Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

مجاري بلا حدود: اهمال رعاية المجاري في الضفة الغربية

2009 حزيران , ملخص التقرير

 

تنتج الضفة الغربية حوالي 91 مليون متر مكعب من المجاري في العام - من المستوطنات، أجزاء من القدس والبلدات الفلسطينية. على الرغم من الخطر الصحي والبيئي المرتبط بهذا، فإن معظم المجاري لا يتم معالجتها. وقد أدى الإهمال المتواصل إلى مضايقات شديدة في أنحاء الضفة الغربية مما قد يؤدي إلى تلويث حوض الجبل، وهو مصدر المياه الأهم والأكثر جودة بالنسبة للإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين.

مجاري المستوطنات

على مدار أكثر من أربعين عاما من الاحتلال لم تعمل إسرائيل على إقامة منشآت متطورة لتنقية المجاري في مناحي الضفة الغربية على غرار المتشآت التي أقامتها في المناطق السيادية داخل إسرائيل.

مجاري مستوطنة رفافا. تصوير: رائد موقدي، بتسيلم. 7.5.08.
مجاري مستوطنة رفافا. تصوير: رائد موقدي، بتسيلم. 7.5.08.

إن المستوطنات المعترف بها المقامة في الضفة الغربية وعددها 121 مستوطنة (لا يشمل شرقي القدس) تنتج وفقا للتقديرات حوالي 17,5 مليون متر مكعب من المجاري في السنة. اليوم، فقط 81 مستوطنة من بينها مربوطة بمنشآت لتنقية المجاري تعمل بطرق قديمة بخلاف المنشآت الحديثة التي تعمل داخل إسرائيل. أكثر من نصف هذه المنشآت صغيرة ومجهزة لمعالجة المجاري التي تنتجها بضع مئات من العائلات فقط، رغم الزيادة التي طرأت على عدد المستوطنين. وتعاني معظم المنشآت من الأعطاب الفنية بصورة متواترة وبين الفينة والأخرى تصاب بالعطل التام. أما باقي المستوطنات فإنها تنتج حوالي 5,5 مليون متر مكعب من المجاري في العام ولا يتم معالجتها مطلقا ويتم التخلص منها على شكل مجاري خام إلى الوديان والجداول في أنحاء الضفة الغربية.

بخلاف القانون، فإن إسرائيل لا تشترط السكن في المباني، الأحياء أو المناطق الصناعية في الضفة الغربية بتوفر الحلول لمعالجة المجاري. على سبيل المثال، جميع الأحياء الجنوبية في مستوطنة موديعين عليت التي يعيش فيها أكثر من 17,000 مستوطن تم إسكانهم رغم أن المجاري الخام الخاصة بها تسيل إلى جدول موديعين.

رغم أن هذه الأوضاع مكشوفة ومعروفة، فإن وزارة حماية البيئة تمتنع عن تطبيق القانون في المستوطنات التي تسبب التلوث وتم لغاية الآن اتخاذ خطوات تطبيق هامشية وقليلة فقط. منذ العام 2000 ولغاية أيلول 2008 اتخذت الوزارة 53 خطوة فرض للقانون ضد المستوطنات التي لم تعالج المجاري الخاصة بها. لغرض المقارنة، في العام 2006 فقط اتخذت الوزارة 230 خطوة لتطبيق القانون ضد السلطات داخل إسرائيل بسبب مخالفات مشابهة.

مجاري القدس

تقوم القدس بتسييل جزء من مجاريها إلى الضفة الغربية. هذه المجاري التي تصل إلى حوالي 17,5 مليون متر مكعب كل عام تصل من الأحياء الواقعة غربي المدينة ومن المناطق التي تم ضمها إلى إسرائيل بعد احتلال الضفة الغربية.

يتم تسييل حوالي 10,2 مليون متر مكعب من هذه المجاري بدون أي معالجة إلى حوض وادي كدرون جنوب شرق القدس، وهو مكرهة تم تعريفها من قبل وزارة حماية البيئة على أنها "أكبر مكرهة للمجاري في إسرائيل". جزء من هذه المجاري تستعمل، بعد معالجة أولية، لري شجر النخيل في غور الأردن، غير أن باقي المجاري الخام تستمر بالسيل بصورة حرة وتتغلغل إلى حوض الجبل في منطقة تعتبر حساسة للتلوث. وهي تسبب المكاره الصحية والبيئية الصعبة، وبضمنها تلوث المياه الجوفية والبحر الميت والروائح الكريهة.

