا معينة غير مقبولة والدليل ـ أنه يقوم بالتحقيق فيها. هكذا تنجح الدولة في الحفاظ ليس فقط على مفهوم سلامة وأخلاقيّة جهاز تطبيق القانون وإنما أيضا على الصورة الأخلاقيّة للجيش الذي يكافح هذه الأفعال (المعرّفة بأنها "استثنائيّة") ويحافظ من أجل هذا الغرض على جهاز كبير ومهنيّ.

هناك أهميّة عالية للتحقيق الحقيقي والناجع في البحث عن الحقيقة. من حيث الضحايا ـ هذا الجهاز سيحقق العدل في كَونه سيتخذ خطوات ضد الشخص المسؤول عن إلحاق الأذى بحياتهم وأجسادهم؛ من حيث المصلحة العامة ـ نظام تطبيق قانون ناجع سينجح في ردع الجنود والضباط عن ارتكاب مخالفات مماثلة أخرى ويمنع وقوع المزيد من الإصابات. هذا هو السبب في كون تحديد مسؤولية قانونية عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والمساءلة حول هذه الانتهاكات موجود في قلب الأنشطة الأساسية لمنظمات حقوق الإنسان في إسرائيل والعالم.

وفعلاً، لمدة 25 عاما توجهنا إلى جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري مطالبين بإجراء التحقيقات ضد جنود يشتبه فيهم بإلحاق الأذى بالفلسطينيين في محاولة لتحديد المسؤولية ومنع تكرار حوادث مماثلة. خلال هذه الأعوام، طوّر جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكريّ توقّعًا من منظمات حقوق الإنسان، ومن بينها بتسيلم بأن يكونوا بمثابة مقاولين ثانويين لنظام التحقيقات العسكريّ: في تقديم الشكاوى، في تنسيق جمع الشهادات، في الحصول على المستندات المختلفة وغيرها.

على الرغم من أنّ هذه ليست وظيفة بتسيلم، وإنّما مهمة ومسؤوليّة النظام نفسه، إلا أننا اخترنا العمل بهذه الطريقة طيلة 25 عاما مضت، أملا، بين سائر أمور أخرى، بأننا نساعد في تحقيق العدالة للضحايا الفلسطينيين وإنشاء رادع يمنع تكرار حالات شبيهة. لو كان الأمر كذلك- لما كُتب هذا التقرير. لكن عمليًا، لا يحقق التعاون مع منظومات التطبيق والتحقيق العسكريّة عدالة، وإنما يمنح الشرعيّة لحُكم الاحتلال ويساعد على تأهيله.

تختار منظمة بتسيلم عدم الاستمرار في المساهمة في الحراك الوهمي في عمل جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكريّ ولا نية لها بمواصلة توجيه الشكاوى إليه. وقد تم اتخاذ هذا القرار في ختام عملية تفكير تقدمية قامت بها المنظمة إستناداً على المعرفة المكتسبة من مئات الشكاوى التي قدمتها منظمة بتسيلم إلى جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري٬ العشرات من الملفات لشرطة التحقيقات العسكرية وعشرات اللقاءات مع المسؤولين في مجال تطبيق القانون العسكري. هذه المواد منحت بتسيلم تجربة طويلة ومعرفة تنظيمية واسعة ومفصلة حول طريقة عمل الجهاز واعتباراته. جراء هذه الخبرة أدركنا بأنّه لا أمل في تعزيز العدل وحماية حقوق الإنسان عبر نظام يقاس أداؤه الحقيقيّ في قدرته على مواصلة تغطية انتهاكات القانون وحماية مسبّبي الضرر، بنجاح.

سوف نواصل توثيق انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي تقوم بها إسرائيل في الأراضي المحتلة والإبلاغ عنها. ولكننا نؤمن بأنه من أجل محاولة تعزيز حماية حقوق الإنسان في الأراضي المحتلة المطلوب الآن ليس جهدا آخر لتعزيز تحقيقات فاشلة والتي يعرف محققو الشرطة العسكرية ومحامو النيابة العامة تبديدها جيدًا ـ وإنما إدانة هذا الجهاز وتقديمه كما هو حقا.

