Skip to main content
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

رعاية نظام التصاريح: إسرائيل تمزّق حياة نساء من قطاع غزة وتفصلهن عن أسرهن في الضفة الغربية. قصة أحلام وزياد سالم

أحلام سالم (41 عاماً) في قطاع غزّة وفي العام 1997 تزوّجت من زياد - المقيم في رام الله - وأنجبت خمسة أبناء. في سنوات الزّواج الأولى أقامت الأسرة في الضفة الغربيّة وفي العام 2006 حين سيطرت حركة حماس بحُكم قطاع غزّة كانت أحلام في زيارة لعائلتها هناك. وحيث أغلقت إسرائيل المعابر في أعقاب ذلك تعذّر على أحلام العودة إلى منزلها في رام الله وباءت بالفشل جميع محاولاتها ومحاولات زوجها في هذا الشأن. النتيجة هي أنّ أحلام منفصلة قسريّاً عن زوجها وتقيم مع الأولاد الخمسة في عزبة بيت حانون في قطاع غزّة بينما يقيم الأب في رام الله. عن ذلك تحدّث أحلام: 

أقيم في عزبة بيت حانون في شقّة في أبراج العودة مع أولادي الخمسة وهم أحمد (23 عاماً) ومحمد (20 عاماً) وماريّا (18 عاماً) ومحمود (14 عاماً) وعطا (سنتان). قدّمت طلبات كثيرة للعودة إلى رام الله لكي أتمكّن من السّكن مع زوجي في منزلنا ولكنّني لم أحصل على تصريح في أيّة مرّة. لا يريد زياد العودة إلى القطاع لأنّه عندئذٍ سيفقد عمله في الضفة في حين يصعب جدّاً العثور على عمل في القطاع. هذا إضافة إلى أنّ عائلته في رام الله ناهيك عن أنّ المرأة هي التي تتبع الرّجل وفقاً للتقاليد. قدّمنا طلبات كثيرة لكنّ إسرائيل رفضت قطعيّاً الموافقة عليها وفي النهاية توقّفنا عن تقديم الطلبات. لم يرَ أولادي أباهُم منذ سنين وهذا أمر صعب جدّاً. 

أحلام سالم وأولادها. تصوير: محمد صباح، بتسيلم، 3.3.21

في العام 2010 تمكّن زياد من دخول قطاع غزّة عن طريق معبر رفح وأقام مع أسرته طيلة سنة. وحيث لم يتمكّن من العثور على عمل في القطاع بسبب تدهوُر الوضع الاقتصاديّ نتيجة للحصار الإسرائيليّ اضطرّ أن يفارق أسرته ويعود إلى الضفة الغربيّة. عن ذلك يقول زياد سالم:

عندما التأم شملنا واجتمعنا سويّة فرحت زوجتي والأولاد كثيراً - شعرنا كأنّما هبة هبطت علينا من السّماء. يصعب أن أصف هذا الشعور وأن أشرح ماذا يعني أن تجتمع مرّة أخرى مع أحبّتك بعد فراق طويل وأن تستطيع غمرهم بحبّك أخيراً. لكنّها كانت فرحة ناقصة لأنّني كنت عاطلاً عن العمل ولم أتمكّن من إعالة أسرتي هناك.

بعد مضيّ شهرين قرّرت العودة إلى الضفة الغربيّة ولكن لم أفعل ذلك بسبب إغلاق المعابر بين قطاع غزّة ومصر. كانت أسرة زوجتي متكفّلة بمعيشتنا وأحسست أنّنا أصبحنا عبئاً عليهم وكان هذا يشعرني بالمرارة. ندمت على اليوم الذي عُدت فيه إلى قطاع غزّة. لا يوجد أصعب من الشعور بالعجز عن إعالة أسرتك وإحساسك كأنّك تتلقّى صدقة وكلّ ما كنت أملكه في تلك الأيّام هو كرامتي. بعد مضيّ سنة فُتحت المعابر وتمكّنت من العودة إلى رام الله ولكن حتى هناك تصعّبت في العثور على عمل. عملت بشكل متقطّع وكانت والدتي تدعمني ماليّاً قدر استطاعتها. كان علينا أن نعيل في ذلك الوقت أسرتين في غزة: أسرتي وأسرة أخي.

نهاية المطاف وجدت عملاً في مجال التبريد والتدفئة ومؤخّراً أصبحت مدير قسم وأتلقى راتباً جيّداً. نتيجة لذلك تحسّن وضعنا الاقتصاديّ ولكنّ أسرتنا بقيت مشتّتة وتتواصل فقط عبر الهاتف ووسائل التواصُل الاجتماعيّ. نحن نسعى كلّ الوقت ونبحث عن طرق ليلتئم شمل الأسرة من جديد أو على الأقلّ أن تحصل زوجتي أو أحد الأولاد على تصريح لزيارتي.

