تقديم آليات المحاسبة

في منطقة القدس

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11

طبقاً لخطة الحكومة فإن الجدار العازل سيحيط أيضاً بالقدس الشرقية من خلال فصلها عن باقي مناطق الضفة الغربية. وقد تم اتخاذ القرارات الخاصة بمسار الجدار الفاصل في هذه المنطقة واستصدار المصادقات للشروع في العمل، ضمن ثلاث مراحل أساسية:

  1. في حزيران 2002، وضمن القرار المبدئي لإقامة الجدار بأكمله، تمت المصادقة على المسار الخاص بالمرحلة (أ)، والذي يشتمل على مقطعين في شمالي القدس وجنوبها. ويمتد المقطع الشمالي على طول حوالي عشرة كيلومترات، من معسكر عوفر غرباً ولغاية حاجز قلنديا شرقاً. أما المقطع الجنوبي فهو يضم حوالي عشرة كيلومترات من شارع الأنفاق غرباً ولغاية مدينة بيت ساحور (جنوبي جبل أبو غنيم- هار حوما) شرقاً. وقد تم الإنتهاء من اقامة هذين المقطعين في تموز 2003.
  2. في شهر أيلول 2003، صادقت لجنة الوزراء للشؤون الأمنية على مسار الجدار في باقي المناطق حول القدس، بإستثناء المقطع المحاذي لمستوطنة (معاليه أدوميم)، وهذا في اطار المصادقة على المراحل (ج) و- (د) من الجدار بأكمله. وقد تناولت هذه المصادقة ثلاثة مقاطع ثانوية. المقطع الأول يمتد على طول 17 كيلومتراً، من الطرف الشرقي لمدينة بيت ساحور جنوباً ولغاية الطرف الشرقي لبلدة العيزرية شمالاً. المقطع الثاني طوله 14 كيلومترً، ويمتد من الطرف الجنوبي لقرية عناتا وحتى حاجز قلنديا شمالاً. أما المقطع الثالث فقد تم بناؤه على امتداد 14 كيلومتراً ويحيط بخمس قرى من الناحية الشمالية الغربية للقدس (بير نبالا، الجويدة، الجيب، بيت حنينا البلد والنبي صموئيل) المحاذية للحدود البلدية. إن معظم المقاطع في هذا الجدار مبنية على شكل سور، علماً أن التقدم في أعمال الإقامة في هذه المقاطع ليس متماثلاً، حيث انتهى العمل في بعض المقاطع منذ مدة، بينما لم يبدأ العمل في بعض المناطق الأخرى.
  3. في شهر شباط 2005، وفي أعقاب قرار الحكم الصادر عن محكمة العدل العليا، في شهر حزيران 2004، والذي شطب أحد مقاطع الجدار الفاصل تحت مبرر انعدام النسبية، صادقت حكومة اسرائيل على المسار المُعدَّل للجدار الفاصل بأكمله. وقد اشتمل المسار المصحّح على عدد من التغييرات الملحوظة في مناطق مختلفة، غير أن المسار السابق في منطقة القدس بقي الى حد كبير على حاله، بإستثناء اضافة حوالي أربعين كيلومترا (40 كم) حول مستوطنة (معاليه أدوميم) والمستوطنات المحاذية لها (كفار أدوميم، عنتوت، نوفي برات وكيدار). ومع هذا، لم تصادق الحكومة على بدء العمل في هذا المقطع، واشترطت هذا بالحصول على "مصادقة قانونية اضافية" من المستوى السياسي.

إن المبدأ السائد في تحديد مسار الجدار في منطقة القدس هو الوصول الى التماس ما بين الجدار الفاصل وبين الخط الحدودي للبلدية. وقد تم تعريف منطقة نفوذ القدس مرة أخرى في العام 1967، بعد أن ضُمَّت الى القدس مناطق اضافية من الضفة الغربية (حوالي 70.000 دونم) والتي تم ضمها الى اسرائيل. ويعيش اليوم في هذه المناطق - التي تم ضمها- حوالي 220.000 فلسطيني. لقد تم الحفاظ على مبدأ التماس مع الحدود البلدية، بصورة عامة، على امتداد المسار كله، بإستثناء حالتين شاذتين وبارزتين: حي كفر عقب ومخيم اللاجئين شعفاط، وهما منطقتان سيتم فصلهما عن باقي أجزاء المدينة، على الرغم من وجودهما داخل منطقة نفوذ بلدية القدس.

