Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

راية سوداء: عن المعاني الأخلاقيّة والقضائيّة لسياسة الاعتداء على البيوت السكنيّة في قطاع غزة في صيف 2014

ملخّص، كانون اول 2015

بيت عائلة الحاج الذي تم قصفه يوم 10/7/2014 في مخيم اللاجئين خان يونس. قتل ثمانية من افراد العائلة جراء القصف. تصوير: محمد سعيد، بتسيلم، 10/7/2014.
بيت عائلة الحاج الذي تم قصفه يوم 10/7/2014 في مخيم اللاجئين خان يونس. قتل ثمانية من افراد العائلة جراء القصف. تصوير: محمد سعيد، بتسيلم، 10/7/2014.

في يوم 8/7/2014، بدأت جولة جديدة من القتال في قطاع غزة، سُمّيت "عملية الجرف الصامد". وانتهى القتال بعد نحو خمسين يومًا باتفاق لوقف إطلاق النار بين إسرائيل وحماس. وفي أثناء القتال الذي شمل دخولاً برّيًا إلى مناطق القطاع، قصف الجيش الإسرائيليّ من الجوّ والبحر والبرّ آلاف الأهداف. وقد قُتل أكثر من 2,200 فلسطينيّ من بينهم مئات الأطفال. وهُدم أو تضرّر جدًا نحو 18,000 بيت، وظلّ أكثر من 100,000 فلسطينيّ من دون مأوى. أطلق الفلسطينيّون أثناء القتال أكثر من 4,000 قذيفة وقذيفة هاون من قطاع غزة، صُوّبت أساسًا نحو بلدات مدنيّة إسرائيليّة. ونتيجةً لذلك، قُتل في إسرائيل ستة مدنيّين، منهم طفل في الرابعة من عمره، إلى جانب مقتل 67 جنديًّا.

في اليوم الأول للقتال قصف الجيش الإسرائيليّ بيت عائلة كوارع في خان يونس. انهار البيت كلية، ما أدّى لمقتل تسعة أشخاص، من بينهم خمسة أطفال تراوحت أعمارهم بين 7-14 عامًا. كان هذا القصف الأوّل من بين عشرات حالات القصف من الجوّ ومن البرّ، التي تحوّلت إلى أكثر الصفات المميّزة والمثيرة للذعر للقتال الذي دار في القطاع أثناء الصيف المنصرم: عمليّات قصف قتلت مئات الأشخاص -أكثر من ربع الفلسطينيّين الذين قتلوا خلال القتال- والقصص المتكرّرة لعائلات فلسطينيّة وقتلاها الكُثُر، وعائلة بعد عائلة انهار ودُمّر بيتها وحياتها في لحظة.

لم تكن هذه الاعتداءات مبادرة ذاتيّة من الجنود أو الطيّارين أو القيادة الميدانيّة، بل تعبير وانعكاس للسياسة التي وضعها المستوى السياسيّ الإسرائيليّ والمستوى العسكريّ الإسرائيليّ الرفيع. لقد دعم هذا المستويان سياسة الاعتداءات على البيوت، وكرّرا مرة بعد أخرى الادّعاء القائل بأنّ هذه الاعتداءات تستوي مع أحكام القانون الإنسانيّ الدوليّ، وتنصّلا من أيّ مسؤولية عن المسّ بالمدنيّين.

بغية تحضير هذا التقرير، قامت منظمة بتسيلم بفحص 70 حادثة، قُتل في كلّ واحدة منها أكثر من ثلاثة أشخاص كانوا يمكثون في داخل بيوتهم. وقُتل في هذه الأحداث في المجمل 606 فلسطينيًّا. غالبيّتهم الكبيرة لم يشاركوا في القتال: نحو 70% منهم كانوا دون سن الثامنة عشرة أو فوق سنّ الستين أو من النساء.

