Skip to main content
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

8.2.2008: محكمة العدل العليا ترد الالتماس المقدم ضد تقليص إمدادات الوقود والكهرباء لقطاع غزة 

تنظر بتسيلم بخطورة بالغة إلى قرار الحكم الصادر يوم 30.1.2008 الذي ردت من خلاله محكمة العدل العليا الالتماس المقدم ضد الخطة الخاصة بتقليص إمدادات الكهرباء والوقود إلى قطاع غزة وهي الخطة التي يتم تفعيلها منذ عدة أشهر. وقد تم تقديم الالتماس من قبل عدد من سكان غزة وعشرة منظمات إسرائيلية وفلسطينية تُعنى بحقوق الإنسان، وبضمنها بتسيلم.

إن هذه الخطة جزء من سلسلة عمليات صادق عليها المجلس الوزاري المصغر ردا على إطلاق صواريخ القسام على إسرائيل، بعد أن قرر في 19.9.2007 تعريف قطاع غزة على أنه "كيان معاد" في أعقاب سيطرة حماس على القطاع. وقد تحدد في جلسة المجلس الوزاري المصغر إنه "ستفرض قيود إضافية على حكومة حماس بصورة تقيد نقل البضائع إلى قطاع غزة، تقليص إمدادات الوقود والكهرباء وستفرض القيود على انتقال الناس من القطاع واليه".

وجاء في الالتماس أن مثل هذه الخطوات تشكل خطرا على سكان مدنيين أبرياء وأنها قد تسبب أزمة إنسانية واسعة تصل إلى درجة تشكيل الخطر على الحياة بسبب المس البالغ المتوقع بأداء الخدمات والأنظمة الحيوية الأخرى. وجاء في الالتماس أيضا أن كل مس مقصود بالبنى التحتية المدنية في قطاع غزة غير قانوني مطلقا لأن القانون الدولي لا يتيح معاقبة السكان المدنيين "بعض الشيء" وأن هناك حظرا مطلقا على العقاب الجماعي. ويأتي هذا كله بصورة خاصة على خلفية التعلق المطلق لسكان قطاع غزة بإسرائيل بخصوص تزويد الكهرباء والوقود الذي تكوَّن على مدار 38 سنة من السيطرة الإسرائيلية المباشرة على القطاع.

إن قرار الحكم يتيح للجهات الأمنية المختصة الاستمرار في برنامجها والتقليص ابتداء من 7.2.2008 من كمية الكهرباء المباع لقطاع غزة من قبل شركة الكهرباء الإسرائيلية. وهذا رغم أن غزة تعاني الآن من النقص بواقع حوالي 20% من كمية الكهرباء الأمر الذي يستلزم المبادرة إلى قطع التيار الكهربائي. إن المس الذي يلحق بالمستشفيات والمنشآت الحيوية الأخرى موثق بصورة مفصلة من قبل الملتمسين ومن قبل منظمات دولية. وقد صدر قرار الحكم رغم أن الملتمسين قدموا للمحكمة وثائق كثيرة تُثبت ادعاءاتهم وتعززها.

عدا عن الخطورة البالغة بالسماح لإسرائيل بالاستمرار بالمس بالسكان المدنيين بغطاء من تطبيق القيود على حكومة حماس، فإن بتسيلم تنظر بقلق إلى قرار الحكم لأسباب إضافية:

  • يتناول قرار الحكم بصورة سطحية قضايا هامة، من بينها القضايا الخاصة فيما إذا كانت غزة منطقة محتلة، وما هو حجم مسئولية إسرائيل عن الوضع في غزة، وما هي واجباتها تجاه القطاع ومواطنيه اليوم.
    />
  • يقبل قرار الحكم بلا مراجعة "التزام الدولة بمتابعة ما يحدث في قطاع غزة والتأكد من أن التقليص المذكور لا يسبب أزمة إنسانية بالنسبة لسكان القطاع، كما هو مستوجب من القوانين الإسرائيلية والقانون الدولي". كما تبنت المحكمة ادعاءات الدولة أن "القيود ستطبق بعد الفحص القانوني، من خلال مراعاة النواحي الإنسانية السائدة في قطاع غزة وبنية الامتناع عن التسبب في أزمة إنسانية". وهذا كله في الوقت الذي تمتنع فيه المحكمة عن بحث الأسئلة المقتضاة، مثل تعريف الأزمة الإنسانية أو الحد الذي تصير فيه الحالة الإنسانية الصعبة حالة أزمة إنسانية وهل الوضع اليوم في غزة لم يتجاوز هذا الحد.
    />
  • لم تنظر المحكمة بعين الانتقاد إلى ادعاء الدولة بأن تقليص الكهرباء والوقود سيلحق الضرر بقدرة المنظمات الفلسطينية على إطلاق صواريخ القسام على إسرائيل، ولهذا فهي رد فعل معقول وناجع لهذا الإطلاق والمرتبط به ارتباطا عقلانيا، وهذا دون أن يُطلب من الدولة تثبيت هذه الادعاءات التي تعتقد بتسيلم انها ليست مفهومة ضمنيا وهي ادعاءات تستوجب بالحد الأدني ترسيخها.
    />
  • اعتورت المداولة في المحكمة أعطاب إجرائية قاسية تصل إلى درجة التشكيك في سريان مفعول المداولة وهي أمور لم يتطرق إليها قرار الحكم. هكذا على سبيل المثال، قام الجيش بمنع مقدمي التصريحات من قبل الملتمسين من الوصول إلى المداولة من خلال الإخلال بالتزامه بتمكينهم من هذا، فيما وافقت المحكمة بصورة استثنائية على سماع "إفادة" من قبل رئيس مديرية التنسيق والارتباط لقطاع غزة، دون أن يقدم تصريحا من قبله كما هو مطلوب، بل واستندت المحكمة في قرار الحكم الصادر عنها إلى هذه الإفادة. وقد تضمنت الإفادة ادعاءات غير راسخة تتناقض مع الأدلة المقدمة للمحكمة من قبل الملتمسين بخصوص المس البالغ بالحالة الإنسانية في قطاع غزة التي نشأت في أعقاب القرار بتقليص الوقود والكهرباء. ومضت المحكمة إلى أبعد من ذلك من خلال اقتباس أقوال قيلت ظاهريا من قبل ممثلي الجيش دون أن يكون ذلك قد وقع حقا ومن خلال استعمال هذه الاقتباسات المغلوطة من أجل ترسيخ الاستنتاجات المفصلة في قرار الحكم.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

