Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

قوات الأمن أخفقت في حماية الفلسطينيين من اعتداءات المستوطنين في الأحداث التي وثقتها بتسيلم في الأشهر الثلاثة الأخيرة

مستجدات: في يوم 15/9/2013 تلقينا ردّ نيابة الشؤون الميدانية على توجّه بتسيلم. ومن الردّ يتضح أنّ تحقيقًا جنائيًا فُتح بخصوص الحادثة في ياسوف والحادثة في عوريف. أمّا بصدد باقي الحوادث فقد أعلنت النيابة أنها توجّهت إلى "جهات عسكرية" للحصول على تطرّقها للحوادث. في يوم 30/9/2013 تلقينا ردّ مكتب توجّهات الجمهور والمتابعة في قيادة المركز على توجّه بتسيلم. وورد في الردّ أنّ هذه الحوادث تخضع لفحص الشرطة العسكرية المحققة ونيابة الشؤون الميدانية وأنّ "قيادة المركز تستنكر أيّ تصرّف عنيف تجاه سكان المنطقة أو ممتلكاتهم وتبذل جهودًا كبيرة، بالتعاون مع جهات أمنية أخرى، من أجل اجتثاث مثل هذه الأحداث."

في الأشهر الأخيرة وثّق عاملون ومتطوّعون في منظمة بتسيلم عددًا من الأحداث التي قام بها مستوطنون بالاعتداء على فلسطينيين أو بإلحاق الأضرار بممتلكاتهم، وذلك أثناء حضور أفراد من قوات الأمن. وقد وقعت غالبية الأحداث الواردة هنا بعد العملية التي قُتل فيها إفيتار بوروفسكي، من سكان مستوطنة يتسهار، يوم 30/4/2013. كما وقعت حادثتان أخريان في أوقات أخرى ومناطق مختلفة من الضفة.

وصف الأحداث:

اعتداء مستوطنين في ياسوف

في يوم 16/3/2013، وثق متطوّع بتسيلم بالفيديو مستوطنين يلقون الحجارة على فلسطينيين في "ياسوف" ويظهر في الشريط جنود وهم يقفون إلى جانب المستوطنين الذين يلقون الحجارة بلا أيّ إزعاج أو معوّق. وطيلة تصوير الحادثة لم يقم الجنود بأيّ شيء من أجل وقف إلقاء الحجارة أو اعتقال مُلقي الحجارة.

اعتداء مستوطنين بعد العملية في حاجز تفاح

في يوم 16/3/2013، وثق متطوّع بتسيلم بالفيديو مستوطنين يلقون الحجارة على فلسطينيين في "ياسوف" ويظهر في الشريط جنود وهم يقفون إلى جانب المستوطنين الذين يلقون الحجارة بلا أيّ إزعاج أو معوّق. وطيلة تصوير الحادثة لم يقم الجنود بأيّ شيء من أجل وقف إلقاء الحجارة أو اعتقال مُلقي الحجارة.

  1. عوريف   في شريط الفيديو الذي صوّره متطوّع بتسيلم يظهر مستوطنون ملثمون وهم يلقون الحجارة على مدرسة في القرية، كانت خالية آنذاك، بعد أن قامت إدارة المدرسة بإعادة  الطلاب إلى بيوتهم خشية اعتداءات المستوطنين. يظهر في التصوير جنود يقفون إلى جانب المستوطنين وهم يلقون الحجارة صوب فلسطينيين اقتربوا من المدرسة وألقوا من طرفهم الحجارة على المستوطنين. وتشير لغة جسد الجنود في الشريط إلى أنّهم يطلبون من المستوطنين وقف إلقاء الحجارة، كأقصى حدّ، إلا أنهم لا يقومون بأيّ تدابير حقيقية من أجل وقف الاعتداء. كما لا تظهر في التصوير أيّ محاولة من الجنود للتعرّف على المستوطنين الملثمين أو احتجازهم. بعد ذلك، قام الجنود بإطلاق قنابل الغاز باتجاه الفلسطينيين بالذات. وفي مرحلة معينة تظهر مجموعة تتألف من قرابة عشرين مستوطنًا وهي تدخل بلا أيّ إزعاج إلى داخل القرية، حيث قام أعضاء هذه المجموعة بتكسير شبابيك المسجد.

