Skip to main content
هنا القدس: نهب وعنف في العيساويّة
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

هنا القدس: نهب وعنف في العيساويّة

ملخّص التقرير, آيار 2020

 

منذ نيسان 2019 تشنّ الشرطة حملة تجبّر وعقاب جماعيّ على حيّ العيساويّة في شرقيّ القدس وما زالت الحملة مستمرّة رغم تعليمات التباعد الاجتماعيّ التي أصدرتها الحكومة منذ أسابيع إزاء تفشّي وباء كورونا، بما يعنيه ذلك من تعريض أهالي الحيّ للخطر.

تعتبر العيساويّة من الأحياء الفقيرة في القدس وتقع على السّفوح الشرقيّة لجبل المشارف (هار هتسوفيم) محاصرةً بسلسلة من المؤسّسات الإسرائيليّة والأحياء اليهوديّة ومعسكرات الجيش والشوارع التي أنشئت على أراضيها. يقدّر عدد السكّان الحيّ بـ 22,000 نسمة والكثافة السكّانيّة فيه تبلغ ثلاثة أضعاف ونصف مجمل الكثافة السكّانيّة في القدس. يتناول هذا التقرير مختلف أبعاد سياسة إسرائيل في العيساويّة والتي ولّدت معاً الواقع العصيب الذي يسود الحيّ. غير أنّ هذه السياسة لا تخصّ العيساويّة وحدها إذ تطبّقها إسرائيل في الأحياء الفلسطينيّة الأخرى في شرقيّ المدينة لكنّ تجبّرها بأهالي العيساويّة يتّخذ شكلاً أكثر حدّة:

  1. نهب الأراضي: منذ أن احتلّت الضفة الغربيّة نهبت إسرائيل أكثر من 90% من أراضي العيساويّة وضمّت بعضها في العام 1967. تنفّذ إسرائيل هذا النهب بطرق عدّة منها المصادرة وإعلان مساحات واسعة كـ"أراضي دولة" أو وضع اليد بموجب أوامر عسكريّة. في العام 1945 بلغت مساحة أراضي العيساويّة نحو 10,000 دونم امتدّت من سفوح جبل المشارف (هار هتسوفيم) شرقاً إلى منطقة خان الأحمر. أمّا المساحة التي تبقّت للحيّ اليوم فلا تصل إلى 1000 دونم تحاصرها مؤسّسات وأحياء إسرائيليّة: الجامعة العبريّة ومستشفى هداسا وحيّ التلة والفرنسية وحيّ "تسميرت هبيراه" ومعسكرات للجيش والشرطة وشوارع. أي أنّ الحيّ محصور داخل رقعة أرض مكتظّة لم يتبقّ فيها تقريباً مكان لإضافة أيّ بناء. لا يوجد في شرقيّ القدس حيّ قضمت منه السّلطات الإسرائيليّة واستفادت من نهب أراضيه كما حيّ العيساويّة. نهب الأراضي الدّائم لأجل احتياجات الجمهور اليهوديّ يحرم أهالي العيساويّة من إمكانيّة الاستفادة من جنى أراضيهم ويشكّل أحد العوامل الأساسيّة للفقر الذي يعانونه.
     
  2. سياسة عدم التخطيط: منذ ضمّت إسرائيل العيساويّة إلى مسطّح نفوذ بلديّة القدس بذلت السّلطات جهوداً كبيرة لمنع أيّ بناء أو تطوير فيها مستخدمة في ذلك وسائل عدّة منها الامتناع عن إعداد خريطة هيكليّة مناسبة لاحتياجات الحيّ وإفشال خريطة أعدّها السكّان أنفسهم بالتعاون مع جمعيّة "بمكوم". توجد للحيّ خريطة هيكليّة قديمة صودق عليها في العام 1991 أي بعد مضيّ 24 سنة على ضمّ العيساويّة لمسطّح بلديّة القدس لكنّ هذه الخريطة لم تُتح منذ البداية إمكانيّة لبناء يقارب المطلوب بل يبدو أنّ غايتها الأساسيّة كانت التضييق على الحيّ والحدّ من إمكانيّات البناء فيه وتطويره.