على مقربة من حدود القدس يوجد عدد من المدن (من بينها رام الله وبيت لحم) والمدن الصغيرة التي يعيش بها مئات الآف الفلسطينيين المرتبطين بالقدس بطرق وأشكال متنوعة. وتمتاز هذه العلاقات بالقرب المتميّز خاصة بالنسبة للقرى والبلدات المحاذية للحدود الشرقية للقدس: الرام وضاحية البريد، حزمة، عناتا، العيزرية، أبو ديس، السواحرة الشرقية والشيخ سعد، (فيما يلي الضواحي)، والتي يعيش فيها أكثر من (100.000) مائة ألف مواطن. وترتبط هذه الضواحي، من خلال البناء الكامل والمتواصل، مع الأحياء الواقعة داخل مناطق نفوذ القدس، ولم تكن للحدود البلدية، على وجه التقريب، أية أبعاد وتأثيرات على واقع حياة السكان من الناحيتين، حتى الفترة الأخيرة. ومع أنه كان يُطلب من سكان هذه الضواحي الذين يحملون هويات فلسطينية، التزوّد بتصاريح من أجل الدخول الى شرقي القدس، غير أن معظمهم كان يدخل دون تصاريح، على سبيل العادة. إن تحديد مسار الجدار على طول خط الحدود البلدي يتجاهل بصورة فظة نسيج الحياة الذي تطور على مدار السنين ويهدد بتدميره بصورة تامة:

  • على ضوء الصعوبات في العثور على سكن في شرقي القدس، وعلى مدار السنين، انتقل عشرات آلاف المواطنين للسكن في الضواحي. وما يزال هؤلاء يحتفظون ببطاقات الهوية الإسرائيلية ويحصلون على الكثير من الخدمات داخل المدينة.
  • يدرس آلاف الأولاد الذين يقطنون في الضواحي ضمن جهاز التربية والتعليم في شرقي القدس، والكثير من الأولاد الذين يعيشون داخل مناطق نفوذ البلدية يدرسون في مدارس موجودة خارج مناطق نفوذ البلدية. وهناك أيضاً علاقات متبادلة، وإن كانت بمدى أقل، في مجال التعليم العالي.
  • لا يوجد في الضواحي ولو مستشفى واحد. ويحصل معظم السكان على الخدمات الصحية في المستشفيات والعيادات الموجودة في شرقي القدس. النساء اللواتي يقطن في الضواحي يصلن بصورة دائمة تقريباً الى مستشفيات القدس من أجل الولادة، حيث أن الوصول الى مستشفيات بيت لحم ورام الله مرهون بإجتياز حاجز معزز (حاجز "الكونتينر" وحاجز قلنديا، بالتناسب) وقد يستغرق الوصول وقتاً طويلاً.
  • يتم تشغيل جزء كبير من القوى العاملة من الضواحي في القدس (بجميع أجزائها). وتعتمد لقمة عيش أصحاب الحوانيت والمحال والمصانع على الزبائن الذين يأتون الى القدس، وقد تم اغلاق الكثير من المحال التجارية منذ الشروع ببناء الجدار العازل.
  • يرتبط سكان شرقي القدس بأواصر القربى والعلاقات الإجتماعية الوثيقة مع سكان الضفة الغربية عامة، ومع سكان البلدات المجاورة بصورة خاصة.

وتدعي اسرائيل أن البوابات التي سيتم اقامتها على امتداد الجدار الفاصل ستتيح انتقال الناس من ناحية الى أخرى، وتحول دون المس بهذا النسيج الحياتي. غير ان التجربة التراكمية المتوفرة حتى الآن فيما يتعلق بتفعيل مثل هذه البوابات في شمال الضفة الغربية، تدل على محدودية هذه الخدمة: إن المرور عبر هذه البوابات يستوجب الحصول على تصاريح، ويتم تعريف الكثير ممن يرغبون بالعبور عبر هذه البوابات على أنهم "ممنوعين" لأسباب متنوعة وغريبة؛ ويتم فتح معظم البوابات لساعات محدودة فقط خلال اليوم وبطريقة لا تستجيب مع متطلبات السكان؛ كما أن المرور عبر هذه المعابر مرهون، في أحيان متقاربة، بالإنتظار الطويل، بسبب التأخير في فتح البوابات وكذلك بسبب الطوابير التي تتكوّن.

