Skip to main content
منذر مزهر بعد عدّة أيّام على الهجوم. تصوير موسى أبو هشهش، بتسيلم، 25.2.19
Menu
المواضيع

جنديّ ينهال باللّكمات على وجه شخص كفيف ويعاني مرض السكّري ومرضًا في الكلى ولم يتوقّف حتى عندما ضرّج وجهه بالدّماء

أحد الجنود انقضّ على والدي وظلّ يضربه على وجهه حتّى أسال دمه. كنت في صدمة شديدة وتملّكني غضب شديد. لم أستطع أن أفهم لماذا يفعل ذلك. ألا يعرف أنّ والدي كفيف ومريض؟ ماذا فعل والدي ليستحقّ كلّ هذا؟ تراودني كثير من الأسئلة التي لم أجد لها جوابًا بعد. إنّه كابوس لن أنساه أبدًا رغم أنّ تذكّر ما حدث يؤلمني كثيرًا.

مقطع من إفادة الابن مازن مزهر (15 عامًا)

في 20.2.19 قرب الساعة 4:30 فجرًا اقتحم نحو خمسة جنود منزل عائلة حلاوة في مدينة الدوحة الواقعة غربيّ بيت لحم بغرض البحث عن فادي حلاوة (21 عامًا) الذي كان غائبًا لوجوده في مكان عمله. عندما لم يعثر عليه الجنود أمروا والده أن يتّصل به لكي يسلّم نفسه. في هذه الأثناء قرّر عدد من الجنود الدّخول إلى منزل عائلة مزهر أيضًا وهم أصحاب البناية ويقيمون في الطّابق الأرضيّ. فعل الجنود ذلك رغم أنّ نزار حلاوة أوضح لهم أنّ والد الأسرة مريض جدًّا. في هذه الأثناء جاء فادي حلاوة وسلّم نفسه للجنود فاقتاده قسم منهم وغادروا المكان.

اقتحم الجنود منزل منذر مزهر (46 عامًا) وزوجته إيمان (44 عامًا) وأبنائهما الأربعة: كبيرهم في الـ17 من عمره، والثلاثة الآخرون توائم في الـ15 من عمرهم. كان الجميع نائمين في ذلك الوقت. الزوجة إيمان تعاني من مرض السرطان والزوج منذر مزهر وهو فنّي مختبر متقاعد ويعاني من مرض السكّري تفاقم حتى بتر أصابع قدميه، ومرض في الكلى يُلزمه بإجراء غسيل للكلى "دياليزا" ثلاث مرّات في الأسبوع كما أنّه فقد بصره قبل 15 عامًا ويحتاج إلى مساعدة دائمة في قضاء أموره داخل المنزل. دخل الجنود إلى غرفة نومهما حيث انقضّ أحدهم على منذر مزهر وظلّ يلكُم وجهه طيلة دقائق والدّماء تسيل من وجهه متجاهلًا إيمان وهي تصرخ أنّ زوجها مريض وكفيف البصر. كذلك دخل الجنود إلى غرفة الأبناء الأربعة وأمروهم بالخروج إلى صالون المنزل.

ساعدت إيمان زوجها في الانتقال إلى الصّالون حيث أُحضر أبنائهما الأربعة تقريبًا في نفس الوقت. أمر الجنود الأبناء أن يرفعوا أيديهم خلف رؤوسهم ووجّه أحد الجنود سلاحه نحوهم. مكث الجنود عدّة دقائق ورفضوا خلال ذلك أن يوضّحوا للأسرة سبب اقتحام المنزل، ثمّ غادروا.

بعد مغادرة الجنود أقلّ أحد الجيران منذر مزهر إلى مستشفى الحسين في بيت جالا حيث تبيّن أنّه يعاني من كسور في الفكّ وفي يده اليسرى إضافة إلى رضوض وكدمات وجروح في وجهه وانتفاخ في رجله اليمنى.

هكذا وبكلّ بساطة يقتحم جنود مسلّحون منزل شخص مريض يُشبعونه ضربًا ويهدّدون جميع أفراد الأسرة دون تقديم أي تفسير لأفعالهم ثمّ يغادرون مثلما جاءوا. كلّ هذا رغم معرفتهم المسبقة أنّ "المطلوب" الذي يبحثون عنه ليس هناك بل يعلمون أنّه في طريقه إليهم لتسليم نفسه.