في العام 2018 حصلت أحلام على تصريح دخول كمرافقة لوالدتها المريضة حيث تقرّر إجراء عمليّة جراحيّة لها في رام الله. هكذا استطاعت أن تلتقي بزوجها بعد فراق استمرّ ثماني سنوات. أدناه تصف أحلام لقاءها بزوجها:

عادت أمّي إلى قطاع غزّة بعد انتهاء العلاج وبقيت أنا في رام الله طيلة سنة. كنت في غاية السّرور لأنّني اجتمعت أخيراً بزوجي بعد فراق دام ثماني سنوات. عندئذٍ تيقّنت كم تنقصني الحياة الأسريّة وأصبح بمقدوري تخيّل حياة مستقرّة وآمنة ملؤها الفرح مع زوجي والأولاد. لكنّ الأولاد بقوا في قطاع غزّة وشوقي إليهم كان صعباً عليّ فعُدت إلى القطاع ودخلت من جديد في دوّامة المعاناة والاشتياق لزوجي الذي تركته في رام الله. قدّمت مراراً وتكراراً طلبات تصريح ولكنّهم رفضوها أو لم يردّوا عليها. نحن الآن نتواصل فقط عبر الهاتف. 

>هذه القطيعة القسريّة صعبة عليّ جدّاً وأصعب بكثير على الأولاد الذين لم يعودوا يعرفون ما معنى الحياة كأُسرة. أضطرّ لتلبية كلّ احتياجاتهم وحدي وأيضاً أساعدهم على التعامل مع الصعوبات الدراسيّة. أنا بمثابة أمّ وأب لهُم في آن واحد. هذا مُتعب جدّاً. لقد مللت من هذه الحياة. أتمنّى أن تحلّ هذه المشكلة فنتمكّن من العودة إلى رام الله والعيش معاً كأسرة عاديّة. أسرتنا مشتّتة منذ سنوات طويلة وما نريده أمرٌ في غاية البساطة: فقط أن نعيش مثل بقيّة الأسر.

أدناه يتحدّث زياد عن معاناتهما كزوجين في هذه الفترة، وعن قسوة الافتراق مجدّداً: 

زياد سالم. تصوير: إياد حداد، بتسيلم

خلال السّنة التي قضتها زوجتي معي في رام الله كنّا نخرج في نزهات وقد تجوّلنا كثيراً وزُرنا العائلة والأصدقاء - حاولت أن أعوّضها قدْر الإمكان. كنّا على تواصُل مع أبنائنا وبناتنا وكانوا معظم الأحيان على ما يُرام سوى أنّ الاشتياق كان ينغّص عليهم كثيراً. بعد سنة عادت أحلام لتكون مع الأولاد كما أنّها كانت حاملاً وأرادت ان تلد هناك لتكون عائلتها قربها بعد الولادة. 

دنا إلى الوضع السّابق: فراق وأشواق وتواصُل عبر الهاتف. وُلد ابني عطا بعد عودة زوجتي إلى قطاع غزة وأنا لم أحظ بحمله أو احتضانه ولو مرّة واحدة. هذه حياة يصعب وصفها حتى. إنّها أصعب من حياة الأسير لأنّه يعلم أنّه محكوم عليه العيش هكذا لفترة محدّدة أمّا أنا فلا أعلم كم سيستمرّ هذا الظلم وكم سيدوم شتات أسرتنا وفراقي عن زوجتي وأولادي. 

أنا أتعذّب جرّاء ذلك كلّ يوم من الصّباح وحتى المساء. يصعب عليّ كثيراً أن أرى أبناء جيراننا يعيشون مع آبائهم وأمّهاتهم يلعبون معهم ويخرجون معهم للنّزهة. كلّما رأيت هذا المشهد يخطر أولادي في ذهني وأفكّر كم أنا بعيد عنهم ويطغى عليّ الشوق إليهم. أتمنّى أن أقضي الوقت معهم في الأعياد وأن آخذهم إلى السّوق وأشتري لهم الهدايا ونذهب للتنزّه معاً. كلّ هذه السّنين تمرّ وأنا لا أقدر على رؤية أولادي، كلّ هذا الفراق وهذا البُعد وبيننا سفر أربعين دقيقة فقط. هذا ظلم فاحش.

علاوة على ذلك هُم يقيمون في عزبة بيت حانون وهو موقع محفوف بالأخطار لأنّ إسرائيل تستهدف المنازل هناك بالقصف كلّما شنّت حربًا على القطاع. كلّما سمعت عن قصف أفقد عقلي من شدّة القلق. نحن بالطبع نتواصل هاتفيّاً طوال الوقت ولكنّه وضع مُرعب لا أتمنّاه لأحد. 

لقد تعبت كثيراً من هذا الوضع وأسأل الله أن يفرّج كرْبنا. كلّ مُرادي من هذه الدّنيا أن أجتمع بأفراد أسرتي أن أحتضنهُم وأن نعيش معاً كأيّ أسرة عاديّة.