The Occupation's Fig Leaf: Israel's Military Law Enforcement System as a Whitewash Mechanism

עלה התאנה של הכיבוש: מערכת אכיפת החוק הצבאית כמנגנון טיוח

Report summary, May 2016

The military law enforcement system is supposed to handle complaints filed against soldiers for harm caused to Palestinians in the West Bank, including cases of violence and gunfire that resulted in injury or death. Such harm is endemic to the occupation, which has been in place for nearly fifty years.

The role of the military law enforcement system has been narrowly defined to begin with: it investigates only specific incidents in which soldiers are suspected to have acted in breach of the orders or directives they were given. The system does not investigate the orders themselves nor the responsibility of those who issue them or determine the policy. As such, the system is oriented toward low ranking soldiers only, while senior military and government officials, including the Military Advocate General (MAG), are absolved in advance of any responsibility. In this state of affairs, even if the system had fulfilled its tasks, its contribution to law enforcement would still remain limited. However, an examination of the operation of the military law enforcement system indicates that it makes no attempt to fulfill even this limited mandate.

Ever since B’Tselem was established more than 25 years ago, it has applied to the MAG Corps regarding hundreds of incidents in which Palestinians were harmed by soldiers, demanding the incidents be investigated. Some of B’Tselem’s applications led to the launching of criminal investigations. In many cases, B’Tselem assisted investigators in making arrangements for them to collect statements from Palestinian victims and eyewitnesses, and by obtaining medical records and other relevant documents. Once the investigations were concluded, B’Tselem followed up with the MAG Corps to get information as to the case outcome. In some cases, B’Tselem appealed the MAG Corps’ decision to close a case, and in a few instances, even petitioned Israel’s High Court of Justice (HCJ) against a decision to close a case, or regarding unreasonable delays in the MAG Corps’ processing of a case.

Since the second intifada began in late 2000, B’Tselem has demanded an investigation in 739 cases in which soldiers killed, injured, or beat Palestinians,used them as human shields, or damaged Palestinian property.

An analysis of the responses B’Tselem received as to how the military law enforcement system handled these 739 cases shows that in a quarter (182) no investigation was ever launched, in nearly half (343), the investigation was closed with no further action, and only in very rare instances (25), were charges brought against the implicated soldiers. Another thirteen cases were referred for disciplinary action. A total of 132 cases are still at various processing stages, and the MAG Corps was unable to locate 44 others.

MAG Corps handling of incidents referred by B’Tselem – 2000-2015:


Total Human shield Damage to property Beating Injuries Fatalities
Since April 2011
(subsequent to change in investigation policy)
Up to April 2011
24 3 3 10 1 4 3 Decision whether to open investigation pending
182 2 12 30 47 9 82 No investigation opened
69 2 10 37 4 15 1 Under investigation
343 15 46 199 38 13 32 Case closed
39 0 0 1 7 24 7 In MAG processing
25 0 2 11 4 2 6 Indictment filed
13 0 3 5 4 0 1 Referred to disciplinary action
44 9 2 7 17 1 8 Communication not found
739 31 78 300 122 68 140 Total


On their own, these numbers do not necessarily mean there is any problem with the way the military law enforcement system operates, but the figures on how the system handles complaints of harm to Palestinians by soldiers must be viewed in a wider context.

How does the military law enforcement system operate?