مجاري القدس تتدفق في وادي كدرون. تصوير:اياال هرؤفاني. 2.7.09
مجاري القدس تتدفق في وادي كدرون. تصوير:اياال هرؤفاني. 2.7.09

على مدار السنين عرضت بلدية القدس عددا من الحلول لعلاج هذه المجاري، غير انه لم يتم تنفيذ أي مشروع منها. منذ إقامة السلطة الفلسطينية، فإن هذه المشاريع تستلزم التعاون من قبلها، لكن السلطة الفلسطينية ترفض ذلك بدعوى أن الأمر قد يضفي شرعية على ضم شرقي القدس لإسرائيل. على الرغم من الإنذارات التي أرسلتها وزارة حماية البيئة إلى الجهات ذات الصلة، لغاية اليوم لم يتم عمل شيء من أجل توفير الحلول لمعالجة هذه المجاري.

كل عام يتم تسييل حوالي 7,3 مليون متر مكعب من المجاري من القدس إلى منشأة حوض أوج القريب من موقع نبي موسى شمال البحر الميت. وقد تم بناء الحوض في حينه كمنشأة مؤقتة وكانت مخصصة لمعالجة حوالي ثلث كمية المجاري المحولة إليه اليوم. نتيجة لذلك، يتم معالجة المجاري في المكان بصورة جزئية فقط. في العام 2008، صادقت اللجنة اللوائية للتنظيم والبناء في لواء القدس على خارطة لإقامة منشأة محسنة بالقرب من حوض أوج القائم، لكن لغاية اليوم لم يتم البدء بالبناء.

على الرغم من غياب الحلول اللائقة لمعالجة مجاري القدس التي يتم تسييلها شرقا فقد تم في منطقة نفوذها إسكان أحياء جديدة حيث يضيف السكان الجدد مجاريهم إلى المجاري غير المعالجة، ومن بين ذلك في المستوطنات بسجات زئيف ونفيه يعقوب.

مجاري البلدات الفلسطينية

طبقا للتقديرات، تنتج البلدات الفلسطينيات في الضفة الغربية حوالي 56 مليون متر مكعب من المجاري في العام، التي تشكل حوالي 62% من مجموع مجاري الضفة الغربية. بين 90%- 95% من هذه المجاري لا يتم علاجها أبدا ويوجد اليوم منشأة واحدة فقط لمعالجة المجاري.

إن غياب تطوير البنى التحتية الخاصة بمعالجة المجاري في البلدات الفلسطينية ينبع لعدة أسباب:

  • قامت الإدارة المدنية على مدار زمن طويل وغير معقول بتأخير المصادقة على المشاريع الخاصة بإقامة منشآت التنقية، وفي بعض الحالات لمدة تزيد عن عقد من السنين.
     
  • في عدد من الحالات، حاولت إسرائيل أن تفرض على السلطة الفلسطينية ربط المستوطنات بمنشآت التنقية الخاصة بالمجاري.
     
  • تسعى إسرائيل لأن تفرض على الفلسطينيين معايير تنقية متقدمة لا يتم لغاية الآن تطبيقها في إسرائيل وهي غير مطلوبة من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية. هذه المعايير تزيد من تكلفة بناء منشآت تنقية المجاري الفلسطينية وكلفة تفعيلها وصيانتها.
     
  • قلصت الولايات المتحدة وألمانيا من دعمها الخاص لإقامة منشآت التنقية في البلدات الفلسطينية، ومن بين ذلك بسبب التأخيرات الكثيرة في العملية.

تستغل إسرائيل لأغراضها الخاصة المجاري الفلسطينية التي تقطع الخط الأخضر وتعالج هذه المجاري في أربع منشآت لتنقية المجاري التي أقامتها فوق أراضيها. وتستعمل مياه المجاري المنقاة لري المساحات الزراعية وتأهيل الوديان داخل إسرائيل. على الرغم من هذا، فإن إسرائيل تجبي من السلطة الفلسطينية تكلفة إقامة المنشآت وتكلفة معالجة المجاري.

