مستوطنة عوفرا: مستوطنة غير قانونية

ملخص تقرير, كانون اول 2008

في آذار 2005 تبنت حكومة إسرائيل التقرير الخاص بالمستوطنات غير القانونية الذي طلبته الحكومة من المحامية طاليا ساسون، المديرة السابقة لقسم العمليات الخاصة في نيابة الدولة. وبهذا حددت الدولة لأول مرة معايير مفصلة لفحص قانونية أي بلدة إسرائيلية في الضفة الغربية طبقا للقانون المحلي الخاص بإسرائيل.

طبقا للقانون الإنساني الدولي، فإن جميع المستوطنات في الضفة الغربية، المعترف بها وغير المعترف بها- ليست قانونية. وقد تجاهلت حكومات إسرائيل المتعاقبة هذا الحظر وأقامت في أنحاء الضفة الغربية وفي المناطق التي ضمتها للقدس أكثر من 130 مستوطنة معترف بها يصل عدد سكانها اليوم إلى حوالي نصف مليون نسمة. بخلاف التقارير السابقة، تحاول بتسيلم في هذا التقرير أن تفحص إذا ما كانت إسرائيل تستوفي- في الحد الأدنى- الالتزامات الصريحة التي أخذتها على عاتقها باحترام القانون المحلي الخاص بإسرائيل نفسها.

    . :   . 3.8.07.
مستوطنة عوفرا، خلف الاراضي الفلسطينية. تصوير: يحازكيل لين، بتسيلم. 3.8.07.

وفقا لتقرير ساسون، فإن الاستيفاء التراكمي لأربعة شروط يمنح

  1. المستوطنة الإسرائيلية مكانة قانونية طبقا للقانون الإسرائيلي:
    صدور قرار عن حكومة إسرائيل بخصوص إقامة المستوطنة.
  2. تعريف منطقة النفوذ الخاصة بالمستوطنة.
  3. المصادقة على خارطة هيكلية مفصلة للمستوطنة.
  4. إقامة المستوطنة فوق أراض تابعة للدولة أو أراض تم شراؤها من قبل إسرائيليين ومسجلة على اسمهم في الطابو.

يتضح من تحقيق بتسيلم أنه من بين الشروط الأربعة فإن مستوطنة عوفرا تستوفي الشرط الأول فقط: في العام 1979 قررت الحكومة الاعتراف بها كبلدة رسمية وهذا بعد مرور أربعة أعوام على إقامتها. لغاية اليوم لم يتم الإعلان عن منطقة نفوذ لمستوطنة عوفرا ولم يتم المصادقة لها على خارطة هيكلية تفصيلية ولم تصدر لها تراخيص بناء حسب القانون. من هنا، فإن الحديث يدور عن بلدة كاملة، بما تحويه من مئات البيوت السكنية، التي بُنيت بصورة غير قانونية.

إن حقيقة عدم تعريف منطقة نفوذ خاصة بالمستوطنة وعدم المصادقة لها على خارطة هيكلية مفصلة لا ينبع من معارضة حكومة إسرائيل لوجود المستوطنة، بل من عدم استيفاء الشرط الرابع. إن مساحات كبيرة من المناطق المبنية في المستوطنة مسجلة في الطابو على أسماء مالكين فلسطينيين وطبقا لقرارات الحكومة والأحكام الصادرة عن محكمة العدل العليا، لا يمكن بناء المستوطنات الإسرائيلية على مثل هذه الأراضي.

إن المساحة المبنية في عوفرا تبلغ حوالي 670 دونما. طبقا للمعلومات التي حصلت عليها بتسيلم من الإدارة المدنية، لا توجد في هذه المنطقة أراض للدولة. ومن بين 670 دونما المذكورة، توجد هناك حوالي 180 دونما مشمولة في أمر مصادرة أصدره القائد العسكري الإسرائيلي في العام 1977. وفقا لادعاءات الإدارة المدنية، فإن هذا الأمر بمثابة "تطبيق" لقرار مصادرة صادر عن الحكومة الأردنية في العام 1966.

