Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

جنود نصبوا كمينًا بالقرب من الجدار الفصل في بدرس أطلقوا النار على ظهر لافي عوض أثناء فراره وقتلوه، ثلاث سنوات بعد مقتل سمير عوض في ظروف تكاد تكون متطابقة

مستجدات: في 17.5.2016 أبلغت النيابة العسكرية بتسيلم أنه لن يُفتح تحقيق لاستيضاح ملابسات الحادثة. أبلغت النيابة نتائج الاستيضاح الأوّلي حول الحادثة لم تُظهر شبهة ارتكاب مخالفة جنائية.

لافي عوض. الصورة بلطف من العائلة. يوم الجمعة، الموافق 13/11/2015 عُقدت في بدرس في محافظة رام الله مسيرة احتجاجية شارك فيها العشرات من سكان القرية الذين توجّهوا إلى الجدار الفاصل، الذي بُني في هذه المنطقة من أراضي القرية. بدأت المسيرة زهاء الساعة 12:30. قوة مختلطة من الجنود وافراد شرطة حرس الحدود انتظرت المشاركين بين الجدارين اللذين يكوّنان الجدار الفاصل، وحاولت تفريقهم بالغاز المسيل للدموع. ألقى بعض المشاركين في المظاهرة الحجارة على قوات الأمن، بعضهم استعان بالمقلاع، في محاولة إلحاق ضرر بالجدار الفاصل.

من تحقيق بتسيلم تبيّن أنّه بعد بضع ساعات هدأت المواجهات. غادر معظم المتظاهرين الفلسطينيين وكذلك معظم قوات الأمن المكان. زهاء الساعة 16:30 اقتربت من جديد مجموعة مكونة من عشرة شبان فلسطينيين تقريبا من الجدار الفاصل في المنطقة المعروفة باسم العك، حيث قتل الجنود .سمير عوض (16 عاما) في يناير كانون الثاني عام 2013. على رأس المجموعة كان لافي عوض البالغ من العمر 20 عامًا. عندما وصل عوض إلى مسافة تبعد عشرة أو عشرين مترًا تقريبًا عن الجدار الفاصل مرّ عن كمين للجنود الذين كشفوا عن أنفسهم وأمسكوا به. حاول عوض أن يتخلص منهم ورد الجنود بعنف، ركلوه وضربوه ببنادقهم. وفقًا لافادات شهود عيان أطلق الجنود أيضا عيارات معدنية مغلفة بالمطاط، ولكن ليس واضحًا ما إذا كان عوض قد أصيب بها. بدأ أصدقاء عوض بالصراخ على الجنود وألقوا الحجارة عليهم. واصل جنديّ الإمساك بعوض واتجه رفاقه نحو الشبان وأطلق أحدهم النار في الهواء، على ما يبدو لردعهم. استغلّ عوض الفرصة وبدأ بالفرار، ولكن بعد أن ابتعد خطوات قليلة أطلق أحد الجنود النار عليه في ظهره. انهار عوض وتراجع الجنود. قام أصدقاء عوض بإبعاده عن المكان

مكان مقتل لافي عوض والنصب التذكاري مكان مقتل سمير عوض عام 2013، تصوير: اياد حداد، بتسيلم. 13/11/2015.
مكان مقتل لافي عوض والنصب التذكاري مكان مقتل سمير عوض عام 2013، تصوير: اياد حداد، بتسيلم. 13/11/2015.

ع.ج.، 25 عامًا، من سكان بدرس، وصف للباحث الميداني لبتسيلم إياد حداد الحادث:

"يوم الجمعة الموافق 13/11/2015 زهاء الساعة 16:30 أو 17:00 بعد أن انتهت الاشتباكات مع قوات الأمن، لم يكن هناك سوى عدد قليل من المتظاهرين بالقرب من الجدار الفاصل، ربما عشرة شبان وفتية صغار. اقتربنا من الجدار، وكنا ثلاثة أو أربعة. تقدّمَنا لافي عوض. عندما وصل إلى مسافة تبعد قرابة عشرة أمتار عن الجدار، خرج فجأة ثلاثة جنود من كمين. وجد لافي نفسه عالقًا بين الجنود والجدار الفاصل. مسكوه بطريقة عنيفة. مسكه أحدهم من رقبته وركله الآخرون. حاول الهرب فهجموا عليه وضربوه. شجعته صيحاتنا على محاولة الهرب. أثناء ذلك، رأيت جنديًا يصوّب سلاحه ويطلق عليه عيار معدني مغلّف بالمطاط. اعتقد انه أصيب من الخلف من مسافة قريبة. وفي الوقت نفسه، واصل أحد الجنود الإمساك به، وحاول الاثنان الآخران إبعادنا بإطلاق الذخيرة الحية، ما يقارب 5-4 رصاصات، وأعيرة معدنية مغلفة بالمطاط.

