Skip to main content
احد سكان جبل البابا بالقرب من انقاض بيته. تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 16.10.17.
Menu
المواضيع

إسرائيل تنزع القناع الأخير عن سياسة التخطيط التي تطبّقها في الضفة الغربية

في 17.6.2018 دخل حيّز التنفيذ أمر عسكريّ جديد (رقم 1797) يمنع عن الفلسطينيّين أيّة إمكانية للاعتراض على أوامر هدم أصدرتها الإدارة المدنية في حقّ مبانٍ جديدة. ذلك يعني أنّ إسرائيل تستطيع منذ الآن هدم منازلهم فورًا.

بلغة قانونيّة منمّقة يحدّد الأمر أنّ كلّ مراقب من الإدارة المدنيّة مخوّل إصدار تعليمات بـ"إزالة" مبنًى جديد - بما في ذلك المباني التي لم ينتهِ العمل على إنشائها أو المباني التي انتهى العمل على إنشائها خلال نصف السّنة الأخير. أمّا بخصوص المباني السكنية فيستطيع أيّ مراقب إصدار تعليمات بهدمها إذا لم يتمّ الانتقال للسّكن فيها بعد أو إذا لم يمضِ بعد 30 يومًا على هذا الانتقال. وأمّا من يملك رخصة بناء تخصّ المبنى فبإمكانه تقديم طلب لإلغاء أمر الهدم خلال 96 ساعة وإذا لم يتمّ تقديم مثل هذا الطلب خلال الفترة المذكورة ولم يهدم المالك المبنى بنفسه يحقّ عندئذٍ للمراقب "إزالته عن الأرض وإزالة كلّ ما هو موصول به" بشرط أنّ المبنى "لا يقع ضمن حدود خريطة هيكليّة مفصّلة" وبعد استشارة المستشار القضائي أو من ينوب عنه.

ليست هذه المرّة الأولى التي تحاول فيها الدولة حرمان الفلسطينيّين من اللّجوء إلى الإجراء القضائي بموجب قانون التخطيط والبناء. قبل نحو السّنة استخدمت طريقة أخرى - استُحدثت في الأصل لأجل إخلاء بؤر استيطانيّة: أعلن الجيش منطقة تسكنها جماعة بأكملها "منطقة محدّدة" وأمر بإخلاء جميع الممتلكات القائمة عليها دون الحاجة إلى إصدار أوامر هدم لكلّ مبنًى على انفراد. حتى الآن أصدرت الدولة أوامر كهذه ضدّ ثلاثة تجمّعات وقدّمت هذه التجمّعات بدورها التماسًا لمحكمة العدل العليا لم يصدر فيه قرار بعد.

يشكّل الأمر الجديد في جوهره لبنة إضافية في سياسة التخطيط والبناء التي تطبّقها إسرائيل في الضفة الغربية والتي تطبّق أساسًا لمنع أيّ تطوير فلسطينيّ تقريبًا، وسلب أراضي الفلسطينيّين وتخصيص أقصى مساحة ممكنة من الأرض لاحتياجاتها هي. بهذه الطريقة حدّدت إسرائيل مساحات شاسعة منذ البداية على أنّها ممنوعة للبناء الفلسطيني مصنّفة إيّاها كـ"أراضي دولة" و"مناطق إطلاق نار" أو "محميّات طبيعيّة". أمّا المساحات القليلة المتبقّية فلا يتعاطى معها جهاز التخطيط بتاتًا إذ ترفض إسرائيل كقاعدة عامّة إعداد خرائط هيكلية لها - علمًا أنّه لا يمكن إصدار رخص بناء في غياب هذه الخرائط. في هذه المرحلة وعندها فقط تتذكّر إسرائيل وجود جهاز تخطيط فتهبّ لإصدار أوامر الهدم للمباني باعتبارها "بناء غير مرخّص".

حتّى الآن شكّل إصدار أوامر الهدم محرّكًا للجوء السكّان إلى الإجراءات القضائية وقد تستمرّ هذه الإجراءات شهورًا طويلة أو حتّى سنوات. نتائج هذه الإجراءات معلومة سلفًا في كلّ الحالات تقريبًا: مختلف المستشارين القضائيّين ولجان الاعتراض وقضاة المحكمة العليا لا يتناولون بتاتًا سياسة إسرائيل وآثارها إذ يحصرون دورهم بفحص الأسئلة التقنيّة حيث يبحثون في مداولاتهم: هل يحقّ لمقدّمي الالتماس المكوث في أراضٍ مصنّفة "منطقة إطلاق نار" (وتتجاهل سؤال صلاحية تصنيفها كذلك أصلًا) هل لديهم رخصة بناء للبناء الذي صدر بحقّه أمر الهدم (ويتجاهلون حقيقة أنّ إسرائيل تتعمّد عدم إعداد خرائط هيكلية للبلدات الفلسطينية في مناطق C)؛ هل استنفدوا جميع الإجراءات قبل توجّههم إلى المحكمة أم أنّهم ماطلوا أكثر ممّا ينبغي. في معظم الحالات تكون الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة بالنفي وبناءً عليه ترفَض الالتماسات.