  1. بورين – قامت مجموعة من قرابة عشرين مستوطنا مُلثمًا بإلقاء الحجارة على بيت عائلة سوفان، الذي يقع عند مشارف القرية، على سفح الجبل الذي تقع عليه مستوطنة "يتسهار". ومن خلال توثيق الفيديو الذي صوّره أحد أفراد العائلة من داخل البيت، وهو متطوّع في بتسيلم، يظهر المستوطنون وهم يقتربون من البيت ويبدو أنهم يحاولون إضرام النار في الحقول أثناء سيرهم. ولدقائق عديدة ألقى المستوطنون الحجارة على بيت العائلة بدون أيّ معوّق. ولم ينسحبوا إلى الخلف إلا بعد أن وصلت قوة من الجنود وشرطيي حرس الحدود إلى البيت، حيث سار الجنود خلف المستوطنين العائدين على أعقابهم، لكنهم لم يحتجزوا أحدًا منهم ولم يحاولوا التعرّف على هويته. بيت عائلة سوفان مستهدف بشكل دائم من قبل اعتداءات المستوطنين، وكان على قوات الأمن أن تتوقع سلفًا هذا الاعتداء، في أعقاب العملية التي قتل فيها المستوطن، وأن تتجهّز لمنعه. صحيح أنّ القوات أبعدت المستوطنين في نهاية المطاف، إلا أنه كان بالإمكان منع هذه الحادثة قبل وقوعها.

  1. عصيرة القبلية – في توثيق الفيديو الذي صوّره متطوّع بتسيلم تظهر مجموعة من المستوطنين الملثمين وهي تقترب من مشارف القرية وأفرادها يلقون الحجارة. ويظهر أنّ عدّة أفراد من قوات الأمن يتدخلون ويحاولون وقف المستوطنين، إلا أنّ المستوطنين يتجاهلونهم ويواصلون إلقاء الحجارة. وحتى حين يصدّ أفراد قوات الأمن المستوطنين إلى الوراء في نهاية المطاف، فإنهم يواصلون إلقاء الحجارة أثناء ذلك ولا يقوم الجنود باحتجاز أو اعتقال أيّ أحد منهم. كما أنّ الدخان الذي بدأ يتصاعد في الحقول يثير الشكّ في أنّ المستوطنين أضرموا النار بحضور قوات الأمن.

الاعتداء على حافلة بجوار مفترق يتسهار


إحدى الحافلتين اللتين هوجمتا من قبل مستوطنين. تصوير: سلمى الدبعي، بتسيلم، 30.4.13

في حادثة أخرى، قام باحث بتسيلم، إياد حداد، بجمع إفادات خطية بصددها، اعتدى مستوطنون بالحجارة على حافلتين أقلّتا طالبات فلسطينيات، كانتا تمرّان بجوار مفترق يتسهار. ويتضح من إفادة أحد سائقي الحافلتيْن أنّ الشارع أغلق على يد مركبة عسكرية، ويبدو أنّ ذلك تمّ لأنّ الجيش توقع أن يقوم المستوطنون بالاعتداء على مركبات فلسطينية في حال واصلت سيرها. واضطرّت الحافلتان للوقوف في المفترق الذي تجمع فيه قرابة سبعين مستوطنًا. وبدأ المستوطنون بإلقاء الحجارة على الحافلتين أمام أعين أفراد قوات الأمن، من دون أن يقوم هؤلاء بمنع الاعتداء أو اعتقال مُلقي الحجارة. وقد أصيب سائق إحدى الحافلتين وطالبتيْن بجراح طفيفة، فيما أصيب الكثير من الطالبات بالهلع.

اعتداء مستوطنين في دير جرير

في يوم 3/5/2013 حضرت الناطقة بلسان بتسيلم، سريت ميخائيلي، حادثة قام فيها مستوطنون ملثمون بالاعتداء على فلسطينيين حين كان هؤلاء يحتجّون على إقامة بؤرة "نيتسح بنيامين" الاستيطانية، بجوار قرية دير جرير. وأثناء الحادثة وصلت مجموعة من 11 مستوطنًا من ناحية بؤرة "عَمُونه" الاستيطانية واقتربت من الفلسطينيين، فيما لم يقُم الجنود بفعل أيّ شيء لمنع ذلك. ولم يطلق الجنود الغاز المسيل للدموع باتجاه المستوطنين إلا بعد نشوب إلقاء متبادل للحجارة، والذي كان بالإمكان منعه كما ذكرنا وعدم تعريض الطرفيْن للخطر. وفي نهاية المطاف، قام الجنود بإبعاد المستوطنين باتجاه "عمونه"، وقام شرطيون حضروا إلى المكان باعتقال قاصر كان معهم.

