Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

السكوت علامة الرضى: سياسة عدم تطبيق القانون على المستوطنين

ملخص التقرير، آذار 2001

خلال الانتفاضة الحالية ازدادت اعمال العنف التي يقوم بها المستوطنين ضد السكان الفلسطنيين في المناطق المحتلة. وقد اعلن البعض من قادة المستوطنيين، منذ بداية الانتفاضة ان مستوطنيين سيأخذون زمام المبادرة وانهم سيتصرفون بطريقتهم الخاصة وسيستعملون القوة اذا لم ترق لهم طريقة معالجة الامور من قبل قوات الجيش الاسرائيلي. وفعلا حصل الكثير من هذه الامور، في الشهور الأخيرة اطلق مستوطنون النار على فلسطينيين ورجموا سيارات فلسطينية بالحجارة والحقوا الضرر بالممتلكات و قطعوا الاشجار واحرقوا مسجدا واعتدوا على طواقم طبية وصحفية ومنعوا وصول المزارعين الى اراضيهم واغلقوا الطرق امام سيارات الفلسطينيين.

منذ بداية الانتفاضة الحالية ازداد عدد حالات اعتداء الفلسطينيين على المستوطنين. وقد اطلق الفلسطينيين النار على سيارات ومساكن للمستوطنين. رغم أن اقامة المستوطنات عمل غير قانوني ومخالفا للقانون الدولي، الا ان ذلك لا يبرر المساس بالمستوطنين كأفراد, ان المساس المتعمد بالسكان المدنيين يعتبر انتهاكا صارخا للمبادئ الأساسية للقانون الدولي. رغم هذا فأن الاعتداءات على المستوطنين لا تبرر اعتداءاتهم على الفلسطينيين، ما عدا حالات الدفاع عن النفس التي لا تقبل التأويل.

ان عنف المستوطنين ضد الفلسطينيين ليس بالشيئ الجديد، هذا العنف يمارس دائما. فمنذ الانتفاضة الاولى، بل وقبلها قتل 119 فلسطنيا (من ضمنهم 23 طفلا) بأيدي المستوطنين ومواطنين اسرائيليين. وفي ظل هذه الاعمال تقف سياسة التساهل وقصر ذات اليد المستمرة وعدم فرض سيادة القانون من قبل السلطات الاسرائيلية على المستوطنين .

بحكم كون اسرائيل القوة المحتلة فهي ملزمة وملقى على عاتقها الدفاع عن سلامة وأمن السكان الفلسطينيين الذين يرزحون تحت سلطتها. ان سياسة فرض سيادة القانون على المستوطنين تعرضت لأنتقادات عديده ولاذعة من قبل اطراف مختلفة منها المستشار القانوني للحكومة, محكمة العدل العليا ولجنة شمغار التي اقيمت عام 1994 للتحقيق بأحداث مجزرة الحرم الأبراهيمي في مدينة الخليل. هذه اللجنة وجهت انتقادات حادة ضد سياسية عدم فرض سيادة القانون عندما تكون الضحية فلسطينية، وأقرت اللجنة بأنه لم تتخذ الخطوات اللازمة لتغيير هذا الوضع, رغم الأنذارات التي أعلنت مرارا وتكرارا وأشارت الى هذا الوضع.

لقد اصدر مركز بتسيلم تقريرا قبل أقامة هذه اللجنة بفترة وجيزة, جاء فيه ان السلطات الموكلة بالمحافظة على سيادة القانون في اسرائيل كالجيش والشرطة والنيابة العامة وسلطات القضاء تنفذ سياسة غير معلنة، تتسم بالتساهل والتسامح وعدم تنفيذ واتخاذ الحق لمجراه حيال مواطنين اسرائيلين اذا ما اعتدوا على الفلسطينيين. هذا الوضع ما زال قائما في هذه الايام ايضا, اذ يتضح من الشهادات الكثيرة التي جمعهامركز بتسيلم ان الجنود الاسرائيليين الذين يتواجدوا ويشهدوا الأعتداءات على السكان الفلسطينيين من قبل المستوطنيين لا يتدخلوا ولا يفعلوا شيئا لمنعها. فكثيرا ما يقوم المستوطنون بأغلاق الطرقات امام المركبات الفلسطينية وذلك في وضح النهار وكثيرا ما يعلنوا عن ذلك مسبقا بوسائل الاعلام ومع ذلك لم تتخذ السلطات الاسرائيلية الأجراءات اللازمة لايقاف هذه ألاعمال.

