Skip to main content
مرة مشاهدة: 7,811

خلافًا لتعليمات الشرطة: شرطيون يرشّون غاز الفلفل على مواطنين مسالمين

في يوم الجمعة، 22/2/2013، جرت في قرية النبي صالح في قضاء رام الله المظاهرة الأسبوعية التي تُجرى منذ كانون الأول 2009، ضدّ الاحتلال واحتجاجًا على استيلاء المستوطنين على نبع "القوس" المحاذي...
قراءة المقال كاملاً العودة إلى وضع الفيديو

خلافًا لتعليمات الشرطة: شرطيون يرشّون غاز الفلفل على مواطنين مسالمين

في يوم الجمعة، 22/2/2013، جرت في قرية النبي صالح في قضاء رام الله المظاهرة الأسبوعية التي تُجرى منذ كانون الأول 2009، ضدّ الاحتلال واحتجاجًا على استيلاء المستوطنين على نبع "القوس" المحاذي للقرية.

وقد وثق بلال تميمي، من سكان القرية ومُصوّر في مشروع "الردّ بالتصوير" التابع لبتسيلم، المظاهرة كعادته في السنوات الثلاث الأخيرة. وفي الشهادة التي أدلى بها أمام الباحث الميداني في بتسيلم، اياد حداد، قال:

بلال تميميلحق قرابة عشرة شرطيين من حرس الحدود بمتظاهرين، وقد تتبعتهم بالكاميرا التي معي. لم أتدخّل، صوّرت فقط. كنت أرتدي سترة الصحفيين كي يكون واضحًا أنني مصوّر. لديّ تجربة في كيفية التصرّف والتصوير في أحداث مثل هذه وفق متطلبات الجيش، وأنا أصوّر منذ أكثر من ثلاث سنوات وأعرف ما هو مسموح وما هو ممنوع. فجأةً، اقترب مني أحد الشرطيين وأمرني بالتوقف عن التصوير. تجادلت معه وادّعيت أنه لا مانع من التصوير. سأل الضابط المسؤول عنه إذا كان بوسعه إبعادي. أنا أعرف الضابط من مظاهرات سابقة وهو يعرفني. قال الضابط لشرطيين آخرين: "دَعُوه".تركني الشرطيون ونزلوا إلى الوادي وعندها وصلت مجموعة أخرى من الشرطيين. اقترب أحدهم مني. كان يمسك بخاخة غاز الفلفل وبدأ بالصراخ عليّ بالعبرية. أمرني بالابتعاد عن القوات وقال لي: "صوِّر، ولكن لا تقترب من القوات". قلت له: "ألم تسمع ما قاله الضابط؟" وعندها، من دون أيّ تحذير، رشّ على عينيّ ووجهي غاز الفلفل. شعرت بحرقة قوية جدًا، ولكنني مع ذلك أبقيت الكاميرا تعمل. اقترب مني شرطيّ آخر وألقى باتجاهي قنبلة صوتيّة. بعدها ابتعد الشرطيون.

هذه الحالة ليست شاذة. في السنوات الأخيرة وثقت بتسيلم 18 حادثة وصف فيها متظاهرون ومصوّرون استخدام الشرطيين غير المبرَّر لغاز الفلفل ضدّ مدنيين غير مسلّحين لم يبدر عنهم أيّ عنف، وذلك خلافًا لتعليمات الشرطة الرسمية. خمس من هذه الحالات وُثقت بالفيديو.

غاز الفلفل هو جزء من عدة وسائل لتفريق المظاهرات تستخدمها قوات الأمن في الاراضي المحتلة، وتستخدمه الشرطة الإسرائيلية منذ عام 2007. ويستخدمه في الضفة الغربية شرطيّو حرس الحدود وقوات "يسّام" (الوحدات الخاصة). يحتوي الغاز على عصارة مركزة من المادة الناشطة الموجودة في الفلفل الحارّ، وهو يُرش من حاوية عبر جهاز رشّ. تأثير غاز الفلفل فوريّ: فالانكشاف عليه يؤدّي إلى ألم حاد وشعور بالاحتراق في الوجه والعينين وإلى إغلاق العينين بحركة لا إرادية وإلى عمًى مؤقت، وحرقة شديدة في الجلد وصعوبات في التنفس. وتتواصل هذه التأثيرات بين ربع ساعة إلى ساعة، فيما يخفّ الألم مع انقضاء الوقت. وبرغم أنّ غاز الفلفل مقبول في العالم كوسيلة غير مُميتة، إلا أنه جرى توثيق تأثيرات صعبة ومتواصلة في حالات نادرة، وهو يُعتبر خطرًا على من يعاني صعوبات في التنفس، وخصوصًا مرضى الربو.

