خطر الطرد يهدّد 35 شخصًا في التجمع السكاني وادي القطيف بمنطقة أريحا

تم النشر في: 
5.5.14

التجمع السكاني وادي القطيف. تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 30/4/2014.
التجمع السكاني وادي القطيف. تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 30/4/2014.

يشمل التجمع السكاني وادي القطيف الذي يقع غرب أريحا على 10 عائلات يصل تعداد أفرادها إلى 68 شخصًا، من بينهم 32 قاصرًا. أفراد هذا التجمع السكاني لاجئون من تل عراد في النقب، انتقلوا في سنوات الخمسين إلى منطقة الخليل وبعدها، عام 1982، إلى منطقة أريحا، باحثين عن مناطق الرّعي التي تسمح لهم بالحفاظ على نهج حياتهم. في التجمع السكاني 16 ولدًا في سنّ الدراسة المدرسيّة وهم يتعلمون في مؤسّسات تربوية في مخيم عقبة جبر للاجئين وفي مدينة أريحا. يملك التجمع السكاني 18 كوخًا معيشيًا، تبرّع بغالبيتها الاتحاد الأوروبيّ، بالإضافة إلى خيمة ضيافة و6 زرائب لقرابة 500 رأس ماشية.

لا يملك أبناء هذا التجمع السكاني أيّ مكان سكنيّ بديل، وهم يعتاشون على رعي المواشي وفي الربيع يأخذون القطيع للرّعي في منطقة رام الله ويظلّ ما تبقى في الموقع. قبل ثماني سنوات بدأت قوّات الأمن الاسرائيلية بتقييد حركة رُعاة المواشي من أبناء التجمع السكاني، ومنعتهم من الاقتراب من المنطقة المحيطة بمستوطنة "متسبيه يريحو" وقطرها كيلومتر واحد. في عام 2008 شُقّ شارع رقم 1 الذي يفصل بين المستوطنة وبين التجمع السكاني، ومن وقتها تمنع قوات الأمن رُعاة المواشي من قطع الشارع. بيوت التجمع السكاني مرتبطة بشبكة المياه إلا أنها تعاني انقطاعاتٍ للمياه، وهي غير مرتبطة بشبكة الكهرباء وتملك مُولدًا كهربائيًا.

خليل حمدان، من سكان وادي القطيف مع اثنين من اطفال التجمع السكاني . تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 30/4/2014.
خليل حمدان، من سكان وادي القطيف مع اثنين من اطفال التجمع السكاني . تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 30/4/2014.

في عام 2012 أصدرت الإدارة المدنية أوامرَ هدم لكلّ مباني التجمع السكاني، بدعوى أنها مبان غير مرخصة. توجّه أفراد التجمع السكاني إلى المحامي شلومو ليكر، الذي أضاف التجمع السكاني وادي القطيف إلى الالتماس الذي سبق وقدّمه ضدّ أوامر الهدم التي صدرت ضدّ تجمعات سكانية بدوية أخرى في المنطقة. في تشرين الثاني 2012 أصدرت المحكمة العليا أمرًا مؤقتًا يحظر هدم بيوت أفراد التجمع السكاني إلى أن تردّ الدولة على الالتماس. ورفضت الدولة مرة بعد أخرى، تقديم ردّها على الالتماس. وفي يوم 24/4/2014، أعلنت الدولة أثناء المداولة في المحكمة العليا أنّها معنيّة بترتيب مسألة سكن أبناء التجمع السكاني في منطقة نعيمة شمال-غرب أريحا، حيث تخطط الدولة هناك لتوطين آلاف البدو الآخرين الذين يسكنون المنطقة.

