Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

الجدار الفاصل حول قرية الولجة سيُبقي عائلة معزولة عند جانبه الآخر

يُبقي الجدار الفاصل حول قرية الولجة عائلة واحدة هي عائلة حجاجلة، عند الجانب الثاني من هذا الجدار وهو يعزلها عن سائر القرية. ويقع بيت عائلة حجاجلة عند المدخل الشرقي للولجة في نهاية شارع كرميزان الذي سُدّ بواسطة بوابة منذ 7/5/2013 لسبب غير معلوم. كما أنّ الجدار الموجود الآن في طور البناء حول القرية سيمرّ غربيّها.

بيت عائلة الحجاجلة. إلى اليسار يمكن مشاهدة هوامش الجدار الإسمنتي الخاصة بالممر من تحت الارض, إلى اليمين، الشارع المؤدي إلى كرمزان والذي سُدّ ببوابة. تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم، 13/6/2013.
بيت عائلة الحجاجلة. إلى اليسار يمكن مشاهدة هوامش الجدار الإسمنتي الخاصة بالممر من تحت الارض, إلى اليمين، الشارع المؤدي إلى كرمزان والذي سُدّ ببوابة. تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم، 13/6/2013.

وقد وصف ربّ العائلة عمر حجاجلة في إفادة أدلى بها أمام الباحثة في بتسيلم سهى زيد، بداية الأعمال لإقامة الجدار الذي من المتوقع أن يغيّر حياته وحياة عائلته: "لقد تغيّر الوضع عند بدء أعمال بناء الجدار الفاصل في نيسان 2010. وفي أثناء هذه الأعمال حُفر وجُرّف الكثير من الأراضي في منطقة كرميزان، على بعد قرابة 200 متر من بيتي. وأجرت الإدارة المدنية جولة في الموقع وأخبرتني بأنّ بيتي سيظلّ في الجانب الإسرائيليّ وبأنه سيُعزل من جميع الجهات وسيُحاط بسياج شبكيّ".

الممر من تحت الارض. تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم، 13/6/2013في مطلع كانون الثاني 2013، وقبل البدء ببناء الجدار الفاصل في هذا الجزء من القرية، اُستكمل بناء ممر تحت الأرض مخصّص للربط بين بيت العائلة وبين القرية وبدأت الأشغال لإقامة السياج الشبكيّ حول البيت. في أعقاب ذلك، قرّرت عائلة حجاجلة بدء نضال قضائيّ، وفي مطلع عام 2013 قدّمت إلى المحكمة التماسًا بواسطة محاميها غياث ناصر. في يوم 4/4/2013، قبلت المحكمة اتفاق التسوية بين دولة إسرائيل وبين محامي عائلة حجاجلة، والتي تقضي بعدم إحاطة البيت بسياج شبكيّ إلا أنّ الممر من تحت الأرض سيُغلق بواسطة بوابة وسيُحاط بجدار.

وتقرّر أنّ العائلة ستحصل على مفتاح لبوابة الممر من تحت الأرض بما يخضع للشروط التالية: الأشخاص الوحيدون المخوّلون بالمرور من دون أيّ قيود هم أفراد العائلة؛ سيارات العائلة هي السيارات الوحيدة التي يُسمح لها بالعبور عبر الممر من تحت الأرض؛ الزيارات إلى بيت العائلة لا تتم إلا عبر التنسيق مع مكتب التنسيق والارتباط قبل 48 ساعة من موعد الزيارة، حيث يُطرح عدد الزائرين وسبب الزيارة؛ يُقيّد عدد الزائرين بعشرة أشخاص ولا يُسمح لهم بالبقاء إلا حتى منتصف الليل؛ وتقرّر عدم السماح باستخدام الممر من تحت الأرض لأغراض التجارة أو لنقل مواد البناء. كما فُرض منع مطلق على البناء في منطقة البيت وما حوله.

وتقرّر في الاتفاق أنه في حال خرقت العائلة أحد بنوده، فإنها ستُحرم من إمكانية فتح البوابة بشكل مستقلّ، وبدلا من ذلك فإنها ستُفتح ثلاث مرات في اليوم لساعة واحدة في كلّ مرة، وبما يخضع للفحص الأمنيّ.