    لا حاجة للقول أنّ غياب خريطة هيكليّة لائقة لا يلغي أبداً حاجة السكّان إلى منازل يسكنون فيها وفي غياب أيّ خيار آخر يضطرّ كثير من السكّان إلى بناء منازلهم دون ترخيص بما يعنيه ذلك من العيش في حالة من انعدام اليقين والتهديد الدّائم باحتمال إصدار أوامر هدم وخطر تنفيذها وهدم المنزل في أيّة لحظة، أو تغريمهم مبالغ طائلة تصل إلى مئات آلاف الشواكل. يوجد اليوم أكثر من 2,000 منزل بُني دون ترخيص - وهي أكثر من نصف منازل الحيّ. ولكنّ الأنكى من ذلك أنّ البلديّة تتذرّع بالواقع الذي أنشأته بنفسها لتفسّر امتناعها عن إقامة مباني عامّة في الحيّ وتطوير وصيانة البُنى التحتيّة، وحتّى أنّها وجدت طرقاً لجني الأموال من هذا الوضع حيث بلغت الغرامات التي ألزمت بها "المخالفين" ملايين الشواكل على مرّ السنين.
     
  3. حملة التجبّر والعقاب الجماعيّ: منذ أكثر من سنة تشنّ الشرطة حملة عنيفة على الحيّ حيث يقتحم مقاتلو الوحدات الخاصّة (اليَسام) وحرس الحدود حيّ العيساويّة دون سبب ودون أيّة حادثة تستدعي أو تبرّر وجود قوّات شرطة فما بالك وجود أعداد كبيرة من قوّات شبه عسكريّة عنيفة مدجّجة عناصرها بالسّلاح من رأسها إلى أخمص قدميها وترافقها مركبات ترانزيت وجيبات وطائرات استطلاع. في إطار الحملة تتعمّد هذه القوّات افتعال أحداث "احتكاك" تعسّفيّة وعنيفة تشوّش حياة أهالي الحيّ وتلحق بهم الكثير من الأذى وبضمنها الإغلاق العشوائيّ لشوارع مركزيّة والتسبّب في ازدحام مروريّ وانتظار السيّارات في طوابير طويلة؛ تشغيل مكبّرات الصّوت في مركبات القوّات في ساعات متأخّرة من اللّيل؛ التهديد الاستفزازيّ للأهالي عبر إشهار السّلاح في وجههم؛ تفتيش المارّة بشكل مهين وتفتيش السيّارات والحقائب (بما في ذلك حقائب تلاميذ المدارس)؛ الاستفزاز الكلاميّ؛ مطالبة التجّار بإغلاق محالّهم دون سبب ودون إظهار أمر من أيّ نوع كان؛ تفتيش المحالّ التجاريّة بمرافقة كلاب؛ اقتحام المنازل وإجراء تفتيشات دون أمر تفتيش؛ اعتقالات تعسّفيّة للقاصرين (بعضها تنفّذها القوّات في منتصف اللّيل) ضمن انتهاكات صارخة لحقوقهم وغير ذلك. في بداية الحملة كان عناصر من شرطة الزيّ الأزرق ومراقبو المرور يتجوّلون في الحي ويقفون عند مخارج الحيّ ويسجّلون المخالفات لأتفه الأسباب للسّائقين وأصحاب المحالّ التجاريّة والمارّة.

    وقد كان للشرطة ما أرادت: ولّدت أحداث الاحتكاك العنيفة والاستفزازيّة ردوداً من قبَل أهالي الحيّ استجرّت "أعمال شغب" تستغلّها الشرطة لكي تبرّر بأثر رجعيّ حملتها برمّتها. يردّ الأهالي على وجود القوّات برشق الحجارة وإلقاء الزجاجات الحارقة والمفرقعات. على هذا يردّ مقاتلو القوّات الخاصّة وشرطة حرس الحدود بقنابل الصّوت والغاز المسيل للدّموع وإطلاق الرّصاص الإسفنجيّ الصّلب وضرب الأهالي. نتيجة لعُنف الشرطة أصيب منذ كانون الثاني 2020 ما يقارب 300 من أهالي الحيّ وفقاً لأقوال قادة الحيّ. هذا إضافة إلى الاعتقالات التعسفيّة لعدد من أعضاء قيادة الحيّ.

الحملة العنيفة التي تشنّها الشرطة على العيساويّة منذ أكثر من سنة تجسّد جيّداً ما نعرفه جميعاً منذ زمن بعيد: تتعامل السّلطات الإسرائيليّة مع الأحياء الفلسطينيّة في شرقيّ القدس وكأنّها مادّة يشكّلها المحتلّ الإسرائيليّ كما يشاء ويفعل بالأهالي ما يحلو له. لا يشغل إسرائيل في تعاملها مع هذه الأحياء سوى طموحها إلى نهب السكّان بأقصى ما يمكنها وترسيخ سيطرتها على أوسع مساحة ممكنة من الأراضي بكلّ ما يقتضيه ذلك من تجاهُل مطلق للواقع المعيشيّ الصعب الذي تفرضه على السكّان، بما في ذلك نسب الفقر العالية جدّاً، الاكتظاظ السكّانيّ الشديد والفوضى التخطيطيّة العارمة.

