Skip to main content
خربة سوسيا، جنوب الخليل: قرية كاملة تحت خطر الهدم. تصوير: إن بك، أكتيف ستيلز، 15.6.2012
Menu
المواضيع

خربة سوسيا

خلفيّة

تقع قرية خربة سوسيا الفلسطينية جنوبي جبال الخليل، منذ سنوات الثلاثين من القرن التاسع عشر. وقد اعتاش أهلها على رعي المواشي وزراعة أشجار الزيتون. في عام 1983 أقيمت بجوار القرية مستوطنة سوسيا على أراض فلسطينية جرى الإعلان عنها أراضيَ دولة. وفي عام 1986 بلغ عدد العائلات التي سكنت خربة سوسيا، في المباني والمُغر، قرابة 25 عائلة. وفي تلك السنة أعلنت الإدارة المدنية عن منطقة القرية "موقعًا أثريًا"، ثم صودرت الأراضي "لأغراض عامة" وطرد الجيش الإسرائيلي سكانها من بيوتهم. ودون وجود أي خيار، انتقلت العائلات إلى مُغر أخرى في المنطقة وإلى خيم وعرائش أقاموها على أراض زراعية تبعد بضعة مئات الأمتار جنوبي-شرقي القرية الأصلية والموقع الأثريّ. في تموز 2001، وبعد فترة قصيرة على قتل فلسطينيين ليئير هار سيناي، من سكان مستوطنة سوسيا، قامت قوات الجيش الإسرائيلي بطرد سكان القرية مجدّدًا، لتكون هذه آخر مرّة من ضمن مرّات عديدة. وقد جرت عملية الطرد بلا تحذير حيث هدم الجنود خلالها ممتلكات السكان ودمروا المغر وسدّوا آبار المياه. وفي أعقاب التماس إلى المحكمة العليا قدّمه سكان القرية بواسطة المحامي شلومو ليكر، أصدرت المحكمة في أيلول 2001 أمرًا مؤقتًا منع استمرار الهدم إلى حين البتّ في الالتماس.

في السنوات التي تلت ذلك، وفيما كان الالتماس عالقًا، اضطرّ السكان لمواجهة وضعيّة غير معقولة: فمن جهة كانوا مضطرّين لتشييد مبانٍ سكنيّة لهم وللمواشي بعد أن هدم الجيش المباني التي كانوا يستخدمونها. ومن جهة أخرى، رفضت الإدارة المدنيّة تجهيز خارطة هيكليّة للقرية تُمكّن السكان من تشييد بيوتهم بشكل قانونيّ والارتباط بشبكتي المياه والكهرباء، وقد رُفضت طلبات قدّمها السكان للحصول على رخص بناء. وقد اضطرّ سكان خربة سوسيا، مُكرهين، لتشييد بيوت عشوائية وخيمًا سكنيّة، لتقوم الإدارة المدنية بإصدار أوامر هدم للمباني الجديدة التي شُيدت، حيث ادّعت أنّ قرار المحكمة المؤقت لا يسري عليها. في حزيران 2007 شطبت المحكمة "العليا" الالتماس، من دون البتّ فيه. وقد واصلت الإدارة المدنيّة إصدار أوامر هدم لعشرات المباني في خربة سوسيا. وفي مرّ السنين، قدّم السكان التماسات إضافيّة في محاولة لمنع عمليّات الهدم والسماح بتخطيط القرية، إلاّ أنّ القضاة رفضوا الأمر بمنع هدم المباني. في العام 2011 هدمت الإدارة المدنية 10 مبان سكنية في القرية، ستة مبان استخدمت حاجات معيشية واربعة ابار ماء.

هدم خيمة سكنية وبركس في قرية خربة سوسيا. تصوير: نصر النواجعة. بتسيلم. 24.11.11.
هدم خيمة سكنية وبركس في قرية خربة سوسيا. تصوير: نصر النواجعة. بتسيلم. 24.11.11.