إنّ فحص هذه الحالات يشير إلى أنّ الجيش الإسرائيليّ عمل في بعض الحالات على الأقلّ خلافًا لتعليمات القانون الإنسانيّ الدوليّ، فيما يُشتبه جدًّا بفعله ذلك في حالات أخرى. ومن الاستقصاء الذي أجرته منظمة بتسيلم يتّضح وجود ثلاثة أسباب أساسيّة أدّت إلى مقتل هذا العدد الكبير من المدنيّين:

أ. تعريف فضفاض لـ "هدف عسكريّ" يُسمح المسّ به

في أثناء القتال، قصف الجيش الإسرائيليّ عشرات المباني السكنيّة التابعة لناشطي حركتي حماس والجهاد الإسلاميّ، تعامل معها الجيش على أنها أهداف عسكريّة شرعيّة. وحاولت جهات رسميّة إسرائيليّة –منها المدّعي العسكريّ العام والناطق العسكريّ- الادّعاء أنّ الحديث يدور عن "بنى تحتيّة عمليّاتيّة" أو "بنى تحتيّة للقيادة والسيطرة في التنظيم" أو "بنى تحتيّة إرهابيّة".

من الممكن حقًا أن تشكّل المنازل السكنيّة التابعة لناشطي حماس أو التنظيمات الأخرى، أهدافًا عسكريّة شرعيّة، إلا أنّ الاختبار الذي وضعه القانون الإنسانيّ الدوليّ للبتّ في كون مبنًى ما "هدفًا عسكريًّا" أم لا هو اختبار مزدوج: يجب على المبنى أن يسهم إسهامًا فعّالاً في النشاط العسكريّ ويجب على المسّ به أن يمنح أفضليّة عسكريّة جليّة للجهة المعتدية.

وخلافًا لذلك، لم تدّعِ أيّ جهة رسميّة إسرائيليّة وجود علاقة بين بيت سكنيّ هوجم وبين أيّ نشاط عسكريّ جرى فيه، وبدلاً من ذلك، اكتفت هذه الجهات بتفصيل ضلوع أصحاب البيوت في النشاطات الموجّهة ضدّ إسرائيل في الراهن والماضي، أو بتوصيف نشاطات يمكن أن تتلخّص بمحادثة هاتفيّة أو لقاء، يمكن إجراؤهما في أيّ مكان.

التسويغات التي وفّرها الناطق العسكريّ والنيابة العسكريّة لهدم بيوت الناشطين غير مقنعة، ويبدو أنها لا تهدف إلا للتستّر على الدافع الحقيقيّ من وراء هدم هذه البيوت: هُويّة أصحابها. ووفقًا لذلك، فإنّ الحديث يدور عمليًّا عن عشرات عمليات عقابيّة لهدم البيوت –المحظورة بحدّ ذاتها- فوق ساكنيها. وفي ظلّ غياب معلومات عينيّة بخصوص الإسهام الفعّال للبيت في النشاط العسكريّ، والأفضليّة العسكريّة الجليّة المتوقّعة نتيجة لهدمه، فإنّ حقيقة كون البيت بملكيّة ناشط في الذراع العسكريّة لحماس أو الجهاد الإسلاميّ لا تحوّله إلى هدف عسكريّ شرعيٍّ يُسمح بالمسّ به.

ب. تفسير مَرن لمصطلح "ضرر عرضيّ" قانونيّ

تلتزم القوّات المقاتلة بالعمل وفق "مبدأ التناسبيّة"، الذي ينصّ على وجوب الامتناع عن هجوم ما إذا ما كان المسّ المتوقّع بالمدنيّين نتيجة له مبالغًا به، قياسًا بالأفضليّة العسكريّة المرجوّة من وراء هذا الهجوم. ولا يكون هذا المبدأ ذا صلة، طبعًا، إلاّ إذا كان هدف الهجوم هدفًا عسكريًّا شرعيًّا، ولولا ذلك فإنّ الهجوم نفسه لا يكون شرعيًّا أصلاً، من دون علاقة بـ "الأضرار المرافقة" المتوقعة.

