Skip to main content
فتًى فلسطينيّ في مظاهرة ضدّ الاعتقالات الإداريّة جرت عند بوّابات سجن عوفر. تصوير أحمد الباز، أكتيفستلز، 19.12.19
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

روتين الاحتلال كانون الأول 2019: أربعة فتية يقبعون في اعتقال مستمر بدون محاكمة

منذ 2015 لا يمر شهر تقريبًا لا تحتجز فيه إسرائيل قاصرين فلسطينيين ضمن الاعتقال الإداري. وهذا بعد مرور أربعة اعوام امتنعت خلالها عن هذا منذ كانون الأول 2011. في شهر نيسان 2016 وصل عدد القاصرين المعتقلين إداريا الى الذروة وكان عددهم 13 معتقلا. ومنذ العام 2017 يتم في معظم الشهور احتجاز ما بين قاصرين اثنين الى أربعة قاصرين في الاعتقال الإداري. في نهاية كانون الأول 2019 كانت مصلحة السجون تحتجز ما لا يقل عن 186 قاصرا فلسطينيا بمثابة معتقلين وسجناء أمنيين ومن بينهم ما لا يقل عن 4 بالاعتقال الإداري. هناك خمسة قاصرين فلسطينيين آخرين يتم احتجازهم بسبب المكوث غير القانوني الذي يُعتبر مخالفة جنائية.

جهاز القضاء العسكري ينتهك بصورة ثابتة حقوق القاصرين الفلسطينيين- وفي الكثير من الحالات يتم اعتقالهم في ساعات متأخرة من الليل ويتم تقييدهم وعصب عيونهم والتحقيق معهم وهم في حالة إعياء وارتباك باستخدام العنف اللفظي والبدني والتهديد. وهذا كله من خلال فصلهم عن روتين حياتهم وبدون مرافقة أفراد أسرهم أو بالغين آخرين من أقاربهم. يلتقي المعتقلون عادة بمحاميهم للمرة الأولى في المحكمة العسكرية وعندها فقط يطلعون على الاتهامات الموجهة لهم. أما إسرائيل وعوضا عن الدفاع عن حقوقهم فقد حرصت على خلق دفاع ظاهري عنهم- من خلال إقامة محكمة عسكرية للشبيبة (التي تعمل فعليا بالأساس في المصادقة على صفقات الادعاء التي يوقع عليها القاصرون وليس في فحص الأدلة وفحص التهمة) وكذلك تقصير فترات الاعتقال حسب القانون (وهي في كل الأحوال غير قابلة للتمديد المرة تلو الأخرى) ومنح الإمكانية (بالحد الأدنى وبموجب استثناءات) لتدخل الوالدين في المحاكمة (وهو ما لا يتم بصورة عامة بحكم انتهاء الإجراءات بصفقة ادعاء).

في الاعتقال الإداري لا يعرف القاصرون ما هي علة اعتقالهم وهنا أيضا تبدو الرقابة القضائية عديمة الجدوى لأن القضاة يصادقون على الأغلبية التامة من طلبات الاعتقال. بالإضافة إلى انتهاك حقوق القاصرين هناك ركن إضافي في الاعتقال الاداري- انعدام اليقين بخصوص موعد الإفراج- إذ يمكن تمديد الاعتقال المرة تلو الأخرى بدون تقييد كما تفعل إسرائيل حقا. إن انعدام اليقين هذا يزيد من معاناة القاصرين المعتقلين وعائلاتهم الذين لا يعرفون متى يمكنهم العودة إلى مسار حياتهم. قام الباحثون الميدانيون في بتسيلم بتسجيل إفادات حول ثلاثة قاصرين من بينهم اثنان يقبعان اليوم في الاعتقال الإداري بينما تم إطلاق سراح الثالث في مستهل شهر كانون الثاني 2020.

قام الباحثون الميدانيون في بتسيلم بتسجيل إفادات حول ثلاثة قاصرين من بينهم اثنان يقبعان اليوم في الاعتقال الإداري بينما تم إطلاق سراح الثالث في مستهل شهر كانون الثاني 2020.

