4.5.10: محكمة العدل العليا تصادق على مسار الجدار الفاصل الذي يمس بصورة بالغة بسكان قرية الشيخ سعد

تم النشر في: 
5.5.10

بتاريخ 15 آذار قبلت محكمة العدل العليا موقف الدولة وحددت أن قرية الشيخ سعد الواقعة على الأطراف الجنوبية الشرقية في منطقة نفوذ مدينة القدس، تُفصل عن القدس الشرقية بواسطة الجدار الفاصل، وهو عبارة عن سور بارتفاع ثمانية أمتار.

قرية الشيخ سعد التي يصل تعداد سكانها إلى حوالي الفي نسمة تقع بجانب قرية جبل المكبر وتوجد بين السكان في القريتين علاقات عائلية وثيقة. على عكس جبل المكبر، لم يتم ضم قرية الشيخ سعد إلى القدس في العام 1967 وبقيت من الناحية الرسمية جزءا من الضفة الغربية. ومع هذا، فقد استمرت القرية في الأداء على أنها جزء من القدس الشرقية واعتمد سكان القرية على الخدمات التي حصلوا عليها في المدينة، وبضمن هذا خدمات التعليم والصحة. وقد اعتاش معظم سكان القرية من العمل داخل القدس. نصف سكان القرية هم من المواطنين الثابتين في إسرائيل وهم يحملون هويات زرقاء. باقي السكان يحملون بطاقات هوية فلسطينية غير أن معظمهم يحملون تصاريح دخول إلى إسرائيل.

الحاجز على مدخل قرية الشيخ سعد، تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 8.4.2010.
الحاجز على مدخل قرية الشيخ سعد، تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 8.4.2010.

إن الطريق الوحيدة التي تربط القرية مع باقي مناطق الضفة الغربية عبارة عن طريق ترابية وزراعية تمر عبر واد عميق وتربط قرية الشيخ سعد مع السواحرة الشرقية الواقعة إلى الشمال منها. وهي طريق وعرة مليئة بالصعاب وتتحول في الشتاء إلى طريق موحلة لا يمكن المرور فيها مطلقا. وقد كانت أمام سكان قرية الشيخ سعد طريق أخرى تمر عبر قرية جبل المكبر وقد سافر عبرها السكان إلى القدس وباقي مناطق الضفة.

في شهر أيلول 2002 أغلق الجيش الإسرائيلي هذا الشارع بواسطة الكثبان الترابية والمكعبات الإسمنتية ومنذ ذلك الحين لم يعد بالإمكان الخروج من القرية والدخول إليها بواسطة السيارات. في نهاية شهر آب 2003 تمت المصادقة على إقامة الجدار الفاصل في محيط القرية بحيث يفصل الجدار بين القرية وبين القدس الشرقية. وفي المقابل، فقد خططت الدولة شق شارع يربط بين قرية الشيخ سعد وبين قرية السواحرة الشرقية التي تم فصلها هي الأخرى عن القدس الشرقية بواسطة الجدار الفاصل.

في نيسان 2004 استأنف سكان القرية على مسار الجدار الفاصل الذي من المفترض له أن يفصل القرية عن جبل المكبر. في شهر آذار قبلت لجنة الاستئنافات بخصوص موضوع الجدار الفاصل الاستئناف وحددت انه "من الناحية التاريخية، فإن قرية الشيخ سعد تشكل جزءا من جبل المكبر في منطقة القدس" وأن مسار الجدار الفاصل ليس تناسبيا ويمس بحقوق سكان القرية في الحياة، الحرية والكرامة". وقد أمرت لجنة الاستئنافات الدولة بأن تفحص من جديد مسار الجدار الفاصل في المنطقة.