ويقوم إجراء شُرطيّ بتفصيل الظروف والقيود السّارية على استخدام غاز الفلفل. وقد أقرّت هذه الإجراءات، من ضمن ما أقرّته:

 

  • لا يُستخدم الغاز إلا بعد أن يشير حساب مجمل الظروف إلى عدم إمكانية تنفيذ اعتقال أو "شلّ" المشتبه به بوسيلة أخرى أقلّ شدّة، وعندما يبدو أنّ التّماس الجسديّ مع المشتبه به سيؤدّي إلى ضرر أكبر للشرطي أو للمشتبه به، من استخدام الغاز.
  • لا يُسمح باستخدام هذه الوسيلة إلا ضدّ أناس يُشتبه في أنهم اعتدوا أو أنهم ينوون الاعتداء على شرطيّ أو مدنيّ، أو ضدّ مشتبه به يعارض الاعتقال بعنف أو يحاول التهرّب منه. عندها أيضًا لا يُسمح باستخدام الغاز إلا بعد تحذير الشرطيّ للمشتبه به بأنه إذا لم يتوقف عن تصرّفاته العنيفة فسيجري استخدام غاز الفلفل ضدّه. ويُوضح الإجراء أنه لا يجوز استخدام الغاز ضدّ مشتبه به يعارض الاعتقال بشكل خامل.
  • لا يُسمح باستخدام الغاز إلا إذا لم يكن في الجوار مدنيون قد يتأذّون منه.
  • لا يجب استخدام الغاز على مسافة تقلّ عن متر ونصف المتر.
  • يجب وقف استخدام الغاز فورًا مع توقف المقاومة وتمكين المشتبه به من غسل المنطقة المصابة بالماء بأسرع ما يمكن. يجب السماح بوجود تهوية وتوفير العناية الطبية وفق الطلب، أو في حال تواصلت علامات الضيق لأكثر من 30 دقيقة بعد الرشّ.

 

يبدو أنّ الإجراء الشرطيّ الرسميّ ينصّ على توازن لائق بين اعتبارات تطبيق القانون وبين اعتبارات الأمان. إلا أنّ الرّصد الذي أجرته بتسيلم عبر توثيقات الفيديو وعبر شهادات مدنيين رُشّوا بالفلفل، يُشير إلى أنّ الشرطيين يستخدمون الغاز بدون تحذير، وخلافًا للتعليمات بشكل مطلق. ففي أحيان كثيرة يُرشّ الغاز على أناس في مجموعة ومن مسافات أقصر بكثير من المتر ونصف المتر أو على أشخاص لم يبدُر عنهم أيّ عنف. وفي حالات كثيرة رُشّ متظاهرون وهم يقفون إلى جانب الشرطيين أو أنهم كانوا في نقاش معهم. لم يُعتقل هؤلاء الأشخاص ولم يبدُ أنه كانت نية لاعتقالهم كما لم يُحذّروا من وجود نيّة برشّ الغاز عليهم. أضفْ إلى ذلك أنّ الشرطيين وُثقوا في عدة حالات وهم يرشّون المتظاهرين الذين كانوا يعارضون الاعتقال بشكل خامل.

فيما يلي عدة حالات وثق فيها عاملو بتسيلم ومُصوّرون متطوّعون في المنظمة شرطيين يرشّون غاز الفلفل خلافًا لتعليمات الشرطة:

منذ عام 2010 نقلت بتسيلم إلى وحدة التحقيق مع الشرطيين (ماحَش) سبعَ شكاوى تتعلق بشبهة استخدام الشرطيين لغاز الفلفل ضد مدنيين فلسطينيين، بشكل غير قانونيّ. ثلاث من هذه الحالات وُثقت بالفيديو.

قرّرت "ماحش" بخصوص خمس من هذه الشكاوى عدم التحقيق فيها. في حالتيْن أخرييْن فُتح تحقيق قرّرت "ماحش" في نهايته إغلاق الملف من دون اتخاذ أيّ تدابير تُذكَر ضدّ المشتبه بهم.

من خلال النشر في الإعلام يتضح أنّه جرت إدانة شرطيّ في إجراء تأدبييّ في حالة واحدة على الأقل، جرّاء استخدام غاز الفلفل ضدّ مدنيّ بشكل غير قانونيّ، وذلك أثناء مواجهات جرت بين مستوطنين وبين الشرطة في مستوطنة "يتسهار" في نيسان 2010.

آخر الفيديوهات

Skip to main content

Violating orders: Police pepper-spray non-violent civilians

On Friday, 22 February 2013, the weekly demonstration in the village of a-Nabi Saleh, Ramallah District, West Bank, took place. These weekly demonstrations have been held in the village s...
Read full article Back to video mode

Violating orders: Police pepper-spray non-violent civilians

On Friday, 22 February 2013, the weekly demonstration in the village of a-Nabi Saleh, Ramallah District, West Bank, took place. These weekly demonstrations have been held in the village since December 2009 to protest both the Israeli occupation as well as the takeover by settlers of the nearby al-Qus spring.