مسئولية قوات الأمن

إن القانون الإسرائيلي والقانون الدولي على حدّ سواء يفرضان على قوات الأمن واجب حماية الفلسطينيين في وجه اعتداءات المستوطنين. ولكن يتضح من التوثيق أنّ قوات الأمن أخفقت في حماية الفلسطينيين في هذه الأحداث: فهم لم يتجهّزوا كما يجب وبعدد كافٍ من القوات من أجل منع الاعتداء المتوقع على الفلسطينيين، في أعقاب العملية في مفترق "تبوّاح"، عبر سدّ الطرقات أمام المستوطنين مثلا؛ وحتى في الحالات التي كان من الواضح فيها أنّ المستوطنين في طريقهم للاعتداء على فلسطينيين، فإنّ قوات الأمن لم توقفهم ولم تمنع هذه الأحداث العنيفة سلفًا؛ وأثناء الاعتداءات نفسها لم توقف قوات الأمن الممارسات العنيفة التي حدثت أمام أنظارهم ، ولم يحتجزوا مستوطنين عنيفين من أجل استيفاء الإجراءات القانونية معهم.

وقد توجّهت بتسيلم إلى سلطات تطبيق القانون بطلب التحقيق في الممارسات العنيفة التي بدرت عن مستوطنين وبطلب التحقيق في تصرّفات القوات نفسها بهذه الأحداث. إلى جانب ذلك، توجّهت بتسيلم أيضًا إلى قائد لواء المركز مطالبة بأن يهتمّ بجهوزية قوات الأمن أمام أحداث مستقبلية يتخللها عنف المستوطنين:

  1. يجب أن يدرك جميع أفراد قوات الأمن الذين يخدمون في الضفة الغربية واجبهم عند وقوع اعتداء من قبل المستوطنين، أو عند تجهّزهم للاعتداء على سكان فلسطينيين أو على ممتلكاتهم: فهم مُلزَمون بالقيام بما وسعهم من أجل منع الاعتداء مسبقًا. وأثناء الممارسات العنيفة فإنّ عليهم احتجاز المعتدين والتعرف عليهم إلى حين وصول الشرطة، واعتقالهم في حال غياب الشرطة عن المكان، إضافة إلى الإدلاء بالإفادات المتعلقة بالاعتداء في الشرطة. كما يجب أن يدرك أفراد قوات الأمن واجبهم المبدئي بالحفاظ على أمن الفلسطينيين، بكونهم سكانًا محميين وفق القانون الدوليّ.
  2. على قوات الأمن أن تتجهّز لمنع اعتداءات المستوطنين في الحالات التي يمكن توقعها سلفًا، ومثال ذلك لا حصرًا، بعد عمليات أو إخلاء بؤر استيطانية ومستوطنات. في هذا الإطار، عليهم من ضمن واجباتهم، تقييد حركة المستوطنين الموجودين في طريقهم إلى بلدات فلسطينية، مسبقا، حين يكون واضحًا أنهم يهدفون لممارسة العنف.
  3. ت‌. على قوات الأمن الاستعداد بشكل دائم في الأماكن المعرضة لعنف المستوطنين، في مراكز الاحتكاك المعروفة. وفي هذا الإطار:
  • عليهم أن يكونوا جاهزين لمنع المستوطنين من الاقتراب من بلدات تعاني الممارسات العنيفة بشكل دائم. فمثلا، العنف الدائم المُوجَّه ضدّ القرى المجاورة ليتسهار يُبرّر حضورًا مكثفًا ودائمًا لقوات الأمن في المنطقة.
  • في كلّ الأحوال، يجب الامتناع عن فرض قيود على حرية حركة وتنقل الفلسطينيين كوسيلة لمنع اعتداءات المستوطنين العنيفة. وقد اتبع الجيش هذه الوسيلة، من مجمل الحالات، في الأيام التي تلت عملية "تبوّاح"، حيث منع الفلسطينيين من السفر في شارع 60 شمالا، من حوارة باتجاه جت. وعلى غرار ذلك، أغلق الجيش مدخل قرية دير جرير. وقد أزيل هذا العائق بعد عدة أيام.