في عدة مناطق في الضفة الغربية أسس المستوطنين دوريات مسلحة و مستقلة، المشاركون فيها يعملون على عاتقهم ولا يخضعون لاطار رسمي ولا ينصاعون لأوامر الجيش والشرطة الاسرائيلية. لقد اوضحت السلطات العسكرية عدم رضاها من وجود هذه الدوريات، لكن هذه السلطات على ما يبدو لم تعمل على ايقافها. الشرطة مستمرة كعادتها ولا تقوم بالتحقيق عندما يقع عدوانا من المستوطنين على الفلسطينيين اذا ما لم تقدم شكوى. فمثلا في حالتين منفردتين خلال الانتفاضة الحالية قتل خلالهما فلسطينيين جراء اطلاق النار عليهما من قبل مستوطنين مسلحين ونشرت هذه الأحداث بوسائل الاعلام، الا ان الشرطة لم تحقق إطلاقا بوفاة هذين الشخصين. هذه السياسة منافية للواجبات القانونية للشرطة وهي الشروع بالتحقيق دائما بكل حادث وقع وعلمت به الشرطة. تتجاهل الشرطة الظروف الصعبة للفلسطينيين وعدم تمكنهم من رفع الشكاوي - مثلا لخضوعهم لاوامر منع التجول.

في الحالات التي يتم التحقيق فيها قليلا ما يعاقب الجناة ففي الفترة الواقعة بين 1994-2000 تابع مركز بتسيلم طريقة معالجة السلطات لعشرات الحالات التي جمع شهادات من ضحاياها حول أعمال العنف التي قام بها المستوطنين ضد الفلسطنيين، فتبين ان ثلثي هذه الملفات اغلقت غالبيتها بسبب عدم وجود " ادله كافية " او بحجة ان " الجاني غير معروف ".

عندما يكون المتهم فلسطينيا قتل اسرائيليا يتضح ان القضاء اوقعوا اقصى العقوبات بالمتهم الفلسطيني، وفي بعض الحالات يلحق العقاب أفراد عائلته جميعا. بينمايختف الوضع عندما يكون القاتل اسرائيليا متهم بقتل فلسطينيا, فالاحتمالات الواردة في مثل هذه الحالة اما ان ينجوا من العقاب كليا او يتخذ بحقه عقابا بسيطا. في حالات عديدة قتل فلسطينيين بأيدي مستوطينين ولم يجري تحقيق حول هذه الحالات، وفي نصف الحالات الاخرى اغلقت الشرطة أو النيابة العامة ملفات التحقيق. اما في حالات قتل الفلسطينيين لمواطنين اسرائيلين اغلقت الشرطة اقل من %10 من الملفات. وتبين ايضا ان الاسرائيليين الذين ادينوا بقتل فلسطينيين تم على الاغلب تخفيف عقوباتهم بينما لم يحصل تخفيف العقوبات للفلسطينين الذين ادينوا بقتل اسرائيليين.

ان حقيقة فشل تطبيق سيادة القانون على المستوطنين على مدار سنوات طويلة رغم التحذيرات الدائمة، ومن جهات رسمية ايضا, يشير لوجود سياسة كهذه وليس نتيجة صدفة متكررة. السلطات الاسرائيلية لا تشجع بشكل مباشر العنف ضد المواطنين الفلسطنيين لكن سياسة غض النظر عن هذا الموضوع تؤدي الى هذه النتيجة. هذه السياسة تمس بالمبدئ الأساسي الا وهو المساواة امام القانون وكذلك تمس اسس سيادة القانون في اسرائيل.

في التقرير الذي قدمته اسرائيل للجنة ميتشل التزمت اسرائيل ان تقوم بالتحقيق بكل قضية او دعوى حول اعتداء مستوطنين على فلسطينيين. الان يمكن الاقرار ان اسرائيل لم تفي بالتزاماتها بهذا الشأن.

ان مؤسسة بتسيلم تهيب بالسلطات الاسرائيلية ان تمنع اعتداءات المستوطنين والمواطنين الاسرائيليين والاضرار بحياة وأجساد وأملاك المواطنين الفلسطينيين:

  • دولة اسرائيل لكونها القوة المحتلة مسؤولة عن سلامة وأمن السكان الفلسطنيين والدفاع عنهم تماما كما تدافع عن المواطنيين الأسرائيلين. يتوجب على الحكومة الاسرائيلية ان تصدر تعليماتها لجميع سلطات سيادة القانون أن تعمل بحزم لمنع الأعتداءات التي يقوم بها المستوطنون ضد الفلسطينيون ورصد الطاقات والموارد اللازمة لهذا الغرض.
  • يجب التأكيد على التعليمات للجنود الاسرائيليين بأن واجبهم التدخل دائما لمنع اي عمل عدواني من قبل مستوطنيين ضد فلسطينيين وأتخاذ الأجراءات ضد اي جندي يمتنع عن هذا الواجب.
  • على شرطة اسرائيل ان تحقق في كل حادث علمت بوقوعه والا تستغل عدم تقديم شكوى من قبل الضحية كذريعة لعدم التحقيق. وعلى الشرطة ان تفعل المزيد من الجهود لتقلل من عدد الملفات التي تغلق بحجة عدم وجود ادلة او بحجة ان "الجاني غير معروف".

Tacit Consent: Law Enforcement towards Israeli Settlers in the Occupied Territories, March 2001

March 2001, Summary



Over the course of the present Intifada, the scope and intensity of settler violence toward Palestinian residents of the Occupied Territories has increased dramatically. Several settler leaders have warned that they would "take matters into their own hands", and use force, if they did not find IDF conduct satisfactory. These were not idle threats. In the last few months, settlers have shot Palestinians, thrown stones at Palestinian cars, damaged property, uprooted trees, burned a Mosque, hurt Palestinian medical crews, attacked journalists, prevented farmers from getting to their land and prevented Palestinian vehicles form using the roads.

