Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

يحيى العامودي (10 أعوام) فقد عينه برصاصة اسفنجيّة أطلقها عليه شرطي حرس الحدود خلافًا للقانون، في القدس الشرقيّة

في ظهيرة يوم الخميس، 21/5/2015، أطلق شرطي حرس الحدود رصاصة اسفنجيّة سوداء على يحيى العامودي (10 أعوام) وأصابه في عينه، وذلك في مخيّم شعفاط للّاجئين. ونتيجة لإصابته بالرصاصة فقد العامودي عينه اليسرى وكُسر حنكه. ويشير استقصاء بتسيلم إلى أنّ مجموعة من الأولاد الفلسطينيّين قامت خلال وقوع الحادثة برشق الحجارة صوب قوّة من حرس الحدود، التي كانت تتمركز في موقع للبناء في مخيّم شعفاط للّاجئين، على بعد نحو 150 مترًا من الحاجز المضروب عند مدخل المخيّم. ويقع مخيّم اللاجئين في ضمن منطقة نفوذ القدس البلديّة، إلّا أنّه معزول عن المدينة تمامًا بواسطة الجدار الفاصل يصل ارتفاعه إلى ثمانية أمتار. وتحدّث والد يحيى العامودي لبتسيلم قائلاً إنّ ابنه كان يمرّ في الموقع وهو في طريقه لاصطحاب اخته الصغيرة من الروضة.

يحيى العامودي في مستشفى
يحيى العامودي في مستشفى "هداسا عين كارم"، 21/5/2015. الصورة بلطف من العائلة.

ج.ن. (17 عامًا)، كان موجودًا بالقرب من يحيى العامودي أثناء إصابته، وقال واصفًا لباحث بتسيلم، عامر عاروري، ما رآه:

في يوم الخميس، 21/5/2015، وزهاء الساعة 14:00 بعد الظهر، كنت أقف وأتناول شطيرة مقابل مخبز الحديث الواقع على الشارع المؤدّي إلى مدخل مخيّم شعفاط للّاجئين. رأيت أولادًا صغارًا يقفون في الشارع ويركضون صوب عمارة الشويكي. كانوا يحملون الحجارة ويحاولون إلقاءها صوب شرطيي حرس الحدود الذين وقفوا على ما يبدو لي في الطابق الثاني من العمارة. ووفقا لما نجحت برؤيته فإنّ الحجارة لم تصل إلى موقع وقوف الشرطيّين.

في هذه المرحلة رأيت الولد يحيى العامودي الذي أعرفه. كان يقف عند مدخل نادي اللياقة الذي يقع على بعد نحو عشرة أمتار من المكان الذي أقف عنده. قلت له: "اذهب إلى البيت، لا تقف هنا مقابل الشرطيّين". قال لي يحيى: "حسنًا، سأذهب". أدرت رأسي صوب الأولاد الصغار الذين كانوا يركضون في الشارع مع الحجارة. بعد دقيقتيْن سمعت طلقة واحدة وصراخ ولد صغير، ورأيت ولدًا مستلقيًا على الأرض. في تلك اللحظة لم أدرك أنّ الولد هو يحيى. هربت من هناك لأنّني خشيت من أن يواصل الشرطيون إطلاق النار وأن أصاب أنا أيضًا".

قام عابر سبيل بنقل العامودي إلى المركز الطبيّ في مخيّم اللاجئين ومن هناك نقلته سيّارة إسعاف فلسطينيّة إلى مستشفى "هداسا عين كارم". وقد فقد عينه اليسرى وخضع لعمليّة جراحيّة لترميم حنكه، الذي أصيب بكسور جرّاء الرصاصة الاسفنجيّة.

س.ت. (17 عامًا)، الذي كان هو الآخر في الموقع أثناء إصابة يحيى العامودي، قال لباحث بتسيلم عامر عاروري واصفًا ما رأى:

في يوم 21/5/2015، وقرابة الساعة 14:00، كنتُ في الدكان الذي أعمل فيه، على الشارع المؤدّي إلى مخيّم شعفاط للّاجئين. حضر يحيى العامودي، وهو من أقربائي، إلى الدكان وتوقف لإلقاء التحيّة. وقال لي إنّه في طريقه لاصطحاب أخته من الروضة.