أثناء ذلك، يبدو أن لافي تمكّن من الهروب من الجندي الذي أمسك به، لكنه لم يكد يبتعد خطوتين، مسافة مترين تقريبًا، حتى قام أحدهم، ولا أعرف من كان من بينهم، بإطلاق النار عليه في الظهر. سقط لافي على بطنه، ولم يكن قادرًا على التحرك أو النهوض. كثف الأصدقاء من إلقاء الحجارة والصراخ في محاولة منهم لتخليص لافي.

اقترب أحد الجنود من لافي مسافة متر تقريبًا، للتأكد كما يبدو، من أنه أصيب. ثم تراجع إلى الخلف مع رفاقه. تركوا لافي ممددا هناك ومصابًا ولم يحاولوا إسعافه. غطوا أنفسهم بإطلاق وابلٍ من الغاز المسيل للدموع في اتجاهنا. ناديت على لافي ولم يجبني، ثم أدركت أنه أصيب بجروح بليغة".

حمل الشبان عوض في مرتقى طريق زراعيّة، هناك دخلوا سيارة خاصة، واتّجهوا نحو المستشفى في رام الله وهم يطلبون من سيارة إسعاف أن تلاقيهم على الطريق. أقصر الطرق من بدرس إلى رام الله تمر عبر قرى نعلين ودير قديس، وقد نصبت بينهما بوابة عسكرية عادة ما تكون مفتوحة. وعندما وصل الشبان إلى البوابة وجدوها مغلقة. وفقا لأقوالهم، حاولوا أن يشرحوا للجنود أنهم ينقلون في السيارة شخصًا مصابًا بجروح بليغة إلى المستشفى، إلا أن الجنود رفضوا السماح لهم بالمرور وطردوهم تحت تهديد السلاح. نتيجة لذلك، اضطر الشبان إلى السفر عبر طريق التفافية، تمر من قبيا، شقبا وشبتين، يصل طولها إلى أكثر من 18 كم. وبعد اجتياز قرية شبتين التقى الشباب بسيارة الإسعاف بالقرب من مستوطنة "نيلي"، ونقل عوض إليها. حاول المسعفون إنعاشه ونقلوه إلى المستشفى حيث أعلن عن وفاته بعد خمس دقائق من وصوله.

البوابة التي نصبها الجيش بين قريتي قديس ونعلين. تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم. 20/11/2015.
البوابة التي نصبها الجيش على المدخل الرئيسي لقرية نعلين. تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم. 20/11/2015.

كاميرات المراقبة على الجدار الفاصل في منطقة الحادث منصوبة. وقد علمت بتسيلم أن عمليّة قتل سمير عوض تمّ توثيقها في هذه الكاميرات، ولذلك فمن المرجح أن يكون شريط فيديو يوثق مقتل لافي عوض في حوزة الجيش.

ساهمت سياسة سهولة الضغط على الزناد في قتل لافي، وهي سياسة تحظى بدعم في المناخ العام الراهن، وفي ظلّ الفراغ شبه الكامل في مجال تطبيق القانون على قوات الأمن. التشابه بين الحدث الحالي وبين قتل سمير عوض البالغ من العمر 16 عاما، في نفس المكان قبل ثلاث سنوات، هو أمر تقشعر له الأبدان. في الحالتين نصب الجنود كمينًا بالقرب من الجدار الفاصل في منطقة قرية بدرس، وفي الحالتين أطلق الجنود النار على ظهر الشابين بينما حاولا الفرار ولم يشكّلا خطرًا على أحد. في الأسبوع الماضي، أبلغ النائب العام المحكمة أن اثنين من بين الجنود الذين قتلوا سمير عوض سوف توجّه لهم تهم ثانوية "التهور والإهمال في استخدام السلاح"