انعكاسات إهمال معالجة المجاري في الضفة الغربية

يستعمل المستوطنون في الضفة الغربية شبكة المياه الإسرائيلية ولهذا فإن إهمال معالجة المجاري لا يؤثر عليهم تقريبا. وفي المقابل، فإن الفلسطينيين، وخاصة سكان البلدات والقرى، يتعلقون كثيرا بالمياه التي تتوفر من المصادر الطبيعية، وقد يؤدي تلويث هذه المصادر إلى تأزيم النقص المزمن في مياه الشرب في الضفة الغربية. إلى جانب ذلك، فإن استعمال مياه المجاري غير المنقاة للري الزراعي قد يلوث المحاصيل الزراعية والمس بأحد المصادر الرئيسية للدخل في الاقتصاد الفلسطيني. على المدى البعيد، من المتوقع أن يمس تسييل المجاري بخصوبة الأرض.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد تم بناء معظم المستوطنات في المناطق العالية والتلال وجرى تسييل المجاري غير المعالجة إلى البلدات الفلسطينية القريبة الموجودة بشكل عام في مناطق منخفضة. ويستعرض التقرير ثلاث حالات على سبيل المثال لإظهار كيف تُلوث المستوطنات مصادر المياه والمساحات الزراعية في البلدات الفلسطينية المجاورة.

تعاود بتسيلم التأكيد على موقفها بأن المستوطنات واستمرار وجودها مخالف لتعليمات القانون الدولي وهي تسبب انتهاكا واسعا ومستمرا لحقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالفلسطينيين. بناء على ذلك، ينبغي على حكومة إسرائيل إخلاء جميع المستوطنات من الضفة الغربية وإعادة المستوطنين إلى داخل إسرائيل.

ومع هذا، فإن خطورة التلويث تستلزم مراعاة التبعات الفورية على مصادر المياه التي يستعملها الفلسطينيون وكذلك التبعات بعيدة المدى بخصوص مصادر المياه المشتركة للإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين. بناء على ذلك، ما دامت المستوطنات قائمة في مكانها، يجب معالجة مجاري المستوطنات طبقا لمعايير المعالجة السارية في إسرائيل وفرض القانون بصورة فورية ضد المستوطنات التي تسبب التلوث. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ينبغي على حكومة إسرائيل والسلطة الفلسطينية العمل معا للدفع قدما وبالسرعة الممكنة بالمشاريع الفلسطينية الخاصة بمعالجة المجاري. في هذا الإطار، يجب الدفع قدما بالمشاريع الفلسطينية التي تعنى بالمجاري الفلسطينية إلى جانب مجاري المستوطنين، على أساس الفهم بأن هذه البنية التحتية يمكن لها أن تخدم الفلسطينيين لاحقا حتى بعد إخلاء المستوطنات.

Foul Play, June 2009

June 2009, Information sheet

Wastewater in the West Bank – from the settlements, from parts of Jerusalem, and from Palestinian communities – amounts to 91 million cubic meters [mcm] a year.  Most of it is not treated, despite the sanitary and environmental danger inherent to wastewater flowing freely. Prolonged neglect of this issue has caused severe hazards in the West Bank and is liable to pollute the Mountain Aquifer, the most important and highest-quality water source for both Israelis and Palestinians.

Wastewater from settlements

During more than 40 years of occupation, Israel has not built advanced regional wastewater treatment plants in the settlements to match those inside Israel.

Video footage: Wastewater from Jerusalem and the Ariel settlement flowing in the West Bank.

It is estimated that the 121 recognized settlements in the West Bank (without East Jerusalem) produce some 17.5 mcm of wastewater a year. Only 81 are currently connected to wastewater treatment facilities, and use methods that are less up-to-date than those used in Israel. More than half of them are small and can treat the wastewater of only a few hundred families, despite the growth of the settler population. Most of the facilities suffer frequent technical breakdowns and at times shut down completely. The rest of the settlements produce some 5.5 mcm wastewater a year, which are not treated and flow as raw wastewater into West Bank streams and valleys.

Wastewater of the Revava settlement. Photo: Ra’aed Mokdi, 7 May 2008.
Wastewater of the Revava settlement. Photo: Ra’aed Mokdi, 7 May 2008.

Israel does not enforce the legal requirement that wastewater treatment be arranged prior to occupancy of buildings in settlements or operation of industrial areas in the West Bank. For example, all the southern sections of the Modi’in Illit settlement, which house more than 17,000 persons, were occupied even though their raw wastewater flowed into Nahal Modi’im .

Although this situation is well known to the Ministry of Environmental Protection, the ministry refrains from enforcing the law on polluting settlements and to date, has taken only minor action against them. From 2000 to September 2008, only 53 enforcement measures were taken against settlements for failure to treat their wastewater. In comparison, in 2006 alone, the ministry initiated 230 enforcement measures against governmental authorities in Israel for similar offenses.

Wastewater from Jerusalem

Jerusalem channels some of its wastewater to the West Bank. This wastewater, which amounts to some 17.5 mcm a year, is produced in neighborhoods in the western part of the city and in areas of the West Bank that Israel has annexed.

