Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

خلفية عن عنف المستوطنين ومواطنين إسرائيليين

أضحى عنف المستوطنين (وأحياناً عنف المواطنين الإسرائيليّين الذين ليسوا مستوطنين) ضدّ الفلسطينيين منذ فترة طويلة جزءاً لا يتجزأ من روتين الاحتلال في الضفة الغربيّة. تشمل أعمال العنف هذه - التي ينتج عنها انتهاك لحياة الفلسطينيّين وسلامة أجسادهم وممتلكاتهم وأراضيهم - مجموعة واسعة من الممارسات، بدءًا بإغلاق الطّرقات ورشق الحجارة على السيارات والمنازل، مرورًا بمداهمة القرى والأراضي وإحراق حقول الزيتون والمحاصيل وتدمير وإتلاف الممتلكات وصولاً إلى الاعتداءات الجسدية وأحياناً الزجاجات الحارقة (المولوتوف) وإطلاق النار.

يقع على عاتق إسرائيل واجب حماية سكّان الضّفة الغربيّة من أعمال العنف هذه لكن قوّات الأمن وأجهزة تطبيق القانون لا تقوم بواجبها، حتى في الحالات التي يمكن فيها التكهّن بحدوث مثل هذه الاعتداءات. تشير آلاف الإفادات وأشرطة الفيديو والتّقارير والمتابعة طويلة الأمد التي قامت بها منظمة "بتسيلم" ومؤسسات أخرى حول هذا الموضوع، تشير إلى أنّ قوّات الأمن تسمح للمستوطنين على نحوٍ روتينيّ بإلحاق الأذى بالفلسطينيّين بل إنها ترافق المستوطنين لدى تنفيذ اعتداءاتهم وتدعمهم وتؤمّن لهم الحماية، وأحيانًا تنضمّ إلى صفوفهم كمعتدية. وفي بعض الحالات تفضّل قوّات الأمن إبعاد الفلسطينيّين تحديدًا من أجل تجنّب الإصابات.

إنّ النتيجة بعيدة المدى لأعمال العنف التي يرتكبها المستوطنون هي سلب مناطق آخذة بالازدياد من أيدي الفلسطينيّين في جميع أنحاء الضفّة الغربيّة وهو الأمر الذي يسهّل على الدولة السّيطرة على الضفّة الغربيّة ومواردها.

نادراً ما يضطرّ المستوطنون إلى دفع ثمن الأذى الذي يُلحقونه بالفلسطينيّين وفي الغالبية العظمى من الحالات تُغلق ملفّات التّحقيق (إذا فُتحت أصلاً) دون التوصّل إلى شيء. لقد تمّ توثيق هذا الواقع في سلسلة طويلة من تقارير مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان وتقارير رسميّة (مثل تقرير لجنة كارب الذي صدر عام 1982 وتقرير لجنة شامغار الذي صدر عام 1994) أكّدت جميعها أنّ السّلطات الإسرائيليّة تتبنّى سياسة غير معلنة من التسامح والتهاون وعدم تنفيذ القانون بحقّ الجناة.

من معطيات نشرتها مؤسسة "يِش دين" في أيّار 2015، تلخيصًا لعشر سنوات من نشاطها يتبيّن أن ما يقارب 85% من ملفّات التّحقيق التي تمّ فتحها في أعقاب الاعتداء وإصابة الفلسطينيّين (من جرائم عنف وإحراق متعمّد وإلحاق أضرار بالممتلكات والأشجار والاستيلاء على الأراضي) تم إغلاقها دون التوصّل إلى شيء، وأنّ  احتمالات أن تنتهي شكوى قدّمها فلسطيني لدى الشّرطة بإدانة مواطن إسرائيلي لا تتعدّى 1.9٪. وبسبب هذه السّياسة يتخلى العديد من الفلسطينيّين سلفاً عن تقديم شكوى إلى الشرطة بشأن الجرائم المرتكَبة ضدّهم.