بعد مرور أسبوع تقريبا على قرار لجنة الاستئنافات تم إزالة أكوام التراب والمكعيات الإسمنتية في مدخل القرية وبدلا منها تم نصب بوابة ثابتة ومعززة. وقد قدمت الدولة التماسا ضد لجنة الاستئنافات إلى محكمة العدل العليا وادعت أن لجنة الاستئنافات تجاهلت التبعات الأمنية المرتبطة بمسار بديل يضم القرية إلى منطقة القدس. من خلال أمر مؤقت صدر عن المحكمة في تموز 2006، سُمح للدولة بإقامة جدار أمني مؤقت من خلال الإبقاء على فتحة ما بين قرية الشيخ سعد والقدس. في هذا الحاجز، كما هو الحال في الحاجز المؤقت، يسمح المرور للمشاة فقط غير انه على النقيض من السابق، لا يسمح للسيارات بالوصول إلى الحاجز ويطلب منها التوقف على بعد حوالي عشرين مترا منه. من أجل إدخال أو إخراج البضائع من القرية واليها، بما في ذلك المؤن الغذائية ومنتجات حيوية أخرى، يضطر السكان إلى حملها فوق ظهورهم. يسمح لسكان قرية الشيخ سعد وجبل المكبر الذين يحملون البطاقات الزرقاء بالعبور عبر الحاجز سيرا على الأقدام وفي الغالب يُسمح المرور أيضا لسكان القرى الذين يحملون بطاقات هوية فلسطينية ممن يحملون تراخيص دخول إلى القدس.

إحدى التبعات الخطيرة الناتجة عن القيود المفروضة على القرية تتعلق بالمس بالقدرة على تلقي العلاج الطبي، خاصة العلاج الطبي الطارئ: إن المرور المعقد عبر الحاجز يُصعب من عملية إخلاء المرضى المحتاجين إلى العلاج الطارئ في المستشفيات القدس الشرقية، والسفر إلى المستشفيات في القدس الشرقية بطريق ترابية تصل إلى السواحرة الشرقية، جعل السفر باهظا بثلاثة أضعاف عن السفر مباشرة عن طريق جبل المكبر. يوجد في القرية عيادتان، واحدة يتم تفعيلها من قبل السلطة الفلسطينية بواقع مرتين في الأسبوع، لمدة ثلاث ساعات في كل مرة، والثانية يتم تفعيلها من قبل المجلس القروي كمركز لتقديم الاسعافات الأولية، لمدة خمس ساعات يوميا، لكنها تفتقر إلى المعدات والأدوية. في السابق درج سكان القرية على الحصول على الخدمات الطبية في المستشفيات الواقعة القدس الشرقية، خاصة عيادة صندوق المرضى العام التي تعمل في جبل المكبر المجاورة على بعد مائة متر من مدخل القرية.

هناك ضرر آخر يتعلق بالعلاقات الاجتماعية الخاصة بسكان القرية. أبناء العائلة نفسها الذين يملكون بطاقات هوية فلسطينية يجدون صعوبة في الحفاظ على العلاقات مع أقربائهم الذين يسكنون في جبل المكبر وهم يحصلون على تصاريح خاصة لزيارتهم في الأعياد والمناسبات الخاصة. في ظل هذا الوضع يجد شبان القرية صعوبة في العثور على شريكة حياة بسبب الصعوبات المستقبلية التي تنتظر العائلة في قرية معزولة.

في قرار الحكم الصادر بتاريخ 15 آذار 2010 قبلت محكمة العدل العليا موقف الدولة وصادقت على مسار الجدار الأصلي بين قرية الشيخ سعد وبين جبل المكبر. وقد اعترف القضاة بأن الجدار سيؤثر مستقبلا بصورة غير بسيطة على واقع حياة السكان في حي قرية الشيخ سعد ويُصعب القيام بالعمليات الحياتية اليومية البسيطة". وقد أمرت المحكمة الدولة بإقامة بوابة من حديد في الجدار الفاصل بحيث يتم التخفيف من "المس البالغ" عن طريق فتح هذه البوابة لمدة 24 ساعة في اليوم لمرور سكان القرية الذين يُسمح لهم بالدخول إلى إسرائيل ومن خلال شق الشارع المخطط الذي يربط بين القرية وبين السواحرة الشرقية.