الإجراء القضائيّ لبحث الاعتراض على أمر هدم (الممنوع الآن بموجب الأمر الجديد) والذي يتمّ وفقًا لقانون التخطيط والبناء لا يمنع هدم المنزل ولا يتيح للسكّان تسوية مكانتهم والانتقال إلى تسيير حياتهم في مجرًى معقول. الفائدة الوحيدة التي يجنيها مقدّم الالتماس الذي يتهدّد منزله خطر الهدم هي استصدار أمر مؤقت لإرجاء الهدم وتجميد الوضع القائم حتّى صدور قرار المحكمة في شأن الهدم. ونظرًا لطول مدّة الإجراءات يستطيع الملتمسون البقاء في منازلهم وهم مطمئنّون إلى أنّه لن يُهدم خلالها. غير أنّ الأمر المؤقت في المقابل يمنعهم من إقامة مبانٍ جديدة بما يناسب احتياجاتهم كما يمنع ترميم المباني القائمة وتوصيل الموقع بالشبكات الحيويّة وبناء المباني العامّة - أي أنّ الأمر المؤقت يجمّد لفترة طويلة حياة مقدّمي الالتماسات ويلقي بهم إلى حالة من انعدام اليقين تجاه مستقبلهم.

المغزى الاساسيّ من الأمر الجديد هو إلغاء إمكانيّة المراجعة القضائيّة لأوامر الهدم وسياسة التخطيط والبناء التي تطبّقها إسرائيل في الضفة الغربية - علمًا أنّه إجراء شكليّ لا أكثر لكنّ هذا لا تعني أنّه ينبغي الاستخفاف بتبعات الأمر الجديد إذا تذكّرنا أنّ المظهر الشكليّ جزء أساسيّ من نظام الاحتلال وأنّ إسرائيل تحرص كثيرًا على المحافظة عليه: من ذلك حرصها على وجود جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري والمحاكم العسكريّة والإجراءات "القانونيّة" للاستيلاء على مئات آلاف الدونمات في الضفة الغربية. استعداد إسرائيل للتخلّي في هذه الحالة حتّى عن المظهر الشكليّ يدلّ على سعي منها لتسريع وتيرة ونطاق سلب الفلسطينيين في أنحاء الضفة كما على ثقتها بأنّها لن تضطرّ إلى تحمّل تبعات المسؤولية عن النتائج الوخيمة للخروقات الخطيرة - لا على المستوى المحلّيّ ولا على المستوى الدوليّ.

Skip to main content
Resident of Dul-Baba near the ruins of his home. Photo: 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 16 October 2017
Menu
Topics

Israel lifts last veil disguising its West Bank planning policy

On 17 June 2018, a new military order (Order No. 1797) will enter into effect. The order removes any option for Palestinians to challenge demolition orders that the Civil Administration issues for new structures, allowing Israel to demolish homes summarily.

In polished legal language, the order sets forth that any Civil Administration enforcement officer may order the “removal” of a new structure – a term that includes both uncompleted structures and structures completed within the last six months. In the case of residential structures, enforcement officers may order their demolition if they are still unoccupied or within 30 days of occupancy. If the person in possession of the property has a building permit, they may file an application to have the demolition cancelled within 96 hours. However, if no such application is filed within this timeframe and the owners do not demolish the structure themselves, the enforcement officer may “remove the structure and anything attached thereto from the property”, so long as it is “not located within the confines of a detailed building plan”, and after consulting with the legal advisor or his representative.

This is not the first time Israel has tried to deny Palestinians access to legal proceedings under the Planning and Building Law. About a year ago, the state attempted to use a different method, originally designed to remove illegal settlement outposts. The military declared an area where an entire community resides as a “restricted area” and ordered the removal of any real property found therein, foregoing the need to issue demolition orders for each structure separately. The state has so far issued such orders against three communities. The communities have petitioned Israel’s High Court of Justice and are awaiting its decision.

In essence, the new military order is simply another aspect of Israel’s planning and building policy in the West Bank, which serves mainly to deny Palestinian development almost completely and dispossess Palestinians of their land, with the goal of using as much of the West Bank as possible for Israeli needs. As part of this overall policy, Israel has blocked the option of Palestinian construction on vast areas it has labeled “state land”, “firing zones” or “nature reserves”. In the little land that is left, Israel does not, as a rule, draw up zoning plans, which offer the only route for obtaining building permits. Without any possibility of building legally, Palestinians are forced to build homes without. At that point Israel suddenly acknowledges the existence of planning procedures, proclaims the construction “illegal” and issues demolition orders for the structures.

Until now, issuance of a demolition order set into motion legal proceedings that could take months and even years, with usually predictable outcomes. The various legal advisors, appeal committees and the justices of the Supreme Court make do with examining technical questions and never look into the overall policy and its ramifications. The proceedings focus on whether the petitioners have a right to enter a “firing zone” (disregarding the question of whether or not such a zone can be declared); whether they have a building permit for the structure facing demolition (overlooking the fact that Israel deliberately refrains from making such plans for Palestinian communities in Area C, meaning that legal construction is impossible); whether remedies were exhausted prior to seeking the court’s intervention; or whether the petitioners waited too long to act. In almost all cases, the answers are negative and the petitions are dismissed.

The legal proceedings under the Planning and Building Law, which the new order cancels, do not prevent home demolition, nor do they offer Palestinian residents the opportunity to get legal approval and start to lead reasonably normal lives. The only advantage these proceedings offer for those facing demolition is the possibility of an interim injunction that offers a stay until the petition is decided. The length of the proceedings offers the petitioners a reprieve, knowing their homes will not be demolished in the meantime. Yet the interim injunction also prohibits them from building new structures to meet their changing needs, renovating existing structures, connecting to infrastructure or building public structures. This puts the residents’ lives on hold and keeps them in a state of uncertainty for a protracted period of time.

In essence, the new military order removes the façade of judicial review over demolition orders and over Israel’s planning and building policy in the West Bank. This is no trifling matter: upholding the regime of occupation requires façades and Israel goes to great lengths to maintain them. This is true of the military law enforcement system, the military courts and the takeover of tens of thousands of hectares in the West Bank. Israel’s readiness to lift the veil on this matter indicates its plan to accelerate and expand the dispossession of Palestinians throughout the West Bank, and a conviction that it will not be called to task over this either internationally or locally.