Since the beginning of the present Intifada, Palestinian attacks on settlers have also sharply increased. These attacks include shooting at settler vehicles and at residences. The establishment of settlements is forbidden by international law. Yet, the fact that the settlements are illegal does not give license to hurt the individuals who live in them. Deliberate attacks on civilians are a clear violation of the basic principals of international law. Nevertheless, being exposed to such attacks does not give the settlers the right to use violence toward Palestinians, except in self-defense.

Settler violence toward Palestinians is not a new phenomenon: such violent acts have been regularly carried out in the Occupied Territories since the beginning of the first Intifada and even earlier. Since 1987, 119 Palestinians have been killed by settlers and other Israeli citizens in the Occupied Territories. Of these, 23 were minors.

These acts are perpetrated in an atmosphere of Israeli law enforcement impotence and laxity. Israel, as the occupying force, bears the responsibility for the safety and well-being of the Palestinian population under its control.

In recent years, law enforcement vis-a-vis settlers has been harshly criticized by many, including the Attorney General and the High Court of Justice. The Shamgar Commission, established in 1994 following the massacre at the cave of the Patriarchs, censured law enforcement policy in cases of violence against Palestinians. It determined that no real measures were taken to improve the situation, despite repeated warnings. A report published by B'Tselem, prior to the establishment of the Commission stated that all of Israel's law enforcement authorities - the military, the police, the State Prosecutor and the judicial system - have adopted an undeclared policy of absolution, compromise and mitigation for Israeli citizens who harm Palestinians in the Occupied Territories.

All of these conclusions remain true today. Testimonies gathered by B'Tselem demonstrate that soldiers are present when settlers attack Palestinians, but do not intervene to prevent the attack. Settlers plan, organize and establish roadblocks to prevent Palestinians from using the roads. The settlers put up these roadblocks in broad daylight and after having notified the media. Despite this, no real effort is made by Israeli authorities to prevent these acts.

In several areas in the West Bank, settlers have instituted independent armed patrols. Participation in these patrols is by individual initiative, and is not sanctioned by the IDF and the Israeli police. The IDF has made its opposition to this activity clear, but seems to do nothing to halt it. The police continue to avoid investigating cases of settlers harming Palestinians, unless a complaint has been filed. For example, the police never investigated the death of two Palestinians at the hands of settlers during the current Intifida, despite the fact that the killings were reported in the media. This policy defies the police departments' legal obligation to investigate every suspected case of wrongdoing. The police ignore the many difficulties Palestinians face in filing a complaint. When under siege, for example, it is impossible for Palestinians to do so.

Even in those cases which the police does investigate, offenders are seldom punished. Between 1994 and 2000, B'Tselem collected testimonies regarding dozens of incidents where settlers attacked Palestinians, and monitored the authorities' treatment of these cases. Two-thirds of the investigations were closed on the grounds of "lack of evidence" or "offender unknown."

Official response to Palestinian homicides stands in marked contrast to cases of Israeli homicides. A Palestinian who kills an Israeli is punished to the full extent of the law, sometimes along with his family. By contrast, it is likely that an Israeli who kills a Palestinian will escape punishment or receive a light sentence. In some of the cases of Palestinians killed by Israelis, no investigation was launched. The police or the State Attorney's Office closed half of the files. In contrast, when Palestinians killed Israelis, less than ten per cent of the files were closed. The sentences of Israelis convicted of killing Palestinians have invariably been commuted. No Palestinian convicted of murdering an Israeli has ever had their sentence commuted.

The fact that law enforcement vis-a-vis settlers has remained deficient for many years, despite repeated warnings, from official agencies among others, shows that this is not a coincidence but rather a policy. Even if Israeli authorities do not directly encourage violent attacks against Palestinian citizens, the fact that they turn a blind eye to the phenomenon carries the same result. This policy also defies the basic principal of equality before the law, and thereby undermines the foundations of the rule of law in Israel.

In a report Israel presented to the Mitchell Commission, it promised to investigate every case of suspected harm done to Palestinians by settlers. It is clear, even now, that Israel has not lived up to its promise.

B'Tselem urges Israeli authorities to prevent settlers and Israeli citizens from harming the lives, well-being and property of Palestinian residents of the Occupied Territories:

  • The state of Israel, in its capacity as an occupying force responsible for the safety and well-being of the Palestinian population, must protect this population in the same manner it does Israelis. The Israeli government must direct its law enforcement authorities to act resolutely to prevent settler violence toward Palestinians. To this end, it must provide its authorities with the necessary resources.
  • IDF soldiers must be informed of their duty to intervene whenever settlers attack Palestinians. Action must be taken against soldiers who fail to carry out this duty.
  • The Israeli police must investigate every incident of which it is made aware. It must not use the fact that a victim did not filed a complaint as an excuse to ignore the case. The police must make an effort to reduce the number of files closed on the grounds of lack of evidence or "offender unknown."