Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

الجدار الفاصل يخنق قرية الولجة

مستجدات: في يوم 11/8/2011 ردّت المحكمة العليا التماس السكان الذي قُدم ضد مسار الجدار، في ظلّ بعض التغييرات التي أدخلتها الدولة على المسار: عدم بناء القسم الجنوبي من المسار الذي كان من المفترض أن يفصل بين القرية وبين سائر الضفة. كما تقرر أن يظلّ الجدول في الجانب "الفلسطيني" من القرية، بحيث يجري شق معبر أرضي إلى المقبرة القديمة في القرية وإقامة بوابتين زراعيتين تكونان مفتوحتين لعدة ساعات يوميًا.

أبلغت النيابة العامة محكمة العدل العليا أن وزارة الدفاع ستوقف الأعمال الخاصة ببناء الجدار الفاصل في منطقة قرية الولجة جنوب غرب القدس. طبقا للنيابة العامة، فإن إسرائيل تنوي في المستقبل القريب مصادرة الأرض المخصصة لإقامة الجدار. وقد سُلم بلاغ نيابة العامة خلال مناقشة التماس سكان قرية الولجة ضد مسار الجدار الفاصل.

الجدار الفاصل القريب من البيوت في قرية الولجة. تصوير: ايال هرئوفيني، بتسيلم، 5.11.10.
الجدار الفاصل القريب من البيوت في قرية الولجة. تصوير: ايال هرئوفيني، بتسيلم، 5.11.10.

قرية الولجة

تقع قرية الولجة على سلسلة جبلية إلى الجنوب من نهر "رفائيم". قبل العام 1948 كانت القرية تقع إلى الشمال من نهر "رفائيم"، على الأراضي التي أقيم عليها لاحقا بلدة (موشاف) "عمينداف"، لكن في العام 1948 هرب جزء من السكان إلى منطقة الأراضي الزراعية الخاصة بالقرية التي بقيت وراء الخط الأخضر، حيث تم هناك بناء القرية الحالية. في العام 1967، ومع ضم القدس الشرقية لإسرائيل، فقد تم ضم حوالي ثلث من اراضي القرية، في موقعها الجديد، في منطقة نفوذ بلدية القدس، فيما بقيت باقي الاراضي في منطقة الضفة الغربية. وقد قامت إسرائيل بمصادرة نصف الأراضي الخاصة بالقرية لصالح إقامة حي "جيلو" وتم وضع اليد عليها بصورة عسكرية لصالح إقامة مستوطنة "هار جيلو". يعيش في القرية اليوم حوالي ألفي مواطن القليل منهم فقط يحظون بمكانة مواطنة في القدس.

قرية الولجة. تصوير: ايال هرئوفيني، بتسيلم، 5.11.10.منع تطوير القرية

على مدار السنين امتنعت بلدية القدس عن منح الخدمات للقرية فيما وصل ممثلو البلدية فقط من أجل توثيق البناء غير المرخص أو من أجل هدم المباني التي بنيت بغير ترخيص. في نهاية سنوات التسعينات التأم سكان القرية وشرعوا بإعداد خارطة هيكلية لمساحة القرية لتسوية البناء القائم في القرية وبناء مبان عامة وطرق تحافظ على المباني الزراعية المتميزة في القرية. وقد شرع سكان القرية في الدفع قدما بالمشروع بالبلدية ومجلس التنظيم في الإدارة المدنية، غير أن سلطات التنظيم امتنعت خلال الانتفاضة الثانية عن مناقشة الخارطة. في ختام الانتفاضة الثانية امتنعت بلدية القدس عن بحث الخارطة بذريعة أن الجدار الفاصل المخطط له في المنطقة سيفصل القرية عن مجال المدينة. وقد رفضت اللجنة اللوائية للتنظيم والبناء بصورة نهائية الخارطة التي أعدتها القرية في شباط 2009 بدعوى أن القرية تقع فوق منطقة خضراء غير مخصصة للبناء.