يُفحص حجم الهجوم بناءً على التوقعات بخصوص الضرر المتوقع الذي سيلحق بالمدنيّين والأفضليّة العسكريّة التي ستنجم عنه، وليس بناءً على الضرر الذي يقع فعلاً. وعليه، فإنّ الإجابة على السؤال حول ما إذا كان الجيش قد تصرّف وفق مبدأ التناسبيّة أم لا، مرهونة بالمعلومات التي كانت متوفّرة لديه أثناء تنفيذ الهجوم.

ولكن في كلّ قصف كهذا انهارت فيها البيوت فوق رؤوس ساكنيها، قُتل مدنيّون لم يكونوا ضالعين في القتال. وبعد وقوع هجمات متكرّرة كهذه، كان على صُناع القرار توقُع المسّ الجسيم الذي تلحقه مثل هذه الهجمات. ورغم ذلك، تواصلت هذه الهجمات على طول فترة القتال ولم يطرأ أيّ تغيير على سياسة إطلاق النار على البيوت. وقد امتنعت جهات رسميّة –من الجيش الإسرائيليّ وخارجه- عن التطرّق إلى حالات عينيّة، وبدلاً من ذلك كرّرت طيلة الوقت الادّعاء العام بأنّ الجيش ينشط وفقًا لمبدأ التناسبيّة. ولكن، ومع غياب إثبات بأنّ الأفضليّة العسكريّة التي توخّى الجيش تحقيقها عبر هذه الهجمات كانت جليّة وحقيقيّة، فلا مفرّ من التوصل إلى الاستنتاج القائل بخرق هذا المبدأ.

جـ. غياب الإنذارات أو إصدار إنذارات غير فعّالة

سعيًا لتقليص المسّ اللاحق بالمدنيّين، طُولبت القوات المقاتلة بمنحهم إنذارًا ناجعًا مسبقًا قبل الاعتداء، "إلا إذا لم تسمح الظروف بذلك"، كي يكونوا قادرين على حماية أنفسهم. إنّ هذ الواجب منصوص عليه في القانون الإنسانيّ الدوليّ، ولا يجري الحديث هنا عن مِنّة يقوم بها الجيش الإسرائيليّ لصالح السكّان.

في أثناء القتال، استخدم الجيش الإسرائيليّ وسيلتي إنذار أساسيّتيْن: الأولى، إنذار لسكان بيت معيّن بأنّ الجيش على وشك الهجوم، بواسطة مكالمة هاتفيّة أو إطلاق صاروخ صغير نسبيًّا على سطح البيت. إلاّ أنّ هذه الإنذارات لم تكن فعّالة دائمًا: فأحيانًا لم يكن يُمنح السكان ما يكفي من الوقت لترك بيتهم، وأحيانًا لم يكن من الواضح عن أيّ بيت مستهدَف يتحدّثون. وفي حالات أخرى قام السكان الذين تلقوا الإنذار بترك البيت فعلاً، إلا أنّ القصف لحق بيوتًا مجاورة أيضًا أصيب سكانها الذين لم يتلقوْا إنذارًا. لا تملك بتسيلم إمكانية البتّ في ما إذا كان الجيش الأسرائيلي وجّه إنذارًا لهؤلاء السكان ولم يُفهم، أم أنّه لو يوجّه بتاتًا مثل هذا الإنذار.

الثانية، مطالبة السكان بمغادرة مناطق واسعة، عبر توزيع المناشير. وقد قام عشرات آلاف السكان، فعلاً، بإخلاء بيوتهم في أعقاب هذه الإنذارات. لكن، وفي بعض الحالات التي استقصتها بتسيلم، قُتلت بالذات العائلات التي فرّت من بيوتها في أعقاب أوامر الجيش الإسرائيليّ إلى الأحياء التي اُعتبرت أكثر أمانًا.

 

*  *  *

تنصّلت الجهات الرسميّة الإسرائيليّة من المسؤوليّة عن الضرر الهائل الذي لحق بالمدنيّين، وألقت بكامل المسؤوليّة على كاهل حماس. وقال رئيس الحكومة بنيامين نتنياهو إنّ "الأذرع الأمنيّة تبذل كلّ جهد للامتناع عن المسّ بالمدنيّين وفي حال وقوع مسّ بالأبرياء فإنّ هذا نابع من اختباء حماس المتعمّد من وراء المدنيّين الفلسطينيّين".