منع محاولات تخطيط القرية

يعيش في خربة سوسيا اليوم قرابة 250 شخصًا دائمين ونحو مئة آخرين يمكثون فيها بشكل موسميّ لكسب أرزاقهم. وفي نهاية عام 2012 قدّمت منظمة "شومريه مشباط"- حاخامات من أجل حقوق الإنسان، إلى الإدارة المدنية، وباسم سكان القرية، خارطة هيكليّة للقرية. وفي كانون الثاني 2013 أعلمت الدولة المحكمة العليا بأنّ الإدارة المدنية تنظر في هذا المخطط، وحتى اتخاذ قرار بشأنه، لن تُنفذ أوامر الهدم في المكان.

في تشرين الأول 2013، رفضت اللجنة الفرعيّة للتخطيط والترخيص التابعة لمجلس التخطيط الأعلى في الإدارة المدنيّة، الخارطة الهيكليّة المقترحة. عكست المسوّغات من وراء رفض الخارطة الهيكليّة تعاملاً غير موضوعيّ واستعلائيًا، إذ اُدّعي أنّ الانتشار الواسع للقرى الصغيرة في المنطقة، ومن بينها خربة سوسيا، لا يسمح لمدينة يطا بتوفير خدماتها للقرية مثل خدمات التربية والرفاه والدين والصحة كما يجب، إذ أنّ ذلك يُبهظ الخزينة العامة. ويأتي هذا في الوقت الذي تقوم فيه الجهة التخطيطيّة ذاتها بتنظيم وتسوية عشرات البؤر الاستيطانيّة الصغيرة المنتشرة في الضفة الغربيّة، وترفض تسوية مكانة القرية الفلسطينيّة. وقالت اللجنة الفرعيّة أيضًا إنّ الخارطة المقترحة ستُكرّس المبنى المجتمعيّ القائم على الانتماء العائليّ، الأمر الذي سيمسّ بفرص الفرد والمرأة الفلسطينيّة خصوصًا، التمتع بالأفضليّات الكامنة في الحياة المدنيّة، مثل أدوات الدفع الاجتماعيّ وفرص تكسّب الرزق والتعزيز الثقافيّ والتربويّ:

"المبنى المدنيّ يربط الناس ويقرّب بينها ويضاعف الفرص، ويُثري الآفاق لكلّ واحد وواحدة في داخل عائلته وقبيلته وفي ضمن المجتمع الواسع أيضًا. ولذلك، نحن نرى أنّ الخارطة الهيكليّة الحاليّة تشكّل محاولة أخرى لمنع السكان الفقراء من إمكانيّة التقدّم وإمكانيّة الاختيار بين مصادر الرزق الجزئيّة أو مصادر أخرى، وتمنع المرأة الفلسطينيّة من الخروج من دائرة الفقر، وتمنع عنها فرص التعليم والعمل. وعلى هذا النسق فإنّ هذا المخطط يمنع الطفل الفلسطينيّ من رؤية كلّ الإمكانيّات المتاحة أمام أيّ إنسان آخر، إذ أنها تحدّد مصيره بالعيش في قرية صغيرة وبالية لا تملك الأدوات اللازمة للتطوّر. نحن نوصي برفض المخطط."

وأوصت الإدارة المدنيّة أمام سكّان خربة سوسيا بالمبادرة لتخطيط بديل في مكان أقرب من مدينة يطا، بما أنّ القرية تقع على بعد كيلومترات عديدة من مدينة يطا، الواقعة في منطقة A. لكنّ ما أوصت به اللجنة على أرض الواقع، هو إبعاد سكّان خربة سوسيا عن منطقة C.