حافظ زيود (16 عاما) جنين

بتاريخ 7.7.2019 تم اعتقال حافظ زيود البالغ من العمر 16 عاما وهو طالب في الصف الثاني عشر في جنين من قبل جهاز الأمن الوقائي التابع للسلطة الفلسطينية. بعد مرور شهر تقريبا جرى خلاله احتجازه في جنين والتحقيق معه تم إطلاق سراحه بتاريخ 9.8.2019. بعد مضي أقل من أسبوعين على ذلك ليلة الاثنين الموافق 26.8.2019 حضر جنود وعناصر من الشرطة إلى منزله. بعد تفتيش المنزل اعتقل الجنود حافظ وأخرجوه من المنزل وقيدوا يديه وعصبوا عينيه وأخذوه معهم. في اليوم التالي أبلغ ضابط شرطة والد حافظ إبراهيم زيود (42 عاما) أن ابنه محتجز في معسكر شومرون (سالم) وأتاح له محادثة قصيرة مع ابنه. بعد مرور أربعة أيام صدر بحق حافظ أمر اعتقال إداري لمدة أربعة أشهر تم تقصيرها إلى ثلاثة أشهر بعد الاستئناف. قبل موعد إطلاق سراحه بعدة أيام صدر بحقه أمر اعتقال إداري آخر لمدة ثلاثة أشهر اضافية. في حال عدم صدور أمر إضافي من المفترض أن يتم إطلاق سراحه من الاعتقال الإداري بتاريخ 24.2.2020.

أما والدة حافظ هبة زيود (35 عاما) وهي متزوجة وأم لأربعة أبناء فقد وصفت مشاعرها في الإفادة التي أدلت بها بتاريخ 26.1.2020 أمام باحث بتسيلم الميداني عبد الكريم السعدي:

حافظ زيود. صورة قدّمتها العائلة مشكورة

حافظ هو ابني البكر وقد تم اعتقاله في نهاية شهر آب ولم نتمكن في الأشهر الأولى من زيارته. مر وقت طويل حتى تمكنا من الحصول على تصريح للوصول إلى سجن مجيدو. زيارتي الأولى مع زوجي كانت في شهر تشرين الثاني. في الليلة التي سبقت يوم الزيارة لم أتمكن من النوم لأنني كنت قلقة وانتظرت بفارغ الصبر رؤيته.

وصلنا إلى سجن مجيدو قرابة الساعة 09:30 صباحا. انتظرنا لمدة ساعة ونصف حتى نادوا على عائلات السجناء للدخول. أحضرنا لحافظ بعض الملابس الداخلية والجوارب وبيجاما ومناشف سمحوا بإدخالها. ذُهلتُ عندما رأيتُ حافظ الذي كان وراء الزجاج ولم أكن أتوقع هذا. لم أكن اعرف أنه لن تتاح لي إمكانية احتضانه أو تقبيله. لقد ساندني زوجي كيلا أبكي أمام ابني. عندما طلبت من حافظ الوقوف كي أرى كيف يبدو شكله قال لي إن رجليه مقيدتان. كيف يمكن تقييد ابني وهو داخل السجن؟

بعد الزيارة التي استمرت 45 دقيقة فقط عدت إلى المنزل وشعرت كأنما هي لحظات فقط. حاولتُ تذكر ملامح حافظ المعتقل دون اتهامه بأي شيء واضح ومحدد.

نظرا للسماح لنا بزيارة حافظ مرة واحدة في الشهر فقد قمنا بزيارته مرتين إضافيتين فقط. الزيارة الأخيرة كانت بتاريخ 6 كانون الثاني. حاليا لا أستطيع زيارته لأنني في الشهر التاسع من الحمل ومن الصعب عليّ السفر. سوف يذهب زوجي لزيارته منفردا في شهر شباط.

أشقاء حافظ يسألون عنه طيلة الوقت. متى سيتم إطلاق سراحه ومتى سيعود إلى المنزل. اعتقاله من قبل أجهزة الأمن الفلسطينية والإسرائيلية فاجأتني كثيرا. لم نحصل على تفسيرات لهذه العقوبات والتي وقعت علينا التي لا تستند الى أي اتهام واضح. كان من المقرر لحافظ هذا العام الانتهاء من امتحانات الدراسة الثانوية. إذا استمروا في اعتقاله فإن هذا سيلحق الضرر بدراسته ومستقبله.

سليمان عبد الرحمن (17 عاما) يبرود

ليلة الخميس الموافق 19.12.2019 اقتحم جنود منزل عائلة عبد الرحمن في قرية يبرود الواقعة شمالي رام الله. أمر الجنود سليمان عبد الرحمن البالغ من العمر 17 عاما بارتداء ملابسه وقاموا بتقييد يديه وعصب عينيه واقتادوه من المنزل دون الإفصاح لعائلته عن المكان الذي يأخذونه إليه.

