انتهاك حق الحصول على العلاج الطبي في الضفة الغربية

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11

يوجد للقيود الصارمة التي يفرضها الجيش على حركة الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية تبعات خطيرة على حياة الفلسطينيين، بما في ذلك المس الصعب بقدرة الفلسطينيين على تلقي العلاج الطبي اللائق.

إن المئات من المعيقات المحسوسة وعشرات الحواجز تقيّد بصورة بالغة قدرة الكثيرين ممن يحتاجون العلاج الطبي في الضفة الغربية من الوصول إلى المراكز الطبية ذات الصلة وفي حالات كثيرة تحول هذه المعيقات والحواجز دون العلاج الطبي مطلقاً.

ويلحق الضرر بصورة خاصة قدرة سكان القرى والريف على الوصول إلى المستشفيات الواقعة في المدن الكبرى. إن أبرز مثال على ذلك هم سكان القرى المجاورة للقدس الذين يحتاجون للوصول إلى أحد المستشفيات في شرقي القدس ويُطلب منهم التزود بتصريح من أجل الوصول إلى المكان الذين يرغبون بالوصول إليه. لهذا الغرض، يُضطر المرضى إلى استصدار مصادقات ووثائق طبية تشهد على مرضهم وتُثبت أنهم مدعوون للعلاج الطبي في مستشفى معين والذي يمكن فيه فقط الحصول على العلاج الطبي الذي يحتاجونه.

إن التعلق بالحصول على تصريح صعب بصورة خاصة بالنسبة للنساء الحوامل اللواتي يجب أن يصلن إلى المستشفى وقت الوضع. إن صلاحية التصريح المقدم للنساء الحوامل قرابة موعد الوضع ساري المفعول ليوم أو يومين، وكما هو الحال بالنسبة لمعظم المرضى، من الصعب التنبؤ على وجه الدقة متى سيحدث الوضع في ختام الأمر. لهذا السبب، تُضطر النساء الحوامل في الشهر التاسع من الحمل للوصول إلى مكتب التنسيق والارتباط كل بضعة أيام من أجل تجديد التصريح. نتيجة لذلك، فقد اضطر عدد من النساء إلى الولادة في الحاجز ذاته، بعد تأخيرهن في الحاجز نظرا لانتهاء مفعول التصريح الذي يحملنه. خلال العام 2007، وضعت على الأقل خمس نساء حوامل أطفالهن في الحاجز. وقد ولدت ثلاث نساء منهن في أحد حواجز العبور إلى القدس.

ولا تقتصر الصعوبات في الطريق إلى العلاج الطبي على بيروقراطية نظام التصاريح. في الكثير من الحالات، تكون الطريق إلى المستشفى مليئة بالمعيقات التي تستلزم السفر بطرق طويلة، معوجة ومشوشة والتي تؤدي في معظم الأحيان إلى حاجز مُعزز يتطلب المرور به الانتظار والخضوع للفحص. في حالات أخرى، لا يكون العلاج الطبي متاحا للمرضى والجرحى الذين بحاجة للحصول على خدمات طبية طارئة نظرا لإغلاق الحواجز المعززة في ساعات المساء بحيث يُترك الكثير من الأهالي على مدار ساعات طويلة دون إمكانية دخول وخروج السيارات، بما في ذلك سيارات الإسعاف. وتفرض إسرائيل مثل هذا الوضع خاصة في الجيوب الواقعة في منطقة التماس وفي عدد من المناطق المعزولة، وبضمنها بلدات بيت فوريك وبيت دجن في منطقة نابلس. في العام 2007، طرأ ارتفاع في عدد الذين احتاجوا العلاج الطبي وتم تأخيرهم في الحواجز. علاوة على ذلك، فقد وثقت بتسيلم خلال العام خمس حالات توفي فيها المرضى أو الجرحى بعد مثل هذا التأخير.

في أعقاب الالتماس الذي تقدمت به جمعية أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان في العام 1996، نشرت نيابة الدولة إجراءين حددهما الجيش ويُعنيان بالمرور عبر الحواجز في أعقاب الحاجة الطبية والتي كان من المفروض لها تنظيم مرور الفلسطينيين في الحاجز في حالة الطوارئ الطبية، بدون تصريح، وفي الحالات غير الطارئة. وكان من المفروض لهذه الإجراءات أن تسري في جميع الضفة الغربية، غير ان الافادات التي تم جمعها خلال الفترة الأخيرة تظهر أنه لا يتم تطبيق الإجراءات دائما. وينبع الأمر في بعض الأحيان من اعتبارات خاطئة لدى الجنود في الحاجز الذين لا يحملون بشكل عام أي تأهيل طبي يتيح لهم تقدير صعوبة حالة الشخص المريض.

