Skip to main content
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

شرقي القدس - 12.11.08: هدم بيوت في منطقة البستان في قرية سلوان شرقي القدس

يوم الأربعاء الماضي، 5.11.2008، قامت بلدية القدس بهدم بيت واحد وهدم إضافة بناء في بيت آخر في حي البستان وسط قرية سلوان شرقي القدس. وقد احتج العشرات من سكان الحي على الهدم وقام البعض منهم بإلقاء الحجارة على قوات الشرطة وحرس الحدود الذين ردوا بإطلاق الغاز المسيل للدموع وفي حالة واحدة تم إطلاق النار بالذخيرة الحية. خلال إخلاء السكان من البيوت المعدة للإخلاء قام أحد رجال الشرطة بمهاجمة مواطنين من سكان الحي. وفي نفس اليوم قامت بلدية القدس بهدم مبنيين، قاعة أفراح وبيت سكني، في بيت حنينا وشعفاط.

يضم حي البستان حوالي تسعين بيتا يعيش فيها حوالي ألف مواطن. وقد تم بناء معظم البيوت في هذا الحي في سنوات الثمانينات والتسعينات والقليل منها بُني قبل ضم شرقي القدس إلى اسرائيل في العام 1967. في سنوات التسعينيات قامت بلدية القدس بهدم أربعة بيوت في الحي. في تشرين الثاني 2004 أصدر مهندس البلدية سابقا، أوري شطريت، أمرا إلى مدير قسم الإشراف على البناء في بلدية القدس بهدم جميع مباني الحي لصالح توسيع الحديقة الأثرية المعروفة باسم "عيمق هميلخ" التي تحيط بالبلدة القديمة. في بداية العام 2005 بدأت البلدية بتنفيذ هذا الأمر وبدأ سكان الحي بتلقي أوامر هدم ولوائح اتهام جراء البناء بدون ترخيص. خلال ذلك العام قامت البلدية بهدم بيتين في الحي.

وقد توجه سكان الحي إلى المستشار القضائي للحكومة وطالبوه بمنع هدم الحي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد ضغطت جهات دولية من أجل إلغاء الخطة. في أعقاب ذلك، أعلن رئيس بلدية القدس، أوري لوبليانسكي، عن تراجعه عن الخطة وإتاحة الفرصة لسكان الحي بتقديم خارطة تعبر عن الاحتياجات التطويرية الخاصة بهم. في شهر آب 2008 عرض سكان الحي الخارطة الخاصة بهم على البلدية، لكن مهندس البلدية، شلومو اشكول، أعلمهم أن خارطة السكان لن تُبحث قريبا وأن البلدية تدفع قدما بخطتها لبناء حديقة وطنية في الحي. في حالة قيام بلدية القدس بتنفيذ خطتها وهدم البيوت في حي البستان فإن هذه ستكون عملية الهدم الأوسع التي قامت بها بلدية القدس منذ هدم حي المغاربة في البلدة القديمة في العام 1967 من أجل إقامة باحة حائط المبكى.

إن الخارطة الهيكلية لبلدية القدس الخاصة بمنطقة البلدة القديمة من العام 1977 تعترف بوجود بيوت في حي البستان رغم أنه جرى تعريف منطقة الحي في الخارطة على أنها منطقة تطوير. ورغم أنه مر منذ ذلك الوقت أكثر من ثلاثين عاما، ما تزال البلدية ترفض الاستجابة لطلبات سكان الحي بالحصول على تراخيص البناء أو تأهيل البناء القائم، باستثناء بعض الحالات القليلة. إن السياسة التي تتبعها البلدية التي تمنع كل إمكانية للتطوير في حي البستان تميز سياسة الخنق التنظيمي التي تتبعها البلدية تجاه أحياء أخرى شرقي المدينة منذ العام 1967. />

وتبدو هذه السياسة أكثر خطورة لأنه يتم في سلوان ذاتها الدفع بمشاريع تطويرية لتطوير المناطق الخاصة بجمعيات المستوطنين- العاد وعطيرت كوهنيم، بما في ذلك إقامة الحديقة الوطنية "مدينة داوود" التي يتم تفعيلها من قبل جمعية العاد- التي يتم بناؤها بين البيوت الفلسطينية المجاورة لحي البستان ومن حولها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تقوم هذه الجمعيات ببناء مؤسسات ومواقف وتُنفذ حفريات أثرية على مقربة من البيوت الفلسطينية في سلوان. كما تمتنع البلدية عن هدم مبنى كبير تابع لعطيرت كوهنيم تم بناؤه بدون ترخيص.