منذ تأسيسها قامت منظمة "بتسيلم" بتوثيق أعمال عنف المستوطنين وعلى مدى سنوات عديدة أكّدت "بتسيلم" أنّ من واجب قوّات الأمن حماية الفلسطينيّين وممتلكاتهم من عنف المستوطنين. كذلك أكّدت "بتسيلم" أنّ من واجب السّلطات إعداد وتخصيص قوّات تعمل على منع اعتداءات المستوطنين المتوقع حدوثها علنًا، عبر التدخّل في الوقت المناسب للقبض على المعتدين. إضافة إلى ذلك أكّدت "بتسيلم" على واجب التّحقيق بسرعة وفعاليّة بالاعتداءات بعد وقوعها. وثّقت "بتسيلم" أحداثًا هاجم فيها المستوطنون فلسطينيّين - بما في ذلك أشرطة فيديو صوّرها المتطوّعون في المؤسسة - وسلّمت الموادّ إلى الشّرطة والجيش. كما وساعدت "بتسيلم" الضحايا الفلسطينيّين في الوصول إلى مراكز الشّرطة وتقديم الشكاوى وتابعت مجريات التّحقيقات، بما في ذلك تقديم اعتراضات على إغلاق الملفّات. وبعد المثابرة على هذا العمل طيلة أكثر من 25 عامًا لا مناص من الاستنتاج أنّ أداء السّلطات لا يوفّر من تطبيق القانون على المستوطنين سوى المظهر، وما عدا بعض الحالات الاستثنائية فإنّ هذه السلطات غير معنيّة مطلقًا بالتحقيق في اعتداءات المستوطنين على الفلسطينيّين.

من الأمثلة البارزة على أعمال العنف التي يقوم بها المستوطنون ضدّ الفلسطينيّين تلك التي تحصل كلّ عام في موسم قطاف الزّيتون. في أعقاب هجمات متكرّرة شنّها المستوطنون على المزارعين الفلسطينيّين منع الجيش المزارعين من الوصول إلى أراضيهم المحاذية للمستوطنات، بدلاً من توفير الحماية لهم وتطبيق القانون ضدّ المعتدين. في العام 2004 قدّم خمسة من رؤساء المجالس المحليّة الفلسطينيّة التماسًا إلى محكمة العدل العليا مطالبين الجيش بتمكينهم من الوصول إلى أراضيهم وحمايتهم من هجمات المستوطنين خلال موسم قطاف الزيتون.

بعد مضيّ عامين تقريبًا على تقديم الالتماس قرّر القضاة أنّه ينبغي قبول الالتماس، وأنه - عمومًا - على الجيش أن يمتنع عن حظر وصول الفلسطينيّين إلى أراضيهم كوسيلة لحمايتهم. كذلك حكم القضاة أنّ على جهاز الأمن "إصدار تعليمات واضحة لا لبس فيها للقوّات العاملة في الميدان" و"تخصيص قوّات لحماية ممتلكات السكان الفلسطينيين" (محكمة العدل العليا 9593/04 ، مرّار وآخرون ضدّ قائد قوّات الجيش الإسرائيلي في يهودا والسامرة وآخرين). في أعقاب هذا الحكم أنشأت الدولة "منظومة تنسيق" غايتها السّماح للفلسطينيّين في جميع أنحاء الضّفة الغربيّة بالوصول إلى أراضيهم لبضعة أيام في السنة – خلال موسم قطاف الزيتون وأثناء موسم حراثة الأرض -  بعد التّنسيق مع الجيش وتوفير المرافقة من الجنود.

ومع ذلك فإنّ هذه الآلية بعيدة كلّ البعد عن مجابهة الواقع العنيف والدور الذي تؤدّيه يقع ضمن سعي السّلطات لخلق مظهر يوهم بتطبيق القانون. أوّلاً، هذه الآلية تسلّم بواقع يجري فيه معالجة مسألة اعتداءات المستوطنين على المزارعين الفلسطينيّين بفرض القيود على المزارعين الفلسطينيّين تحديدًا. ثانيًا، هذه الآليّة معدّة لمعالجة المشاكل التي تحصل فقط خلال موسم قطاف الزيتون بينما يستمرّ منع المزارعين الفلسطينيين من الوصول إلى أراضيهم بقيّة أيّام السنة ويواصل المستوطنون القدوم إليها وتخريبها دون عائق - تحت رعاية الجيش. ثالثاً، تثاقُل الجيش في إجراءات التنسيق وكثرة الشّروط التي يفرضها على المزارعين الفلسطينيين قبل سماحه لهم بالوصول إلى أراضيهم – إذا سمح بذلك أصلاً - تصعّب عليهم استغلال حتى هذه الإمكانيّة المحدودة وفي كثير من الأحيان تفرغها من مضمونها.