8 Feb. '08: High Court rejects petition against reduction of fuel and electricity supply to Gaza

B'Tselem views with great severity the High Court's decision, given on 30 January 2008, to reject the petition against Israel's plan to reduce supply of electricity and fuel to the Gaza Strip, which has already been in force for several months. The petition was filed by Palestinian residents of Gaza and ten Israeli and Palestinian human rights organizations, B'Tselem among them.

The plan is part of a number of actions that the Political-Security Cabinet authorized in response to Qassam rocket fire on Israel, after its decision of 19 September 2007 to classify the Gaza Strip as “hostile territory” following Hamas's takeover of the area. The Cabinet decision also states that “further limitations will be placed on the Hamas government that will limit the movement of goods to the Gaza Strip, reduce the supply of fuel and electricity, and limit the movement of persons to and from the Strip”.

The petitioners contend that these measures will endanger innocent civilians and are liable to cause extensive humanitarian harm, even risking lives, because of the severe harm that the reductions would cause to the proper functioning of vital services. The petitioners further contend that intentional harm to civilian infrastructure in the Gaza Strip is patently illegal, that international law does not allow punishment of the civilian population “just a little bit,” and that there is an absolute prohibition on collective punishment. These arguments are especially cogent given Gazans' total dependence on Israel for the supply of electricity and fuel, which was created over 38 years of direct Israeli control of the Strip.

The court's decision has allowed the defense establishment to reduce, as of 7 February, the amount of electricity that the Israel Electric Corporation sells to the Gaza Strip, even though Gaza already suffers a 20 percent shortage of electricity. Due to this shortage, Palestinian authorities have already had to initiate interruptions in the supply of electricity. The petitioners and international organizations have documented in detail the harm to hospitals and other vital systems. The justices reached their decision despite the many documents submitted by the petitioners in support of their claims.

In addition to the gravity of allowing Israel to continue to deliberately harm the civilian population in the guise of placing restrictions on Hamas rule, the decision is problematic for the following reasons:

  • The judgment deals superficially with serious issues, among them whether Gaza is occupied territory, the extent of Israel's responsibility for the situation in the Strip, and its current obligations to Gaza and its residents.
  • In their judgment, the justices accepted without challenge the state's “commitment to monitor events in the Gaza Strip and verify that the said reduction does not cause humanitarian damage to the residents of the Gaza Strip, as required under Israeli law and international law”. The court also adopted the state's contentions that “the restrictions will be applied following legal examination, taking into account the humanitarian aspects of the situation in the Gaza Strip and with the intent to prevent a humanitarian crisis.” The court completely refrained from discussing central questions, such as “What is the definition of a humanitarian crisis?”, “At what point does a harsh humanitarian situation turn into a crisis?”, and whether the situation in Gaza has reached that point.
  • The court did not critically examine the state's contention that the cuts in electricity and fuel supply affect the capability of Palestinian organizations to fire Qassam rockets at Israel, and are, therefore, a reasonable and effective response to the rocket fire, and that the response is rationally connected to the rocket fire. The state was not required to provide a basis for this contention, which is not obvious.
  • The hearing in the High Court contained procedural flaws grave enough to raise doubt about its validity, a matter to which the court did not relate in its judgment. For example, the army prevented persons who had given affidavits on behalf of the petitioners to come to the hearing, in breach of its undertaking, while the court made an exception and heard testimony from the head of the army's Coordination and Liaison Office for the Gaza Strip, although he did not submit an affidavit as required. The court even based its decision on this testimony. The testimony contained unfounded contentions that refuted the evidence submitted to the court by the petitioners regarding the severe humanitarian situation in the Gaza Strip, resulting from the decision to cut back the supply of fuel and electricity. The court even quoted statements ostensibly made by army representatives, which were in fact never voiced, and based its conclusions on these misleading statements.