وقد روى والد سليمان سالم عبد الرحمن (53 عاما) في الإفادة التي أدلى بها أمام باحث بتسيلم الميداني إياد حداد بتاريخ 31.12.2019:

سليمان عبد الرحمن. صورة قدّمتها العائلة مشكورة

بعد أن ذهبوا لم يتمكن أحد منا- أنا وأمه وإخوته وأخواته- من النوم. في الصباح الباكر بدأت سلسلة من الاتصالات. اتصلت بالصليب الأحمر ووزارة شؤون الأسرى ومنظمات حقوق الإنسان للاستفسار عن مصير ابني وكنتُ قلقا للغاية.

فقط في الساعة 14:00 اتصل بي ضابط مخابرات إسرائيلي لم يُعرّف نفسه وأبلغني أن ابني خضع للتحقيق في سجن عوفر وأنه بعد انتهاء التحقيق سيتم عرضه على قاض. سافرت فورا إلى المحكمة في عوفر وهناك كان ينتظرني محام من قبل نادي الأسير. وقد أدخلوني إلى قاعة المداولات لمدة دقيقة كي أتمكن من مشاهدة ابني من بعيد ومن ثم أخرجوني. بدا ابني متعبا. في نهاية المداولة قال لي المحامي إنه تقرر تمديد اعتقاله 72 ساعة أخرى وأنهم ينوون تحويله إلى الاعتقال الإداري بموجب ملف سري. بعد مرور 72 ساعة تم إجراء جلسة أخرى. قال لي المحامي إن الجلسة كانت سريّة وإنهم لم يسمحوا له بالمشاركة فيها. بعد ثمانية أيام انعقدت جلسة أخرى بدون حضور المحامي الذي أخبرني بأنهم لم يبلغوه بها مسبقا وأنهم اتصلوا به لاحقا وابلغوه أن المحكمة صادقت على أمر الاعتقال الإداري لمدة أربعة أشهر وأنهم نقلوا سليمان إلى قسم الشبيبة في سجن عوفر. 

مما أعرفه عن هذا النوع من الاعتقالات يتضح بأنه معتقل بدون تهمة محددة وأنه لا يمكن معرفة موعد الإفراج عنه وأنه بمضي الأشهر الأربعة قد يجددون اعتقاله إداريا. هذا اسوأ نوع من أنواع الاعتقال. تخيل بنفسك هذا الوضع: فتى في هذه السن لا يعرف ما هو مصيره وما الذي سيحدث له في المستقبل. أنا واثق أنه مرتبك وقلق وهذا قد يلحق الضرر بصحته النفسية والبدنية في المستقبل. لغاية الآن لم نر عبد الرحمن ولا نعرف أصلا إن كانوا سيسمحون لنا بزيارته أم لا. هذه الحالة من انعدام اليقين تخنقنا وتزيد من قلقنا. 

سليمان أبو غوش (16 عاما) مخيم قلنديا اللاجئين

سليمان أبو غوش متدرب في صالون حلاقة تم اعتقاله مرتين خلال العام 2019 وفي الحالتين جرى تحويله إلى الاعتقال الإداري لمدة أربعة أشهر في كل مرة. في المرة الأولى في منتصف كانون الثاني 2019 في ساعات الليل وصل الجنود إلى منزل عائلته لكنه لم يكن متواجدا في المنزل وأمروا والده محمد بإحضاره في صباح اليوم التالي إلى حاجز قلنديا. عندما وصل سليمان إلى الحاجز تم احتجازه هناك لمدة ساعتين تقريبا ومن ثم أُطلق سراحه لكن تم استدعاؤه فورا للحضور إلى سجن عوفر. بعد تحقيق قصير تم تحويله وهو مقيد ومعصوب العينين إلى زنازين قسم الشبيبة في سجن عوفر حيث قام السجانون بفك قيوده وإزالة عصبة العينين وتفتيشه وهو بالملابس الداخلية.