صحيح أنّ تطبيق هذه الواجبات –وخصوصًا الجهوزية المسبقة لأحداث عنيفة- مَنوط بتخصيص القوات والموارد، إلا أنّه ما دامت الدولة تسمح وتشجّع على إقامة المستوطنات، فإنّ الجيش يتحمّل مسؤولية الحفاظ على أمن الفلسطينيين، كونهم السكان المَحميين في المنطقة المحتلة، وليس فقط الحفاظ على أمان مواطنيها -سكان المستوطنات. يُحظر على الجيش قبول واقع كهذا، يؤدّي فيه وجود المستوطنين إلى تشكيل خطر دائم على سلامة الفلسطينيين.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

Security forces fail to protect Palestinians from settler attacks in incidents documented by B’Tselem over last three months

Update: On 15 September 2013, B'Tselem received a reply from the Military Advocate for Operational Affairs indicating that a criminal investigation had been opened into the incidents at Yasuf and 'Urif. The reply also stated that "military officials" had been approached for their opinion regarding the other incidents.

On 30 September 2013, B'Tselem received a reply from Central Command’s Department of Public Inquiries stating that the incidents are being examined by the Military Police Investigation Unit (MPIU) and by the Military Advocate for Operational Matters. The letter further stated that "Central Command condemns any violent conduct toward residents of the area or their property and, in conjunction with other security authorities, takes great pains to put an end to such incidents".

In recent months, B’Tselem staff and volunteers have captured on video several incidents in which settlers attacked Palestinians or damaged their property in the presence of security forces. Most of the incidents described here occurred following the stabbing to death of Yitzhar resident Evyatar Borovsky at Tapuach junction, on 30 April 2013. The other two incidents occurred at other times and in different areas in the West Bank.

Description of incidents:

Settler attack in Yasuf

On 16 March 2013, a B’Tselem volunteer in the village of Yasuf documented settlers throwing stones at Palestinians. In the video footage he filmed, soldiers are seen standing next to the settlers while the latter continue to throw stones unhampered. Throughout the footage, the soldiers are not seen taking any action to stop the settlers from throwing stones or to arrest them. 

Settler attacks after Tapuach junction attack

2. On 30 April 2013, after the attack in which Yitzhar resident Evyatar Borovsky was stabbed to death, dozens of settlers attacked Palestinians in nearby villages and on main roads in the area. Among other things, they threw stones at Palestinians and at Palestinian vehicles. In addition, settlers are suspected of having started fires at several places in the area that day. B’Tselem volunteers captured video footage of violent incidents that occurred in three places that day, and a B’Tselem field researcher gathered written testimonies regarding an additional incident:

  1. ‘Urif– a B’Tselem volunteer documented masked settlers throwing stones at the village school, which was empty as the staff had evacuated all the students for fear of settler attacks. The footage shows soldiers standing by settlers as the latter throw stones at Palestinians, who are approaching the school and throwing stones at the settlers. The soldiers’ body language indicates that, at most, they asked the settlers to stop throwing the stones, but did not take any firm action to stop the attack. The footage shows no attempt made by the soldiers to identify or detain the settlers. At a later stage, the soldiers are even seen shooting teargas grenades at the Palestinians who arrived at the scene. At a certain point, a group of some twenty settlers is seen freely entering the village and shattering the windows of a mosque. 

  1. Burin – a group of some twenty masked settlers threw stones at the home of the Sufan family, which lies on a hillside at the outskirts of the village. The settlement of Yitzhar is on the hilltop above. In footage filmed from within the house by a family member who volunteers with B’Tselem, the settlers are seen approaching the house while trying, apparently, to set fire to fields along the way. Then, for several minutes, the settlers are seen throwing stones at the house undisturbed. They are seen drawing back only after a force of soldiers and Border Policemen arrives at the scene. The soldiers are seen following the retreating settlers, but do not detain any of them nor attempt to identify them. As the Sufan home is regularly attacked by settlers, the security forces should have anticipated an attack following the stabbing at Tapuach junction and should have deployed to prevent it. Thus, although the forces did remove the settlers from the spot eventually, the entire incident could have been prevented in advance.

  1. ‘Asira a-Qibliyeh – in footage filmed by a B’Tselem volunteer, a group of masked settlers is seen approaching the outskirts of the village while throwing stones. Some security personnel are seen apparently intervening and trying to stop them, but the settlers ignore them and continue throwing stones. Even when the settlers are finally pushed back by the security forces, they continue to throw stones as they withdraw, while the soldiers are not seen arresting or detaining any of them. Smoke rising from fields nearby raises the suspicion that the settlers also torched them while security forces were present.