كما أن القيود على الحركة والتنقل تمس وظائف المستشفيات في الضفة الغربية ذاتها. ويلحق الضرر البالغ بمستوى الخدمات في هذه المستشفيات بسبب غياب أو تأخير الأطباء وأفراد الطاقم وغيرهم من المستخدمين الذين يتم تأخيرهم في الحواجز. وفي الختام، فإن القيود تمس أيضا بالقدرة على تطوير احتياطي طبي في جهاز الصحة الفلسطيني لأن الأطباء وطلاب الطب يجدون صعوبة في الوصول إلى الدورات الاستكمالية المهنية أو الجامعات. نتيجة لذلك، فإن الكثير من الطلاب لا يكملون دراستهم، وفي كل الأحوال يلحق الضرر بمستوى التأهيل الطبي الذي يحتاجونه.

إن القانون الدولي يمنح حماية خاصة للمرضى، الجرحى، النساء الحوامل والمرهقين ويحدد وجوب تمكين مرور المحتاجين للحصول على العلاج الطبي وكذلك الطواقم الطبية. إن القيود الكثيرة التي تفرضها إسرائيل على حركة الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية وحقيقة كونها مفروضة منذ مدة طويلة، تؤدي إلى الانتهاك المنهجي والمتواصل لهذه التعليمات والمس البالغ بصحة السكان في الضفة الغربية وفي الجهاز الصحي الفلسطيني على العموم.

Infringement of the Right to Medical Treatment

Published: 
1 Jan 2011

The army's severe restrictions on Palestinian movement in the West Bank gravely affect the ability of Palestinians to obtain proper medical treatment.

The hundreds of physical obstructions and dozens of checkpoints result in very limited access to medical treatment, and sometimes none at all. The problem is especially grave among residents of villages and outlying areas who need to get to hospitals in the large cities. For example, persons living in villages around Jerusalem who need to get to hospitals in East Jerusalem for treatment require a permit to enable them to reach their destination. To obtain a permit, patients have to provide medical documents testifying to their illness, as well as confirmation that they have an appointment at the specific hospital and that it is the only facility where the needed treatment is available.

The need for a permit is especially problematic for pregnant women, who need to get to the hospital in time to give birth. Even though the delivery date is uncertain, the permit given to women about to deliver is valid for only one or two days, as is the case for most sick persons. Therefore, women in their ninth month of pregnancy must go to the DCO every few days to renew the permit. As a result, in some instances, the mother gave birth at the checkpoint after her crossing was delayed because she did not have a valid permit. In 2007, at least five women gave birth at a checkpoint, three of them at a checkpoint at the entrance to Jerusalem.

The hardships entailed in obtaining medical treatment involve more than the bureaucracy of the permit regime. In many cases, the way to the hospital is blocked, so the sick and injured have to travel on long, winding, and worn roads. These alternate roads often lead to a staffed checkpoint, where they are forced to wait and undergo checks. In other cases, access to medical treatment is prevented and ill and wounded persons are unable to receive emergency medical treatment when checkpoints are closed at night, and whole Palestinian communities are blocked from entering or leaving by vehicle, including by ambulance. This situation exists primarily in enclaves in the “seam zone” and in a number of isolated areas, among them Beit Furik and Beit Dajan, in the Nablus area. In 2007, there was an increase in the number of persons needing medical treatment who were delayed at checkpoints, and B'Tselem documented five cases in which ill or wounded persons died after being delayed at a checkpoint.

Following a petition that Physicians for Human Rights filed in 1996, the State Attorney's Office announced two procedures instituted by the army regarding the crossing of checkpoints on grounds of medical need. The two procedures were intended to regulate the crossing of Palestinians in case of medical emergency, when a permit would not be needed, and in non-emergency cases. These procedures were supposed to apply at all the checkpoints in the West Bank, but recent testimonies given to B'Tselem indicate that this is not always the case. Frequently, the soldiers, who have no medical training that would enable them to evaluate the medical condition of the person, err in judgment.

The many restrictions on movement have also impaired the ability of West Bank hospitals to function properly. Indeed, the level of service in these hospitals has suffered greatly because of the absence or delay in arrival of doctors and staff as a result of checkpoint delays. Finally, the restrictions on movement also impair the development and expertise of medical professionals in the Palestinian health system: it is almost impossible for physicians and staff to get to in-service training or students to university, and many students are either unable to complete their studies or receive a lower quality of professional training.

International law grants special protection to the sick, wounded, the infirm, and pregnant women, and states that medical teams and sick and wounded persons must be allowed open passage. The many restrictions on Palestinian movement in the West Bank and the extensive period in which these restrictions have been imposed have resulted in a systematic, protracted breach of the law and in grave harm to the health of West Bank Palestinians and to the Palestinian health system.