وقد روى في الإفادة التي أدلى بها بتاريخ 12.1.2020 أمام باحث بتسيلم الميداني إياد حداد:

سليمان أبو غوش. صورة قدّمتها العائلة مشكورة

بعد يومين أو ثلاثة أيام أخذوني الى التحقيق في جهاز الأمن العام (الشاباك). وقد قام المحقق بأخذ بصماتي وتصوير وجهي. بعد ذلك أجرى لي فحصاً وقال إن هذا فحص DNA دون أن يشرح السبب ومن ثم أعادوني إلى القسم. في اليوم التالي في الساعة 6:30 صباحا قيدوا يديّ وأخذوني إلى غرفة الانتظار في محكمة عوفر. وقد حصلت على وجبة إفطار في غرفة الانتظار- مكونة فقط من علبة لبن وقطعتي خبز.

بدأت الجلسة في الساعة 14:00. شاهدتُ والديّ عن بعد في القاعة لكن لم يسمحوا لي بالاقتراب منهما والتحدث إليهما. كل ما جرى في الجلسة هو قرار القاضي بتأجيل الملف لمدة أسبوع. لم أكن اعرف أصلا ما يدور في الجلسة وما هي التهمة الموجهة إليّ أو لماذا اعتقلوني.

في اليوم التالي تم اقتياد سليمان إلى تحقيق إضافي في الشاباك حيث سُئل لماذا قام بنشر صور أخيه حسين أبو غوش الذي قتل برصاص حارس مستوطنة بيت حورون بتاريخ 25.1.2016 بعد أن قام هو وفلسطيني آخر بطعن مواطنتين إسرائيليتين وقد ماتت إحداهما وهو شلوميت كريجمان في اليوم التالي متأثرة بجراحها. وقد قيل له في التحقيق إنه مشتبه به بتشكيل خطر على أمن الدولة والاتصال بعدو وحيازة أسلحة ومحاولة تنفيذ عمليات وإنه سيتم تمديد اعتقاله لمدة 72 ساعة. في اليوم التالي عقدت جلسة إضافية في المحكمة بدون حضور والديّ سليمان ودون إبلاغهم بانعقادها. وقد قدمت النيابة في هذه الجلسة لائحة اتهام ضده بتهمة التحريض. بعد أن قرر القاضي إطلاق سراحه بكفالة طلبت النيابة العسكرية تمديد اعتقاله لمدة 72 ساعة لغرض إصدار أمر اعتقال إداري ضده. وقد وافق القاضي على تمديد اعتقاله لمدة 48 ساعة.

استمر سليمان أبو غوش في سرد إفادته قائلا:

كانت هناك جلسة أخرى في المحكمة التي قرروا فيها تحويلي للاعتقال الإداري لمدة أربعة أشهر. خلال الجلسة لم أفهم ما الذي يحدث. بعد ذلك اعتذر المحامي وقال لي إنه حاول أن يطلق سراحي لكن على ما يبدو يوجد ملف سري ضدي لا يمكنه الاطلاع عليه. وقد طمأنني أنه نظرا لكوني قاصر من حيث السن فإنهم لا يستطيعون تمديد اعتقالي. بعد ذلك أعادوني إلى قسم الشبيبة.

خلال فترة الاعتقال كنت معظم الوقت مع قاصرين آخرين كانوا معي في القسم. كنا نمارس بعض الألعاب وبعض ساعات الدراسة الثابتة بالعبرية والعربية والرياضيات وغيرها. كنت قلقا ومتوترا طيلة الوقت وكنت أفكر طيلة الوقت لماذا اعتقلوني مع أني فتى. لغاية المحاكمة لم أكن أعلم ما هو الاعتقال الإداري. وقد شرح لي المحامي أن هذا الاعتقال مبني على ملف سري بدون تهم مُحددة وشعرت أنهم ظلموني لأن اعتقالي كان اعتباطيا وبدون أي أساس. رغم أن المحامي حاول تهدئتي بأن الاعتقال لا يتجدد لا يمكنني أن اثق بهذا الكلام.

حضرت أمي وإخوتي لزيارتي ثلاث مرات خلال اعتقالي لكن والدي لم يتمكن من زيارتي بسبب عمله.

بتاريخ 13.5.2019 قاموا بإطلاق سراحي على حاجز بيت سيرا وقد انتظرني أفراد العائلة والأصدقاء هناك وأخذوني إلى المنزل. عدت إلى مسار حياتي الاعتيادي وإلى العمل مع والدي في مكتبة القرطاسيات في رام الله والتدرب في صالون الحلاقة.