تم تحديد مسار الجدار حول قرية الشيخ سعد، كما هو الحال في جميع مناطق القدس، بهدف فصل المناطق التي تم ضمها في العام 1967 إلى القدس الشرقية عن باقي الضفة الغربية. على ضوء واقع الحياة الذي تكرس منذ سنوات طويلة بين قرية الشيخ سعد وبين جبل المكبر، فإن إقامة جدار مبني بينهما يؤدي إلى مس بالغ ومتراكم بحقوق الإنسان، كما وقع في مناطق أخرى في المدينة. إن ما أمرت به محكمة العدل العليا بخصوص بناء بوابة في الجدار ما بين القريتين لا يمكن أن يكون بديلا لائقا لنمط حياة معقول.

لا يستطيع المواطنون المرور عبر البوابة بواسطة سياراتهم وهم يضطرون الى الاستمرار بالسير على الأقدام أو استبدال السيارات من جانبي البوابة، وهو أمر يزيد من تكاليف السفر ويُصعب كثيرا إ دخال المنتجات الى القري ة، بدءا من المشتريات العائلية وانتهاءا بالأحمال الثقيلة مثل الأثاث والعلف. لغاية الآن لم يتم البدء بشق شارع منظم الى السواحرة الشرقية، وحتى لو تم شقه ، فإنه لن يكون بديلا لائقا للوصول السريع الى الخدمات الحيوية عن طريق جبل المكبر. بالاضافة الى ذلك، فإن المرور عبر البوابة سيكون مرتبطا بإجراء فحص وقد يستلزم الانتظار في دور طويل. بناء على ذلك، فإن اقامة العائق في هذا المسار سيمس بالوصول الى العلاج الطبي المستعجل، خاصة أيام الاغلاق (التي تشمل الأعياد اليهودية)، و يصعب كثيرا عملية الحفاظ على العلاقات الأسرية بين الأهالي في الشيخ سعد والأهالي في جبل المكبر ويعرقل العمليات اليومية الخاصة بسكان الشيخ سعد في شرقي القدس.

على ضوء واقع الحياة المنسوج منذ ضم القدس الشرقية لإسرائيل في العام 1967، وبخصوص مناطق كثيرة في المدينة، فإن أي حل أمني يعتمد على إقامة الجدار المبني، بما في ذلك الجدار الذي سيقام على الخط الأخضر، سيمس بصورة بالغة بحقوق الإنسان. ينبغي على إسرائيل ممارسة حقها في الاهتمام بأمن مواطنيها بوسائل أخرى، تتفق مع احترام حقوق الإنسان لبني البشر الذين يعيشون تحت سيطرتها.

5 May 2010: High Court of Justice approves Separation Barrier route near Sheikh Sa’ed in Jerusalem area, seriously infringing the villagers’ human rights

Published: 
5 May 2010

On 15 March 2010, the Israeli High Court of Justice accepted the state's position and held that the village of Sheikh Sa'ed, which is situated on the southeast edge of Jerusalem's city limits, will be severed from East Jerusalem by the Separation Barrier, a wall eight meters high.

The checkpoint at the entrance to the village of Sheikh Sa'ed. Photo: 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 8 April 2010.
The checkpoint at the entrance to the village of Sheikh Sa'ed. Photo: 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 8 April 2010.

Sheikh Sa'ed, which is home to two thousand persons, lies by the village of Jabel Mukaber and close family relations exist between the residents of the two villages. Unlike Jabel Mukaber, Israel did not annex Sheikh Sa'ed to Jerusalem in 1967, and it officially remained part of the West Bank. However, the village continued to function as part of East Jerusalem, with its residents receiving most of their services, including education and health, in the city. Most of the residents worked in Jerusalem. Half of the residents are permanent residents of Israel and hold Israeli ID cards; the others hold Palestinian ID cards, but most of them have permits to enter Jerusalem.

The only road linking the village with the rest of the West Bank is a dirt farm road that cuts through a deep wadi and reaches Sawahreh a-Sharqiya, north of Sheikh Sa'ed. The road is in very poor condition and after it rains, becomes muddy and impassable. The villagers had another road at their disposal, running through Jabel Mukaber, which they used to get to Jerusalem and elsewhere in the West Bank.

