8.6.09: يجب مقاضاة المستوطن زئيف براودة الذي أطلق النار على ثلاثة فلسطينيين في الخليل

تم النشر في: 
8.6.09

بتاريخ 4.12.08، قبل إخلاء المستوطنة في حي الراس ("بيت الخصومة") في الخليل بيوم واحد، قام المستوطن زئيف براودة، من سكان مستوطنة كريات أربع، بإطلاق النار على ثلاثة فلسطينيين من عائلة المطرية في وادي الحصين وأصابهم بجراح. وقد تم توثيق الاعتداء بكاميرا فيديو من قبل جمال أبو سعيفان التي حصل عليها في إطار مشروع "الرد بالتصوير" الخاص بمنظمة بتسيلم. خلال الحادثة قام مستوطن آخر بإطلاق النار في الهواء وكذلك تجاه المصور جمال أبو سعيفان، بل وحاول خطف الكاميرا منه. وقام مستوطن ثالث بإطلاق النار في الهواء وتجاه بيت عائلة المطرية.



تصوير الحدث بالفيديو. تصوير: جمال ابو سعيفان. 4.12.08.

وقد قامت بتسيلم في اليوم نفسه بتحويل الشريط الذي يوثق الحادثة إلى الشرطة. وقد قام اثنان من المشتبه بهم بتسيلم أنفسهم للشرطة بعد مرور يومين وتم إطلاق سراحهما فيما بعد. أحد المستوطنين، ويدعى زئيف براودة، جرى اتهامه بمادتين تتعلقان بالاعتداء الخطير مع سبق التعمد.

وقد اشتملت مواد التحقيق أيضا على أدلة وقع بخصوصها وزير الدفاع على وثيقة سرية ولم يتم تحويلها للدفاع. وقد توجه محامي براودة إلى محكمة العدل العليا وطالب برفع السرية والحصول على المواد السرية. وفي قرار الحكم الصادر عن المحكمة العليا، اتفق القاضي الياكيم روبنشطاين على أن كشف المادة السرية قد يمس بأمن الدولة، غير أنه وفقا لرأيه، فإن حق المتهم في الإجراء القضائي المنصف يفوق في هذه الحالة المصلحة الأمنية العامة. وقد أشار القاضي إلى أنه "لا شك بأن محام كفء يستطيع استعمال المواد السرية لصالح موكله، رغم أن الإنصاف تجاه المُستدعى ضدها يُلزم الإشارة إلى أن الجهد المبذول من قبل الدفاع لن يكون ناجحا بالضرورة". كما أشار القاضي إلى أن "المواد السرية ظاهريا ليست مواد تضعضع موقف المُستدعى ضدها أبدا.... غير أني أعتقد أنه في ملابسات معينة قد – ومرة أخرى قد يكون الأمر غير ذلك- يُغيّر حسم الملف عن طريق الشك؛ ولا يمكن القيام بإجراء منصف في حالة وجود مواد لم تُسنح الفرصة للدفاع لاستعمالها لصالحه".

في اليوم التالي أعلنت النيابة أنها تنوي إلغاء لائحة الاتهام ضد براودة لأن "الثمن الذي يدفعه الجمهور في حالة الكشف عن المواد يفوق المصلحة العامة" المترتبة على إدارة المحكمة ضده. إن دلالة إلغاء لائحة الاتهام معناها أن شخصا عنيفا وخطيرا يتوفر توثيق حول قيامه بالمخالفة سوف يتملص من العقاب وسوف يستمر في تشكيل الخطر على حياة الآخرين. إذا كانت الدولة ترفض الكشف عن الدليل، يتوجب عليها العثور على طرق بديلة من أجل مقاضاة براودة. إن إلغاء لائحة الاتهام في هذه الملابسات لا يعتبر بديلا مشروعا.

إن التزام القاضي روبنشطاين بحقوق المتهم مرحب به. ومع هذا، فإن الحديث يدور عن قرار خاص وغير مألوف وربما لم يكن بمقدور النيابة أن تتوقع أن يُطلب منها كشف الأدلة وهذا لأن النيابة تقدم إلى المحاكم بطريقة روتينية مواد سرية ضمن الإجراءات الجنائية التي تتم ضد المتهمين الفلسطينيين فيما يتم بصورة ثابتة رد طلبات محاميهم بالكشف عن هذه المواد. وفي معايير التوازن بين الاعتبارات الأمنية وبين حق الفلسطينيين بالإجراء المنصف، يتم دائما ترجيح الكفة لصالح الاعتبارات الأمنية.

إن الأدلة السرية تقع في صلب سلسلة طويلة من القرارات الإدارية التي تمس المزيد من حقوق سكان المناطق المحتلة. هكذا، في أيار 2009، كان يقبع في السجون الإسرائيلية 449 معتقلا إداريا فلسطينيا. يتم الاعتقال الإداري على أساس أمر يوقع عليه قائد المنطقة الوسطى بدون إعلام المعتقلين بالتهمة أو بالأدلة المتوفرة ضدهم. ولا يُعطى المعتقلون في أي مرحلة فرصة لمحاولة رد الاتهامات ودحضها، ولا حتى في إطار التماس إلى محكمة العدل العليا.