يجب رفض هذه الادّعاءات. صحيح أنّ تنظيم حماس والتنظيمات المسلّحة الأخرى التي تنشط في القطاع لا تنشط وفق أحكام القانون الإنسانيّ الدوليّ، وهي حتى لا تدّعي أنها تفعل ذلك. وكما أوضحت بتسيلم قبل القتال وأثناءه وبعده، فإنّ حماس انتهكت هذه الأحكام، وعلى الأخصّ الواجب الملقيّ عليها بالتمييز بين الأهداف المدنيّة وبين الأهداف العسكريّة: فلم ينحصر الأمر في أنّ حماس أطلقت النار صوب مدنيّين إسرائيليّين وأهداف مدنيّة إسرائيليّة، بل أنها فعلت ذلك من خلال نشاط أفرادها من داخل السكان المدنيّين، وهم يطلقون النار من أماكن مجاورة لبيوت المدنيّين، ويدفون السلاح في بيوت المدنيّين ويحفرون الأنفاق من تحتها.

وفي ظلّ هذا الواقع، فإنّ المسألة المطروحة للنقاش تتمثل في طابع الاستنتاجات التي يحقّ لصُناع السياسات استخلاصها منه. ووفقًا لأقوال رئيس الحكومة الإسرائيليّة، يتّضح أنّ المسؤوليّة بخصوص اتباع وسائل الحذر والوقاية تتوزع بين الجيش الإسرائيليّ وبين حماس. إلا أنّ هذا التفسير يهدف لصدّ أيّ ادعاء سلفًا ضدّ إسرائيل، وهذا يعني أنّها متحرّرة من أيّ قيد كان؛ وأنّ أيّ ردّ من طرفها على أفعال حماس، مهما كانت نتائجه فظيعة، هو ردّ شرعيّ. هذا التفسير غير معقول وغير قانونيّ، وهو يفرغ من مضمونها القاعدة التي تنصّ على عدم انعتاق الطرف الثاني من واجبه تجاه السكان المدنيّين والمواقع المدنيّة.

القتال ضدّ حماس يفرض حقًا تحدّيات بالغة الصعوبة: كيف يمكن في مثل هذه الظروف التمييز بين الأهداف العسكريّة الشرعيّة وبين المواقع والأشخاص المدنيّين؟ كيف يمكن الامتناع عن إلحاق الأذى بالمدنيّين الذين لا يشاركون في القتال، إذا كان ناشطو حماس يطلقون القذائف على بلدات إسرائيليّة من داخل التجمّعات السكنيّة؟ لا تدّعي منظمة بتسيلم أنها ستقدّم للحكومة الإسرائيليّة وللجيش مخطّطات عينيّة واضحة لإدارة القتال في غزة: هذه ليست مهمّة منظمة حقوق إنسان. الحكومة هي التي تتحمّل مسؤولية العثور على طرق لمواجهة هذه التحدّيات، من خلال الحفاظ على البُعد الإنسانيّ وعلى أحكام القانون.

الواضح أنّ السياسة الموصوفة في التقرير ليست ردًّا شرعيًّا على هذا التحدّي. وحتى لو اعتقد قباطنة الدولة والجيش أن تطبيق هذه السياسة سيؤدّي إلى وقف إطلاق القذائف على البلدات الإسرائيليّة، فإنّ تطبيقها يظلّ محظورًا بسبب نتائجها المتوقّعة والفظيعة، وبسبب الراية السوداء التي ترفرف فوقها.

Black Flag: The legal and moral implications of the policy of attacking residential buildings in the Gaza Strip, summer 2014

Summary, Jan. 2015

The ruins of the al-Haj family home where 8 family members were killed. Photo by Muhammad Sa’id, B’Tselem, 10 July 2014.
The ruins of the al-Haj family home where 8 family members were killed. Photo: Muhammad Sa’id, B’Tselem, 10 July 2014.