الامر بالاخلاء الذي استلمه السكان . تصوير: عامر عاروري، بتسيلم. 30/4/2014.أمر القاضي عوزي فوجلمن المحامي الذي يمثل الإدارة المدنية بأن يسلم المحامي ليكر المخطط العينيّ لترتيب مسألة سكن التجمع السكاني، خلال أسبوع. ولكن، وفي يوم 28/4/2014، وبعد مضيّ أربعة أيام على المداولة، وفيما كانت المحكمة وممثلو التجمع السكاني ينتظرون تقديم المخطط، حضر ممثلو الجيش والإدارة المدنية إلى الموقع وسلموا أربع عائلات يصل تعداد أفرادها إلى 35 شخصًا –منهم 15 قاصرًا- أمرًا يقضي بإخلائهم من الموقع خلال 48 ساعة، بادّعاء أنّ الحديث يدور عن منطقة عسكرية مغلقة مُعدّة للتدريبات العسكرية. ولم تذكر السطات المكان الذي على أفراد العائلات الانتقال إليه، ولم تقترح عليهم حلولا بديلة أيًّا كانت. وقدّم محامي التجمع السكاني طلبًا عاجلاً لتعديل الالتماس كي يشمل أيضًا أوامر الإخلاء إلى جانب أوامر الهدم. وقد أصدرت المحكمة العليا اليوم، 4/5/2014، أمرًا مؤقتًا يمنع إخلاء السكان ويأمر الدولة بالردّ على طلب تعديل الالتماس خلال 45 يومًا.

تشكّل محاولات إخلاء سكان التجمع السكاني من منطقة سكناهم جزءًا من الجهود التي تبذلها السلطات الإسرائيلية لطرد آلاف الفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون في عشرات التجمعات السكانية المنتشرة في منطقة C، وذلك بذرائع مختلفة . وفي منطقة معاليه أدوميم- أريحا التي تضمّ هذا التجمع السكاني أيضًا، ينعكس الأمر في مخطط الإدارة المدنية لنقل تجمعات سكانية بدوية في الضفة إلى "مواقع دائمة" ستقيمها لهذا الغرض. وتدّعي الإدارة المدنية أنّ الغاية من وراء المخطط تكمن في تحسين مستوى حياة هذه التجمعات السكانية وتوفير ظروف سكنية لائقة بها. إلا أنّ المخطط أُعِدّ من دون أيّ تشاور مع السكان، برغم أنه يُملي تغييرًا متطرفًا على نهج حياتهم وإمكانيات تكسّبهم لأرزاقهم. ووفقما نُشر في وسائل الإعلام فإنّ هذه المخططات لا تتطرق إلا لبلدات مدنية ستُصعّب على السكان مواصلة كسب أرزاقهم من الزراعة والرّعي.

إسرائيل ملزَمَة، كقوة احتلال في الضفة الغربية، بالسماح للسكان بمواصلة إدارة حياتهم، ومن ضمن ذلك فإنها ملزمة بالسماح لهم بتشييد منازلهم بشكل قانونيّ. إنّ طرد السكان من بيوتهم في منطقة محتلة من أجل السماح للجيش المحتلّ بالتدرّب في المنطقة هو أمر غير قانونيّ. ووفقًا للقانون الدوليّ الإنسانيّ، فإنّ مثل هذا الطرد لا يكون مسموحًا إلا في ظروف استثنائية، حين يكون الأمر ضروريًا من أجل حاجة عسكرية طارئة أو لغرض الحفاظ على أمن السكان المحليين. وحتى حين يتحقق ذلك- فإنّ على الطرد أن يكون مؤقتًا، ويجب أن يحظوا خلاله –قدر الإمكان- بسكن بديل وبظروف معقولة. وعلى أيّ حال، يجب السماح للسكان بالعودة لبيوتهم لحظة التمكّن من ذلك. من الواضح أنّ طرد السكان من بيوتهم في هذه الحالة لا يستوفي أيّ شرط من الشروط المذكورة، وعلى أيّ حال فإنه لم تقم أيّ جهة بتكلّف عناء توفير حلّ بديل ملائم يُمكّنهم من مواصلة نهج حياتهم، وإذا طُردوا فإنهم سيظلون بلا مأوى ومن دون مصادر رزق. بتسيلم يدعو السلطات المسؤولة للسماح لسكان وادي القطيف بالبقاء في مكان سكناهم من دون مضايقات، ورعي مواشيهم هناك، كما كانوا يفعلون طيلة السنوات الثلاثين الأخيرة.

35 residents of Wadi al-Qatif west of Jericho face imminent expulsion

Published: 
5 May 2014

Wadi al-Qatif. Photo by 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 30 April 2014
Wadi al-Qatif. Photo by 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 30 April 2014

The Bedouin community of Wadi al-Qatif, located west of the city of Jericho, is home to 10 families comprising 68 people, including 32 minors. The community’s roots are in Tel Arad in the Negev, southern Israel. After becoming refugees, they moved in the 1950s to the Hebron region and then, in 1982, to the area near Jericho, in search of pastureland that would enable them to maintain their traditional lifestyle. There are 16 school-age children in Wadi al-Qatif and they study either in Jericho or in ‘Aqbat Jaber Refugee Camp. The community has 18 residential huts, largely donated by the European Union, as well as a large hospitality tent and six sheep-pens that house their approximately 500 head of sheep.