خرجتُ إلى الشارع ووقفت إلى جانب باب الدكان. رأيت أولادًا صغارًا، يبدون أقلّ من عشر سنوات، يقفون في الشارع. كان بعضهم يحمل الحجارة. وحاول بعض الأولاد الاقتراب من عمارة الشويكي، الواقعة مقابل الدكان، حيث كان عدّة شرطيون من حرس الحدود. الشرطيون يأتون إلى هذه العمارة عند القيام بأشغال في منطقة الحاجز والجدار. وحاول الأولاد رشق الحجارة صوب العمارة، إلّا أنّ الحجارة التي رموها لم تصل إلى الشرطيّين، الذين كانوا يقفون في الطابق الثاني من العمارة. لم تحصل مواجهة حقيقيّة، ولم يكن يحيى واحدًا من الأولاد الصغار الذين رشقوا الحجارة.

سمعتُ صوت إطلاق رصاص وعندها رأيت شابًا يحمل ولدًا ويركض صوب مركز المخيّم، لكنّني لم أعرف أنّه يحيى. فيما بعد، عندما سمعت الناس يقولون إنّ الولد الذي أصيب هو يحيى، تركت الدكان وتوجّهت إلى المركز الطبيّ في حيّ رأس خميس. رأيت يحيى هناك. كان وجهه وملابسه مضرجة بالدم.


شريط نُشر في الانترنت توثيقًا لإطلاق الرصاص على العامودي. لم تنجح بتسيلم بالحصول على موادّ التصوير الأصليّة.

رصاص اسفنجيّ أزرق: تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيليمالرصاص الاسفنجيّ هو ذخيرة تستخدمها شرطة إسرائيل منذ عام 2006 على الأقل، في داخل إسرائيل والقدس الشرقيّة، كوسيلة لتفريق المظاهرات بدلًا من استخدام الرصاص المعدنيّ المغلف بالمطاط، الذي جرى منع الشرطة من استخدامه في إسرائيل والقدس الشرقية عام 2002 إلّا وسط ظروف استثنائيّة ومتطرّفة جدًا، وذلك في أعقاب أحداث أكتوبر 2000 وتقرير لجنة "أور" الذي فحص هذه الأحداث. عندما تصيب هذه الرصاصات الأعضاء الحساسة مثل الرأس والعينيْن فإنها قد تكون خطيرة. وقد درجت الشرطة حتى قبل عام واحد على استخدام الرصاص الاسفنجيّ الأرزق فقط. وقبل نحو العام بدأ استخدام رصاصة اسفنجيّة من نوع جديد، لونها أسود، وهي رصاصة أكثر ثقلًا وصلابة من الزرقاء، ولذلك فإنّها تلحق أضرارًا أكبر. وتشكّل الرصاصة الاسفنجيّة وسيلة دقيقة نسبيًّا يمكن تصويبها نحو أعضاء أقلّ حساسيّة في الجسم. وعليه، في حال استخدام هذه الوسيلة وفقًا للتعليمات، فليس من المفترض أن تلحق أضرارًا جسيمة.

إلى جانب ذلك، وثقت إلى جانب ذلك، وثقت جمعيّة حقوق المواطن، في الأشهر الأخيرة، 17 حالة قام فيها شرطيون بإطلاق الرصاص الاسفنجيّ خلافًا للقانون، عبر مخالفة التعليمات بشكل فظّ، وجرحوا فلسطينيّين في القدس الشرقيّة. في 31/8/2014 اطلق شرطي في القدس الشرقيّة رصاصة اسفنجية سوداء على الفتى محمد سنقرط (15 عامًا)، الذي أصيب وتوفي اثر اصابته في 4/9/2014. وأمس الأول أفادت جمعيّة حقوق المواطن بأنّ مواطنًا آخر من القدس الشرقيّة قد فقد عينه جراء إصابته برصاصة اسفنجيّة سوداء أطلقها عليه شرطيّ، فيما كان يحتمي من مواجهات اندلعت في مخيّم شعفاط للّاجئين.