Approximately 10.2 mcm flow untreated into the Kidron Basin, in southeast Jerusalem, a nuisance that the Ministry of Environmental Protection defines as “the largest sewage nuisance in Israel.” Some of this wastewater undergoes preliminary treatment, after which the water is used for irrigation of date trees in settlements in the Jordan Valley and the remained waste continues to flow freely, seeping into the Mountain Aquifer in an area that is considered sensitive to pollution. The wastewater creates a horrible stench and severe sanitation and environmental nuisances, including pollution of groundwater and of the Dead Sea.

Wastewater flowing from Jerusalem into the Kidron Basin. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, 2 July 2007.
Wastewater flowing from Jerusalem into the Kidron Basin. Photo: Eyal Hareuveni, 2 July 2007.

Over the years, the Jerusalem Municipality has proposed several solutions for treating this wastewater, but none has been implemented. Since the Palestinian Authority was established, these plans have required cooperation on its part.  However, the PA has refused, claiming that doing so would legitimate Israel’s annexation of East Jerusalem. Despite warnings from the Ministry of Environmental Protection to the relevant officials, no action has been taken to advance a solution for treating this wastewater .

The remaining wastewater, 7.3 mcm, is directed to the Og Reservoir facility, which lies north of the Dead Sea, near Nabi Musa. Og Reservoir was built as a temporary facility, and was intended to treat one-third of the amount of wastewater it currently receives. For this reason, the wastewater is only partially treated. In 2008, the Jerusalem District Planning and Building Committee approved a plan to build an improved facility near the existing Og Reservoir, but construction has not begun.

The lack of proper solutions for treating wastewater of Jerusalem flowing eastward did not prevent occupancy of new neighborhoods, whose residents add to the amount of untreated wastewater. Among these are the Pisgat Ze’ev and Neve Ya’akov settlements .

Wastewater from Palestinian communities

According to estimates, Palestinian communities produce some 56 mcm of wastewater a year, representing 62 percent of all wastewater in the West Bank. 90-95 percent of Palestinian wastewater is not treated at all, and only one Palestinian wastewater treatment plant is currently functioning .

  • A few reasons have led to delay in developing infrastructure for treating Palestinian wastewater:
  • Prolonged and unreasonable Civil Administration delay in approving plans for building treatment facilities, in some cases for more than a decade ;
  • in a few cases, Israel attempted to force the Palestinians to connect settlements to planned treatment facilities;
  • Israel seeks to force Palestinians to build advanced facilities that are still not used in Israel, which increase the cost of plant construction and operation and maintenance costs, and are not required according to World Health Organization standards;
  • Partly due to the many delays in construction of wastewater treatment facilities, the US and Germany have reduced their planned funding for these projects.
  • Israel exploits Palestinian wastewater that crosses the Green Line and treats them in one of four plants inside Israel. The treated water is used for irrigation for agriculture and to rehabilitate streams in Israel. However, Israel charges the Palestinian Authority for building the plants and for the treatment of wastewater in them.

Consequences of neglecting wastewater treatment in the West Bank

Since settlers in the West Bank use Israel’s water-supply system, neglect of wastewater treatment in the area has almost no effect on them. Palestinians, however, and especially residents of small towns and villages, rely on water from natural sources. As a result, pollution of these sources aggravates the chronic drinking-water shortage in the West Bank. Also, use of untreated wastewater for agriculture contaminates crops and harms a major sector of the Palestinian economy. In the long run, the flow of untreated wastewater will also diminish land fertility.

In addition, since most settlements have been established on ridges and hilltops, their untreated wastewater flows to nearby Palestinian communities, which are usually located further down the slope. The report present three cases that illustrate how settlements pollute water sources and farmland in nearby Palestinian communities:

B'Tselem reiterates its position that establishment of the settlements and their continuing existence contravene international humanitarian law and result in extensive prolonged infringement of Palestinians’ human rights. Therefore, the government of Israel must evacuate all the settlements and return the settlers to Israeli territory.

However, in light of the severity of the pollution, and taking into account its immediate effects on water sources serving Palestinians and the long-term implication for the Palestinian-Israeli shared water sources, so long as settlements remain, all their wastewater must be treated in accordance with treatment standards applying inside Israel, and the law must be enforced against polluting settlements. Also, the government of Israel and the Palestinian Authority must act jointly to immediately advance planned Palestinian wastewater treatment projects. These projects should be executed even if they involve treatment of both Palestinian and settlement wastewater, with the understanding that these projects will continue to serve Palestinians after the settlements are evacuated.