كوسيلة عقاب - 7.3.08: بتسيلم لمزوز: امنع هدم بيت عائلة منفذ العملية في القدس

تم النشر في: 
3.7.08

7.3.08: بتسيلم لمزوز: امنع هدم بيت عائلة منفذ العملية في القدس

في أعقاب عملية الدهس القاسية التي وقعت يوم أمس في مركز مدينة القدس والتي أسفرت عن مقتل ثلاثة أشخاص وإصابة العشرات بجروح، دعا بعض السياسيين وبعض من يُشغلون المناصب العامة إلى هدم بيت عائلة الشاب الذي نفذ العملية، في قرية صور باهر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد نشر أن نائب المستشار القضائي للحكومة، المحامي شاي نيتسان، سيعقد مداولة حول الإمكانيات القضائية بخصوص إتباع خطوات عقابية ضد منفذي العمليات من بين حملة بطاقات الهوية الإسرائيلية وأبناء عائلاتهم. ومن المتوقع أن يشارك في المداولة ممثلون عن الوزارات الحكومية والجهات الأمنية. وكانت المداولة قد تحددت من قبل لموعد متأخر إلا أنه تم التبكير بها في أعقاب العملية.

وقد توجهت بتسيلم اليوم إلى المستشار القضائي للحكومة وطلبت منع تنفيذ الهدم. وأشارت بتسيلم في توجهها إلى مزوز إلى أن هدم البيوت لغرض العقاب هو انتهاك صارخ للقانون الإنساني الدولي. إن الهدف المصرح به من وراء سياسة هدم البيوت هو المس بالأبرياء- أبناء عائلات المشتبه بهم الذين لا يدعي أي شخص بأنه كانت لهم أي علاقة بأي مخالفة. إن الحديث يدور عن عقاب جماعي صارخ يتنافي مع مبدأ إنزال العقاب بشخص بسبب فعل اقترفه غيره، وعليه يُمنع القيام بهذه الخطوة بغض النظر عن مدى نجاعتها. علاوة على ذلك، فإن استنتاجات اللجنة التي عينها رئيس هيئة الأركان في الجيش التي تشير إلى أن ضرر هذه السياسة أكبر من نفعها، تفرغ من مضمونه ادعاء الردع الذي تتمسك به إسرائيل على مدار سنوات.

خلفية

منذ تشرين الأول 2001 ولغاية نهاية شهر كانون الثاني 2005، هدمت إسرائيل لغرض العقاب 667 بيتا فلسطينيا في المناطق المحتلة وخلفت أكثر من 4.200 شخصا بدون مأوى. نصف هذه البيوت تقريبا كانت بيوتا مجاورة لبيت أسرة الشخص الذي بسببه تم تنفيذ الهدم.

في شهر شباط، أوصت لجنة عينها رئيس هيئة الأركان في حينه، الجنرال موشيه يعلون، بالتوقف عن هدم بيوت الفلسطينيين المشتبه بهم بتنفيذ العمليات ضد الإسرائيليين. وقد حددت اللجنة أن هدم البيوت ليس وسيلة ناجعة للردع. بتاريخ 17.2.2005، قبل وزير الدفاع، شاؤل موفاز، التوصية.

3 July '08: B'Tselem to Mazuz: Prevent demolition of home belonging to family of Jerusalem attack perpetrator

Published: 
3 Jul 2008

Following the attack perpetrated by a tractor driver yesterday in Jerusalem, killing three and injuring dozens, the media have published calls by politicians and public figures to demolish the home belonging to the family of the attack perpetrator, in the village of Sur Baher.

In addition, the media reported that Deputy Attorney General Adv. Shai Nitzan will call a meeting today, to discuss legal possibilities of imposing sanctions on terror attack perpetrators holding Israeli ID cards, and their families. Representatives of the government and the defense establishment are to take part in the meeting, which was originally set to be held several months from now and was brought forward following the attack.

B'Tselem wrote today to Attorney General Mazuz demanding that he prevent the demolition. In its letter, B'Tselem pointed out that the demolition of houses as punishment is a grave breach of international humanitarian law. The declared objective of this policy is to harm innocent persons - relatives of suspected perpetrators, who are not accused of any criminal wrongdoing themselves. The demolition of houses is a clear case of collective punishment, which violates the principle that a person is not to be punished for the acts of another. Collective punishment is therefore illegal regardless of its effectiveness.

Regarding effectiveness, a committee appointed by former Chief of Staff Moshe Ya'alon found that the house-demolition policy did more harm than good to Israel's security. The committee's finding undermines the claim that Israel has used for many years, that the policy deters potential terrorists.

Background

From October 2001 to the end of January 2005, Israel demolished 667 Palestinian houses in the Occupied Territories as a means of punishment, leaving more than 4,200 persons homeless. Half of the demolished houses were adjacent to the family homes of suspected perpetrators of terror attacks.

In February 2005, the abovementioned committee recommended that the policy be stopped. The same month, then-Defense Minister Mofaz adopted the recommendation.