إن الخطة الخاصة بهدم الحي تحرم السكان من حقهم في السكن وهو حق مجتزأ من الحق في مستوى حياة لائق كما تم تعريفه في الميثاق الدولي للحقوق الاقتصادية، الاجتماعية والثقافية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن اتفاقية جنيف الرابعة تحظر على الدولة المُحتلة هدم ممتلكات سكان المنطقة المحتلة الذين يتمتعون بمكانة السكان المحميين "إلا إذا كانت هناك عمليات عسكرية تستوجب التدمير". وتحدد هذه الاتفاقية أيضا أن هدم الممتلكات "بصورة واسعة النطاق" دون ضرورة عسكرية يُعتبر انتهاكا خطيرا للاتفاقية.


بتسيلم تدعو بلدية القدس إلى التراجع عن خطتها لهدم البيوت في حي البستان، وتغيير سياستها التمييزية وغير القانونية والعمل بالتعاون مع سكان الحي من أجل الدفع قدما بخارطة هيكلية تستجيب لاحتياجات السكان. />/>

12 Nov. '08: House demolitions in Silwan, East Jerusalem

Published: 
12 Nov 2008

Last Wednesday [5 November], the Jerusalem Municipality demolished one house and an addition to another house, both in the Bustan section in the center of Silwan, a neighborhood in East Jerusalem. Dozens of local residents protested the action, some of them throwing stones at police and Border Police forces, who responded by firing tear gas and in one case, fired a shot of live ammunition at a balcony on which stone-throwers were standing. During the course of removing the occupants of the houses intended for destruction, one policeman assaulted two residents of the neighborhood. That same day, the Municipality demolished an events hall in Beit Hanina and a residential dwelling Shua'fat.

The Bustan section of Silwan contains some ninety houses, which are home to about one thousand persons. Most of the houses were built in the 1980s and 1990s. A few were built prior to Israel's annexation of East Jerusalem, in 1967. In the 1990s, the Municipality demolished four homes in the neighborhood. In November 2004, the city engineer at the time, Uri Shitreet, directed the head of the Municipality's building supervision department to demolish all houses in the neighborhood to enable expansion of the King's Valley archeological park, which surrounds the Old City. In early 2005, the Municipality began to carry out the directive, and residents of the neighborhood began to receive demolition orders and charges were filed against them for building without a permit. At the time, the Municipality demolished two houses in al-Bustan.

Local residents requested the attorney general to prevent the destruction of the neighborhood. Also, international pressure was brought to cancel the plan. Subsequently, Mayor Uri Lupoliansky stated, in 2005, that he retracted the plan and that the residents would be allowed to propose a plan that meets their development needs. In August 2008, the residents presented their plan. The city engineer, Shlomo Eshkol, informed them that the plan would not be considered in the immediate future, and that the Municipality was proceeding with the plan to build a national park on the site.

If the Municipality carries out its plan to demolish the houses in al-Bustan, it would be the most massive demolition action carried out by the Municipality since the demolition of the Mugrabi section of the Old City, in 1967, to build the expanse in front of the Western Wall.

The Municipality's outline plan for the Old City, drafted in 1977, marked the existing structures in al-Bustan, while classifying the neighborhood open, public space. Although more than thirty years have passed since then, the Municipality has refused to issue building permits or approve existing construction, except in isolated cases. Indeed, choking development of the neighborhood is characteristic of the Municipality's planning and building policy in East Jerusalem since 1967.

This policy is especially problematic in that, in Silwan, plans are being advanced to develop the compound run by the settler non-profit societies Elad and Ateret Cohanim, and build the City of David National Park, operated by Elad, which is being constructed between Palestinian houses surrounding al-Bustan. In addition, these societies are building institutions and parking lots, and archeological excavations are being conducted, close to Palestinian houses in Silwan. The Municipality also refrains from demolishing a large structure that Ateret Cohanim built without a permit in Silwan.

Destruction of the neighborhood denies its residents the right to housing, which is derived from the right to an adequate standard of living as it is defined in the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. In addition, the Fourth Geneva Convention prohibits the occupying state to destroy the property of residents of occupied territory, who benefit from the status of protected persons, “except where such destruction is rendered absolutely necessary by military actions.” The Convention further states that “extensive destruction . . . of property not justified by military necessity and carried out unlawfully and wantonly” constitutes a grave breach of the Convention.

B'Tselem calls on the Jerusalem Municipality to cancel its plan to demolish houses in al-Bustan, to change its discriminatory and illegal policy, and to cooperate with residents of the neighborhood to develop an outline plan that will meet their needs.