عقوبة الاعدام في مناطق السلطة الفلسطينية وتحت حكم حماس

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11
تم التعديل في: 
16.10.13

القانون الدولي لا يحظر بصورة مطلقة فرض عقوبة الموت. ومع هذا، فإنه يضعُ شروطاً صارمة بالنسبة لتطبيقه، ويشجع الدول التي يسري فيها عقاب الموت على اتخاذ الإجراءات من أجل إلغائه. وعلى ضوء ذلك، يُلزم الميثاق الدولي بخصوص الحقوق المدنية والسياسية بتحديد عدد المخالفات التي يمكن جراؤها فرض عقوبة الموت، فيما يتعلق بـ"المخالفات الخطرة جداً" (البند 6 من الميثاق). بالإضافة الى ذلك، يمكن فرض عقوبة الموت بشرط الحرص على التطبيق المتناهي لقواعد المحاكمة العادلة، كما هي معرَّفة في البند 14 من الميثاق، وبشرط منح المتهم امكانية الإستئناف على قرار المحكمة.

الكثير من منظمات حقوق الإنسان في العالم، ومن بينها بتسيلم، تتعامل مع عقوبة الموت على اعتبار أنها خرق لحق كل انسان في الحياة، وعلى اعتبار أنها عقوبة قاسية، وغير انسانية ومُذلة، وتُناشد جميع الدول بإلغائها تماماً. الكثير من الدول وقعت على بروتوكولات اختيارية، والمُلحقة بعدد من المواثيق الدولية بخصوص حقوق الإنسان، والتي تحظر تماماً فرض عقوبة الموت.

إن عقوبة الموت مقننة في قوانين السلطة الفلسطينية، التي تستند إلى القوانين الأردنية (في الضفة) والمصرية (في القطاع). قانون العقوبات الفلسطيني الساري في مناطق الضفة الغربية يتيح فرض عقوبة الموت على من تتم ادانته بإرتكاب مخالفة من بين 17 نوعاً من المخالفات، بينما يحدد القانون الساري في قطاع غزة 15 نوعاً من المخالفات والتي يعاقب مرتكبوها بالموت. بالإضافة الى ذلك، يمكن فرض عقوبة الموت بناء على "قانون العقوبات الثوري من قبل منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية" من عام 1979. ويتيح هذا القانون فرض العقاب على كل من تتم ادانته بإقتراف مخالفة من بين 42 مخالفة متنوعة ويتم تطبيقه من قبل محاكم عسكرية فلسطينية.

لغاية 2003 تم تطبيق هذا القانون أيضا في جهاز خاص تابع لمحاكم أمن الدولة. إن هذه المحاكم الخاصة هي التي فرضت معظم أحكام عقوبة الموت التي فرضت منذ اقامة السلطة الفلسطينية. في حزيران 2005 أعلن الرئيس محمود عباس أن جميع المدانين الذين تمت محاكمتهم في هذه المنظومة الخاصة، محاكم أمن الدولة، سيحظون بمحاكمة معادة، من أجل ضمان حصول جميع المدانين على محاكمة عادلة تناسب الدستور. 11 من بين المُدانين تمت محاكمتهم من جديد.

إن تطبيق حكم الإعدام في كل محكمة من بين المحاكم يستلزم مصادقة من رئيس السلطة الفلسطينية.

الانقسام السياسي بخصوص نهاية ولاية الرئيس عباس في كانون الثاني 2009 قاد إلى قيام وزارة الداخلية في قطاع غزة، الواقعة تحت حكم حماس، بتجديد تنفيذ عمليات الإعدام بدون مصادقة الرئيس كما هو مطلوب قانونيا، بدعوى أن الرئيس لا يعمل حسب القانون ولهذا لا يستطيع المصادقة على عمليات الإعدام او منع تنفيذها. منذ ذلك تم إعدام 16 شخص في قطاع غزة. منذ تسنم محمود عباس منصبه في كانون الثاني 2005 لم يتم تنفيذ الإعدامات من قبل السلطة الفلسطينية.