في عام 2011 توجّهت منظمة بتسيلم إلى وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة (ماحَش) بخصوص حادثة وقعت يوم 6/7/2011. وفي هذه الحادثة أطلق شرطيّ من حرس الحدود رصاصة اسفنجيّة زرقاء على أحمد المصري، الذي كان يقف إلى جانب دكانه ويوثق وجود شرطيّي حرس الحدود في الشارع المركزيّ بحيّ العيسويّة في القدس الشرقيّة. اصيب المصري في عينه، فيما جرى توثيق إطلاق الرصاص الذي جرى من دون أيّ مبرّر، بواسطة كاميرا الهاتف المحمول التابع للمصاب. وفي هذه الحالة فُتح تحقيق، إلّا أنّ وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة (ماحَش) أعلمت بتسيلم يوم 27/11/2011 بأنّها أغلقت ملف التحقيق "لعدم كفاية الأدلّة".


توثيق إطلاق الرصاص على أحمد المصري، الذي صوّره المصاب بنفسه يوم 6/7/2011

جرى تنظيم استخدام الرصاص الاسفنجيّ الأزرق والأسود من خلال أحكام ونُظم، إلّا أن توثيقات بتسيلم وجمعيّة حقوق المواطن في السنوات الأخيرة تشير إلى أنّ الشرطيّين لا ينشطون وفقًا للتعليمات في الكثير من الحالات. ومنذ بدء استخدام الرصاص الاسفنجيّ الأسود جرى إثبات أنّ تجاوز التعليمات يقود غلى نتائج مُميتة. زدْ على ذلك أنّ توجّهات جمعيّة حقوق المواطن إلى المستشار القضائيّ للحكومة وإلى المفتش العام للشرطة بمطالب متكرّرة لفحص الملابسات والظروف التي يُسمح فيها باستخدام الرصاص الاسفنجيّ الأسود ومدى الحاجة إليه أصلاً، ومدى تذويت وتطبيق أحكام استخدام هذا النوع من الرصاص لدى الشرطيّين، لم تحظَ لردّ موضوعيّ ولا يبدو أنّها أدّت إلى إحداث تغييرات ميدانيّة هامّة. ويؤدّي الامتناع عن اتخاذ تدابير ضدّ الشرطيين المخالفين للقانون إلى غياب المحاسبة، ما يجعل وقوع الإصابة القاتلة القادمة مسألة وقت لا غير.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

Palestinian 10-year-old loses eye after Border Police unlawfully fire sponge round at him, East Jerusalem

In the early afternoon of Thursday, 21 May 2015, an Israeli Border Police officer fired a black sponge round at 10-year-old Yihya al-‘Amudi in Shu’fat Refugee Camp in East Jerusalem, hitting the boy in the eye. As a result, the Palestinian boy lost his left eye and suffered a broken jaw.

B’Tselem’s field research found that at the time of the incident, a group of Palestinian children was throwing stones at a Border Police force that had taken up position in a construction site in Shu’fat Refugee Camp, some 150 meters from the checkpoint stationed at the entrance to the R.C. Although the camp lies within the jurisdiction of the Jerusalem Municipality, it is completely cut off from the city by the Separation Barrier – an eight-meter high wall in that area. Yihya al-‘Amudi’s father told B’Tselem that his son had been on his way to pick up his little sister from kindergarten.

Yihya al-‘Amudi at Hadassah Ein Kerem Hospital, West Jerusalem, 21 May 2015. Photograph courtesy of the family.
Yihya al-‘Amudi at Hadassah Ein Kerem Hospital, West Jerusalem, 21 May 2015. Photograph courtesy of the family.

G. N., a 17-year-old Palestinian who witnessed the incident, told B’Tselem field researcher ‘Amer ‘Aruri what he saw:

On Thursday, 21 May 2015, at around 2:00 P.M., I was standing eating a sandwich opposite the al-Hadithi Bakery, which is on the road leading to the entrance to Shu’fat Refugee Camp. I saw children in the street, and saw them running towards the a-Shweiki building. They were holding stones and trying to throw them at Border Police officers who were on the second floor of the building, I think. As far as I could see, the stones did not reach the policemen.

At that point I saw Yihya al-‘Amudi, a boy I know. He was standing at the entrance to the gym, which is about ten meters away from where I was. I said to him: “Go home, don’t stand here in front of the police.” Yihya said: “Okay, I’m going.” I turned to look at the children running through the street with stones. A couple of minutes later, I heard a single shot and a child screaming. I saw a boy lying on the ground. At that moment, I didn’t realize it was Yihya. I simply ran away, because I was afraid the police would keep on shooting and I’d be hit too.