بعد مضي أربعة أشهر تقريبا وبتاريخ 4.9.2019 اتصل عنصر من الشاباك بوالد سليمان وأمره بإحضاره إلى سجن عوفر. عند وصوله تم إبلاغ سليمان بأنه سيتم تحويله إلى الاعتقال الإداري. تم تقييده وتفتيشه عاريا ومن ثم تحويله إلى قسم الشبيبة. في اليوم التالي اقتيد سليمان إلى التحقيق في منشأة التحقيق التابعة للشاباك في المسكوبية في القدس وهو مقيد اليدين والرجلين. :

حدّث في إفادته قائلا:

بعد مضي بضع ساعات لا أعرف كم بالضبط بدأت أقلق وأشعر بالخوف لأنني لم أعرف ما الذي يحدث. شعرت بالوحدة كثيرا. كان في غرفة الاعتقال ضوء خافت يوحي بجو مخيف وفرشة وأغطية ولم تكن هناك وسيلة لقضاء الوقت.

بعد ذلك أخذوني إلى التحقيق. وقد سألتني المحققة إن كنتُ أعرف من الموجود هناـ وأجبتها بأنها أختي ميس لأنها اعتقلت بتاريخ 28.8.2019 وكنت أعلم أنها تخضع للتحقيق في المسكوبية. قمتُ بالتوقيع على مستند بالعربية يتضمن تفاصيل حول حقوقي وهذا بعد أن سألوني إن كنت قد سمعتُ عن وقوع عمليات وأجبتُ بالنفي. ثم أعادوني إلى الزنازين. بعد مرور ساعة أو ساعتين أخذوني مرة أخرى إلى التحقيق في الشاباك. وقد قال لي المحقق إنني معتقل إداريا وسألني إن كان لدي سلاح وإذا ما كنتُ أطلقتُ النار ذات مرة على البرج أو بنية تحتية إسرائيلية أو اشتريتُ أو بعتُ السلاح وقد انكرتُ هذا كله. بعد مضي عشر دقائق قاموا بإعادتي إلى الزنزانة.

بعد ذلك نمت ثم استيقظت وقد أخذوني إلى التحقيق للمرة الثالثة. سألني المحقق إن كنتُ أرغب برؤية أختي وأجبتُ بالإيجاب. بعد بضع دقائق أحضروها وسمح لي المحقق باحتضانها وكان وضعها سيئا وكان شعرها منفوشا كأنما شدوها من شعرها بصورة عنيفة وكان وجهها شاحبا وعيونها حمراء وتحت عيونها هالات سوداء وكان يبدو أنها تقف بصعوبة وكان ظهرها ورأسها منحنيا ولم تكن قادرة بالمطلق على الوقوف منتصبة. كان من الواضح أنها مرت بتعذيب وأنهم سببوا لها ألماً كبيرا. عندما احتضنتها لم تتفاعل ولم تحتضنني وقالت لي: "عندما تعود إلى البيت اهتم جيدا بأمي وأبي وإخوتنا". قلت لها: "لن أعود إلى البيت فأنا معتقل وسيعيدونني من هنا إلى سجن عوفر". بدا لي أنها مصدومة كأنما هي مستغربة من اعتقالي. وقد قالت للمحقق: "لقد قلتم لي إنكم لن تعتقلوه" فرد عليها بلا مبالاة: "سوف نعيده إلى عوفر". سألتُ المحقق: "ماذا فعلتم بها؟ لماذا تبدو هكذا؟" وعندها أمروا بإخراجها من الغرفة وبقيت لوحدي. بعد ذلك قام شرطي بإعادتي إلى غرفة الزنازين وبعد مضي نصف ساعة أصعدوني إلى البوسطة وأعادوني إلى سجن عوفر.

بعد ذلك عرفتُ أنني مكثت في المسكوبية لمدة يوم ونصف اليوم. أخذوني في عوفر مرة أخرى إلى التحقيق وعندها قاموا بتمديد اعتقالي لمدة 72 ساعة أخرى. في اليوم التالي أخذوني إلى المحكمة في عوفر لكن لم يتم اتخاذ أي قرار في الجلسة. لم يتواجد أي شخص هناك من أفراد عائلتي. في اليوم التالي سلموني أمر اعتقال إداري لمدة أربعة أشهر.

بعد مضي شهرين أخذوني إلى جلسة استئناف قدمتها مؤسسة الضمير التي طالبت بإطلاق سراحي أو تقصير الاعتقال لمدة ثلاثة أشهر. لم يتم اتخاذ قرار في الجلسة وبعد عودتي إلى قسم الشبيبة في المعتقل أبلغوني بأنه تقرر المصادقة على الاعتقال لمدة أربعة أشهر لكن بدون أن يكون هناك تمديد. وقد زارتني عائلتي مرة واحدة فقط وبتاريخ 2.1.2020 أُطلق سراحي من سجن عوفر.