منذ أن ضمّت إسرائيل شرقيّ القدس تنظر إلى السكّان هناك على أنّهم حُمولة زائدة ينبغي التخلّص منها. حيّ العيساويّة مجرّد مثال وإن كان متطرّفاً على السّياسة التي تطبّقها إسرائيل في الأحياء الفلسطينيّة بهدف التضييق على السكّان والضغط عليهم. يهدف الضغط على المدى القريب إلى قمع السكّان الفلسطينيّين والتحكّم بهم والإبقاء عليهم فقراء مستضعفين يخيّم عليهم القلق الدّائم. أمّا على المدى البعيد فترمي السياسة الإسرائيليّة علناً إلى الحفاظ على التفوّق الديمغرافيّ اليهوديّ في المدينة. يبدو إذن أنّ الغاية الأساسيّة من هذا التضييق المتواصل والظلم الصّارخ والممنهج دفع السكّان إلى اتّخاذ قرارهم بمغادرة منازلهم والرّحيل عن المدينة برمّتها.

هذه الممارسات ما هي إلّا تعبير صارخ عن الاعتبارات الديمغرافيّة التي توجّه دولة إسرائيل لناحية تفضيل المواطنين اليهود على أولئك الذين ينفّرها وجودهم أي الفلسطينيّين. والنتيجة هي عمليّة تجبّر مستمرّة بكافّة سكّان المدينة الفلسطينيّين تقوم بها السّلطات الإسرائيليّة ومن ضمنها المثال الصّارخ الذي نعرضه بالتفصيل في هذا التقرير والذي يمسّ ما يقارب 20,000 إنسان هم أهالي حيّ العيساويّة. هذا التجبّر الذي يعبّر عن سياسة متواصلة تدعمها جميع حكومات إسرائيل المتعاقبة منذ 1967 يعرّي سلّم أولويّات إسرائيل في الجزء الوحيد من الضفّة الذي ضمّته رسميّاً إلى حدودها - حتى الآن. أي أنّ الضمّ يقوم على التمييز في الحقوق وحتى في الخدمات البلديّة ولا يعني من جهة سلطات الدّولة سوى تسخير قوّتها لأجل المزيد من التغوّل وفرض تفوّق مجموعة من سكّان المدينة على مجموعة أخرى.

 

خارطة أالسيطرة الإسرائيلية على أراضي العيساويّة

اضغطوا للتكبير.

Skip to main content
This is Jerusalem: Violence and Dispossession in al- ‘Esawiyah
Menu
From the field
Topics

This is Jerusalem: Violence and Dispossession in al-‘Esawiyah

Summary, May 2020

Since April 2019, the Israel Police has been engaged in a campaign of abuse and collective punishment against the neighborhood of al-‘Esawiyah in East Jerusalem. The operation continues, despite social distancing restrictions announced by the government, putting local residents in danger.

One of the poorest neighborhoods in Jerusalem, al-‘Esawiyah lies on the eastern slopes of the Mount Scopus ridge, hemmed in by an array of Israeli institutions, Jewish neighborhoods, military bases and roads built on its land. The neighborhood is estimated to have 22,000 residents, and its population density is 3.5 times the average population density in Jerusalem.


This report covers various aspects of Israel’s policy that have together created the harsh living conditions in the neighborhood. While this abusive policy is employed in other Palestinian neighborhoods in East Jerusalem, Al-’Esawiyah is a particularly glaring example:


 

  1. Land grab: Since occupying the West Bank in 1967, Israel has taken over more than 90% of al-’Esawiyah’s land using expropriation, declaration of “state land” and military seizure. Some of this land was annexed shortly after the occupation. In 1945, al-‘Esawiyah land spanned some 10,000 dunams – from the Mount Scopus ridge to the area of Khan al-Ahmar in the east. Today, residents have access to less than 1,000 dunams, locked in by Israeli institutes and neighborhoods – the Hebrew University, Hadassah Mount Scopus Medical Center, the neighborhoods of French Hill and Tzameret Habira, military and police bases and roads. Most of this area is densely built, and there are hardly any land reserves for construction.

    Of all the Palestinian neighborhoods in East Jerusalem that Israel has eaten away at since occupying the West Bank, nowhere have the authorities benefited more from the land grab than in al-‘Esawiyah. The landgrab, always for the needs of the Jewish public, has robbed al-’Esawiyah’s residents any chance of benefitting from their land, and it is one of the key factors for their poverty.  
     