Over the course of more than 25 years of operation, we have gathered information from hundreds of complaints B’Tselem filed with the military law enforcement system. In addition to the vast amount of information collected with respect to the processing of these cases, over the years B’Tselem has requested and received scores of investigation files from the Military Police Investigations Unit (MPIU). B’Tselem staff members have also met with officials inside the military law enforcement system dozens of times over the years, and corresponded at length with the MAG Corps and other military officials. All this information has helped B’Tselem gain a great deal of experience and given it vast and detailed organizational knowledge regarding how the system works and the considerations that guide it. It is the sum of this knowledge that serves as the basis for pointing to the structural failures that underpin the military law enforcement system’s ability to process a sizeable caseload and yet close the vast majority of cases without any further action:

With MPIU investigations conducted negligently, investigators cannot get at the truth. Almost no effort is made during the investigation to collect external evidence, the system citing as an excuse difficulties of which it has been aware for years and which it has made no attempt to resolve. Instead of evidence, investigations rely almost exclusively on statements collected from soldiers and Palestinians. Nevertheless, the investigation files show that MPIU investigators are hard put to collect these statements, which are often obtained only months after the incident. At witness statement interviews, investigators function more like stenographers taking dictation than staff tasked with uncovering the truth. This is the case even when soldiers’ statements are found to contradict the accounts given by other soldiers or by the complainants.

The investigation file is transferred to the Military Advocacy for Operational Affairs, which is guided by considerations that almost inevitably dictate closing the file with no further action. Many cases are closed for “absence of guilt”, since the MAG Corps simply assumes that the accounts given by soldiers suspected of committing an offense are reliable – usually with no supporting evidence. In addition, the decision of the MAG Corps – which accompanies the investigations from the very start and oversees them – has done nothing to improve or make them more rigorous, instead finding the lax MPIU investigations sufficient for making decisions in cases. Under these circumstances, the fact that many cases are closed for absence of evidence is no surprise. Since no serious effort is made to obtain evidence, it clearly could not support a criminal case.

In many other cases the Military Advocacy for Operational Affairs elects not to launch a criminal investigation at all. Sometimes, it justifies its decision on the grounds of “absence of guilt”. Here, too, it does so on the basis of soldiers’ accounts of events. Sometimes, in cases in which there are Palestinian fatalities, the grounds are that the deaths were in “combat situations”, an exclusion that grants sweeping immunity to soldiers from criminal investigations, far above and beyond that granted by international humanitarian law.

The military law enforcement system also draws legitimacy from the ostensible existence of oversight mechanisms within the civilian system in the form of the Attorney General and the Supreme Court, saying they are meant to oversee the work of the MAG, who wields extensive authorities, as well as the work of the MAG Corps as a whole. However, the Attorney General elects to delegate most of his powers to the MAG and refrains from intervening in his decisions. As for the Supreme Court, it is not meant to serve as an oversight mechanism, and in the few cases in which it was asked to do so, for the most part it preferred not to intervene.

The military law enforcement system is plagued by a host of issues in the basic way it is run: The system is inaccessible to Palestinian complainants, who cannot file complaints with the MPIU directly and must rely on human rights organizations or attorneys to file the complaints on their behalf. The processing of each complaint lasts months, and even years, so that often enough soldiers who are the subject of the complaint are no longer under military jurisdiction. Both the MPIU and the MAG Corps act without transparency, and getting information from them – both about a complaint filed, as well as with general information about their work – requires repeated requests.

This is the system that officials bring as proof – to Israel and the world – of their claim that the military does everything in its power to investigate complaints against soldiers responsible for harming Palestinians and to prosecute the offenders. Top officials boast of the system’s effectiveness and values, discounting any substantive criticism, despite the fact that the system’s operation and the outcomes of its work are well known to senior officials both inside and outside the military.

While changes have been made to the military law enforcement system over the years, they mostly served to reinforce the impression that efforts were being made to get at the truth, and did not resolve the system’s substantive problems. 

The deliberations and recommendations of the Turkel Commission ought to be considered against this backdrop. The Commission, which published its conclusions already three years ago (February 2013), recommended a number of improvements to the military law enforcement system. The following were among the Commission’s recommendations: amendments to legislation that would include legislation against war crimes and address the criminal responsibility of commanding officers for the actions of their subordinates; improving MPIU and MAG Corps work methods – including setting shorter schedules for processing time; establishing an MPIU unit designated for handling complaints by Palestinians; greater transparency in the work of the MAG Corps; and a number of measures meant to enhance the MAG’s independence. The implementation of these recommendations, which has already begun, may improve appearances of the current system, but it will not remedy the substantive flaws plaguing the military law enforcement system.