اقتحامات الجنود الليليّة لمنازل الفلسطينيّين وإفزاعهم من نومهم أصبحت منذ زمن طويل جزءًا من الأداء الرّوتينيّ لنظام الاحتلال في الضفة الغربيّة. يقوم الجنود بهذه الاقتحامات - بما تشمله أحيانًا من تفتيش للمنزل أو اعتقالات وأحيانًا لا غاية منها سوى ترهيب أفراد الأسرة - دون أن يستدعي ذلك إبراز أمر تفتيش أو حتّى توضيح الأسباب أيًّا كانت. من الواضح أنّ الغاية من هذه الممارسات ترهيب السكّان وعليه لا يمكن تبريرها بتاتًا. إنّها مثال آخر يضاف إلى أمثلة كثيرة تُظهر كيف يستخدم الجيش قوّته على نحوٍ تعسّفي.

أدناه إفادات أدلى بها أفراد من الأسرة أمام الباحث الميدانيّ لبتسيلم موسى أبو هشهش:

منذر مزهر أدلى بإفادته في 25.2.19 محدّثًا عن لحظات الحدث الأولى:

كنت نائمًا بجانب زوجتي في غرفة نومنا واستيقظت مرعوبًا عندما أحسست أحدهم يقبض على وجهي بقوّة ثمّ ينهال عليه بلكمات قويّة على الوجه. اعتقدت في البداية أنّني لا زلت نائمًا وأنّني أرى كابوسًا في نومي ولكنّني من شدّة الألم أدركت أنّ الأمر ليس كذلك. اعتقدت أنّ من يهاجمونني لصوص. أخذت أصرخ "لصوص، لصوص" لكي أوقظ زوجتي وأبنائي. سمعت زوجتي تصرخ وتبكي. كانت تقول لهم: دعوه إنّه مريض إنّه كفيف ولا يقدر على التحرّك. الشخص الذي هاجمني واصل يوجّه إليّ الضربات. حاولت رفع يديّ لكي أحمي وجهي ولكنّني لم أستطع ذلك.

فقط بعد لكمي طيلة دقائق طويلة سمعت الشخص الذي ضربني يقول باللّغة العربيّة "نحن جيش الدّفاع الإسرائيلي". توقّف عن الضرب قليلًا ثمّ عاد ولكمني في وجهي طيلة نصف دقيقة تقريبًا وعندها توقّف. كنت أحسّ بالدّم يسيل على وجهي.

Thumbnail
منذر وإيمان مزهر في منزلهما. تصوير موسى أبو هشهش، بتسيلم، 25.2.19

إيمان مزهر أدلت بإفادتها في 25.2.19 واصفة ما جرى لها ولأفراد أسرتها في ذلك الصّباح:

أنا أعاني من مرض السّرطان. أنا وزوجي نقضي أوقات طويلة في المستشفيات وخاصّة زوجي. وحتّى في المنزل يقضي معظم وقته في الفراش ولكي يتحرّك داخل المنزل أو خارجه يحتاج مساعدتي ومساعدة أبنائنا الأربعة. ورغم مرضي وحالة زوجي نحن قادرون على التعايش مع الوضع ومتفائلون. الأبناء يتعلّمون في المرحلة الثانويّة وهم أقوياء ويساعدوننا كثيرًا.

في يوم الأربعاء، 20.2.19 نحو الساعة 5:00 صباحًا استيقظت من نومي على صراخ زوجي وهو يقول "لصوص، لصوص!". قفزت من فراشي وكنت بالبيجاما ورأسي مكشوف. كانت الغرفة معتمة ولم أر سوى أشعّة ليزر ملوّنة تتحرّك داخل الغرفة. بعد أن اعتادت عيناي الظلمة تمكّنت من رؤية خمسة أو ستّة جنود أحدهم يمسك بزوجي ويضربه في وجهه. لم أصدّق عينيّ.