Download Full report, PDF

On 8 July 2014, another round of hostilities broke out in Gaza. It was dubbed Operation Protective Edge. About 50 days later, the fighting ended in a ceasefire agreement between Israel and Hamas. During the fighting, which included an incursion by ground forces, the Israeli military launched strikes from the air, sea and land against thousands of targets. More than 2,200 Palestinians were killed, including hundreds of children. About 18,000 homes were destroyed or badly damaged and more than 100,000 Palestinians were rendered homeless. Over the course of the fighting, Palestinians fired over 4,000 rockets and mortar shells from the Gaza Strip, mostly at civilian communities inside Israel. As a result, five civilians were killed in Israel, including a four-year-old boy. Sixty-seven Israeli soldiers were killed in the fighting.

On the first day of the fighting, the military attacked the Kaware’ family home. The house collapsed. Nine people, including five children aged 7 to 14, were killed. This was just the first of dozens of air, sea and ground strikes, which would become one of the appalling hallmarks of the fighting in Gaza this summer: bombings in which hundreds of people were killed – constituting more than a quarter of all of the Palestinians killed in the fighting. Time and again Palestinian families suffered much grievous loss of life. In a single instant, so many families were ruined, with the wreckage of their lives mirroring the devastation of their homes.

These attacks were not carried out on the whim of individual soldiers, pilots or commanders in the field. They are the result of a policy formulated by government officials and the senior military command. These officials backed the policy of attacking homes, reiterating the argument that the attacks conform to international humanitarian law (IHL) and eschewing any responsibility for harm to civilians.

For the purpose of this report B’Tselem investigated 70 incidents in each of which at least three people were killed while inside their home. A total of 606 Palestinians were killed in such incidents, the vast majority of whom took no part in the fighting: more than 70% were either under 18, over 60 or women. An examination of these cases indicates that, at least in some cases, the military’s actions ran contrary to IHL provisions and, in other cases, there is grave concern that they did so. B’Tselem’s research indicated three main reasons that led to the death of so many civilians:

A. Broad definition of what constitutes a “military objective” that may be targeted

Over the course of the fighting, the military targeted dozens of homes where Hamas and Islamic Jihad operatives live, which it perceived as legitimate military targets. Officials, including the MAG and the IDF Spokesperson, tried to claim that the houses were “operational infrastructure”, “the organization’s command and control infrastructure” or “terror infrastructure”.

It is possible for residences of operatives of Hamas or other organizations to be considered legitimate military targets, but IHL stipulates a twofold test for deciding whether a structure is a “military objective”: the structure must make an effective contribution to military action, and harming it must give the attacking party a clear military advantage.

In spite of this, no official claimed that there was any connection between a house that was targeted and any specific military activity there. Instead, officials listed the occupants’ past and present actions against Israel, or described actions that could have boiled down to a phone call or a meeting which could take place anywhere.

The explanations the IDF Spokesperson and the MAG provided for the destruction of operatives’ homes are unconvincing and appear to be no more than a cover-up for the actual reason for the destruction, namely the identity of the occupants. In this sense, these strikes constitute dozens of cases of punitive house demolitions – themselves prohibited – carried out from the air, with occupants still inside. In the absence of specific information about the effective contribution a given house made to military action and the clear advantage gained by destroying it, the fact that a Hamas or Islamic Jihad military branch operative lived in it, is insufficient grounds to make the house a legitimate military target.

B. Flexible interpretation of the concept of lawful “collateral damage”

The parties to the hostilities must also adhere to the “principle of proportionality”, whereby when harm to civilians as a result of an attack is projected to be excessive in relation to its anticipated military advantage, the attack should not be carried out. Obviously, this principle is relevant only in cases of legitimate military targets. Otherwise, the attack is unlawful a priori, regardless of the expected “collateral damage”.