After the Turkel Commission published its recommendations, the government appointed another committee to implement them – the Ciechanover Committee, which submitted its own recommendations in August 2015. In its report, the Ciechanover Committee advocated the implementation of some of the Turkel Commission recommendations verbatim, stated that the implementation of others would require allocation of additional resources, and suggested some minor changes in yet other recommendations. The Ciechanover Committee concluded by stressing that its report is not the final word on the subject, and that some issues still require more work. It recommended the establishment of another agency that would follow up on the implementation of its recommendations.

A semblance of law enforcement

And so, report after report, committee after committee, the discourse in itself creates the illusion of movement toward changing and improving the system. This illusory movement allows officials both inside and outside the system to make statements about the importance of the stated goal of enforcing the law on soldiers, while the substantive failures remain as they were and most cases continue to be closed with no measures taken.

Among other things, the semblance of a functioning justice system allows Israeli officials to deny claims made both in Israel and abroad that Israel does not enforce the law on soldiers who harm Palestinians. In so doing, the state ensures that the military law enforcement system will remain in the sole purview of the military. The military, in turn, will be able to continue its investigation policy in which only the junior ranks are (ostensibly) investigated, while senior commanders and civilian superiors are absolved of accountability for unlawful acts committed under their authority.

These appearances also help grant legitimacy – both in Israel and abroad – to the continuation of the occupation. It makes it easier to reject criticism about the injustices of the occupation, thanks to the military’s outward pretense that even it considers some acts unacceptable, and backs up this claim by saying that it is already investigating these actions. In so doing, not only does the state manages to uphold the perception of a decent, moral law enforcement system, but also maintains the military’s image as an ethical military that takes action against these acts (defined as “aberrations”) and even has an extensive, professional system for doing so.

Effective investigations that get at the truth are critically important. For the victims and their loved ones such a system would mean getting justice, in that action would be taken against those responsible for death and injury.An effective law enforcement system will also serve the public interest by deterring soldiers and officers from committing similar offenses and preventing future harm. This is why establishing legal liability and accountability for human rights violations is the core of the activities of human rights organizations both in Israel and abroad. 

And so, for 25 years, with a view to establishing accountability and preventing future harm, we contacted the military law enforcement system and demanded that soldiers suspected of harming Palestinians be investigated. Over the years, the military law enforcement system has developed the expectation that human rights organizations, including B’Tselem, serve as subcontractors for the military investigative system: that they submit the complaints, coordinate collecting statements, obtain documents, and so forth.

Although this is not B’Tselem’s job but the responsibility of the military system, we have elected to perform it for the last 25 years for a variety of reasons. One of the reasons we did so was that we hoped that in this way we were helping bring justice to the Palestinian victims and to establish deterrence that would prevent future similar incidents. If that had been the outcome, this paper would not have been written. In reality, however, B’Tselem’s cooperation with the military investigation and enforcement systems has not achieved justice, instead lending legitimacy to the occupation regime and aiding to whitewash it.

B’Tselem will no longer play a part in the pretense posed by the military law enforcement system and will no longer refer complaints to it. The experience we have gained, on which we base the conclusions presented in this report, has brought us to the realization that there is no longer any point in pursuing justice and defending human rights by working with a system whose real function is measured by its ability to continue to successfully cover up unlawful acts and protect perpetrators.

We will continue to document and report on Israel’s human rights abuses in the occupied territories, but we believe that the task of advancing human rights protection in the occupied territories will not be served by efforts to help shoddy investigations that would, in any case, end up being much watered down by MAG lawyers. The fight for human rights will be better served by denouncing this system and exposing it for what it is.