كان زوجي يصرخ ويسأل: "من أنتم؟ ماذا تريدون منّي؟"، وكان يقول لهم أنّه لا يستطيع رؤيتهم. صرخت أنا أيضًا على الجنديّ الذي كان يضربه وطلبت منه أن يتوقّف. قلت له إنّ زوجي كفيف ولا يستطيع التحرّك. اقتربت من الجندي وحاولت إبعاده عن زوجي لكنّه دفعني وواصل ضربه فيما الجنود الأربعة الآخرين يقفون جانبًا. لم يفعلوا شيئًا. كنت أبكي وأصرخ ولم أعرف ماذا أفعل. طوال الوقت كنت أسألهم "ماذا تريدون منّا ومن شخص كفيف ومريض؟". بعد مرور بضعة دقائق من الضرب المتواصل قال الجندي "نحن من جيش الدّفاع الإسرائيلي". توقّف عن ضرب زوجي لبضعة ثوانٍ ثمّ عاد إلى ضرب زوجي الذي كان وجهه ينزف وعندها توقّف. طلب منّي زوجي أن أخرجه من الغرفة وسألني ماذا حدث للأولاد.

أخرجته من الغرفة وكان خائفًا جدًّا من سوء قد حصل للأولاد. جلس على الكنبة بمساعدتي وكان من حولنا خمسة أو ستّة جنود جميعهم ملثّمون سوى واحد. سألتهم "ألستم نادمين على مهاجمة إنسان في مثل هذا الوضع؟". لم أفهم ما الذي جال في خاطرهم في تلك اللحظات. كان أبناؤنا الأربعة في الصّالون أمروهم أن يرفعوا أيديهم فوق رؤوسهم وأن يبقوا دون حراك بعد أن أمروا ثلاثة منهم أن يجلسوا وواحدًا أن يظلّ واقفًا وكان أحد الجنود يوجّه سلاحه نحوهم. بعد عدّة دقائق غادر الجنود وتركوا زوجي ينزف. أخذت أنا وأبنائي في تهدئة زوجي. مسحنا الدماء عن وجهه. كان وجهه متورّمًا وكذلك عيناه. تمالكت نفسي لكي لا أبكي أمامه. لماذا يهاجمونه وهم يرون أنّه عاجز؟ أنا أتساءل طوال الوقت لماذا حصل لنا ذلك. ألا يكفينا ما نعانيه من أمراض لكي يأتي الجنود ويعتدوا عليه بلا سبب؟ أنا لا أعرف حتى الآن لماذا هاجم الجندي زوجي المريض وهو نائم. حقًّا لا أفهم.

مازن مزهر البالغ من العمر 15 عامًا أدلى بإفادته في 27.2.19 محدّثًا عن الهجوم على والده:

استيقظت من نومي مذعورًا حين فتحوا باب غرفتي أنا وأشقّائي حيث ننام نحن الأربعة في أسرّة ذات طابقين. كانت الغرفة معتمة ولم أتبيّن من الذي فتح الباب ولكن كان في الغرفة عدد من الأشخاص وهذا زاد من خوفي. عندما حاولت النهوض اقترب منّي أحدهم ودفعني فسقطت من السرير العلويّ وارتطم رأسي بالسجّادة في أرضيّة الغرفة. خمّنت أنّهم جنود.

أمرنا الجنود بالذهاب إلى غرفة الصالون. قمت بصعوبة واتّجهت إلى هناك ومن خلفي أشقّائي الثلاثة. كانت غرفة الصّالون مضاءة وقد رأيت هناك خمسة جنود أو ستّة. كانت والدتي تقف إلى جانب والدي الذي جلس على كرسيّ وكان الدم ينزف من وجهه. أحسست بالخوف ولم أفهم ما الذي يحدث. أمر أحد الجنود أشقائي بالجلوس وأمرني أن أظلّ واقفًا وأن نرفع جميعنا أيدينا فوق رؤوسنا وألّا نتحرّك من مكاننا. وقفت لمدّة بضع دقائق ثمّ تهاويت ووقعت على الكنبة - يبدو أنّ ذلك حدث بسبب الضربة التي تلقّيتها عندما سقطت عن السرير. لاحقًا قال لي إخوتي أنّه قد أغمي عليّ لبضعة لحظات.

كانت والدتي تحاول مسح الدم عن وجه والدي. لا، لم يقدّم له الجنود أيّ علاج. أنا اعتقدت أنّ والدي وقع على وجهه ولم يخطر في ذهني أنّه الجنود هم الذين ضربوه.