امرأة في قرية سوسيا، 15/6/2012. تصوير: آن فيك. اكتيفستيليز

في شباط 2014 التمست منظمة "شومريه مشباط" المحكمة العليا، بادّعاء أنّ قرار اللجنة الفرعيّة للتخطيط والترخيص رفض الخارطة الهيكليّة ليس معقولاً. وطلب الملتمسون من المحكمة إصدار أمر مؤقت يأمر السلطات بالامتناع عن هدم بيوت القرية، ما دام الالتماس لم يُحسم. في نهاية آذار 2015 قدّمت الدولة ردّها على الالتماس. وفي الردّ طلبت الدولة من المحكمة رفض الالتماس، مُدّعية أنّ لا مبرّر للتدخّل في القرار الصحيح الذي اتخذته مؤسّسات التخطيط برفض الالتماس. وقال ممثلو الدولة في ردّهم إنّ سكّان القرية يواصلون البناء من دون ترخيص. في مطلع أيار 2015، رفض القاضي سولبرج طلب الملتمسين بإصدار أمر مؤقت يمنع هدم بيوت القرية إلى حين البتّ في الالتماس، وذلك على خلفيّة مواصلة البناء من دون ترخيص في القرية منذ تقديم الالتماس، والتي قال عنها إنّها "ممارسة القانون بشكل شخصيّ". وقال القاضي إنّ سلطات المنطقة سجلت استعدادها لفحص إمكانية دفع إضبارة تخطيطيّة بديلة"، وقال إنّ تداول الالتماس سيتمّ بأسرع وقت.

منذ ذلك الحين جرت محادثات بين سكّان سوسيا والدولة، استمرّت إلى أن أوقفتها الدولة. في جلسة محكمة العدل العليا، التي انعقدت في 1.8.2016، أبلغ وكلاء الدولة أنّ المحادثات أوقفت لأنّ وزير الأمن الجديد لم يبلور بعد موقفه من الموضوع. أمهلت المحكمة الدولة أسبوعين لتبلور موقفها. القاضيات نأور، براك إيرز وحيوت رفضن الإيعاز للدولة بعدم هدم بيوت سكّان سوسيا إلى حين بلورة الموقف، وبذلك تُرك السكّان رهن تعسّف السلطات الإسرائيلية وفي حالة من اللّايقين تحيط بمستقبلهم. منذ ذلك الحين طلبت الدولة مهَلاً إضافيّة لتقديم موقفها، وكانت المهلة الأخيرة في 1.10.2017.

منذ أن قدّم سكّان خربة سوسيا التماسهم الأخير، في عام 2014، أبلغت الدولة أنّها تعتزم هدم عدد من المباني التي أقامها السكّان بعد تقديم الالتماس - ضمن ذلك كانوا قد رمّموا مباني تضرّرت جرّاء العاصفة، وأقاموا عيادة لخدمة سكّان القرية. في 1.2.2018 قرّرت رئيسة المحكمة العليا في شأن سبع مبانٍ، أنّ الدولة يمكنها هدمها فورًا، علمًا أنّه يسكنها 42 شخصًا، نصفهم أطفال، وبعضهم مرضى.

طلبت المحكمة من الدولة أن تقدّم ردّها في شأن الخريطة الهيكلية المقدّمة من القرية، في موعد لا يتجاوز 7.5.2018.

 

استيلاء المستوطنين على أراضي سوسيا


في عامي 2001 و2002 أقام المستوطنون عدة بؤر استيطانية على جزء من أراضي السكان الفلسطينيّين. ومنذ تدمير خربة سوسيا عام 2001، يمنع مستوطنون من مستوطنة سوسيا وبؤرها الاستيطانية وصول سكان القرية المتواصل إلى قرابة 3,000 دونم من الأراضي المحيطة بالمستوطنة، وفيها قرابة 23 بئرًا للماء. ويجري هذا المنع عبر التهديدات وأعمال العنف، بما في ذلك إتلاف مساحات الرعي والحقول والأشجار وآبار المياه ومضايقة الرعاة. ويستغل مستوطنون من المستوطنات عدم قدرة السكان على الوصول إلى أراضيهم، حيث قاموا في صيف 2010 باستصلاح قرابة 400 دونم، تشكل قرابة 15% من مجمل الأراضي التي مُنع الفلسطينيون من الوصول إليها.

مبنى في قرية خربة سوسيا على خلفية مستوطنة سوسيا. تصوير: يوآف جروس، بتسيلم. 17/11/2010.
مبنى في قرية خربة سوسيا على خلفية مستوطنة سوسيا. تصوير: يوآف جروس، بتسيلم. 17/11/2010.

