الكاميرا تغير الواقع

 

منذ أكثر من عقدين تقوم بتسيلم بنشر افادات مكتوبة وتقارير شاملة وأخبارًا جارية تتعلق بانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الاراضي المحتلة. إلا أنّ قوة الكلمات عند وصف الحقائق تتعاظم عشرات الأضعاف عندما تكون مصحوبة بصورة. فصورة واحدة –حتى لو كانت ضبابية ومهتزّة- تنقل تجربة مُعاشَة بشكل مباشر ممّا يزيد من صعوبة تجاهلها. الصورة تُلزم المشاهد على النظر مباشرة صوب الواقع الصعب السائد في الاراضي المحتلة، وتقوم بفتح نافذة باتجاه روتين الحياة اليوميّ للفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون تحت الاحتلال.

في العام 2005 أسّس بتسيلم قسم الفيديو كي يتسنى دمج الصور في عملية توثيق انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الاراضي المحتلة. وقد بدأ هذا القسم بإنتاج أفلام وثائقية قصيرة ونشرها بين متصفحي الانترنت. في العام 2007 دشّن القسم "مشروع الكاميرات", الذي يقوم بتسيلم في إطاره بتوفير كاميرات فيديو للفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون في المناطق المُعرّضة للمواجهات في الاراضي المحتلة، كجزء من النهج المتزايد في عالم "الصحافة المدنية" . وعبر هذا، يسعى بتسيلم لمساعدة الفلسطينيين الذين يقطنون الضفة الغربية والقدس الشرقية وقطاع غزة على طرح الواقع الذي يعيشونه ولفت انتباه الجمهور الإسرائيلي والدولي، والكشف عن الانتهاكات اللاحقة بحقوقهم، من أجل إصلاح الوضع.

من وقتها، تحوّل التوثيق بالفيديو إلى ركيزة أساسية في عمل بتسيلم. وبفضل المقاطع التي صوّرها متطوّعو "الرد بالتصوير"، حظيت انتهاكات صعبة لحقوق الإنسان وقعت في الاراضي المحتلة بصدًى كبير في الإعلام الإسرائيليّ والدوليّ ، وقامت بتركيز محور الاهتمام في مظاهر وحالات لم تكن لتظهر للعيان ربما لولا وجود الكاميرا. كما أنّ المقاطع المُصوّرة تُستخدم كأدلة حيوية في المراحل المختلفة من عمل بتسيلم أمام السلطات من أجل القيام بمحاسبة انتهاكات ومنتهكي حقوق الإنسان، محاسبة فعالة.

مع الوقت، بدأ بتسيلم بالبحث عن طرق أخرى للتعبير عن صوت الفلسطينيين وجلبه أمام الجمهور الإسرائيلي، ليس كضحايا لانتهاك حقوقهم، فحسب، بل كبشر يجدر سماع وجهة نظرهم المُركّبة والمعقدة، من بين سائر وجهات النظر في إسرائيل. وفي هذا الإطار، قمنا في العام 2010 بإنتاج مشروع "غزة- نظرة من الداخل", الذي يستحضر وجهات نظر من فلسطينيين مختلفين من قطاع غزة، تتعلق بحيواتهم بعد مضي سنة واحدة على حملة "الرصاص المصبوب" على قطاع غزة. في العام 2011 أُنتج مشروع "القدس الشرقية- ستة أصوات" بالتعاون مع صحيفة "غارديان" البريطانية، حيث قام في إطاره إسرائيليان وأربعة فلسطينيين بتصوير يوميات فيديو شخصية حول عراك الحياة اليومي في القدس الشرقية

 

أرشيف الفديو

يُدير قسم الفيديو أرشيفًا غنيًا ومتميزًا وهو مُتاح لخدمة الجمهور. يحوي الأرشيف آلاف الساعات من المواد المصورة والشهادات ومواد مصورة من أماكن مختلفة من الاراضي المحتلة، وهو يخدم السينمائيين والإعلاميين والأكاديميين وطلاب الجامعات وأيّ شخص معنيّ بدراسة واقع الحياة تحت الاحتلال. لزيارة الأرشيف الرجاء الاتصال عبر: lior@btselem.org

