عمل انتقامي: قصف محطة توليد الكهرباء في قطاع غزة وتبعاته، ايلول 2006

2006 ايلول , ملخص التقرير

بتاريخ 28 حزيران 2006، في ساعات الصباح، وفي أعقاب خطف الجندي جلعاد شليط، هاجمت طائرات من سلاح الجو الإسرائيلي محطة توليد الكهرباء الوحيدة في قطاع غزة، حيث أطلقت ستة صواريخ على المحولات الستة لمحطة توليد الكهرباء. ونظراً لأن صاروخين أخطآ الهدف، فقد جرى إطلاق صاروخين آخرين بعد بضع دقائق دمرا المحولين الباقيين.

بعد مرور ثلاثة أشهر على هذه الغارة، ومن ناحية الأجندة العامة والإعلامية، في إسرائيل والعالم على حد سواء، فإن الحديث يدور عن "تاريخ بعيد" لا يهم أحداً. ومع هذا، فإن 1.4 مليون مواطن من سكان قطاع غزة يعيشون بدون تيار كهربائي على امتداد ساعات طويلة ليلا ونهارا كل يوم، وهم يتحملون على كاهلهم الآثار والتبعات الوخيمة للقصف.

إن تبعات القصف محسوسة جيدا في جميع مناحي الحياة. إن ضرب تزويد الكهرباء أدى إلى المس بمستوى الخدمات الطبية المقدمة في المستشفيات والعيادات. كما أن معظم سكان المدن يحصلون اليوم على المياه لمدة ساعتين - ثلاث ساعات يومياً، بينما شارفت شبكة المجاري على الانهيار. إضافة إلى ذلك، يعاني الكثيرون من تقييدات في الحركة والتنقل في أعقاب الشلل الذي لحق بالمصاعد، علاوة على أن عدم القدرة على تخزين المواد الغذائية في البرادات يُعرض الكثيرين لخطر التسمم. كما لحق الضرر البالغ بالمحلات التجارية الصغيرة التي تعتمد أساساً على التيار الكهربائي. إن الضائقة المعيشية المترتبة على عدم انتظام التيار الكهربائي آخذة في التفاقم على خلفية الأزمة الاقتصادية الخانقة التي يعيشها قطاع غزة.

لا منازع في حق دولة إسرائيل في الدفاع عن حياة مواطنيها من مختلف التهديدات التي يتعرضون لها، بما في ذلك إطلاق صواريخ القسام من أراضي القطاع. ومع هذا، فليست كل الوسائل مشروعة. إن الهجمات الموجهة ضد الأهداف المدنية محظورة حسب القانون الإنساني الدولي وتعتبر جريمة حرب. إن محطة توليد الكهرباء التي تم قصفها تُعتبر هدفا مدنيا صرفاً، بينما لم يمس ضرب تزويد الكهرباء في القطاع بقدرة المنظمات الفلسطينية على إطلاق الصواريخ باتجاه الأراضي الإسرائيلية.
وحتى لو توصلت إسرائيل إلى الاستنتاج، الذي هو مشكوك فيه من أصله، بأن تشويش عملية تزويد الكهرباء في قطاع غزة سيعود على الجيش الإسرائيلي بأفضلية عسكرية محضة، فقد كان يتوجب على إسرائيل، وفقا لمبدأ التناسب، أن تنتقي خياراً أقل ضرراً تجاه سكان غزة. وطبقا لذلك، فقد كان بمقدور إسرائيل التقليل من كمية الكهرباء التي تزودها شركة الكهرباء الإسرائيلية التي تعتبر اكبر مزود للكهرباء في غزة، وتبيعها للسلطة الفلسطينية.

غير أنه على ضوء معارضة شركة الكهرباء التي كان الضرر سيلحق بمصالحها التجارية لو تم تبني هذا الخيار، فقد فضّل صناع القرار في الحكومة وفي الجيش الخيار الأفدح والأكثر ضرراً.