إنّ لأعمال العنف التي يرتكبها المستوطنون إسقاطات بعيدة المدى على الواقع في الأراضي المحتلّة ولها تأثير رادع ومثير للتهديد حتى بعد وقوعها. أفاد العديد من الفلسطينيّين عن هجمات المستوطنين كأحداث صادمة طُبعت في الذاكرة الفرديّة والجماعيّة ومنعت الكثيرين من الاقتراب من "مناطق الخطر" المحاذية للمستوطنات. لا يجرؤ الفلسطينيّون على الوصول إلى أراضيهم الواقعة في هذه المناطق دون مرافقة مدنيّين إسرائيليّين أو الجيش. نتيجة لهذا هناك مناطق زراعية أُهملت وتضررت بصورة بالغة حتّى باتت محاصيلها شحيحة جدّاً بحيث تخلّى أصحابها عن مجرّد الوصول إليها. وهكذا نشأت في جميع أنحاء الضّفة الغربيّة "جدران شفافة" يعرف الفلسطينيّون أنهم إذا عبروها سيتعرّضون للعنف إلى حدّ يعرّض حياتهم للخطر.

تندرج ضمن هذا الواقع ظاهرة "البؤر الاستیطانیّة" – مستوطنات كأنّما أقيمت في مخالفة للقانون الإسرائيلي ولكن بدعم وحماية وتمويل حكوميّ. منذ تسعينات القرن العشرين أنشئت نحو 100 "بؤرة استيطانيّة" في أماكن كثيرة في أنحاء الضفّة الغربيّة. هذه "البؤر الاستيطانية" توسّع مجال سيطرة المستوطنات وتضاعف مرّات ومرّات مساحات الأراضي الفلسطينيّة المنهوبة. هذا النهب ترافقه أعمال العنف والتهديدات ومهاجمة الرّعاة وسلب الأراضي الفلسطينيّة. باستثناء الحالات النّادرة جداً، حيث تمّ إخلاء بؤر استيطانية في أعقاب إجراءات قانونيّة لا تزال جميع البؤر الاستيطانية تقريبًا قائمة على الأرض، وتكتسب بالتدريج مكانة رسميّة كجزء أساسيّ وجوهريّ من المنظومة الاستيطانيّة.

إنّ أعمال العنف التي يقوم بها المستوطنون ليست "استثناءات" وإنّما هي جزء من نشاط استراتيجي تسمح به الدولة وتشارك فيه وتستفيد من تبعاته. النّتيجة البعيدة المدى لهذه الأعمال هي سلب المزيد والمزيد من الأراضي من أيدي الفلسطينيّين في جميع أنحاء الضفّة الغربيّة وهو الأمر الذي يسهّل على الدولة السّيطرة على الضفّة الغربيّة ومواردها.

Skip to main content
Menu
Topics

Settler Violence: Absence of Law Enforcement

Violence by settlers (and sometimes by other Israeli civilians) toward Palestinians has long since become part of daily life under occupation in the West Bank. These actions range from blocking roads, throwing stones at cars and houses, raiding villages and farmland, torching fields and olive groves, and damaging crops and property to physical assault, sometimes to the point of hurling Molotov cocktails or using live fire. Over the years, this widespread violence toward Palestinians has resulted in injuries to life and limb, as well as damage to property and land.

Under international law, Israel has a duty to protect Palestinians in the West Bank from this conduct. However, Israeli authorities routinely shirk this responsibility, even when the violent actions can be anticipated. Thousands of testimonies, videos and reports, as well as many years of close monitoring by B’Tselem and other organizations, reveal that Israeli security forces not only allow settlers to harm Palestinians and their property as a matter of course – they often provide the perpetrators escort and back-up. In some cases, they even join in on the attack. In other instances, security forces have prevented anticipated harm by removing the targeted Palestinians, rather than the Israeli assailants.