الجدار الفاصل في منطقة الولجة

مسار الجدار الفاصل في منطقة القرية يمر كله في مناطق الضفة الغربية وقد تغير عدة مرات خلال السنين. التخطيط الأصلي كان يضم القرية من الناحية الغربية، "الإسرائيلية"، من المسار من خلال فصل القرية عن قضاء بيت لحم، الذي يرتبط به سكان القرية وفيه يتلقون جميع الخدمات. لاحقا تم تغيير المسار بحيث صار يحيط من خلال مسار ملتو بجميع المساحات المبنية في القرية، من خلال فصل جميع الأراضي الزراعية الخاصة بالقرية. وقد أوجد هذا المسار فاصلا بين القرية وبين المستوطنة المجاورة "هار جيلو" وأبقى مسارا وحيدا للدخول والخروج من القرية باتجاه البلدة المجاورة بيت جالا. ومن المقرر أن يتم نصب حاجز في مداخل القرية للإشراف على الحركة في هذا المسار. كما أدخل تغيير إضافي على المسار بحيث أدخل في إطاره دير كرميزان وأراضيه في الجانب الغربي من الجدار وفقا لطلب الدير.

مباني زراعية قديمة في أراضي الولجة. تصوير: ايال هرئوفيني، بتسيلم، 5.11.10.
مباني زراعية قديمة في أراضي الولجة. تصوير: ايال هرئوفيني، بتسيلم، 5.11.10.

وقد جمدت إسرائيل إقامة الجدار في منطقة القرية لغاية بداية العام 2010 بمبرر الصعوبات المالية. ومع بدء العمل في شهر أيار 2010 تقدم سكان القرية بالتماس إلى محكمة العدل العليا بدعوى أن قسما من الأعمال يستند إلى أوامر وضع يد عسكرية انتهت صلاحيتها وأن جزءا من الأعمال يتم في أراض لم يتم وضع اليد عليها مطلقا بواسطة أوامر عسكرية. وقد امتنعت محكمة العدل العليا عن إصدار أمر لوقف الأعمال إلى حين إجراء بحث جوهري في الالتماس، فيما بدأت وزارة الدفاع بتنفيذ إقامة الجدار بصورة سريعة من خلال اقامه طريق واسعة لدوريات الجيش وسور من الباطون بارتفاع تسعة أمتار. وقد تم إقامة معظم السور وهو يضم حاليا معظم القرية، ويغطى القسم الذي يتوجه ناحية مستوطنة "هار جيلو" بالحجر المقدسي بينما بُني الجانب الذي يتوجه ناحية قرية الولجة بالباطون المكشوف غير المغطى. وقد أورث تنفيذ الأعمال ضررا بالغا بمناظر سهل "رفائيم" وهو ما يبرز من بعد كبير.

معارضة مسار الجدار الفاصل

في خطوة نادرة، قدمت جمعية حماية الطبيعة رأيا مهنيا ضد إقامة مسار الجدار الفاصل في منطقة الولجة. ويتضمن الرأي المهني وصفا للقسائم في المنطقة المتواجدة في المنطقة منذ منتصف الألفية الأولى، كميراث حضاري لتقاليد المعالجة الزراعية عبر القسائم والقطع الزراعية. وقد اقترحت الجمعية حفظ هذه المنطقة والإعلان عنها كموقع تراث عالمي. كما اقترحت الشركة نسخ مسار الجدار الفاصل إلى منطقة قريبة من مسار الشارع الذي يربط بين القرية وبين مستوطنة "هار جيلو" جنوبي القدس. كما توجه وزير حماية البيئة، جلعاد أردان، إلى وزير الدفاع وطالبه بالامتناع عن المس بمنظر المباني الزراعية المميزة في المنطقة.

إتلاف المباني الزراعية القديمة في أراضي الولجة. تصوير: ايال هرئوفيني، بتسيلم، 5.11.10.
إتلاف المباني الزراعية القديمة في أراضي الولجة. تصوير: ايال هرئوفيني، بتسيلم، 5.11.10.