المتحدثون الرسميون بإسم اسرائيل يصرّحون في كل مناسبة أن الإعتبارات التي تقف وراء اختيار المسار الذي تم تحديده كانت من نوعين: الإعتبارات الأمنية والإعتبارات الخاصة بتقليل حجم الضرر الذي يلحق بالسكان الفلسطينيين. غير ان الإعتماد منذ البداية على الحدود البلدية كنقطة تعاط مركزية تشطب منذ البداية هذين الإعتبارين: فمن ناحية، يُبقي الجدار أكثر من 200.000 فلسطيني متعاطفين مع نضال شعبهم، في الطرف "الإسرائيلي" من الجدار، ومن الناحية الأخرى، يفصل الجدار بين الفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون على طرفي الجدار، من خلال أقصى المس بالنسيج الحياتي القائم بينهم.

إن الإلتصاق بالحدود البلدية والمبررات المُختلة التي تم تقديمها تقود الى الإستنتاج بأن الإعتبار المركزي في اختيار المسار هو الإعتبار السياسي: انعدام الإستعداد لدى الحكومة لدفع الثمن السياسي المرتبط بإختيار أي مسار يظهر وكأنه مس بالأسطورة القائمة على أن: "القدس الموحدة هي العاصمة الأبدية لإسرائيل".

موقف بتسيلم: على ضوء واقع الحياة الذي نُسج في أجزاء كبيرة من المدينة، منذ ضم شرقي القدس الى اسرائيل في العام 1967، فإن كل حل أمني يعتمد على إقامة أحادية الجانب لمعيق محسوس، بما في ذلك الجدار الذي سيُقام على الخط الأخضر، سيمس حقوق الإنسان بصورة قاسية. ينبغي على اسرائيل أن تحقق واجبها بالحفاظ على أمن مواطنيها بوسائل أخرى، تتمشى مع احترام حقوق الإنسان لجميع الذين يعيشون تحت سيطرتها.

Separation Barrier

Route of the barrier around East Jerusalem

Published: 
1 Jan 2011

The government's plan calls for the separation barrier to surround East Jerusalem and detach it from the rest of the West Bank. The relevant decisions and approvals to begin construction were made in three principal stages:

  1. In June 2002, as part of the decision in principle to build the whole separation barrier, the government approved Stage A, which included two sections north and south of Jerusalem. The northern section extends for some ten kilometers from the Ofer army base on the west to the Qalandiya checkpoint on the east. The southern section, also about ten kilometers in length, runs from the Tunnels Road on the west to Beit Sahur (south of Har Homa) on the east. The two sections were completed in July 2003.

  2. In September 2003, the Political-Security Cabinet approved the barrier's route in the other areas around Jerusalem, except for the section near the Ma'aleh Adumim settlement. These approvals were made in the framework of construction of Stages 3 and 4 of the entire barrier. The approval related to three subsections. One section is seventeen kilometers long, extending from the eastern edge of Beit Sahur on the south to the eastern edge of al-'Eizariya on the north. The other section covers a distance of fourteen kilometers, from the southern edge of 'Anata to the Qalandiya checkpoint on the north. The third section is also fourteen kilometers and surrounds five villages northwest of Jerusalem (Bir-Nabala, al-Judeireh, al-Jib, Beit Hanina al-Balad, and Nebi Samuel), which are situated near the city's municipal border. Most of the barrier in these sections will be a wall. The progress in building these sections varies: some parts have been completed while in others work has not begun.

  3. In February 2005, the Israeli government approved an entirely new route for the barrier following the High Court of Justice's decision in June 2004 that voided a section of the barrier on the grounds that it disproportionately harmed Palestinians in the area. The amended route made significant changes in various areas, but in the Jerusalem area the route largely remained as it was, except for an addition of forty kilometers that will surround the Ma'aleh Adumim settlement and settlements near it (Kfar Adumim, Anatot, Nofei Prat, and Qedar). The government did not, however, approve commencement of work on this section and conditioned confirmation on "further legal approval".