بموجب مسئولية إسرائيل عن حياة ورفاهية سكان قطاع غزة، وعلى خلفية واجب الترميم الذي يقع على عاتق إسرائيل حسب القانون الدولي جراء اقتراف جريمة حرب، فإن بتسيلم تدعو حكومة إسرائيل إلى:


• تمويل المصاريف المرتبطة بترميم قدرة محطة توليد الكهرباء في غزة على إنتاج الكهرباء؛

• تمويل عمليات توسيع وتنجيع البنى التحتية لنقل الكهرباء من إسرائيل إلى القطاع؛
• التمكين الفوري ودونما تأجيل من إدخال كافة المعدات المطلوبة لترميم المحطة؛

• إلغاء التعديل في قانون الأضرار وتمكين الأفراد والمؤسسات في قطاع غزة الذين تضرروا جراء قصف محطة توليد الكهرباء من تقديم دعاوى التعويضات من الدولة،

• إصدار الأوامر إلى النائب العسكري العام من أجل الشروع في تحقيق جنائي ضد جميع الضالعين في اتخاذ القرار بالقصف وتنفيذه بهدف تقديم المسئولين إلى العدالة؛

• اتخاذ قرار حكومي مبدئي يحظر على الجيش الإسرائيلي توجيه الهجمات ضد المدنيين أو الأهداف المدنية.

(ملاحظة: توجهت بتسيلم كعادتها إلى المتحدث باسم الجيش الإسرائيلي وطلبت الرد على التقرير. وقد رفض المتحدث باسم الجيش الإسرائيلي الرد. )

Act of Vengeance: Israel's Bombing of the Gaza Power Plant and its Effects, Sept. 2006

September 2006, Status Report

In the early morning hours of 28 June 2006, following the abduction of Cpl. Gilad Shalit, the Israeli Air Force attacked the only electrical power plant operating in the Gaza Strip. Six missiles were fired at the power plant's six transformers. Two of the missiles missed their target, so two more missiles were fired a few minutes later, destroying the remaining transformers.

Three months have passed since the attack. Public and media attention has long since shifted elsewhere. Nevertheless, for the 1.4 million residents of the Gaza Strip, who have been forced to live without electricity for long parts of the day and night, the harsh effects of the attack continue to be felt.

The effects of the attack are apparent in all areas of life. As a result of the lack of electricity, the level of medical services provided by clinics and hospitals has declined significantly; most of the urban population receive only two or three hours of water a day; the sewage system is on the verge of collapse; many inhabitants' mobility has been severely restricted as a result of non-functioning elevators; and the lack of refrigeration has exposed many to the danger of food-poisoning. Small businesses reliant on a regular power supply have been badly affected. The hardship involved in living without a steady flow of electricity is exacerbated by the deep economic crisis afflicting the Gaza Strip.

Undoubtedly, the State of Israel has the right to protect the lives of its citizens from threat, including, the threat posed by Qassam rockets fired from the Gaza Strip. However, not all means of response and action are permissible. Aiming attacks at civilian objects is forbidden under International Humanitarian Law and is considered a war crime. The power plant bombed by Israel is a purely civilian object and bombing it did nothing to impede the ability of Palestinian organizations to fire rockets into Israeli territory.

Even if Israel reached the highly questionable conclusion that disrupting the supply of electricity in Gaza might provide the Israeli army with a "definite military advantage," under the principle of proportionality, Israel was legally required to choose the action that would prove least harmful to the population. Accordingly, Israel could have reduced the supply of electricity that the Israel Electric Corporation - which is the primary provider of electricity for the Gaza Strip - sells to the Palestinian Authority. However, in the wake of the company's objection to this alternative, which was likely to harm its commercial interests, the decision-makers within the Israeli government and army opted for the more harmful option.

In view of Israel 's responsibility for the lives and welfare of the population of the Gaza Strip, and in light of Israel 's obligation under international law to make reparation for the war crimes it committed, B'Tselem calls upon the government of Israel to:

  • Cover the expenses needed to return the power plant to full capacity;
  • Finance the upgrading of the infrastructure to transfer electricity from Israel to the Gaza Strip;
  • Permit the entry of the equipment needed to rehabilitate the power plant, without delay;
  • Repeal the amendment to the Civil Wrongs Law and enable persons and institutions from the Gaza Strip that suffered damage as a result of the bombing of the power plant to sue the state for compensation;
  • Direct the judge advocate general to open a criminal investigation against the persons involved in the decision to bomb the power plant and against those who carried out the attack, with the intention of prosecuting them;
  • Adopt a government resolution that in principle forbids the IDF to attack civilians and civilian objects.

[Note: In conformity with its customary practice, B'Tselem sent the report to the IDF Spokesperson's Office for a response. The IDF Spokespersons' Offfice failed to respond.]