لاحقًا فهمت أنّ أحد الجنود انقضّ على والدي وظلّ يضربه على وجهه حتّى أسال دمه. كنت في صدمة شديدة وتملّكني غضب شديد. لم أستطع أن أفهم لماذا يفعل ذلك. ألا يعرف أنّ والدي كفيف ومريض؟ ماذا فعل والدي ليستحقّ كلّ هذا؟ تراودني كثير من الأسئلة التي لم أجد لها جوابًا بعد. إنّه كابوس لن أنساه أبدًا رغم أنّ تذكّر ما حدث يؤلمني كثيرًا

كلمات مفتاحية

Skip to main content
Munzer Muzher a few days after the assault. Photo by Musa Abu Hashhash, B’Tselem, 25 Feb. 2019
Menu
Topics

Israeli soldier beats blind, diabetic, kidney-diseased Palestinian man in bed, continuing even after the man’s face was bloodied

One of the soldiers assaulted my father and beat him in the face until he bled. I was shocked and furious. I couldn’t understand why he’d done it. Didn’t he know my father was ill and blind? What did my father do to deserve that? I have a lot of questions that I still need answered. It’s a nightmare I can’t ever forget, even though it’s very upsetting whenever I think about it.

Taken from the testimony of Mazen Muzher (15)

On 20 February 2019, at around 4:30 A.M., about five soldiers forced their way into the Halawah family’s apartment in the town of a-Doha, west of Bethlehem, in search of Fadi Halawah (21) who was at work at the time. When they realized he was not home, the soldiers ordered his father, Nizar, to call him and tell him to come turn himself in. In the meantime, some of the soldiers decided to enter the first-floor apartment of the Muzher family, who own the building. They did so despite Nizar Halawah’s warning that the head of the family is very sick. Meanwhile, Fadi Halawah arrived and turned himself in to the soldiers. Some of them left, taking Fadi with them.

The soldiers stormed into the Muzhers’ home. The family – Iman (44) and Munzer (46), and their four sons: a 17-year-old and 15-year-old triplets – were all asleep in bed. Munzer Muzher, a retired laboratory worker, has diabetes and kidney disease. He lost his sight 15 years ago, had his toes amputated and has to undergo dialysis three times a week. He needs intensive help around the house. His wife, Iman, has cancer. The soldiers went into Munzer and Iman’s bedroom and one assaulted Munzer, punching him in the face for several minutes. The soldier continued despite Iman’s pleas that her husband is sick and blind. The soldiers also went into the boys’ room and ordered them into the living room.

Iman helped her husband, whose face was bleeding, to the living room. Their sons were brought there a moment later. The soldiers ordered the boys to raise their hands behind their heads, and one soldier kept his gun pointed at them. The soldiers stayed in the apartment for several minutes without explaining why they had come, and then left.

Once they were gone, a neighbor drove Munzer Muzher to al-Hussein Hospital in Beit Jala, where doctors found his jaw and left hand were fractured, his face bruised, wounded and swollen, and his right leg swollen.

In other words, armed soldiers broke into the house of a sick man, beat him and threatened his entire family without offering any explanation, and then left. They did so although they knew full well that the man they were seeking was not in the building and was, in fact, on his way over to give himself up.

Soldiers raiding Palestinians’ homes in the dead of night, waking entire families, has long since become part of the routine that the occupation regime imposes in the West Bank. To carry out these raids, which sometimes include searches or arrests, but are often aimed solely at intimidating the entire household, soldiers are not required to show a search warrant or even provide a reason. These actions, which are clearly intended to intimidate and menace the local residents, are unjustified and are but another example of the arbitrary abuse of power by the military.

B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash collected testimonies from members of the Muzher family.

In a testimony he gave on 25 February 2019, the father of the family, Munzer Muzher, described how things began:

I was asleep in bed with my wife, in our bedroom. I woke up in a fright when I felt someone grab my face. Then he started punching me hard in the face. At first, I thought I was still asleep and was having a nightmare. But it hurt so bad that I realized this was no dream. I thought we were being attacked by robbers. I started shouting: “Robbers! Robbers!” to wake my wife and sons. I heard my wife screaming and crying. She said: Leave him alone, he’s sick, he’s blind, he can’t move. The man kept hitting me. I tried to raise my hands to protect my face, but I couldn’t.