إن الأدلة السرية تقع أيضا في صلب القرارات التي تتعلق بالحياة اليومية للفلسطينيين، مثل رفض طلب السفر إلى الخارج للدراسة، منع المرأة الأردنية من السكن مع زوجها الفلسطيني في الضفة الغربية أو منع اللقاء ما بين معتقل فلسطيني ومحاميه لفترة متواصلة. وحتى عندما يلتمس المتضررون من هذه القرارات إلى محكمة العدل العليا لا تُكشف لهم الأدلة التي كانت في صلب القرار وفي الغالبية الساحقة من الحالات يتم رد الالتماس بعد قيام القضاة بفحص الأدلة في جلسة مغلقة.

عند قراءة قرار القاضي روبنشطاين، فإن قراره، بمعزل عن هذا السياق، يعتبر قرارا نموذجيا بخصوص احترام حقوق المتهم. نأمل أن يكون هذا القرار دلالة على تغيير في تعامل الجهاز القضائي مع المواد السرية وأن يكون قاعدة لرفض انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.

8 June ’09: Bring Ze’ev Braude, the shooter from Hebron, to justice

Published: 
8 Jun 2009

On 4 Dec. '08, security forces evacuated the settlement in the a-Ras neighborhood (“the House in Dispute”) in Hebron. The same day, Kiryat Arba resident Ze'ev Braude shot and wounded three members of the al-Matariyeh family. The shooting, which took place in the Wadi Hussein section of Hebron, was filmed by Jamal Abu Sa'ifan with a camera he received in the framework of B'Tselem's  camera distribution project. During the incident, another settler fired into the air and at Abu Sa'ifan and tried to grab the camera from him. A third settler fired into the air and at the family's house.



The footage of the attack. Filmed by Jamal Abu Sa'ifan, 4 December 2008

B'Tselem gave the video tape documenting the incident to the police the same day. Two days later, two of the suspects turned themselves in to the police and were subsequently released. One of them, Ze'ev Braude, was indicted on two counts of causing harm with aggravated intent.

 

The investigation material included evidence as to which the Minister of Defense signed a certificate of privilege, and the evidence was not provided to the defense. Braude's attorney filed an action in the Supreme Court, demanding that the privilege be removed and that he be provided the material. Justice Elyakim Rubinstein held that disclosure of the material is indeed liable to harm state security, but that the defendant's right to due process prevails in this case over the public-security interest. Justice Rubinstein pointed out that, “clearly, a skilled defense attorney could use the material for the benefit of his client, although, in fairness to the Respondent, it should be mentioned that, defense counsel's effort would not necessarily succeed.” The justice also stated that, “at face value, it appears that the privileged material would not completely undermine the Respondent's position. . . But I am of the opinion that, in certain circumstances, it could - and, again, it might be otherwise - change the decision in the file by raising a doubt; and it is not possible to conduct a fair trial where there is material that the defense does not have to opportunity to use it for its needs.”

The next day, the State Attorney's Office announced that it intended to withdraw the indictment against Braude, given that “the price paid by the public in revealing the material prevails over the public interest” in conducting the trial. Withdrawal of the indictment will enable a violent and dangerous person, who was documented committing an offense, to avoid punishment and continue to endanger human lives. If the state refuses to disclose the evidence, it must find other ways to bring Braude to justice. Withdrawal of the indictment is not a legitimate option.

Justice Rubinstein's commitment to the defendant's rights is welcome. However, the decision is unique, and the State Attorney's Office may indeed not have expected it would be required to disclose the evidence. Routinely, privileged material is submitted to the court in criminal proceedings against Palestinian defendants, and requests by their attorneys to disclose it are regularly denied. In balancing between security considerations and the right to due process, the balance always falls in favor of the former.

Privileged evidence also forms the basis of a long line of administrative decisions affecting other rights of Palestinians in the Occupied Territories. In May 2009, 449 Palestinians were being administratively detained in Israeli jails. Administrative detention is based on an order issued by the OC Central Command, and the detainees are not informed of the accusations or evidence against them. At no stage are they given the opportunity to refute the evidence, not even upon appeal to the Supreme Court.

Privileged evidence also forms the basis of decisions affecting the daily lives of Palestinians, such as rejection of an application to leave the region to study abroad, prohibition of a Jordanian woman to live with her Palestinian husband in the West Bank, or prevention of a detainee from meeting with his attorney for a prolonged period of time. When victims of such decisions petition the Supreme Court, they are not provided the evidence that formed the basis of the decision, and in the vast majority of cases, the petitions are denied after the justices examine the evidence in camera.

When read outside this context, Justice Rubinstein's decision is a wonderful example of respect for defendant's rights. It is to be hoped that this decision marks a change in treatment of privileged material as a basis for denying human rights.