الملفات التي فُتحت في أعقاب شكاوى قدّمها فلسطينيون ضد المسّ بهم، أغلقت في غالب الحالات دون أن تفضي إلى شيء. وبناءً على متابعة منظمة "شومريه مشباط" منذ العام 2007، يتضح أنه من بين 126 شكوى قدمها سكان خربة سوسيا إلى شرطة الخليل ضد اعتداءات وتهديدات واقتحام الأراضي وإلحاق الضرر من جانب مستوطنين، أغلقت تقريبا جميع الملفات من دون تقديم أيّ شخص إلى المحاكمة؛ ولا يزال التحقيق مستمر بشأن ثلاث شكاوى. تابعت بتسيلم منذ عام 2004 وحتى نهاية عام 2012 التطوّرات الخاصة بـ 15 شكوى مقدّمة للشرطة بشأن عنف مستوطنين ضدّ سكان خربة سوسيا، شملت الاعتداءات الجسديّة وإضرام النار في الخيام السكنية والممتلكات، والتهديدات واقتلاع أشجار الزيتون وحصد المحاصيل واعتداءات أخرى على الممتلكات. من بين هذه الشكاوى الـ 15، أغلقت 12 ملفَ تحقيق بدعوى انعدام الأدلة أو أنها سُجلت ضدّ مجهول.

في آب 2010 التمس 55 شخصًا من سكان القرية المحكمة العليا بواسطة منظمة "شومريه مشباط"، مطالبين بالسماح لهم بمنالية الوصول اليومي إلى أراضيهم، من ضمن سائر المطالب. ردًا على الالتماس، أعلمت الدولة المحكمة العليا في تشرين الأول 2010 بأنّ الجيش والإدارة المدنية ينويان إعداد خارطة مُلكية على الأراضي في المنطقة، وبناءً على ذلك ستصدر تعليمات لقوات الأمن الميدانية بشأن مواجهة الحاجة لتمكين الوصول إلى الأراضي الزراعية. حتى منتصف أيار 2013 لم يصدر الجيش إلا أربعة أوامر، سدّت أمام المستوطنين قطعة أرض تبلغ مساحتها 417 دونمًا، وهي قرابة 13% فقط من الأراضي التي مُنع السكان الفلسطينيون من الوصول إليها. وقد أخلت السلطات بشكل فعليّ اقتحامًا واحدًا من طرف المستوطنين، من قطعة أرض مساحتها قرابة 3.5 دونمات. وما يزال منع الدخول قائمًا ضدّ قرابة 87% من الأراضي.

في مطلع شباط 2014 شطبت المحكمة العليا التماس السكان في مسألة منع الوصول إلى أراضيهم والاستيلاء عليها، بادّعاء أنّ الحديث يدور عن التماس شامل يدمج مسائل مختلفة تعود إلى عشر عائلات. وتطرّق القضاة في قرار الحكم إلى واجب القائد العسكريّ الحفاظ على الممتلكات الخاصّة ومنع اقتحام الأراضي، إلاّ أنهم لم يصدروا قرارًا في هذه المسألة، وأوصوا أمام كلّ عائلة بتقديم التماس منفصل خاصّ بها.

Khirbet Susiya – a village under threat of demolition

Published: 
19 Aug 2012
Updated: 
7 Aug 2016

Khirbet Susiya, village under threat of demolition. Photo: Ann Pack, Activestills.org, 15 June 2012
Khirbet Susiya, village under threat of demolition. Photo: Ann Pack, Activestills.org, 15 June 2012

The Palestinian village of Khirbet Susiya has existed in the South Hebron Hills at least since the 1830s. Its residents have traditionally earned a living from shepherding and growing olive trees. In 1983, the Israeli settlement of Susiya was established near the village, on Palestinian land that had been declared state land by Israel. In 1986, about 25 families were living in Khirbet Susiya, in caves and structures. That year, the Civil Administration declared the village’s land an “archeological site”; the land was confiscated “for public purposes” and the Israeli military expelled its residents from their homes. Having no other option, the families relocated to other caves in the area and to flimsy wood frame shelters and tents they erected on agricultural land a few hundred meters southeast of the original village and the archeological site.