  2. A no-planning policy: Ever since al-‘Esawiyah was annexed to the municipal borders of Jerusalem, the Israeli authorities have gone to considerable lengths to prevent any construction or development in the neighborhood. For instance, they have avoided drawing up an adequate outline plan for al-‘Esawiyah and blocked an independent plan drawn up by the residents in collaboration with Israeli NGO Bimkom – Planners for Planning Rights. The current outline plan, approved only in 1991, 24 years after al-’Esawiyah was annexed to the Jerusalem municipal boundaries, did not allow significant construction in the first place and appears to be mostly meant to limit building and development possibilities in the neighborhood.

    Obviously, the absence of a proper outline plan has not made the real need for housing disappear. Left with no choice, many residents build homes without permits. This sentences them to a life of uncertainty, under constant threat of demolition or of fines amounting to hundreds of thousands of shekels (The exchange rate at the time of writing was 3.5 NIS per 1 USD). More than half of the apartments in the neighborhood, upwards of 2,000, were built without a permit. The municipality uses this reality, of its own creation, as an excuse not to build public institutions or develop and maintain infrastructure. It has even found a way to profit off this situation by imposing fines for illegal building, adding millions of shekels to its coffers over the years.
     
  3. The campaign of abuse and collective punishment: For more than a year now, the Israel Police has engaged in a violent campaign in al-’Esawiyah. Special Patrol Unit and Border Police forces regularly enter the neighborhood for no reason, without any prior occurrence that could justify police presence, much less the presence of aggressive paramilitary forces on such a large scale. Special Patrol Unit and Border police officers, armed from head to toe enter the neighborhood with vans, jeeps and drones and intentionally create arbitrary instances of violent “friction” that disrupt routine and make daily life extremely difficult in the neighborhood. Among other things, they randomly close off main streets, creating long traffic jams; use loudspeakers on patrol cars and police vehicles late at night; provoke residents by aiming weapons at them; conduct degrading inspections and search cars and bags (including children’s schoolbags); verbally goad residents; order shops to shut down for no apparent reason, without showing a warrant; use dogs to search shops; raid homes and search them without a warrant; and falsely arrest minors (sometimes in the middle of the night), in severe violation of their rights. Initially, regular police officers also patrolled the neighborhood, took up positions at exit points and ticketed drivers, business owners and passers-by for negligible infractions.
    Just as the police expected, these violent provocations elicited reactions from local residents, the “disturbances of the peace” the police uses to retroactively justify the entire operation. These reactions include throwing stones, hurling Molotov cocktails and setting off firecrackers. The Special Patrol Unit and Border Police officers fire tear-gas canisters, stun grenades and black sponge rounds at residents and beat them. According to the community leadership, from the beginning of the operation through January 2020, some 300 neighborhood residents have been injured as a result of the violent police activity. The police has also falsely arrested several neighborhood leaders.

     

 

The ongoing, violent police operation in al-‘Esawiyah throws into relief what Israel has already made clear regarding the Palestinian neighborhoods of East Jerusalem: as occupier, it sees the people who live there as no more than subjects who can be treated as it wishes. Israel’s policy regarding these neighborhoods is driven by its goal to take over as much land as possible and expand its control as far as it can – utterly ignoring the harsh consequences for residents, which include extreme poverty, unbearably crowded living conditions and planning chaos.

Since annexing East Jerusalem, Israel has viewed the Palestinians who live there as an unwanted addition. The policy it implements in these neighborhoods – which is particularly blatant in al-‘Esawiyah – is aimed at incessantly pressuring the residents. In the short term, this is meant to oppress Palestinians in the city, control them and keep them poor, underprivileged and in a state of constant anxiety. Given Israel’s declared intention to ensure a Jewish demographic supremacy in Jerusalem, the long-term goal of this cruel policy appears to be to drive Palestinians to breaking point, so that they “choose” to desert their homes and leave the city.

This conduct clearly demonstrates the demographic considerations that guide Israel’s actions: preferring Jewish citizens over unwanted Palestinian residents. Accordingly, the Israeli authorities incessantly harass the entire Palestinian population of Jerusalem, including the blatant example reviewed in this report: the 22,000 people who live in al-‘Esawiyah. This abuse, which is the result of an ongoing policy led by all Israeli governments since 1967, lays bare Israel’s priorities in the only part of the West Bank it has – as yet – taken the trouble to formally annex: no equality, no rights, and not even reasonable municipal services. Instead, state authorities use their power in the annexed territory to cement the superiority of one group over another.

 

Map of Israeli takeover of al_Esawiyah land

  Click to enlarge map.