لا أعرف ما الذي يمكن قوله لكنني أخشى من اعتقالي إداريا مرة أخرى. هذا الأمر بمثابة تهديد لمستقبلي وحياتي.

Skip to main content
Palestinian boy during a protest against administrative detention at the Ofer Prison gate. Photo by Ahmad Al-Bazz, Activestills, 19 Dec. 2019
Menu
From the field
Topics

Occupation routine, December 2019: Four teenagers held for months without trial

Since 2015, hardly a month has gone by without Israel holding Palestinian minors in administrative detention – after the practice was avoided for some four years since December 2011. At the end of April 2016, the number peaked at 13 and since 2017, the average has been two to four a month. At the end of December 2019, the Israel Prison Service was holding at least 186 Palestinian minors as security prisoners or detainees, at least four of them in administrative detention. Five other Palestinian minors were being held for illegally entering Israel, which is considered a criminal offense.

Israel’s military justice system regularly violates the rights of Palestinian minors. They are often arrested in the dead of night, led away handcuffed and blindfolded, and interrogated with physical and verbal violence or threats while they are tired and confused, cut off from their environment and without family members or other adults acting on their behalf. They usually meet their legal counsel for the first time in the military courtroom, and only then hear the charges against them. Instead of upholding their rights, Israel has created a façade of such protection by establishing a military juvenile court (which, in practice, focuses on authorizing plea bargains rather than examining evidence and investigating allegations), by legally shortening the incarceration periods (which can be repeatedly extended anyway), and by giving parents a minimal opportunity, subject to exceptional circumstances, to be involved in the trial (which usually does not take place as the proceedings end with a plea bargain).

In administrative detention, the minors do not even know the allegations against them. The judicial review is meaningless in these cases, too, as the judges sign off on almost all detention requests. The violation of minors’ rights in administrative detention is compounded by uncertainty, as the detention orders can be extended time and again, so detainees never know when they will be released. This ambiguity makes the situation much harder for the minors and their families, as it is unclear when they will be able to go back to their lives. B’Tselem’s field researchers collected testimonies in the cases of three minors, two of whom are still incarcerated and the third was released in early January 2020.

Hafez Zayud, 16, Jenin:

On 7 July 2019, Hafez Zayud, a 16-year-old high-school student from Jenin, was arrested by the Palestinian Authority’s preventive security service. He was held in Jenin for about a month and interrogated before being released on 9 August. Less than two weeks later, on Monday night, 26 August, Israeli soldiers and police officers searched the family home and arrested Hafez, leading him away handcuffed and blindfolded. The next day, a police officer informed his father, Ibrahim Zayud, 42, that Hafez was being held in the Shomron (Salem) camp and let him speak briefly to his son. About four days later, an administrative detention order was issued against Hafez for four months, later reduced to three after an appeal. A few days before his scheduled date of release, Hafez was remanded in administrative detention for another three months. Unless the order is renewed again, he is set to be released on 24 February 2020.

Hafez’s mother, Hiba Zayud, 35, a married mother of four, shared her feelings in a testimony she gave B’Tselem field researcher Abdulkarim Sadi on 26 January 2020:

Hafez Zayud. Photo courtesy of the family

Hafez is my eldest son. He was arrested in late August and for the first few months, we couldn’t even visit him. It took a long time for us to get a permit to visit Megiddo Prison. My husband and I first saw him there in mid-November. I couldn’t sleep the night before, I felt so worried and was so looking forward to seeing him. We got to the prison at around 9:30 A.M. We waited for about an hour and a half until they called the families of the prisoners to come in. We gave Hafez some underwear, socks, pajamas and towels that they let us bring in. When I saw him, I was shocked – he was behind a glass partition, which I hadn’t expected at all. I didn’t know I wouldn’t be able to hug or kiss him.

My husband supported me so I wouldn’t cry in front of our son. When I asked Hafez to stand up so I could get a proper look at him, he said his feet were tied. How could they tie my son’s feet inside the prison itself?

After the visit, which lasted only 45 minutes, I went home feeling like we’d only had a few seconds together. I tried to remember Hafez’s face. He’s being held with no clear charges against him. Because we’re allowed to visit him only once a month, we’ve only seen him twice since then. The last time was on 6 January. I can’t visit him now because I’m nine months pregnant and the journey is too hard. My husband will visit him alone in February.