إن تحقيق بتسيلم يشير إلى عدد من المشاكل التي تضفي الشك على هذا الادعاء:

  • أعلنت الحكومة الأردنية في العام 1966 عن نيتها مصادرة الأرض لغرض إقامة معسكر، إلا أن إجراءات المصادرة لم تُستكمل في فترة الحكم الأردني. لم يتم تسجيل الأرض في الطابو على اسم الحكومة الأردنية رغم أن القانون يقتضي ذلك في حالة مصادرة الأراضي.
  • المساحة التي كانت الحكومة الأردنية تنوي مصادرتها تصل إلى 208 دونم بينما تصل المساحة المشمولة في أمر المصادرة الإسرائيلي إلى حوالي 265 دونما. عند "تطبيق" المصادرة الأردنية، أضافت إسرائيل إلى المساحة المخصصة للمصادرة 57 دونما لم يتم شملها في الأمر الأردني.
  • الأمر الذي صدر في العام 1977 كان يهدف إلى إقامة مستوطنة عوفرا، على النقيض من النية الأصلية للحكومة الأردنية. ويأتي هذا على الرغم من أن القانون الذي تمت إجراءات المصادرة استنادا إليه لا يتيح مصادرة الأراضي لغرض إقامة مستوطنة إسرائيلية.

إن المساحة المبنية لعوفرا تقع على أراض مسجلة في الطابو على اسم مواطنين فلسطينيين من سكان القرى عين يبرود وسلواد. وقد حصلت بتسيلم على كشوفات الطابو المعدلة (من العام 2008) الخاصة بـ 43 قسيمة التي يقع 210 دونمات منها داخل المناطق المبنية في مستوطنة عوفرا، خارج المنطقة المصادرة بناء على الأمر الذي أصدره القائد العسكري.

إن المساحة المشمولة في أمر المصادرة الصادر عن القائد العسكري ومساحة القسائم التي حصلت بتسيلم على كشوفات الطابو الخاصة بها والموجودة داخل المناطق المبنية في عوفرا، تصل إلى حوالي 390 دونما. ومن هنا، فإن ما لا يقل عن 58% من المساحة المبنية في عوفرا هي أراض مسجلة في الطابو على أسماء الفلسطينيين.

الجمعية التعاونية عوفرا، وهي الهيئة التي تجمع سكان المستوطنة، تدعي أنها اشترت أراض في المنطقة من المالكين الفلسطينيين. لكن، رغم أن القانون يلزم بذلك، لم تُسجل الجمعية التعاونية هذه القسائم في الطابو ولم تقدم لمحكمة العدل العليا خلال المداولات القضائية أي مستندات شرائية. إن ادعاءات الشراء من قبل الجمعية التعاونية عوفرا هي "مجرد ادعاءات" ولم تثبت مطلقا.

إن وجود مستوطنة عوفرا مرتبط بمس واسع النطاق بحقوق الإنسان لسكان المنطقة الفلسطينيين. إن المس الفوري يتناول حق التملك للفلسطينيين الذين أقيمت المستوطنة على أرض يملكونها. نتيجة لوجود عوفرا فإن المس ينال أيضا حقوق الملكية الخاصة بسكان عين يبرود الذين يملكون أراض زراعية مجاورة للمساحات المبنية في المستوطنة. إن وصولهم إلى أراضيهم مقيد للغاية خلال السنوات الأخيرة وهو ما يلحق الضرر بقدرتهم على الاسترزاق من المحاصيل الزراعية. إن الموقع الجغرافي لمستوطنة عوفرا في قلب منطقة مأهولة بالسكان الفلسطينيين يولد حاجزا بين القرى الفلسطينية المختلفة في المنطقة ويمس بحرية الحركة والتنقل للسكان.

مؤخرا تعاود جهات رسمية في إسرائيل التأكيد على التزام الدولة بتفكيك المستوطنات غير القانونية في الضفة الغربية. نظرا لأن مستوطنة عوفرا تعتبر مستوطنة غير قانونية، طبقا للمعايير التي تبنتها حكومة إسرائيل، على الحكومة تفكيك المستوطنة، وأن تعيد للمالكين الفلسطينيين الأراضي التي سُلبت منهم بصورة غير قانونية وتقديم التعويض المالي للفلسطينيين أصحاب الأراضي جراء استعمال أراضيهم.

Ofra: An Unauthorized Outpost

December 2008, Summary

In March 2005, the government of Israel adopted the opinion it had commissioned from Attorney Talia Sasson, former head of the Special Tasks Department in the State Attorney's Office, regarding unauthorized outposts. In doing so, it set, for the first time, detailed criteria for examining the legality of Israeli communities in the West Bank according to local law.