Skip to main content
Menu
From the field
Topics

Under the guise of the permit system: Israel separates women living in Gaza from their families in the West Bank. The story of Ahlam and Ziad Salem

Ahlam Salem (41), a mother of five, was born and raised in the Gaza Strip. In 1997, she married Ziad, a resident of Ramallah, and lived in the West Bank with him. In 2006, while she was visiting her family in Gaza, Hamas took over the Gaza Strip, and Israel closed the crossings. The couple’s repeated attempts to have Ahlam move back to Ramallah have failed, and she has remained in ‘Izbat Beit Hanun in the Gaza Strip with her five children, away from her husband and their father. In her testimony, she recounted:

I live in an apartment in the al-‘Awadah towers in ‘Izbat Beit Hanun with my five children: Ahmad (23), Muhammad (20), Maria (18), Mahmoud (14), and ‘Ata (2). I submitted many requests to return to Ramallah, so I could live with my husband in our home, but I never got the permit. Ziad doesn’t want to come back to the Gaza Strip because he would lose his job in the West Bank, and it’s very hard to find a job in the Gaza Strip. Besides, his family is in Ramallah, and according to tradition, the wife follows the husband. We submitted many requests, but Israel refused even to receive them. In the end, we stopped submitting. My children haven’t seen their father in years, and it’s a terrible situation. 

Ahlam Salem and her children. Photo by Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem

In 2010, Ziad managed to enter Gaza through Rafah Crossing and live with his family for a year, but he was not able to find work due to the severe economic situation created by Israel’s blockade. He was forced to return to the West Bank:

My wife and children were ecstatic, and we felt like we’d received a gift from heaven. It’s hard to describe the feeling and explain what it was like to be together again with your loved ones after so long, and finally give them love. But the joy was incomplete because I didn’t have a job, and we had no way to make a living.

After about two months, I decided to go back to the West Bank, but the crossings between Gaza and Egypt were closed. I felt like we were becoming a burden on my wife’s family, who were providing for us. I became bitter and regretted the day I returned to Gaza. It’s a terrible feeling when you can’t provide for your family, and you feel like you’re getting charity. In those days, my self-respect was the only thing I had left. After a year, when the crossings opened, I managed to return to Ramallah. I couldn't find work there, either and worked irregularly. My mother helped me financially as much as she could. We needed to support two families in Gaza, mine and my brother’s.

In the end, I found a job in the air conditioning field. I recently became a department manager and earn a good salary. Although our financial situation has improved, our family has remained split. Our only contact is by phone and social media. We’re always looking for ways to live together again, or at least for my wife and kids to get permits to visit me.

In 2018, Ahlam’s mother had to undergo surgery in Ramallah. Ahlam received a permit to accompany her and was able to see her husband for the first time in eight years. Ahlam described the reunion:

After the treatment, my mother went back to Gaza, and I stayed in Ramallah for about a year. After eight years of being apart, we were finally together again. I was overjoyed and felt how much I had missed family life. I could imagine a stable, secure life with a lot of joy, with my husband and the kids.

But the kids stayed in Gaza, and I missed them terribly. After a year, I returned to Gaza, and then the suffering and the longing for my husband in Ramallah started again. I made more applications for permits, but they were either unanswered or rejected. We only stay in touch by phone.

The separation is hard for me, and even more so for the kids, who don't know what family life is like anymore. I have to take care of all their needs alone, help them deal with learning difficulties at school, and be both their mother and their father. It’s exhausting. I’m sick of living like this. I hope this situation will get solved, and we can return to Ramallah and live like a normal family. Our family has been torn apart for many years. We just want to live like any other family.

Ziad described living together as a couple during this period and the unbearable difficulty of being separated again:

We walked around, traveled, and visited family and friends. I tried to make it up to her as much

Ziad Salem. Photo by Iyad Hadad, B’Tselem

as possible. We were constantly in touch with our sons and daughters. They were fine most of the time, but they missed us, and it was very hard on them. After a year in Ramallah, Ahlam went back to them. She had also become pregnant and wanted to be with her family after the birth.

We went back to the previous situation: longing, separation, and talking on the phone. I’ve never met or held my youngest son, ‘Ata, who was born in Gaza after my wife returned. It’s hard to describe this life. It’s harder than a prisoner's life because he knows how many years he has left to live like that, while I have no idea how long this injustice will last. I don’t know how long I’ll be torn from my wife and kids.  

It torments me all day long. It’s especially hard for me to see the neighbors’ sons living with their parents, who spend time with them and play with them. Every time I see that, I think about my kids and being away from them and miss them so much. I also want to spend the holidays with them, take them to the market, buy them presents, spend time with them. The distance between us is only a 40 minute drive, but I haven’t been able to see them for many years. It’s a terrible injustice.