قرار النيابة العسكرية في قضيّة سمير عوض بعدم توجيه اتهامات ضد المسؤولين عن هذه السياسة، وإنّما فقط ضد الجنود مطلقي النار، وبعد التحرّك البطيء، وفي بند اتهام سخيف، هو جزء من السياسة التي تنتهجها النيابة العامة منذ سنوات طويلة، والتي بدورها مهّدت الطريق لقتل لافي عوض. في مركز فشل النيابة العامة، وصناع القرار، يقف قرار إعادة استخدام الكمين المسلح ضد راشقي الحجارة، كما لو كانت هذه الوسيلة العنيفة والخطيرة أمر قانونيّ أو مقبول. أدت هذه السياسة إلى مقتل سمير عوض قبل منذ ثلاث سنوات، وفلسطينيَّين آخرَين. منذ ذلك الوقت، لم تتغيّر السياسة بل ولن يتمّ تقديم المسؤولين للمحاكمة. ليس من المستغرب، أن الجيش انتهج نفس الطريقة مجددا- وهذه المرة قتل لافي عوض، ومرة أخرى في ظروف لم يكن هناك مبرر لاستخدام القوة الفتاكة. السياسة غير القانونية والتي لا تلقى عقابًا، تؤدي إلى عواقب وخيمة. يدفع الفلسطينيون حياتهم ثمن ذلك، مرة تلو المرة.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

Budrus: Soldiers in ambush shoot and kill Lafy ‘Awad as he fled, 3 years after Samir ‘Awad killed in nearly identical circumstances

Update:  On 17 May 2016, the MAG Corps informed B’Tselem that no investigation would be launched into the incident. The MAG Corps stated a preliminary review of the incident did not indicate any suspicion of a criminal offense.

Lafy ‘Awad. Photo courtesy of the familyOn Friday, 13 November 2015, a protest march was held in the Palestinian village of Budrus, Ramallah District, the West Bank. Starting at 12:30 P.M., dozens of residents marched towards the Separation Barrier, which in that area is built on village land. A combined force of soldiers and Border Police awaited the demonstrators in the gap between the two fences that comprise the barrier, and tried to disperse them with tear gas. Several demonstrators began to throw stones at the security forces, some using slingshots, and tried to damage the barrier.

According to B’Tselem’s investigation, the clashes died down within several hours. Most of the Palestinian demonstrators and most of the security forces left the spot. At approximately 4:30 P.M., a group of ten or Palestinian youths approached the barrier again in an area called al-‘Aq, where soldiers shot and killed 16-year-old Samir ‘Awad in January 2013. Lafy ‘Awad, 20, walked first, at the front of the group. When he was some ten or twenty meters from the barrier, he walked past soldiers lying in ambush. They revealed themselves and grabbed ‘Awad. He tried to free himself from their grip and the soldiers responded violently, kicking him and hitting him with their rifles. According to eyewitnesses, soldiers also fired rubber-coated metal bullets, but it is unclear if any of the bullets struck ‘Awad. The other youths shouted at the soldiers and began throwing stones at them. One soldier retained his grip on ‘Awad while the others turned towards the youths and one fired in the air, apparently to deter them. ‘Awad took advantage of the opportunity and started to flee, but had gone only a few steps when a soldier shot him in the back. ‘Awad collapsed and the soldiers retreated. ‘Awad’s friends carried him away.

The spot where Lafy ‘Awad was killed and the monument marking the spot where Samir ‘Awad was killed. Photo by Iyad Hadad, B’Tselem, 14 Nov. 2015
The spot where Lafy ‘Awad was killed and the monument marking the spot where Samir ‘Awad was killed. Photo by Iyad Hadad, B’Tselem, 14 Nov. 2015

‘A. G., 25, a resident of Budrus, recounted the incident to B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad:

On Friday, 13 November 2015, at around four-thirty or five o’clock in the afternoon, after the clashes with the security forces had already died down, I stayed along with some other demonstrators near the Separation Barrier. We were about ten young people and children. Three or four of us went up to the barrier. Lafy ‘Awad was walking in front. When he was about ten meters from the barrier, three soldiers suddenly came out of an ambush. Lafy found himself trapped between the soldiers and the Separation Barrier. The soldiers grabbed him violently. One held him by the neck and the others kicked him. He tried to break free but they were all over him and beat him. Our shouting encouraged him to him to try to break free. At the same time, I saw a soldier aim a rifle at him and fire a rubber-coated metal bullet. I think it hit Lafy from behind, at close range. Meanwhile, one of the soldiers kept hold of him and the other two tried to make us go away by using live gunfire, the fired a volley of about four or five live bullets, and also rubber-coated metal bullets.

