Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

التنكيل بالمعتقلين والتعذيب هي وسائل غير أخلاقية وغير قانونية

نُشر في الأيام الأخيرة في وسائل الإعلام أنه تم اعتقال مواطنين إسرائيليين للاشتباه باحراق بيت عائلة دوابشة، في قرية دوما بتاريخ 31/7/2015، الذي مات فيها محروقا الطفل علي، عمره عام ونصف، وأصيب والداه بجراح بالغة، سعد وريهام، وقد لقيا حتفهما لاحقا جراء إصاباتهم. أما ابنهما أحمد، وعمره أربعة أعوام، فما يزال يعالج في مستشفى بإسرائيل.

מניעת שינה, אחד ה
منع النوم، احدى "الوسائل الخاصة"، رسم: يشاي ميشوري.

يتضح من بعض القرارات في المحكمة العليا أنه تم اعتقال أربعة أشخاص، من بينهم قاصران اثنان، في نهاية شهر تشرين الثاني أو مستهل كانون الأول. وقد منع جهاز الامن العام (الشاباك) من المعتقلين اللقاء مع محاميهم منذ اعتقالهم ولغاية 13/12/2015 على الأقل. وقد تم تمديد منع اللقاء المرة تلو الأخرى ببضعة أيام وتمت المصادقة على ذلك من قبل المحكمة المركزية والمحكمة العليا.

وقد أبلغت وسائل الإعلام أن محققي جهاز الامن العام (الشاباك) يواجهون صعوبة في التحقيق مع المشتبه بهم بعملية الحرق، وهي صعوبة قد تقودهم، بصورة نادرة، إلى إتباع "وسائل خاصة" في التحقيق مع المشتبه بهم اليهود. مصطلح "وسائل خاصة" لا يتضمن فقط منع اللقاء مع محام بل هو اسم رمزي لمجموعة من وسائل التنكيل البدني والنفسي التي تهدف كلها إلى كسر معنويات المعتقلين. إن استعمال هذه الوسائل، خاصة عندما يدمج المحققون بعض هذه الوسائل ولمدة زمنية متواصلة، يشكل تعذيبا. وكما يتضح من عدد من التقارير التي نشرتها بتسيلم وهموكيد مركز الدفاع عن الفرد، فإن جهاز الامن العام (الشاباك) يستعمل هذه الوسائل بصورة روتينية وممنهجة ضد آلاف الفلسطينيين الذين يتم التحقيق معهم للاشتباه بتنفيذ مخالفات أمنية في مستويات مختلفة من الخطورة.

إن قرار المحكمة بالاستمرار في منع لقاء القاصرين المشتبه بهم مع محاميهم يقوي الاشتباه بان جهاز الامن العام (الشاباك) ينوي حقا استعمال هذه الوسائل: بناء على تجربة بتسيلم بخصوص الفلسطينيين الذين تم التحقيق معهم، فإن منع اللقاء مع محام ليس فقط وسيلة بحد ذاتها للضغط على من يتم التحقيق معه. إن مجرد الانقطاع عن العالم الخارجي يتيح للمحققين استعمال سلسلة من الوسائل التي تشكل تنكيلا وتعذيبا دون أن تكون هناك رقابة خارجية. إن الضغط الذي تتم مارسته على من يتم التحقيق معه نتيجة هذه الوسائل يؤدي في الغالب إلى اعتراف من يتم التحقيق معه بما ينسب اليه، حتى لو كان الاعتراف خاويا، من أجل إنهاء التنكيل.

إن التنكيل بالمعتقلين وتعذيبهم هي وسائل غير أخلاقية وغير قانونية. قبل 16 عاما حددت محكمة العدل العليا أن محققي جهاز الامن العام (الشاباك) لا يمتلكون صلاحية استعمال وسائل التحقيق البدنية خلال التحقيق وحظرت عليهم استعمال سلسلة من الوسائل التي تم تداولها في إطار الالتماس. وقد سمح القضاة للمحققين باستعمال العنف خلال التحقيق في الحالات الشاذة. خلال السنوات الماضية بلور جهاز الامن العام (الشاباك) نظام تحقيقات بديل، يتضمن هو الآخر التنكيل البدني والنفسي بمن يتم التحقيق معهم، بما في ذلك الانقطاع المستمر عن العالم الخارجي واستعمال ظروف الاعتقال القاسية كوسائل لتفعيل الضغط.

يتم التحقيق مع آلاف الفلسطينيين بصورة روتينية في إطار نظام التحقيقات البديل وهم يتعرضون للإذلال والتنكيل والتعذيب. لا يدور الحديث عن تجاوز للأنظمة من قبل هذا المحقق أو ذاك، بل عن نظام تحقيقات يتم تطبيقه بدعم من جميع السلطات في الدولة، ومن بينها نيابة الدولة والمحكمة العليا.

حتى لو نجحت السلطات في تخليص اعترافات من المشتبه بهم بخصوص مسئوليتهم وضلوعهم في مقتل أبناء عائلة دوابشة، فإن الأمر لن يدفع قدما بتطبيق القانون بصورة شاملة على المستوطنين العنيفين. وهذا لأن السلطات تمتنع بصورة ممنهجة عن فرض القانون على المستوطنين العنيفين الذين مسوا بالفلسطينيين أو يخططون للمس بهم. الغالبية الساحقة من الشكاوى التي يتقدم بها الفلسطينيون في هذا الشأن يتم إغلاقها فيما تمتنع الشرطة عن القيام بعمليات تحقيق أساسية ولا يعمل الجيش على اعتقال المستوطنين الذين يمسون بالفلسطينيين وممتلكاتهم في الميعاد.