Bilal a-Tamimi lives in a-Nabi Saleh and is a volunteer photographer with the B’Tselem camera project. He was filming the demonstration as he has done for the past three years. In his testimony to a B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad, he recounted the following events:

Bilal a-TamimiAbout ten Border policemen were pursuing the demonstrators. I followed them with the camera. I didn’t interfere, I only filmed. I was wearing a vest marked “Press” to make it clear that I’m a photographer. I have experience in how to behave and how to film this type of events according to the military’s specifications. I’ve been filming for over three years and I know what’s permitted and what’s not. Suddenly one of the policemen came over to me and ordered me to stop filming. I argued with him, saying that there’s no reason not to allow filming. He asked his officer if he could remove me from the area. I know the officer from previous demonstrations and he knows me. The officer told the other policemen: “Let him be.”

The policemen let me be and went down into the valley. Then another group of policemen arrived on the scene. One of them came over to me. He was holding a pepper-spray canister and started shouting at me in Hebrew. He ordered me to move away from the troops and said, “You can film, but don’t come near the troops.” I told him: “Did you hear what the officer said?” And then, without any warning, he pepper-sprayed my eyes and face. It stung and smarted, but I managed to keep the camera rolling. Another policeman came over and threw a stun grenade in my direction. Then the policemen moved away.

This case is not unusual. Over the past three years, B’Tselem has documented 18 incidents in which demonstrators and photographers reported the use of pepper-spray in contravention of official police orders, with police pepper-spraying unarmed, non-violent civilians. Five of the cases were documented on video.

Pepper spray is one of the crowd control weapons used by Israeli security forces in the Occupied Territories and has been used by Israel Police since 2007. In the West Bank it is used by the Israeli Border Police and by Israel Police’s Special Patrol Unit. Pepper spray is a concentrated extract of capsaicin, the active ingredient in hot peppers, sprayed from an aerosol canister. The effects of exposure to pepper spray are instantaneous: Sharp pain,a burning sensation in the face and eyes, involuntarily closing of the eyes, temporary blindness, a severe stinging sensation on the skin, and difficulty breathing. The effects 

last from 15 minutes to an hour, and the pain gradually subsides. Although pepper spray is commonly used worldwide as a non-lethal weapon, there have been rare cases of severe, enduring effects, and it is considered hazardous to people with breathing difficulties, particularly asthma patients.

Police procedure details the circumstances and restrictions that apply to the use of pepper spray. Among its provisions:

  • Pepper spray shall be used only after careful consideration of all the circumstances indicates that the suspect cannot be detained or neutralized in some other, milder way, and when physical contact with the suspect is liable to cause greater injury to the police officer or the suspect than the use of the spray.
  • Pepper spray may be used only against a person suspected of having attacked, or of meaning to attack, a police officer or civilian, or against a suspect violently resisting arrest or trying to flee. Even then, pepper spray may be used only after the suspect has been warned that continued violent conduct will result in the use of pepper spray by the police offcer. The police procedure stresses that pepper spray must not be used against a suspect passively resisting arrest.
  • Pepper spray may be used only when there are no civilians nearby who may be hit by it.
  • Pepper spray may not be used at a distance of less than 1.5 meters.
  • Use of the spray must be stopped immediately when resistance ceases, and the suspect must be allowed to rinse the affected area with water as soon as possible. Adequate ventilation must be provided as well as medical treatment if requested, or if physical distress continues for more than 30 minutes after use of the spray.

The official police procedure apparently strikes an appropriate balance between law enforcement considerations and safety considerations. However, on-site observations by B’Tselem along with video footage and testimony by demonstrators who have been sprayed with pepper spray indicate that police use the spray without warning, in complete contravention of regulations. Namely, the spray is often directed at people who are in a group, at much closer range than 1.5 meters, or at people who have exhibited no violent behavior. In many cases, demonstrators have been sprayed while standing near policemen or arguing with them. These people were not arrested, there was no apparent intention of arresting them nor were they warned they might be sprayed with pepper spray. Moreover, in some cases, police were filmed spraying demonstrators passively resisting arrest.

Following are several cases in which B’Tselem staff and B’Tselem volunteer photographers recorded police using pepper spray in violation of police procedure:

Since 2010, B’Tselem has conveyed to the Department for Investigation of Police (DIP) seven complaints alleging police officers’ illegal use of pepper spray against Palestinian civilians. Three of the cases were recorded on video.

The DIP decided not to undertake an investigation in five of the complaints. In the two cases where an investigation was undertaken, the DIP concluded its investigation by closing the file, without taking any steps against the suspects.

Media reports indicate that, in at least in one case, a disciplinary committee found a policeman guilty of illegal use of pepper spray against a civilian, during a confrontation at the Yitzhar settlement between settlers and the police, in April 2010.

Latest Videos