مع إنهاء بناء الجدار الفاصل حول قرية الولجة سيُعزل بيت عائلة حجاجلة عن سائر القرية، وسيُحرم أفراد العائلة إمكانية إدارة حياة روتينية سويّة، تشمل مثلا استقبال الزيارات في بيتهم بشكل عفويّ. كما أنهم سيضطرون للعيش في خوف مستمرّ من أيّ قرار اعتباطيّ قد يحرمهم من مفتاح البوابة بادّعاء خرقهم للاتفاق. وبحسب أقوال عمر حجاجلة: "لم يكن أمامي خيار فقبلت بالاتفاق... الممر من تحت الأرض اليوم جاهز وفي الأيام القادمة سينصبون شبكة وبوابة. أنا وعائلتي نعيش في داخل سجن مع بوابة تبعد عن البيت عدة أمتار... أنا لا أعرف كيف سيكون شكل هذه الحياة".

خلفية عن الجدار الفاصل حول الولجة

مسار الجدار الفاصل في منطقة الولجة يمر كله في مناطق الضفة الغربية، وقد تغير عدة مرات خلال السنين. وكان التخطيط الأصليّ يعزل القرية عن قضاء بيت لحم، الذي يرتبط به سكان القرية وفيه يتلقون جميع الخدمات. لاحقا تم تغيير المسار بحيث صار يحيط من خلال مسار مُلتو بجميع المساحات المبنية في القرية، من خلال فصل جميع الأراضي الزراعية. وفي أعقاب التماس قدّمه السكان إلى المحكمة العليا ألغت الدولة الجدار المخطط بناؤه جنوبيّ القرية ونصبت في الجدار بوابات زراعية. وخُصص المسار ليكون فاصلا بين الولجة وبين المستوطنة المجاورة "هار جيلو"، وهو يبقي مسارا وحيدا للدخول والخروج من القرية باتجاه البلدة المجاورة بيت جالا، بحيث يقوم حاجز في مداخل القرية بالإشراف على الحركة في هذا المسار.

قرية الولجة من وراء الجدار. تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم، 13/6/2013.
قرية الولجة من وراء الجدار. تصوير: ساريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم، 13/6/2013.

ويقوم الجدار حول الولجة بتحويل قرية زراعية تقع في قلب منطقة "مصاطب" زراعية عتيقة، إلى قفص إسمنتيّ يخنق أيّ إمكانية لتطويره. وقد ألحقت أعمال بناء الجدار أضرارًا جسيمة بالمصاطب الزراعية المستصلحة، ومع استكمال الجدار فإنّ إمكانية وصول مزارعي القرية إلى الأراضي التي يزرعونها منذ أجيال ستكون متعلقة بترتيبات يقرّرها الجيش في البوابات الزراعية، إضافة إلى ذلك، يوجد اليوم مخطط قيد الإجراءات التخطيطية لإقامة حديقة وطنية "عيمق رفائيم" وهي مخصصة لخدمة سكان القدس، وستشمل أراضيَ زراعية تابعة لسكان الولجة وبيت جالا. ومع أنّ الدولة التزمت بنصب بوابات زراعية في الجدار تسمح للسكان بالوصول إلى أراضيهم، إلا أنّ التجربة المتراكمة من مواقع أخرى في الضفة الغربية تشير إلى أنّ مثل هذه الترتيبات لا تسمح بشكل عام إلا بمنالية جزئية، وفي قسم من الحالات يُمنع الوصول كلية، رغم وجودها. وهي ترتيبات لم تثبت نجاعتها في مناطق أخرى من الضفة. أضف إلى ذلك، أنّ الحاجز المخطط عند مدخل القرية سيمسّ بحرية حركة جميع سكانها، ومن المتوقع أيضًا أن يمسّ بأرزاقهم وبالتربية والتعليم والعناية الطبية وبالعلاقات العائلية.

Separation Barrier surrounding al-Walajah to leave family isolated

Published: 
24 Jun 2013

The route of the planned Separation Barrier around the village of al-Walajah will separate the Hajajleh family from the rest of the village, leaving them isolated, on the other side of the barrier. The family’s home lies at the eastern entrance to al-Walajah, at the end of Karmizan Road. As of 7 May 2013, for unknown reasons, the road has already been closed off with a gate. The barrier being constructed around the village will run west of the house.

Hajajleh home. Visible at left: edge of cement wall of underground passageway. At right: Karmizan Road blocked by gate. Photo: Sarit Michaeli, B’Tselem, 13 June 2013.
Hajajleh home. Visible at left: edge of cement wall of underground passageway. At right: Karmizan Road blocked by gate. Photo: Sarit Michaeli, B’Tselem, 13 June 2013.