إن حرق بيت عائلة دوابشة بسكانه هو عمل من بين أكثر الأعمال العنيفة والمروعة التي نفذها مواطنون إسرائيليون ضد الفلسطينيين. يجب على السلطات المسئولة عن فرض القانون تفكيك هذا العمل وتقديم الجناة للعدالة. غير أنه يحظر عليها القيام بواجبها هذا من خلال انتهاك حقوق المشتبه بهم. وعليه ينبغي للسلطات أن تتيح للمشتبه بهم بحرق بيت عائلة دوابشة اللقاء مع محاميهم بأسرع ما يمكن والتحقيق معهم دون تنكيل أو أساليب تحقيق ممنوعة.

ينبغي على السلطات أن تلغي الحظر الخاص بلقاء المحامي المفروض على الفلسطينيين الذين يتم التحقيق معهم والتوقف عن نظام التنكيل والتعذيب المستعمل بصورة روتينية ضد الفلسطينيين الذين يتم التحقيق معهم.

Abuse and torture of detainees are immoral and illegal measures

Published: 
15 Dec 2015

According to recent media reports, several Israelis have been arrested on suspicion of torching the home of the Dawabsheh family in the Palestinian village of Duma on 31 July 2015. ‘Ali Dawabsheh, one and a half years old, was burned to death in the fire and his parents, Sa’ed and Riham, were seriously injured; they later died of their wounds. The family’s other son, four-year-old Ahmad, is still hospitalized in Israel.

Sleep deprivation, one of the “special measures”. Illustration by Ishai Mishory
Sleep deprivation, one of the “special measures”. Illustration by Ishai Mishory

Several decisions by Israel’s Supreme Court indicate that the four people, two of them minors, were arrested at the end of November or early December 2015. The Israel Security Agency (ISA) has kept the four detainees from meeting with their attorneys from the time of their arrest until at least 13 December 2015. Requests to keep holding them without legal counsel were repeatedly authorized every few days by the District Court and the Supreme Court.

The media reported that ISA interrogators are making little headway in the interrogation of the suspected arsonists, an obstacle that may lead to the adoption of “special measures”, a rarity in interrogating Jewish suspects. The term “special measures” is not limited to the preventing legal counsel: it is a code name for a variety of physical and mental abuse techniques, all designed to break a detainee’s spirit. Use of these techniques, especially when interrogators employ them in combination and for lengthy periods, amounts to torture. As shown in several reports issued by B’Tselem and HaMoked: Centre for the Defence of the Individual, the ISA routinely and systematically uses these techniques to interrogate thousands of Palestinians suspected of committing security offenses of varying severity.

The Supreme Court’s decision to continue barring the suspects who are minors from meeting their attorneys reinforces the suspicion that the ISA intends to use “special methods” in this case. In view of B’Tselem’s past findings with regard to Palestinian detainees, preventing meetings with legal counsel is more than a stand-alone measure for pressuring a detainee. Isolating the detainee from the outside world serves interrogators in enabling them to use a variety of techniques that constitute abuse and even torture without being subject to any external monitoring. The pressure resulting from this kind of interrogation often causes detainees to confess to allegations, even falsely, just so the abuse will come to an end.

Abuse and torture of detainees are immoral and illegal measures. Sixteen years ago, Israel’s High Court of Justice ruled that ISA interrogators do not have the authority to use physical means of interrogation and prohibited the use of various techniques mentioned in the petition. The justices did grant permission to use violence during interrogation in extreme cases. Since that ruling, the ISA has formulated an alternative system of interrogation that still involves physical and mental abuse of detainees under questioning, including cutting them off from outside world for long periods of time and exerting pressure by holding them in rough conditions. Thousands of Palestinians are regularly interrogated under this alternative system, in which they are subjected to humiliation, abuse and torture. It is not a case of individual interrogators deviating from regulation, but a system of interrogation implemented with the backing of all state authorities, including the State Attorney’s Office and the Supreme Court.

Even if the authorities do succeed in getting the suspects in the Duma torching case to confess to their involvement and responsibility for killing members of the Dawabsheh family, this will not help promote law enforcement against violent settlers on the whole, as authorities systematically refrain from enforcing the law in cases of settlers who harm or intend to harm Palestinians. The majority of complaints filed by Palestinians concerning settler violence have come to nothing, as the police usually do not carry out even the basics of rudimentary investigations and the military does not act in real time to detain settlers harming Palestinians or their property.

Burning down the Dawabsheh home when the family was at home was one of the most horrific acts of violence committed by Israeli citizens against Palestinians. Law enforcement authorities must solve this crime and prosecute the offenders. However, they must not violate suspects’ rights in the interest of fulfilling this duty. Accordingly, authorities must allow the individuals suspected of torching the Dawabsheh family home to meet with their attorneys as soon as possible, and must carry out their interrogation without resorting to abuse or to prohibited interrogation techniques.

Authorities must also rescind the prohibition on meeting attorneys currently imposed on all Palestinian detainees undergoing interrogation, and must end the systemic abuse and torture routinely used against them.