Hafez’s younger brothers keep asking about him – when he’ll be released, when he’ll come home. I was very surprised when he was arrested by the Palestinian and Israeli security forces. We have been given no explanation for the punishments that suddenly landed on him, with no defined allegations. Hafez was supposed to graduate high-school this year. If they keep him in prison, it will jeopardize his studies and his future.

Suliman ‘Abd a-Rahman, 17, Yabrud:

On Thursday night, 19 December 2019, soldiers entered the ‘Abd a-Rahman family’s home in the village of Yabrud, north of Ramallah. They ordered Suliman ‘Abd a-Rahman, 17, to get dressed and led him away, blindfolded and handcuffed, without telling the family where he was being taken.

Suliman’s father, Salem, 53, related in a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad on 31 December 2019:

Suliman ‘Abd a-Rahman. Photo courtesy of the family

After they left, none of us – his mother, his brothers and sisters, and I – could get back to sleep. I started making phone calls first thing in the morning. I called the Red Cross, the Authority for Prisoners’ Affairs and human rights organizations, to try and find out what happened to my son. I was very worried.

Only at around 2:00 P.M., an Israeli intelligence officer called me and informed me, without giving his name, that my son had been interrogated at Ofer Prison and brought before a judge. I drove straight away to the Ofer court, where a lawyer from the Palestinian Prisoners Club (Nadi al-Asir) was waiting for me. I was allowed into the courtroom for a minute to see my son from afar and then they took me out.

Suliman looked exhausted. When the hearing was over, the lawyer told me he’d been remanded in custody for 72 hours, and that they were going to hold him in administrative detention based on classified material. After the 72 hours were over, another hearing was held. The lawyer said it was in camera and that he wasn’t allowed to participate, either. Eight days later, another hearing was held, again without the lawyer, who told me they hadn’t even given him prior notice. He said they had called him after the fact and told him that the court had authorized an administrative detention order for four months and that Suliman had been transferred to the youth wing at Ofer Prison.

From what I know about administrative detention, I understand he’s being held with no specific charges against him and no certain date of release, because when the four months are up, they can renew the detention order. It’s the worst kind of imprisonment. Imagine a kid that age not knowing what’s going to happen next and what lies ahead. I’m sure he’s worried and confused, which could have a lasting effect on his physical and mental health. We still haven’t seen ‘Abd a-Rahman and have no idea if they’ll even let us visit him. The uncertainty is stifling and making us even more anxious.

Suliman Abu Ghosh, 16, Qalandiya Refugee Camp:

Suliman Abu Ghosh, 16, an apprentice at a hairdressing salon, was arrested twice in 2019 and held in administrative detention for four months each time. The first time, in mid-January, soldiers came to the family home at night, when Suliman was out, and ordered his father, Muhammad, to bring him to Qalandiya checkpoint in the morning. When Suliman went to the checkpoint, he was detained for two hours and released, but then immediately summoned to Ofer Prison. After a brief interrogation, he was taken, blindfolded and handcuffed, to a prison cell at the youth wing, where the guards took off the blindfold and handcuffs and frisked him in his underwear.

In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad on 12 January 2020, Suliman recounted:

Suliman Abu Ghosh. Photo courtesy of the family

Two or three days later, I was interrogated by the Shin Bet. The interrogator took my fingerprints and a mugshot. Then he administered what he called a DNA test with no explanation, and I was taken back to the wing. The next morning, at 6:30, I was handcuffed and taken to the waiting room at the Ofer court, where I was given breakfast – a yoghurt and two slices of bread. At 2:00 P.M., the hearing began. I saw my parents from a distance in the courtroom, but wasn’t allowed to go over and talk to them. The entire hearing consisted of the judge deciding to postpone it for a week. I didn’t even know why it was held, what I was charged with or why I’d been detained.

The next day, in another ISA (Shin Bet) interrogation, Abu Ghosh was asked why he had published photographs of his brother, Hussein, who was shot and killed by the security guard at the settlement of Beit Horon on 25 January 2016 after stabbing two Israeli civilians together with another Palestinian. One of the victims, Shlomit Krigman, succumbed to her wounds the following day. In the interrogation, Abu Ghosh was told that he was suspected of endangering state security, ties with the enemy, possessing weapons and attempts to carry out terror attacks. He was told he would be remanded in custody for 72 hours. The next day, another court hearing was held without his parents being there or even receiving notice, in which the military prosecution indicted Abu Ghosh on charges of incitement. After the judge decided to release him on bail, the prosecution asked to remand him in custody for 72 hours to issue an administrative detention order. The judge agreed to 48 hours.