مع الشروع بأعمال إقامة الجدار التمست إلى المحكمة العليا شركة "جفعات ياعيل" التي تدعي أنها اشترت أراض في منطقة الولجة، وأنها تنوي أن تقيم عليها مستوطنة جديدة وضخمة لايجاد تواصل بلدي وعمراني بين القدس وبين المستوطنات في "غوش عتسيون". وقد عرضت هذه الشركة على المحكمة رأيا مهنيا من قبل الكولونيل (إحتياط) داني ترزا، الذي كان في السابق رئيسا لطاقم تنظيم الجدار الفاصل، الذي يدعم تغيير مسار الجدار. لغاية الآن لم تقدم الشركة خرائطها للجان التنظيم، فيما أعلنت بلدية القدس أنها تعارض مشاريع الشركة.

تأثير الجدار الفاصل على قرية الولجة

منذ الآن يُلحق الجدار الفاصل أضرار بالغة بقرية الولجة ومن المتوقع لهذه الأضرار أن تتفاقم. في إطار شق المسار وأعمال البناء الواسعة التي تتم في المنطقة لحق ضرر كبير بالقطع الزراعية المفلحة. وقد تم استبعاد المواطنين عن أراضيهم المفلحة، ومع استكمال بناء الجدار الفاصل سيتم فصلهم عنها، وهو ما سيلحق ضررا بالغا بواحد من مصادر الدخل الرئيسية لسكان القرية- وهو الدخل من العمل بالزراعة.

الجدار يخنق أي إمكانية لتطوير القرية نظرا لإقامته على مقربة من بيوت السكان. الحاجز المخطط في مدخل القرية سيمس بحرية الحركة للسكان ومن المتوقع أن يمس بحقهم في الاسترزاق، التربية، العلاج الطبي والعلاقات العائلية.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

Separation Barrier strangles al-Walajah

Update: On 11 August 2011, the Israeli High Court of Justice rejected the residents' petition against the proposed route of the Separation Barrier. The court's decision was made in view of several changes Israel made to the route: the barrier at the southern part of the route, which would have isolated the village from the rest of the West Bank, will not be constructed. In addition, the spring will remain on the "Palestinian side" of the village; an underground passage to the village's old cemetery will be paved; and two gates to agricultural land will be constructed, scheduled to be open several hours a day.

The State Attorney's Office informed the High Court of Justice that the Ministry of Defense will suspend work on building the Separation Barrier in the area of the village al-Walajah, in southwest Jerusalem. The announcement, which also stated that Israel intended to expropriate in the near future the land intended for construction of the Barrier, was made in the framework of a petition filed by residents of the village in opposition to the Barrier's route.

The separation wall next to houses in the village. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem, 5 November 2010.
The separation wall next to houses in the village. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem, 5 November 2010.

The village of al-Walajah

Al-Walajah lies on a ridge south of Refaim Stream. Prior to 1948, the village was located north of the stream, on land later used to establish Moshav Aminadav. In 1948, some residents of the village fled to the village's farmland that remained on the other side of the Green Line, on which the present village was built.  In 1967, Israel's annexation of East Jerusalem included about one-third of the village's land.  Half of the annexed al-Walajah land was expropriated to build the Gilo neighborhood or requisitioned by military order to build the Har Gilo settlement. The village has 2,000 residents, only a minority of whom hold Jerusalem residency.

The village al-Walajah. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem, 5 November 2010.Preventing development of the village

Over the years, the Jerusalem Municipality has not provided services to the village, and city officials' visits to the village have primarily been to document illegal building or to demolish structures that were built without a permit. In the late 1990s, the villagers organized and began to prepare an outline plan for the village that arranges the existing building in the village, enables the construction of public buildings and roads, and preserves its unique agricultural terraces. The villagers took their plan to municipal officials and to the Civil Administration's planning committee, but the planning authorities refrained from dealing with the plan during the second intifada. When the intifada ended, the Jerusalem Municipality refused to discuss the plan on the pretext that the Separation Barrier planned in the area would sever the village from the city. In February 2009, the District Planning and Building Committee issued its final denial of the villagers' plan, contending that the village lies in a green area, on which building is not allowed.