After he punched me in the face for a long time, I heard him say in Arabic: We are the Israel Defense Forces. He paused for a moment and then went on punching me in the face for another thirty seconds or so. Then he stopped. I felt my face was bleeding.

Thumbnail
Munzer and Iman Muzher in their home. Photo by Musa Abu Hashhash, B’Tselem, 25 Feb. 2019

Iman Muzher described what she and her family underwent that morning in a testimony she gave on 25 February 2019:

I have cancer. My husband and I spend a lot of time in hospital, especially him. At home, he spends most of his time in bed. He needs me and our four boys to help him get about, both in the house and outside. Despite my illness and my husband’s condition, we cope and stay upbeat. Our sons, who are all in high school, are strong and help us a lot.

On Wednesday, 20 February 2019, before 5:00 A.M., I was woken by my husband shouting: Robbers, robbers! I leaped out of bed in my pajamas, without my head cover. The room was dark and all I could see were colored laser beams moving around. After my eyes got used to the dark, I made out five or six soldiers in the room. One of them had grabbed my husband and was punching him in the face. I couldn’t believe my eyes.

My husband shouted: “Who are you? What do you want from me?” He said he couldn’t see them. I also screamed at the soldier punching him that my husband is blind and can’t move. I begged him to stop. I went up to the soldier and tried to get him off my husband, but he pushed me away and kept beating him. The other four soldiers just stood there, doing nothing. I cried and yelled and didn’t know what to do. I kept asking: “What do you want from us? What do you want from a sick blind man?” After several minutes of non-stop punching, the soldier said they were from the Israel Defense Forces. He paused for a few seconds and then started up again, hitting my husband’s bloody face. Then he stopped. My husband asked me to get him out of the room and asked after our sons.

I helped him out of the room. He was terrified and very worried that something bad had happened to the boys. I helped him sit down on a chair in the living room. There were five or six soldiers around us, all but one of them wearing masks. I asked if they felt no remorse for attacking someone in my husband’s condition. I couldn’t understand what on earth they had been thinking. They made three of my sons sit and one of them stand, all with their hands behind their heads, and told them to keep still. One of the soldiers kept his gun pointed at them. A few minutes later, the soldiers left the house, leaving my husband bleeding. I tried to calm him and the boys down. We wiped the blood off my husband’s face. His face and eyes were swollen. I held back my tears, I didn’t want him to be upset that I was crying. Why did they attack my husband when they saw he’s disabled? I keep asking myself, why did this happen to us? Aren’t we suffering enough with these illnesses, to have soldiers now attack us for no reason? I still have no idea why the soldier attacked my sick husband in his sleep. I just don’t get it.

Mazen Muzher, 15, described the attack on his father in a testimony he gave on 27 February 2019:

I woke up in a fright when somebody opened the door to the room I share with my brothers. We sleep in bunk beds. The room was dark and I didn’t know who had opened the door. There were several people in the room, and that scared me even more. When I tried to get up, one of them came over and shoved me. I fell down from the top bunk and hit my head on the carpeted floor. I figured the men were soldiers.

The soldiers ordered us to go into the living room. I stood up with difficulty and went into the living room. My three brothers followed me. The light was on in the living room. I saw five or six soldiers there. My mother was standing next to my father, who was sitting in a chair. His face was bleeding. I was scared and didn’t know what had happened. One of the soldiers told my brothers to sit and told me to remain standing. He ordered us to put our hands behind our heads and keep still. I stood for a few minutes and then collapsed onto the couch, probably because I’d banged my head when I fell out of bed. My brothers told me afterwards that I passed out for a few seconds.

My mother tried to wipe the blood off my father’s face. The soldiers didn’t give him any medical care. I thought my dad may have fallen on his face. It never occurred to me that the soldiers might have assaulted him.

Later I learned that one of the soldiers had assaulted my dad and punched him in the face until he bled. I was shocked and furious. I couldn’t understand why he’d done it. Didn’t he know my father was ill and blind? What did my father do to deserve that? I have a lot of questions that I still need answered. It’s a nightmare I can’t ever forget, even though it’s very upsetting whenever I think about it.

Location