The military expelled the residents again several times, most recently in July 2001, shortly after Palestinians killed Israeli Yair Har Sinai, a resident of the Susiya settlement. During the expulsion, carried out without warning, soldiers destroyed residents’ property, demolished their caves and blocked up water cisterns. In September 2001, further to a petition by the residents to Israel’s High Court of Justice (HCJ) filed by Attorney Shlomo Lecker, the HCJ issued an interim order that prohibited further destruction pending a ruling on the petition. 

Ancient village of Susiya, South Hebron Hills, 17 November 2010. Photo: Yoav Gross, B’Tselem.
Ancient village of Susiya, South Hebron Hills, 17 November 2010. Photo: Yoav Gross, B’Tselem.

In the following years, pending a ruling, the residents had to deal with an impossible reality. On the one hand, they had to erect homes and structures for their livestock after the military destroyed their previous ones; on the other hand, the Civil Administration refused to prepare a master plan for the village that would enable its residents to build homes legally and connect to the water and power grids, and rejected residents' applications for building permits. The people of Khirbet Susiya were left no choice but to build temporary buildings and residential tents. The Civil Administration then issued demolition orders for the new structures which, they alleged, were not covered by the interim order. In June 2007, the HCJ decided to vacate the petition, without making a ruling. The Civil Administration continued to issue demolition orders for dozens of structures in Khirbet Susiya. Over the years, the residents filed further petitions in an attempt to prevent the demolitions and plan the village legally, but the justices refused to prohibit the demolition. In 2011 the Civil Administration demolished 10 residential structures in the village, six structures used for making a livelihood and four wells.

Planning attempts by villagers blocked

Currently about 250 people live in Khirbet Susiya on a regular basis, and some 100 others live in it for part of the year, as their livelihood is seasonal. In late 2012, Israeli NGO Rabbis for Human Rights submitted a master plan for the village to the Civil Administration, on behalf of the residents. In January 2013, the state notified the HCJ that the Civil Administration was evaluating the plan and that, until a decision was reached, demolition orders for that land would not be carried out.

In October 2013 the Sub-Committee for Planning and Licensing of the Civil Administration’s Supreme Planning Council rejected the proposed master plan. Among its reasons for rejecting the plan, which together conveyed a patronizing and unprofessional approach, the Civil Administration argued that the significant scattering of the small villages – including Susiya – in the greater Yatta area results in such high expenses for the provision of education, welfare, religion and health services that the funds of the town of Yatta are insufficient to adequately provide them. This is remarkable given that the Civil Administration itself supports the legalization of dozens of tiny illegal settler outposts scattered throughout the West Bank, and has refused to connect the Palestinian village to water and power supplies.

Demolition of residential tent and shack, Khirbet Susiya, South Hebron Hills, 24 November 2011. Photo: Nasser Nawaj'ah, B'Tselem.
Demolition of residential tent and shack, Khirbet Susiya, South Hebron Hills, 24 November 2011. Photo: Nasser Nawaj'ah, B'Tselem.

The Civil Administration representatives further argued that authorizing the plan would perpetuate the village’s existing social fabric based on clan kinship, thereby barring individuals, and especially Palestinian women, from enjoying the benefits urban life has to offer, such as social mobility skills, job opportunities and cultural and educational empowerment:

The structure of urban life means meeting new people, bringing people closer to one another; it multiplies opportunities and broadens the horizons of each and every person within his family, his tribe, and society at large. Therefore, we see the current plan as yet another attempt to keep a poor, downtrodden population from advancing; from choosing between partial income and other resources; it is an attempt to prevent the Palestinian woman from breaking the cycle of poverty and depriving her of educational and professional opportunities. Similarly, by sentencing the Palestinian child to life in a small, stultified village with no means for development, the plan keeps the child from being aware of all the opportunities available to any other person. It is our recommendation that the plan be rejected out of hand.