All the settlements in the West Bank are illegal under international humanitarian law, whether or not they are officially recognized by the Israeli government. The various governments of Israel ignored this prohibition and established more than 130 recognized settlements throughout the West Bank and on the territory it annexed to Jerusalem. The population of these settlements is now almost one-half million persons. Unlike previous reports, in this report B'Tselem examines whether Israel has, at the very least, met its declared commitment to respect the local law.

According to the Sasson report, to be legal under local law, an Israeli settlement must meet each of the following four criteria:

  1. the Israeli government issued a decision to establish the settlement;
  2. the settlement has a defined jurisdictional area;
  3. the settlement has a detailed, approved outline plan;
  4. the settlement lies on state land or on land that was purchased by Israelis and registered under their name in the Land Registry.

According to B'Tselem's research, Ofra meets only the first of these conditions: in 1979, four years after its establishment, the government declared it an official community. However, no jurisdictional area has ever been defined for Ofra, no detailed outline plan has been approved for the settlement, and no lawful building permits were ever issued for it. Thus, the entire community of Ofra, with its hundreds of residential units, was built unlawfully.

Segment of a map indicating the status of land in Ofra. All the colored areas are recorded in the Land Register on the name of Palestinians.
Segment of a map indicating the status of land in Ofra. All the colored areas are recorded in the Land Register on the name of Palestinians. To download the map, click here.

The reason that a jurisdictional area and an outline plan were never approved for Ofra is not governmental objection to the establishment of the settlement; rather, it is the failure to meet the fourth condition. Large sections of the settlement's built-up area are registered under Palestinian names in the Land Registry, and Israeli settlements may not be built on land of this kind, according to government decisions and Israeli High Court rulings.

The built-up area of Ofra spans some 670 dunams [4 dunams = approx. 1 acre]. According to information given to B'Tselem by the Civil Administration, none of this area is state land. Of these 670 dunams, about 180 are included in an expropriation order issued by the Israeli military commander in 1977. According to the Civil Administration, this order merely “executes” an expropriation order issued by the Jordanian government in 1966. B'Tselem's research reveals several problems that render this claim doubtful:

  • In 1966, the Jordanian government announced its intention to expropriate the land and build an army camp on it, but the expropriation process was not completed while the land was under Jordanian rule. The land was not registered in the Land Registry under the name of the Jordanian government, despite the legal requirement in the case of land expropriation.
  • While the Jordanian government intended to expropriate 208 dunams of land, the Israeli expropriation order covers 265 dunams, such that in “executing” the Jordanian expropriation, Israel added 57 dunams to the original order.
  • The 1977 expropriation order was issued for the establishment of Ofra, as opposed to the original purpose of the Jordanian government, even though the law pursuant to which the expropriation was made does not enable expropriation of land for the establishment of Israeli settlements.

The built-up area of Ofra lies on land that is registered in the Land Registry under the names of Palestinians from the villages of ‘Ein Yabrud and Silwad. B'Tselem obtained current (2008) land abstracts of 43 lots, out of which 210 dunams lie within Ofra's built-up area, outside the area expropriated by the military commander's order.

The land included in the military commander's expropriation order, together with the lots for which B'Tselem obtained land abstracts, amount to some 390 dunams. Thus, in total, at least 58 percent of Ofra's built-up area lies on land registered under the names of Palestinians in the Land Registry.

The Ofra Cooperative Society, the association of the settlement's residents, contends that it purchased land in the area from its Palestinian owners. However, although the law requires it, the Society did not register these lots in the Land Registry, and at a hearing before the Israeli High Court, it did not present any purchase documents. The State Attorney's Office announced to the court that the lots under discussion were registered under the names of Palestinians and that the claim of purchase by the Society was a “mere claim” that had never been proved.  

The existence of Ofra is responsible for extensive violations of the human rights of Palestinians living in the area. The immediate violation is of the right of property of Palestinian landowners, on whose lands Ofra was built. The establishment of Ofra has also resulted in infringement of the right of property of ‘Ein Yabrud residents, who own farmland adjacent to the settlement's built-up area. Their access to this land has been severely restricted in recent years, impairing their ability to gain a livelihood from farming the land. The geographical location of Ofra in the heart of a densely-populated Palestinian area creates a partition between Palestinian villages in the area and impedes the villagers' freedom of movement.

Recently, Israeli officials have repeatedly emphasized the state's commitment to dismantle the unauthorized outposts in the West Bank. Given that, under the criteria adopted by the government, Ofra is an unauthorized outpost, Israel must dismantle the settlement, return to the Palestinian landowners the land that was unlawfully taken from them, and remunerate them for the use of their land.