The residents of the community have no alternative housing or place to live. As they earn their living tending sheep, in springtime, some of the residents lead the flocks to pasture in the Ramallah area, while the rest of the population stays behind. Eight years ago, Israeli security forces began restricting the movement of the community’s shepherds, prohibiting them to come any nearer than one kilometer to the settlement of Mitzpe Yeriho. Ever since 2008, when Route 1 was laid out between the settlement and Wadi al-Qatif, Israeli security forces have not allowed the shepherds to cross from their side of the road to the other. The community is hooked up to the water grid, yet it endures long periods when no water is supplied. The community is not hooked up to the power grid; it relies on a generator for electricity.

Khalil Hamdan, a resident of Wadi al-Qatif, and two community children. Photo by 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 30 April 2014
Khalil Hamdan, a resident of Wadi al-Qatif, and two community children. Photo by 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 30 April 2014

In 2012, the Civil Administration issued demolition orders for construction without a permit for all structures in Wadi al-Qatif. The residents turned to Att. Shlomo Lecker, who added the community to the petition he had already filed to the High Court of Justice to countermand demolition orders issued for other Bedouin communities in the area. In November 2012, the High Court of Justice issued an interim injunction that prohibited further demolition pending the state’s response to the petition. The state repeatedly postponed its response. At a session of the High Court on 24 April 2014, the state said it is interested in relocating the community to the region of Nu’eimeh, north-west of Jericho, where it plans to settle thousands of other Bedouins from the vicinity.

Eviction order served to community residents. Photo by 'Amer 'Aruri, B'Tselem, 30 April 2014Justice Uzi Fogelman instructed the attorney representing the Civil Administration to have a concrete plan for resettling the community submitted to Att. Lecker within a week. However, on 28 April 2014, four days after the court session, while the court and the community’s legal counsel were waiting to receive the plan, representatives of the military and the Civil Administration arrived at Wadi al-Qatif and served eviction orders to four families comprised of 35 individuals, including 15 minors. The order stated the families must vacate the premises within 48 hours because they are in a closed military zone designated for training. Wadi al-Qatif’s legal counsel filed an urgent application to amend the petition so as to have it encompass the eviction orders as well as the demolition orders. Today, 4 May 2014, the High Court of Justice issued an interim injunction, prohibiting the evacuation of the residents and directing the state to respond to the requested amendment to the petition within 45 days.

Attempts to expel the members of Wadi al-Qatif from their site of residence are part and parcel of the Israeli endeavors to expel – on a variety of pretexts – thousands of Palestinians who live in dozens of communities throughout Area C. In the Ma’ale Adumim-Jericho area, these endeavors may be seen in the Civil Administration plan to establish “permanent sites” for the relocation of Bedouin communities in the West Bank. According to the Civil Administration, the plan’s objective is to improve the standard of living of these communities and to provide proper housing conditions. That said, the plan was drawn up without consulting the residents at all, irrespective of that fact that it dictates an extreme change in their lifestyle and means of livelihood. According to the media, the plans are only for urban communities, thereby making it extremely difficult for the residents to make a living as farmers and shepherds.

As the occupying power in the West Bank, Israel must allow the local residents to lead normal lives. This includes allowing them to build homes lawfully. Expelling residents of an occupied territory from their homes to make way for military training is unlawful. Expulsions are permitted under international law only under exceptional circumstances, such as urgent military needs or for protecting the local population. Even then, the expulsion must be temporary, the residents must be provided with reasonable alternative accommodation, and, whatever the circumstances, they must be allowed to return home as soon as possible. Clearly, expulsion in this case fails to meet any of these criteria. In any event, the residents were never offered an appropriate alternative solution that would allow them to maintain their way of life. Expulsion would render them homeless and eliminate their ability to make a living. B’Tselem calls on the relevant authorities to allow the residents of Wadi al-Qatif to remain living in their present location and to tend to their flocks there, as they have been doing for the past 30 years.