The Separation Barrier in al-Walajah

The route of the Separation Barrier in the area, which runs entirely in the West Bank, has been changed a number of times over the years. The original plan placed the village on the western, “Israeli” side of the Barrier, detaching the village from the Bethlehem Governate, to which the villagers belong and from which they receive their services. A winding route was later established to run around the built-up area of the village, separating it from the village's farmland. This route created a partition between the village and the nearby Har Gilo settlement , and left a single road along which persons could enter or exit the village, in the direction of the adjacent town of Beit Jala. Traffic on this road was to be controlled by a checkpoint at the village gates. Another change in the route, made at the request of the Cremisan Monastery, placed the monastery and its lands on the western side of the Barrier.

Ancient agricultural terraces on al-Walajah land. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem, 5 November 2010.
Ancient agricultural terraces on al-Walajah land. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem, 5 November 2010.

Citing financial constraints, Israel froze construction of the Barrier in the area of al-Walajah until early 2010. When construction recommenced in March 2010, residents of the village petitioned the High Court of Justice, claiming that the construction work was based in part on military requisition orders that were no longer valid, and that some of the work was being carried out on land that had not been seized on the basis of military orders at all. The High Court did not issue a temporary injunction prohibiting work until the petition could be heard, and the defense establishment began to work rapidly to build the Barrier, a wide patrol road, and a nine-meter-high concrete wall. The wall has been competed for the most part and it now surrounds most of the village, with the side of the wall facing the Har Gilo settlement covered by Jerusalem stone and the side facing al-Walajah being exposed concrete. The work has caused enormous damage, visible at a great distance, to the landscape of the Emek Refaim reserve.

Opposition to the route of the Separation Barrier

In a rare step, the Society for the Preservation of Nature in Israel submitted an opinion objecting to the route of the Barrier in the area of al-Walajah. Its opinion described the terraced landscape, which has existed for more than 1,500 years, as a cultural asset that preserves the terrace-cultivation tradition. The SPNI proposed that the area be preserved and declared a world heritage site. It also proposed moving the Barrier's route close to the road linking the village and Har Gilo to South Jerusalem. The Environmental  Protection Minister, Gilad Erdan, too, requested the minister of justice to refrain from harming the unique terraces in the area.
With the beginning of construction of the Barrier, the Giv'at Yael Company petitioned the High Court, contending that it had purchased land in the area of al-Walajah and that it intended to build a huge settlement that would create urban contiguity between Jerusalem and the Etzion Bloc settlements. The company filed an opinion prepared by Col. (ret.) Dani Tirza, former head of the Separation Barrier planning committee, which supports change in the Barrier's route. The company has not yet submitted its plan to the planning committees. The Jerusalem Municipality has already announced that it does not object to the company's plans.

Destruction of ancient agricultural terraces on  al-Walajah land. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem, 5 November 2010.
Destruction of ancient agricultural terraces on al-Walajah land. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem, 5 November 2010.

Effect of the Barrier on al-Walajah

The Separation Barrier has already caused great damage to the village, and greater damage is anticipated if the Barrier is completed in the area. The construction work on the Separation Barrier has badly damaged the agricultural terraces. Residents have been distanced from their farmland, and completion of the Barrier will detach them from their land, seriously harming one of the main sources of income of the residents, farming.
The Separation Barrier, running adjacent to the villagers' houses, chokes any possibility of development in the village. The checkpoint planned for the entrance to the village will impair the villagers' freedom of movement and infringe their right to gain a livelihood, to education, to medical care, and to maintain family ties.