إن فرض عقوبة الموت من خلال الجهاز القضائي الفلسطيني ينافي المعايير الثابتة في القانون الدولي من عدة نواحي. أولا، معظم عقوبات الإعدام التي يتم فرضها في الضفة والقطاع يتم فرضها في اطار المحاكم العسكرية، وهي تستند الى القانون الثوري الخاص بمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية وليس الدستور الفلسطيني. المداولات في المحاكم العسكرية لا تستوفي القواعد الدارجة في المحاكمة العادلة، وهي تستلزم فرض عقوبة الإعدام في حالات كثيرة، دون أبقاء خيارات أخرى امام القضاة عند فرض الحكم. بالاضافة الى ذلك، فإن العدد الكبير من المخالفات التي يتم جراؤها فرض عقوبة الموت، حتى في المنظومة المدنية، لا يتفق مع طلب تقييد هذه العقوبة واقتصارها على المخالفات الخطيرة والشديدة.

Death Penalty in the Palestinian Authority and Under Hamas Control

Published: 
1 Jan 2011
Updated: 
16 Oct 2013

International law does not ban the death penalty. It does, however, put stringent restrictions on implementing it, and encourages states having the death penalty to revoke it. Accordingly, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (in article 6) requires that only the most grievous offenses be subject to the death penalty. Also, the death penalty may be imposed only where the rules of due process, as set forth in Article 14 of the Covenant, are strictly adhered to, and provided that the defendant has the right to appeal the court's decision.

Many human rights organizations, B'Tselem among them, view the death penalty as a violation of a person's fundamental right to life and as cruel, inhuman, and degrading punishment, and urge all states to revoke the penalty completely. Many states have already signed the optional protocols to some international human rights conventions, which completely ban the death penalty.

The death penalty in the Palestinian Authority is enshrined in its statutes, which are based on Jordanian law (regarding the West Bank) and Egyptian law (regarding the Gaza Strip). The Palestinian Penal Code applying in the West Bank enables imposition of the death penalty on a person who is convicted of committing any of seventeen offenses, while in the Gaza Strip, fifteen offenses warrant the death penalty.

Also, the death penalty may be imposed pursuant to the PLO Revolutionary Penal Code, of 1979. The code enables imposition of the death penalty on a person who is convicted of any of forty-two offenses and is applied by a system of Palestinian military courts.

Until 2003, the Code was applied also by a special system of State Security courts. These special courts are responsible for the vast majority of death sentences imposed by the Palestinian Authority. In June 2005, President Mahmoud Abbas announced that all persons who were sentenced to death in the State Security courts would be retried in order to ensure they are given a fair trial in accordance with the constitution. Eleven persons who had been sentenced to death were retried.

Imposition of the death penalty in the Palestinian judicial system requires the approval of the president of the Palestinian Authority. The political controversy over the expiration of the term of President Abbas, which was to end in January 2009, led the Ministry of the Interior in the Gaza Strip, which is under Hamas’ control, to carry out executions without the requisite approval of the president, contending that Abbas no longer had the authority to approve, or prevent, execution of a death sentence. Since then, 16 persons were executed in the Gaza Strip. Since Abbas took office, in January 2005, no executions have been carried out by the Palestinian Authority.

Imposition of capital punishment in the Palestinian judicial system contravenes international law in several ways. Most of the death sentences imposed in the West Bank and in the Gaza Strip are imposed by the military courts, pursuant to the PLO Revolutionary Code, and not the Palestinian constitution. The trials in the military courts are not held in accordance with the accepted standards of due process, and for many offenses a death sentence is mandatory. Also, the large number of offenses for which the death sentence may be imposed, even in the civil courts, is inconsistent with the requirement that the list be restricted to the most grievous crimes.