The dominant principle in setting the route in the Jerusalem area is to run the route along the city's municipal border. In 1967, Israel annexed into Jerusalem substantial parts of the West Bank, a total of some 70,000 dunams [17,500 acres]. Some 220,000 Palestinians now live in these annexed areas. There are two sections in which the barrier does not run along the municipal border. One is in the Kufr 'Abeq neighborhood. The other is in the area of the Shu'afat refugee camp. These are separated from the rest of the city by the barrier even though they lie within the city's jurisdictional area.

Palestinian towns and villages (Ramallah and Bethlehem, for example) are situated not far from Jerusalem's border. These communities are home to hundreds of thousands of Palestinians who have ties with Jerusalem. These ties with Jerusalem are especially close for residents of communities situated east of the city: a-Ram, Dahiyat al-Barid, Hizma, 'Anata, al-'Eizariya, Abu Dis, Sawahreh a-Sharqiya, and a-Sheikh Sa'ad (hereafter: "the suburbs"). The suburbs, with a population in excess of 100,000, are contiguous with the built-up area of neighborhoods inside Jerusalem. Until recently, the city's border had an inconsequential effect on the daily lives of the residents on both sides of the border. Residents of the suburbs who carry Palestinian identity cards officially need permits to enter East Jerusalem, but many routinely enter without a permit. Running the barrier along the municipal border completely ignores the fabric of life that has evolved over the years, and threatens to destroy it altogether:

  • In light of the housing shortage in East Jerusalem, over the years, tens of thousands of residents of East Jerusalem have moved to the suburbs. They still hold Israeli identity cards and receive many services in the city.

  • Thousands of children living in the suburbs study in schools in East Jerusalem, and many children living in Jerusalem study in schools outside the city. Similar reciprocal relations, albeit on a lesser scale, occur in higher education.

  • The suburbs do not have a single hospital. Most of the residents use hospitals and clinics in East Jerusalem. Women from the suburbs almost always give birth in Jerusalem hospitals because they would have to cross a staffed checkpoint (the "container" checkpoint and the Qalandiya checkpoint, respectively) to get to hospitals in Bethlehem and Ramallah, which may entail long delays.

  • A large proportion of the workforce in the suburbs is employed in Jerusalem, East and West. Shops, businesses, and factories in the suburbs rely on customers coming from Jerusalem. Many businesses have closed since construction on the barrier began.

  • Residents of East Jerusalem have close family and social relations with residents of the West Bank and with residents of the nearby communities in particular.

Israel contends that gates in the barriers will enable residents to cross from one side to the other and to maintain the existing fabric of life. However, experience regarding the operation of the gates in the northern West Bank section of the barrier raises grave doubts about the ability of the gates to provide a workable solution: crossing through the gate requires a permit, and many persons wanting to cross are listed as "prevented" for varied reasons; most of the gates are open only a few hours a day, far less than is needed to meet the residents' needs; residents must often wait a long time at the gates, sometimes because the gates do not open on time, and sometimes because of long lines.

Israeli officials state at every occasion that two considerations were instrumental in choosing the route: maintaining security and obstructing Palestinian life as little as possible. However, using the municipal border as the primary basis for determining the route is inconsistent with these two considerations. On the one hand, the route leaves more than 200,000 Palestinians, who identify with the struggle of their people, on the "Israeli" side of the barrier; on the other hand, the route separates Palestinians and curtails the existing fabric of life on both sides of the barrier.

The decision to run the barrier along the municipal border and the weak arguments given to explain that decision lead to the conclusion that the primary consideration was political: the unwillingness of the government to pay the political price for choosing a route that will contradict the myth, that "unified Jerusalem is the eternal capital of Israel."

B'Tselem believes that, in light of the way of life that has been created in large parts of the city since East Jerusalem was annexed by Israel in 1967, any security solution based on the unilateral construction of a physical barrier, including a barrier that runs along the Green Line, will severely violate human rights. Israel must meet its duty to protect its citizens and residents by other means - means which respect the human rights of all persons living in territory under its control.