Abu Ghosh continued in his testimony:

There was another court hearing and I was put in administrative detention for four months. At the hearing, I had no idea what was going on. Afterwards, the lawyer apologized and said he’d tried to get me out, but there was apparently classified information about me that he couldn’t see. He reassured me that because I was a minor, they wouldn’t extend the detention. Then I was taken back to the youth wing.

I spent most of the detention with other minors on the wing. We had games and regular hours for studying Hebrew, Arabic, maths and other subjects. I was very anxious and stressed the whole time. I kept wondering why I was in detention even though I’m just a kid. Until my trial, I didn’t even know what administrative detention was. My lawyer explained that you’re put in prison based on a secret file, with no specific charges. I felt it was unjust, because the detention was arbitrary and unfounded. My lawyer reassured me that the detention order wouldn’t be renewed, but I couldn’t be sure of that.

My mother and brothers visited me in prison three times, but my father couldn’t make it because of his work.

On 13 May 2019, I was released at the Beit Sira checkpoint. My family and friends were waiting for me there and took me home. I went back to my life, working with my father at a stationery shop in Ramallah and as an apprentice at a hair salon.

About four months later, on 4 September 2019, an ISA agent called Muhammad Abu Ghosh and ordered him to bring his son to Ofer Prison. Upon his arrival, Suliman Abu Ghosh was told he was entering administrative detention. He was handcuffed, strip-searched and taken to the youth wing. The next day, Abu Ghosh was interrogated at the ISA facility in the Russian Compound in Jerusalem, with his hands and feet tied.

He recounted:

After a few hours, I don’t know exactly how long, I started getting worried and scared because I didn’t know what was going on. I felt very lonely. The dim lighting in the cell was spooky, and there was no way to pass the time with just a mattress and blankets there. Then I was taken for interrogation. The interrogator asked me whether I knew why I was there. I said it was because of my sister Mais, who was arrested on 28 August 2019 and I knew she’d been interrogated at the Russian Compound. I signed a document in Arabic that detailed my rights, after they asked me if I’d heard about terror attacks and I said I hadn’t. Then they took me back to the cell. An hour or two passed, and then I was taken again for interrogation. The interrogator said I was in administrative detention and asked whether I had a weapon, and whether I’d ever fired at an Israeli tower or infrastructure or bought or sold arms. I denied everything. After about ten minutes, they took me back to the cell.

I fell asleep. When I woke up, I was taken for interrogation again. The interrogator asked whether I wanted to see my sister, and I said yes. A few minutes later, they brought her in and the interrogator let me hug her. She looked terrible. It looked like she’d been dragged by the hair, which was all in a mess. She was pale, with red eyes and black rings under them. She looked like she could barely stand. She was stooped over, with her head down, and couldn’t stand up straight. It was obvious she’d been tortured and was in a lot of pain. When I hugged her, she didn’t respond and didn’t hug me back. She said: “When you get home, take good care of Mom and Dad and everyone”. I said: “I’m not going home. I’m in detention. From here I’ll be taken to Ofer Prison.” She looked shocked, as if it seemed strange to her that I’d been arrested. She said to the interrogator: “You told me you wouldn’t arrest him.” He answered in an indifferent tone of voice: “We’re sending him back to Ofer.” I asked him: “What did you do to her? Why does she look like that?” Then they sent her out of the room and I was left alone. After that, a police officer took me back to the cell. Half an hour later, I was transferred to a police van and taken to Ofer Prison.

I later learned that I’d been at the Russian Compound for a day and a half. At Ofer, they interrogated me again and then remanded me in custody for another 72 hours. The next day I was taken to the courtroom at Ofer, but no decision was made in the hearing. None of my family were there. The day after, I was issued an administrative detention order for four months. Two months later, I was taken to court for a hearing on an appeal filed by the Addameer organization, which demanded my release or reduction of the detention to three months. No decision was made in the hearing itself. After I went back to the youth wing, I was informed that the detention had been authorized for four months, but that it wouldn’t be extended. My family visited me just once, and I was released on 2 January 2020.

I don’t know what to say. I’m scared they’ll put me in administrative detention again. It’s hovering over my entire life and future.