Attack on bus near Yitzhar junction

One of the buses attacked by settlers. Photo: Salma a-Deb'i, B'Tselem, 30 Apr. 2013
One of the buses attacked by settlers. Photo: Salma a-Deb'i, B'Tselem, 30 Apr. 2013

B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad collected written testimonies concerning another incident, in which settlers threw stones at two buses carrying Palestinian schoolgirls as they drove by the Yitzhar junction. According to a testimony given by one of the bus drivers, the road was blocked by a military vehicle, apparently because the military had anticipated that settlers would attack Palestinian vehicles driving any further along the road. The drivers had no choice but to stop at the junction, where some seventy settlers had gathered. The settlers began throwing stones at the buses in plain sight of the security forces, who did nothing to prevent the attack or to arrest the stone-throwers. One of the bus drivers and two schoolgirls were lightly injured, and many of the schoolgirls suffered anxiety symptoms.

Settler attack at Deir Jarir

On 3 May 2013, B’Tselem’s spokesperson Sarit Michaeli witnessed an incident in which masked settlers attacked Palestinians who were protesting the establishment of an outpost called Netzach Binyamin close to the village of Deir Jarir. During the incident, a group of eleven settlers came from the direction of the Amona outpost and approached the protesting Palestinians, while soldiers at the scene did nothing to stop them. The soldiers fired teargas at the settlers only after the settlers and the Palestinians began throwing stones at each other, an escalation that could have been prevented, protecting both sides from danger. Eventually, the soldiers forced the settlers to go back towards Amona, and policemen who arrived at the scene arrested a minor who was with them.

The responsibility of the security forces

The security forces are bound, both by Israeli law and by international law, to protect Palestinians from attacks by settlers. However, B’Tselem’s documentation of the abovementioned incidents shows that the security forces repeatedly failed to fulfill this duty. Thus, they did not prepare adequately or deploy sufficient forces to prevent the anticipated attacks on Palestinians after the Tapuach junction attack; such preparation would include, for instance, blocking settlers’ access to Palestinian villages. Even in cases where settlers were clearly on their way to attack Palestinians, the security forces in the area did not act to prevent or arrest them. Forces present during the attacks themselves did nothing to stop the violence occurring before their very eyes, and did not detain violent settlers in order to bring them to justice

B’Tselem wrote to the law enforcement authorities demanding investigations of the settlers’ violence and the security forces’ conduct in these incidents. In addition, B’Tselem wrote to OC Central Command demanding that he ensure adequate preparation of the forces for future incidents of settler violence. Accordingly:

  1. All security forces in the West Bank must be briefed, clearly and unequivocally, that it is their duty to do all that is within their power to prevent settlers from attacking Palestinians or their property. When such violent incidents do occur, it is their duty to identify and detain the attackers until the police arrive, or to arrest them in the absence of available police forces, and to give witness accounts to the police regarding the attacks. They must also be apprised of their basic duty to protect Palestinians, who are a protected population under international law.
  2. The security forces must prepare in advance to prevent settler attacks that can be anticipated – for instance, after attacks by Palestinians or after the evacuation of outposts and settlements. In such cases, they must, among other things, restrict the movement of settlers who are already on their way to Palestinian communities with a clear intention to act violently.
  3. Security forces must be deployed regularly in well-known sites of confrontation that are susceptible to attacks by settlers. Accordingly:
  • They must prepare to prevent settlers from coming close to communities that are regularly the victims of such attacks. For instance, the ongoing settler violence against the villages close to Yitzhar merits increased and regular presence of security forces in the area.
  • In any case, security forces must not deal with settler violence by restricting Palestinians’ freedom of movement. The military used this measure, for instance, in the days after the Tapuach junction attack, by blocking Palestinians’ movement north on Route 60, from Huwara towards Jit. Similarly, the military placed a physical obstacle at the entrance to Deir Jarir, and removed it several days later.

Fulfilling these obligations, and especially preparing in advance to prevent anticipated attacks, indeed requires the allocation of forces and resources. However, as long as the state enables and encourages the establishment of settlements, it is the military’s duty to protect the Palestinians, who are the protected population living in occupied territory, and not only the Israeli citizens living in the settlements. The military must not accept as given a reality in which the presence of settlers regularly endangers the welfare of Palestinians.