In his testimony to B’Tselem field researcher Suha Zeid, the father of the family, ‘Omar Hajajleh, described the early stages of the construction that will change his family’s life: “Things changed once they began building the Separation Barrier in April 2010. They dug up and cleared away a lot of land in the Karmizan area, about 200 meters away from my house. The Civil Administration came to inspect the area and informed me that my house would be on the Israeli side, isolated from every direction and enclosed by a chain-link fence.”

The underground passageway.  Photo: Sarit Michaeli, B’Tselem, 13 June 2013.In early January 2013, an underground passageway designed to connect the Hajajleh’s home to the rest of village was completed, and work began on erecting a chain-link fence around the house. Consequently, the Hajajleh family decided to pursue legal action and, in early 2013, petitioned the court via their lawyer, Adv. Ghayyath Nasser. On 4 April 2013, Israel’s Supreme Court accepted the compromise that the State had reached with the Adv. Nasser, under which the house would not be surrounded by a wire fence. Instead, the underground passageway would be blocked with a gate and enclosed by a fence.

According to the compromise agreement, the family would be given a key to the gate to the underground passageway, subject to the following conditions: only the Hajajlehs may use the underground passageway freely; only their vehicle may go through the passageway; all visits to the family’s home must be coordinated with the DCO 48-hour in advance, including providing details of the number of visitors and the purpose of their visit; no more than ten visitors are allowed at any one time, and visits must end by midnight; the passageway may not be used for commerce or for transporting construction materials. In addition, construction in the house and its environs is absolutely prohibited.

Should the family breach any of these conditions, they will no longer be permitted to open the gate themselves. Instead, the gate will be opened three times a day, for an hour each time, and crossing will require security inspection.

Once the Separation Barrier around al-Walajah is completed, the Hajajleh home will be severed from the rest of the village. The family will be denied a normal daily life, including, for instance, receiving spontaneous visits at their home. In addition, they will live in constant fear of an arbitrary decision to take away their gate key on the grounds that they breached their agreement with the State. ‘Omar Hajajleh explained: “I had no choice, so I accepted the agreement... The underground passageway is already built, and soon, they will put up the fence and gate. My family and I will be living in a prison, with a gate just a few meters away from our house... I don’t know what sort of life that’ll be.”

Once the Separation Barrier around al-Walajah is completed, the Hajajleh home will be severed from the rest of the village. The family will be denied a normal daily life, including, for instance, receiving spontaneous visits at their home. In addition, they will live in constant fear of an arbitrary decision to take away their gate key on the grounds that they breached their agreement with the State. ‘Omar Hajajleh explained: “I had no choice, so I accepted the agreement... The underground passageway is already built, and soon, they will put up the fence and gate. My family and I will be living in a prison, with a gate just a few meters away from our house... I don’t know what sort of life that’ll be.”

Background: The Separation Barrier around al-Walajah 

The route of the Separation Barrier in the al-Walajah area is located entirely within the West Bank and has been amended several times over the years. According to the original outline, the barrier would have severed the village from its home district, Bethlehem District, on which the villagers depend for all services. After one amendment, the route was set to wind around the entire built-up area of the village, separating the villagers from their agricultural land. After the villagers petitioned the High Court of Justice, the State agreed to change the planned section of the barrier to the south of the village, and set ‘agricultural gates’ in the barrier. The current route, which is designed to separate al-Walajah from the settlement of Har Gilo, leaves the village with a single access road leading to the nearby Palestinian town of Beit Jala. Traffic entering and leaving the village will be supervised by a checkpoint erected at the village gate.

Village of al-Walaja behind the Separation Barrier. Photo: Sarit Michaeli, B’Tselem, 13 June 2013.Village of al-Walaja behind the Separation Barrier. Photo: Sarit Michaeli, B’Tselem, 13 June 2013. 

The planned Separation Barrier around al-Walajah will transform an agrarian village set among ancient agricultural terraces into a concrete cage and stifle any possibility of development. The construction work on the barrier has heavily damaged cultivated terraces and, once complete, the villagers’ access to farmland they have worked for generations will be subject to arrangements made by the military for crossing the agricultural gates. In addition, a future Emeq Refa'im National Park is currently being planned to serve the residents of Jerusalem. The park is to include farmland belonging to residents of al-Walajah and Beit Jala. Although Israel has pledged to build ‘agricultural gates’ in the barrier so that residents may reach their lands, past experience from other areas of the West Bank has shown that such arrangements generally enable only partial access to the lands, and at times access is completely prohibited. Furthermore, the checkpoint to be erected at the entrance to the village will infringe upon the residents’ freedom of movement and, as a result, violate their rights to work, education, medical care and family ties.