Al-‘Amudi was taken by a passerby to a medical center in the camp, and then transported by Palestinian ambulance to Hadassah Ein Kerem Hospital in West Jerusalem. The boy lost his left eye and underwent reconstructive surgery on his jaw, which fractured from the impact of the sponge round.

S.T., a 17-year-old Palestinian who was also nearby at the time of the shooting, told B’Tselem researcher ‘Amer ‘Aruri what he saw:

On 21 May 2015, at around 2:00 P.M., I was in the store I work in, on the road leading to the entrance to Shu’fat Refugee Camp. Yihya al-‘Amudi, a relative of mine, came by the shop and stopped in to say hello. He told me he was on his way to pick his sister up from kindergarten.

I went out to the street and stood by the shop door. I saw several children standing on the road. They looked young, less than ten years old, and some of them were holding stones. Several children tried to get closer to the a-Shweiki building, which is opposite the store. There were Border Police officers inside the building – they come there whenever there is construction work on the checkpoint or the [Separation] Barrier. The children tried to throw stones at the building but the stones couldn’t reach the police, because they were on the second floor. It wasn’t really a confrontation. Yihya wasn’t one of the boys throwing stones.

I heard a shot and then I saw someone pick up a child and run towards the center of the camp. I didn’t know he was carrying Yihya. Later, when I heard people say that the child injured was Yihya, I left the store and went to the medical center in Ras Khamis neighborhood. I saw Yihya there. His face and clothes were covered in blood.


A video clip posted online as documentation of the shooting at al-‘Amudi. B’Tselem was unable to obtain the original footage.

Blue sponge round. Photo: Sarit Michaeli, B'TselemSponge rounds have been used by Israel Police for crowd control within Israel and in East Jerusalem since 2006, if not earlier. They came into use following the events of October 2000 and the report of the consequent Orr Commission which resulted in the 2002 prohibition on using rubber-coated metal bullets in Israel and East Jerusalem, except in exigent circumstances. Sponge rounds can be dangerous to vulnerable organs such as the head or the eyes. Until last year, the police used only blue sponge rounds. About a year ago, they began to use black sponge rounds, which are heavier and harder and therefore cause greater injury. Sponge rounds are a relatively precise type of ammunition that can be aimed at less vulnerable body parts. Therefore, if used according to regulations, they should not result in severe injury.

Nevertheless, in recent years the Association for Civil Rights in Israel (ACRI) has documented 17 instances in which police officers fired sponge rounds unlawfully, in blatant breach of regulations, injuring Palestinians in East Jerusalem. On 31 August 2014, an Israeli police officer fired a black sponge round at Muhammad Sunuqrut, 15, in East Jerusalem. The Palestinian teenager was injured and died of his wounds on 4 September 2014. Last week, ACRI reported that yet another Palestinian in East Jerusalem lost his eye after being hit by a sponge round fired by a police officer, while sheltering from clashes taking places in Shu’fat R.C.

In 2011 B’Tselem wrote to the DIP regarding an incident that took place on 6 July 2011, in which a Border Police officer fired a blue sponge round at Ahmad al-Masri, who was standing outside his shop filming Border Police on a main street in al-‘Esawiyah, East Jerusalem. Al-Masri was hit in the eye. The unjustified shooting was captured on al-Masri’s cell phone camera. An investigation was launched in this case, but on 27 November 2011, the DIP informed B’Tselem the case was closed, citing “lack of evidence.”


Video record of firing at al-Mari, filmed by himself, 6 July 2011.

Regulations for police use of black and blue sponge rounds notwithstanding, documentation in recent years by both B’Tselem and ACRI indicates that officers frequently disregard the regulations. Since the black rounds came into use, these breaches have proven lethal. ACRI has written repeatedly to the Attorney General and the Chief of Police, demanding re-examination of the criteria set for permissible use of black sponge rounds, why these rounds are deemed necessary, and to what degree police officers have internalized the relevant regulations and are implementing them in practice. ACRI has not received any adequate response to its letters nor does the situation on the ground appear to have changed in any significant way. When measures are not taken against officers who act unlawfully, the result is lack of accountability, making the next lethal shot merely a matter of time.