The Civil Administration recommended that the people of Susiya make an alternative plan for a location closer to the town of Yatta. As Susiya lies mere kilometers from Yatta, which is in Area A, the recommendation effectively means transferring the residents of Susiya out of Area C

In February 2014, Israeli NGO Rabbis for Human Rights petitioned the HCJ, arguing that the Sub-Committee for Planning and Licensing had made an unreasonable decision in rejecting the master plan. The petitioners requested that the HCJ issue an interim order preventing the authorities from demolishing the village pending a ruling on the petition. In late March 2015, the state submitted its response, requesting the court reject the petition, claiming there was no justification for intervening in a justified decision by the planning institutions to reject the plan. In their response, the representatives of the state noted that the villagers have continued to build structures illegally. 

In early May 2015, Justice Sohlberg struck the residents’ request on the grounds that illegal construction had continued in the village after the petition was filed, actions that he termed “taking the law into their own hands”. Justice Sohlberg added that “the Court has noted the willingness of the authorities in the area to work towards examining promotion of an alternative planning cluster”.

Talks between the state and Khirbet Susiya then began, and were underway until suspended by the state. On 1 August 2016, at a court session of Israel’s High Court of Justice (HCJ), counsel for the state said the talks were halted because the new Minister of Defense had yet to formulate his position on the matter. The HCJ gave the state two weeks to formulate its position. Justices Naor, Barak-Erez and Hayut declined to issue orders that the state not demolish the homes of Susiya residents pending formulation of the position. The residents were thus left in a state of uncertainty as to their future and at the mercy of Israeli authorities. 

Palestinian resident of the village of Susiya, South Hebron Hills, 15 June 2012. Photo: Anne Paq, Activestills.org.Palestinian resident of the village of Susiya, South Hebron Hills, 15 June 2012. Photo: Anne Paq, Activestills.org.

Settler takeover of Susiya land

During 2001 and 2002, Israeli settlers established a number of illegal outposts on some of the land that in the past had served the Palestinian residents. Furthermore, since the demolition of Khirbet Susiya in 2001, settlers from Susiya and its outposts have prevented continuous access by villagers to about 300 hectares of land around the settlement, including 23 water cisterns. Access was prevented by use of threats and violence, including vandalizing pastures, fields, trees and cisterns, and harassing shepherds. The settlers exploit the inability of the Palestinian residents to reach their land in order to take over some of it. In the summer of 2010 they cultivated about 40 hectares, which is approximately 15 percent of the land area to which they denied Palestinians access.

When police files were opened in response to complaints lodged by the Palestinians for this damage, most were closed without effect. Based on follow-ups Rabbis for Human Rights have carried out since 2007, nearly all 126 complaints to the police in Hebron made by Khirbet Susiya residents - alleging attacks, threats, incursions and damage to property by settlers - were closed without filing any charges; three complaints are still being investigate. From 2004 through 2012, B’Tselem monitored 15 complaints to the police regarding settler violence against Khirbet Susiya residents, including physical assault, setting fire to tent dwellings and belongings, threats, cutting down olive trees, stealing crops and other property damage. In 12 of the 15 cases, the investigation was closed on grounds of insufficient evidence or offender unknown.

In August 2010, 55 of the village’s Rabbis for Human Rights filed an HCJ petition on behalf of the residents, seeking to be allowed, inter alia, daily access to their land. In response to the petition, the state notified the HCJ in October 2010 that the military and the Civil Administration intended to map the ownership of land in the area and then, accordingly, instruct the forces in the field as to how to deal with the need to allow access to the agricultural plots. Up until mid-May 2013, the military had issued only four orders, barring settler access to an area of 41.7 hectares – only about 13 percent of the land to which Palestinian residents had been denied access – and, in practice, reversed only one incursion by settlers, removing them from a plot the size of about one-third of one hectare (3.5 dunams). The prevention of access to some 87 percent of the area continues.

On 2 February 2014 the HCJ vacated the residents’ petition on prevention of access and incursions made into their lands, on the grounds that the petition is non-specific and encompasses separate concerns of ten different families. In their ruling, the justices did address the military commander’s obligation to safeguard personal property and prevent incursions, yet refrained from ruling on the matter. They recommended that each family file an independent petition.