In the meantime, Lafy apparently managed to get away from the soldier who was holding him, but he only managed to take a couple of steps, about two meters, before one of the soldiers, I don’t know which one, fired a live bullet at him from behind. Lafy fell face down and couldn’t move or get up. We intensified the stone throwing and shouting to try to get Lafy out.

One of the soldiers went over to Lafy and stopped about a meter away, probably to confirm he had been hit. Then he drew back with the others. They left Lafy lying there, wounded, and didn’t try to treat him. They covered themselves by firing huge amounts of tear gas in our direction. I called out to Lafy but he didn’t answer, so I understood he was badly hurt.

The youths carried Lafy up through a dirt road, where they got into a private car and started out to the hospital in Ramallah. En route, they called for an ambulance to meet them. The shortest route from Budrus to Ramallah runs through the villages of Ni’lin and Deir Qadis. There is a military gate between the two villages and it is usually open. When the youths reached the gate, they found it closed. They later related that they tried to explain to the soldiers that they were taking a severely injured person to hospital, but the soldiers would not let them through and turned them back at gunpoint. The youths had no choice but to take the alternate bypass route that goes through the villages of Qibyah, Shuqba and Shebtin and is about 18 kilometers longer. After driving through Shebtin, the car met the ambulance near the settlement of Nili. The injured ‘Awad was transferred to the ambulance which took him to hospital, while the paramedics tried to resuscitate him on the way. ‘Awad was pronounced dead five minutes after arriving at the hospital.

Gate built by the military at the main entrance to Ni’lin. Photo by Sarit Michaeli, B’Tselem, 20 Nov. 2015
Gate built by the military at the main entrance to Ni’lin. Photo by Sarit Michaeli, B’Tselem, 20 Nov. 2015

Security cameras are mounted on the section of the Separation Barrier where the incident occurred. B’Tselem learned that the 2013 killing of Samir ‘Awad was captured on those cameras. Therefore, it stands to reason that the military also has video footage of the killing of Lafy ‘Awad.

The killing of Lafy ‘Awad was prompted by the trigger-happy policy currently reinforced by the public atmosphere in Israel, and is a consequence of the almost total absence of law enforcement when it comes to security forces. The parallels between this incident and the killing of 16-year-old Samir ‘Awad in the same spot almost three years ago is chilling. In both cases, soldiers lay in ambush by the Separation Barrier within the perimeter of Budrus and fired live bullets, from behind, at youths who were trying to escape and posed no danger. About one week ago, Israel’s State Attorney informed the High Court of Justice that two of the soldiers who killed Samir ‘Awad will be charged with the minor offense of committing “a reckless and negligent act using a firearm”.

The MAG Corps’ decision in the case of Samir ‘Awad not to bring charges against policy makers, instead indicting only the soldiers who fired the shots – and even that only after lengthy delays, and on ridiculous charges – is part of the MAG Corp’s longstanding policy that paved the way for the recent killing of Lafy ‘Awad. The primarily failing of the MAG Corps and of the policy makers is the decision to continue stationing armed soldiers in ambush against Palestinian stone-throwers, as though this violent, dangerous means is lawful or even reasonable. This policy is what led to the killing of Samir ‘Awad three years ago, and of other Palestinians. Since that time, not only has the policy not changed, but the persons responsible for it will not even be held accountable. It is no surprise that the military used the same mode of operation, this time killing Lafy ‘Awad – yet again, in circumstances that did not justify use of lethal force. Unlawful policies lead to lethal results; unlawful policies that go unpunished lead, repeatedly, to lethal results. Palestinians are the ones who pay, with their lives, time and again.