The law enforcement agencies, on their part, rarely make settlers face consequences for attacking Palestinians. In almost all cases, the investigations – if one was opened, in the first place – have not resulted in any action taken against the perpetrators. This undeclared policy of lenience toward settler violence aimed at Palestinians has been documented in numerous reports by human rights organizations, as well as in official state reports (such as the Karp Report of 1982 and the Shamgar Report of 1994).

In a ten-year review published in May 2015, human rights organization Yesh Din found that some 85% of investigations into such cases (including violence, arson, damage to property, mutilation of trees and takeover of land) ended with no further action taken, and that the odds of a police complaint filed by a Palestinian resulting in the conviction of an Israeli civilian were a mere 1.9%. Given the futility of this effort, many Palestinians choose to forgo filing a complaint altogether.

Since it was founded in 1989, B’Tselem has been documenting incidents of settler violence against Palestinians and advocating for security forces to fulfill their obligation to protect Palestinians and their property from such injury. For many years, B’Tselem has stressed the duty of Israeli authorities to make the necessary preparations, including allocating forces, to prevent attacks that can be predicted – especially when they are carried out in the open – and arrest the assailants. We have repeatedly called attention to the responsibility of the law enforcement agencies to quickly and efficiently investigate attacks after they take place. B’Tselem has provided the police and the military with documentation of such attacks, including video footage filmed by volunteers. We have also helped Palestinian victims file complaints with the police and have monitored the investigations – including appealing closed cases. After more than 25 years of this work, there is no escaping the conclusion that the authorities merely make a show of law enforcement in this context and that, with few exceptions, they have no interest in seriously investigating settler violence against Palestinians.

A stark example recurs every year during the olive harvest. After repeated settler attacks, the military forbade Palestinian farmers from entering their own land if it lies near a settlement – instead of protecting the farmers by enforcing the law on the settlers. In 2004, the heads of five Palestinian local councils petitioned Israel’s High Court of Justice (HCJ), demanding that the military allow them to access their lands and protect them from settler attacks during the olive harvest. The court accepted the petition about two years later, ruling that the military should not, in general, deny Palestinians access to their land in the name of protecting them. The justices also ruled that the security establishment must “give clear, unequivocal instructions to the forces operating in the field” and also “deploy forces to protect the property of the Palestinian inhabitants” (HCJ 9593/04 Murar et al. v. IDF Commander for Judea and Samaria et al.). As a result, the state created a “coordination system” for supposedly enabling Palestinians throughout the West Bank to access their land for several days, twice a year – during the harvest and plowing seasons. This requires prior coordination with the military, which assigns them a security detail.

In practice, the system does little to resolve this violent reality and is largely another empty show of law enforcement. First, it furthers the assumption that the solution lies with restricting the Palestinian victims, rather than the violent settlers. Second, it is relevant to two specific periods every year, leaving settlers free to roam and vandalize land and trees the rest of the time, while the Palestinian owners are barred access. Third, the military requires Palestinians to undergo such a complicated coordination process and meet so many requirements that, in many cases, attaining access is impossible.

Settler violence has a pervasive impact on life in the West Bank, creating a lingering sense of intimidation. Countless attacks have left their traumatic mark on individual Palestinians and on the collective memory. As a result, many Palestinians now avoid approaching “danger zones” near settlements. Landowners do not dare enter these areas without military escort or Israeli civilians accompanying them. As a result, in some plots, the yield has become so poor that the owners have given up trying to reach the land and tend it. This dynamic has created invisible walls throughout the West Bank, beyond which Palestinians know they face violence to the point of risking their lives.

The rogue settlements euphemistically known as “illegal outposts” – since they were formally established in breach of Israeli law, although they enjoy broad government support and funding – contribute to this reality. These 100 or so outposts, established throughout the West Bank since the 1990s, have effectively taken over large swathes of land, expanding the scope of settlement control. This dispossession has been accompanied by violence towards Palestinian landowners that includes physical assaults, threats, attacks on shepherds and theft of land. A small number of outposts have been evacuated after legal action was taken, but all remain on the ground, and are gradually gaining formal recognition as a substantial part of the settlement enterprise.

Violent actions of settlers against Palestinians are not exceptions to a rule. Rather, they form part of a broader strategy in which the state colludes, as it stands to benefit from the result. Over time, this unchecked violence is gradually driving Palestinians from more and more locations in the West Bank, making it easier for the state to take over land and resources.