In September 2002, the army blocked the road to Jabel Mukaber with dirt mounds and concrete blocks. Since then, it has been impossible to enter or leave the village by car. In late August 2003, Israel approved construction of the Separation Barrier in the area, along a route separating Sheikh Sa'ed from East Jerusalem. The state also planned to pave a road that would link Sheikh Sa'ed to the village of Sawahreh a-Sharqiya, which was also separated from East Jerusalem by the barrier.

In April 2004, the villagers submitted an appeal against the route of the Separation Barrier, which would disconnect them from Jabel Mukaber. In March 2006, the Separation Barrier Appeals Committee accepted the appeal, holding that, “historically, Sheikh Sa'ed is part of Jabel Mukaber, which lies within Jerusalem” and that the route of the barrier is disproportionate and infringes the villagers' rights to life, liberty, and dignity. The Appeals Committee ordered the state to reconsider the barrier's route in the area.

A week after the committee made its decision, the Border Police replaced the dirt mounds and concrete blocks at the village's entrance with a staffed checkpoint. The state petitioned the High Court of Justice against the decision of the Appeals Committee, claiming that it ignored the security ramifications of the alternative route, which would annex the village to the area of Jerusalem. In an interim ruling issued in July 2006, the court permitted the state to establish a temporary security fence, leaving an opening between Sheikh Sa'ed and Jerusalem. The new checkpoint, like the temporary one that preceded it, may be crossed only on foot. Unlike before, however, vehicles are not even allowed to come up to the checkpoint, and have to stop about twenty meters from it. The only way that villagers can now bring goods into the village or out of it, including foodstuffs and other vital products, is by carrying them on their backs. Residents of Sheikh Sa'ed and Jabel Mukaber who have Israeli ID cards are allowed to cross the checkpoint on foot at any time, and residents holding Palestinian ID cards and permits to enter Jerusalem are generally allowed to cross too.

One of the most serious consequences of the restrictions imposed on the village is impaired access to medical treatment, especially in emergency cases. The complicated crossing at the checkpoint makes it hard to take seriously ill persons to hospitals in East Jerusalem. Traveling to hospital in East Jerusalem along the dirt road to Sawahreh a-Sharqiya is almost three times as expensive as traveling via Jabel Mukaber.

The village has two medical clinics. One is operated by the Palestinian Authority and is open twice a week for three hours at a time. The other, operated by the village council, is intended for first-aid and is open five hours a day but lacks equipment and medicines. In the past, residents went to hospitals in East Jerusalem for treatment and many went to the Clalit Health Fund clinic in Jabel Mukaber, which lies 100 meters from the entrance to Sheikh Sa'ed.

Family relations of the villagers are also harmed. Relatives holding Palestinian ID cards find it difficult to maintain contact with their relatives in Jabel Mukaber; they only receive permits to visit on holidays and special occasions. Given the situation of families living in the isolated village, it is hard for young people in the village to find a spouse willing to live there.

In a decision given on 15 March 2010, the High Court accepted the state's position and approved the original route between Sheikh Sa'ed and Jabel Mukaber. The justices recognized that “the fence will significantly affect the reality in which the residents of the Sheikh Sa'ed neighborhood live, and make it difficult for them to carry out routine and simple actions.” They ordered the state to build a gate in the barrier and held that the “grave harm” that the villagers face will be reduced by keeping the gate open around the clock for the villagers allowed to enter Israel, and by paving the planned road between the village and Sawahreh a-Sharqiya.

The route of the Separation Barrier around Sheikh Sa'ed, as in the entire area of Jerusalem, is intended to separate the areas annexed in 1967 from the rest of the West Bank. In light of the fabric of life that has developed over many years between Sheikh Sa'ed and its parent village, Jabel Mukaber, construction of a physical barrier between them will result in serious and cumulative infringement of human rights, as has already occurred elsewhere in the city. The relief proposed by the High Court, that a gate be built in the Barrier between the two villages, is not a proper alternative for maintaining a reasonable way of life.

Given the reality of life as it has developed in many parts of the city since the annexation of East Jerusalem in 1967, any security solution based on the building of a physical barrier, even one that is built along the Green Line, will severely harm human rights. Israel must carry out its duty to ensure the security of its residents by other means that are consistent with the human rights of all those who live in the territory under its control.