في شهر كانون الثاني 2007، دشنت بتسيلم مشروع "الرد بالتصوير " الذي قامت المنظمة في إطاره بتزويد كاميرات الفيديو للفلسطينيين الذين يسكنون في المناطق التي تقع فيها المواجهات في المناطق المحتلة. إن المشروع يهدف إلى تمكين الفلسطينيين من نقل واقع حياتهم تحت الاحتلال ولفت انتباه الجمهور في إسرائيل والعالم والكشف عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان بحقهم والمطالبة بتصحيح الأوضاع.

A Camera Changes Reality

One video, even if blurred, transmits a direct experience that cannot be ignored. The video compels the observer to see the harsh reality in the Occupied Territories and opens a small window into the lives of Palestinians under occupation.

For more than 20 years, B'Tselem has published testimonies and comprehensive reports describing human rights violations in the Occupied Territories. Clearly, the effect and power of the written word in these publications is greatly enhanced when videos are attached. One video, even if blurred, transmits a direct experience that cannot be ignored. The video compels the observer to see the harsh reality in the Occupied Territories and opens a small window into the lives of Palestinians under occupation.

In 2005, B'Tselem established a video department in order to integrate film in the organization’s documentation of human rights violations in the Occupied Territories. The department produced short videos documenting events and posted the videos on its website. In 2007, B'Tselem launched its camera project, in which the organization distributes video cameras to Palestinians living in areas in the West Bank, East Jerusalem, and the Gaza Strip where clashes between Israelis and Palestinians are common. The project is a form of “citizen journalism,” a phenomenon that has been growing around the world. By this means, B'Tselem seeks to aid Palestinians to bring the reality in which they live to the attention of the Israeli and international public, and to expose human rights violations and subsequently bring about improvement in the human rights situation there.

Video documentation soon became a central component of B'Tselem’s work. Footage of severe human rights violations filmed by project volunteers has been broadcast widely in Israel and abroad and has directed attention to phenomena that would probably have been overlooked were a camera not present. The footage also provides vital evidence in the context of complaints B'Tselem files with the authorities in its effort to ensure that human rights violators are held accountable for their actions.

As time passed, B'Tselem sought to find additional ways to bring the voice of Palestinians to the Israeli public, not only as victims of human rights violations, but also as persons whose complex perspective should be heard among the variety of voices sounded in Israel. Toward this end, in 2010, B'Tselem produced “Gaza– An Inside Look,” which offers different perspectives of Palestinians in the Gaza Strip about their lives in the wake of Operation Cast Lead. In 2011, B'Tselem produced East Jerusalem – Six Voices” in cooperation with the British newspaper The Guardian. In this web documentary series, two Israelis and four Palestinians kept a video diary on their personal daily struggle in living inEast Jerusalem.

Video Archive

The Video Department has an extensive and unique video archive that is available to the public. The archive contains thousands of hours of raw material, testimonies, and footage from various places in the Occupied Territories, and is used by filmmakers, media people, academics, students, and any person who wants to learn the reality of life under occupation.

To arrange a visit to the archive, please contact Helen Yanovsky at helen@btselem.org

Please take a look at our archive regulations prior to yout visit!

TIME.com video with B'Tselem camera volunteers

NBC Nightly News about B'Tselem camera project

In January 2007, B'Tselem launched its camera distribution project, a video advocacy project. We provide Palestinians living in high-conflict areas with video cameras, with the goal of bringing the reality of their lives under occupation to the attention of the Israeli and international public.

B’Tselem and the Guardian gave six Palestinians and Israelis cameras to create video diaries of their lives in occupied East Jerusalem, under the shadow of the settlement enterprise.