The proportionality of an attack is measured by the projected harm it would cause to civilians and the military advantage it would give, rather than by the damage caused in actual fact. Accordingly, the answer to the question of whether the military complied with the principle of proportionality depends on the information it had when launching the attack.

Yet many civilians who took no part in the fighting were killed in every strike in which houses collapsed with their occupants inside. After repeated attacks with many civilian casualties, decision makers should have anticipated the severe harm caused by these attacks. Nevertheless, such attacks persisted throughout the fighting, and the policy of firing at homes remained unaltered. Officials – military and otherwise – refrained from addressing specific cases, and instead, repeated the general argument that the military follows the principle of proportionality. However, in the absence of proof that the military advantage the anticipated from these attacks was both unmistakable and significant, the inevitable conclusion is that this principle has been violated.

C. Warning absent or ineffective

To minimize harm to civilians, armed forces are required to give “effective advance warning” prior to the attack, “unless circumstances do not permit”, in order to allow civilians to protect themselves. The duty to take precautions is enshrined in IHL. It is not an act of goodwill on the part of the military toward the residents, but an express obligation the military must fulfil.

Over the course of the fighting, the military used two main warning methods. One was warning residents of a house the military was planning to attack over the phone or by firing a relatively small missile at their roof. These warnings were not always effective. Sometimes, residents were not given enough time to evacuate and sometimes it was not clear which house was the target. In other cases, the residents who had been warned did leave the house, but residents in nearby homes who had not received a warning, were hurt when their homes were damaged in the attack. In some of the cases we investigated, occupants told B’Tselem that they had received no warning prior to the attack, and therefore did not leave. B’Tselem has no way of knowing whether the military had given these residents a warning that they did not understand or had given no warning at all.

The other warning method was distributing flyers that issued a demand that residents evacuate vast areas. Tens of thousands of residents did leave their homes following such warnings. However, in some cases investigated by B’Tselem, members of families who had fled their homes in accordance with the military’s warnings, fleeing to neighborhoods considered safer, ended up perishing in an attack.

*  *  *

Officials eschewed responsibility for the immense harm to civilians, placing the blame squarely on the shoulders of Hamas. Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu said that Israel’s “security forces are doing everything in their power to avoid harming civilians and if innocents are hurt, it is because Hamas deliberately hides behind Palestinian civilians”.

This argument is unacceptable. True, Hamas and other organizations operating in the Gaza Strip do not abide by IHL, nor do they purport to do so. As B’Tselem stated both during and after the fighting, Hamas has breached these provisions, and particularly its duty to distinguish between civilian objects and military targets. Not only did Hamas fire at Israeli civilians and civilian targets, it did so from within the civilian population. Hamas operatives fired from sites located near civilian dwellings, concealed weapons and munitions inside them and dug tunnels under them.

Given this reality, the issue at hand is what conclusions policymakers may draw from it. The prime minister’s statements indicate he believes that Hamas and the military share the responsibility to take precautions. Yet this interpretation is designed to block, a priori, any allegations that Israel breached IHL provisions. Accepting it would mean that there are no restrictions whatsoever on Israeli action and that whatever method it chooses to respond to Hamas operations is legitimate, no matter how horrifying the consequences. This interpretation is unreasonable, unlawful, and renders meaningless the principle that IHL violations committed by one party do not release the other party from its obligations toward the civilian population and civilian objects.

Fighting Hamas is, in fact, extremely challenging: How can military targets be distinguished from civilian objects in these circumstances? How is it possible to avoid harming civilians who are not taking part in the fighting, when Hamas operatives fire at Israel from within populated areas? B’Tselem does not purport to offer the Israeli government or the military any operative plans for conducting armed conflict in Gaza: that is not the role of a human rights organization. The government is responsible for responding to these challenges in ways that maintain humanity and uphold the law.

It is clear that the policy described in this report is not a legitimate response to this challenge. Even if political and military leaders thought this policy would bring an end to attacks on Israeli communities, they should not have implemented it because of its foreseeable, horrifying consequences as well as because of the black flag of illegality flying over it.