1.9.10: ينبغي على السلطة الفلسطينية التحقيق في تعاطي قواتها خلال تفريق مظاهرة في رام الله

تم النشر في: 
1.9.10

يوم الأربعاء، 25.8.2010، حاول أعضاء في منظمة جديدة للأحزاب الفلسطينية، نشطاء مستقلون ومنظمات المجتمع المدني الفلسطيني تنظيم اجتماع في النادي البروتستانتي في رام الله حول معارضتهم لتجديد المفاوضات مع إسرائيل بدون تجميد الاستيطان.

ويتضح من التقرير الذي نشرته الصحفية عميرة هس في صحيفة هآرتس بتاريخ 29.8.2010 أنه قبل أن يبدأ الاجتماع الذي دُعي إليه عشرات الأشخاص، اندفع إلى القاعة عشرات الشبان الذين هتفوا بهتافات دعم لرئيس السلطة الفلسطينية محمود عباس ورفعوا لافتات تحمل صوره. ويتضح من تحقيق بتسيلم انه بعد أن عرقل الشبان الاجتماع سعى المنظمون إلى السير في مسيرة تجاه مكاتب محطة التلفزيون المحلي "وطن" لتنظيم مؤتمر صحفي هناك. طبقا لتقرير عميرة هس، فقد استمر الشبان في مضايقة المشاركين في الاجتماع ومنعوا تنظيم مسيرة هادئة. وقد فرقت الشرطة الفلسطينية المسيرة بعد أن أغلقت سيارة مدنية تابعة لجهاز المخابرات العامة الفلسطينية التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية الطريق أمام المشاركين المشاة.

وقد أبلغت مؤسسة حقوق الإنسان الفلسطينية "الحق" أن المستخدمين في المؤسسة التي تقع مكاتبها مقابل مكان الاجتماع وصلوا إلى المكان لغرض توثيق الحادث. عندما حاول أحد مستخدمي المؤسسة، وسام أحمد، تصوير ما يحدث، هوجم من قبل عنصر في المخابرات العامة الذي أسقط الكاميرا على الأرض. التقط أحمد الكاميرا وعاد ليصور غير ان عناصر المخابرات العامة الذين كانوا يرتدون الملابس المدنية منعوه من هذا. وعندما طلب منهم توضيح المبرر لهذا قاموا بالاعتداء عليه ومصادرة الكاميرا. أما زميلته في العمل، نينا عطا الله، فقد جُرحت عندما حاولت مساعدته وتم نقلها إلى المستشفى. بالاضافة إلى الكاميرا التابعة لمؤسسة الحق، فقد صادر عناصر المخابرات العامة أيضا معدات للتصوير وأشرطة فيديو لصحفيين تواجدوا في المكان. خلال تفريق المظاهرة تم اعتقال قيادي في منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية.

من ناحيته نشر المجلس الفلسطيني لحقوق الإنسان بيانا استنكر فيه تعامل قوات الأمن الفلسطينية خلال الحادث مؤكدا أن الحديث يدور عن مصادرة الحق في التظاهر والحق في حرية التعبير من المشاركين في الاجتماع والمسيرة. وقد أنكرت السلطة الفلسطينية أي علاقة بالتضييق خلال الاجتماع فيما أعلن ديوان أبو مازن عن تشكيل لجنة تحقيق لفحص ملابسات الحادث.

بتسيلم تدعو السلطة الفلسطينية لتمكين المواطنين من الحق في حرية التعبير والحق في التظاهر، وهي حقوق أساسية مقننة في القانون الدولي. إن التدخل السافر في اجتماع شعبي كما هو موصوف أعلاه يعتبر مسا بالغ الخطورة بحرية التعبير، كما أن تفريق المسيرة التي كانت وفقا للتقارير قليلة المشاركين وغير عنيفة يعتبر مسا غير تناسبي بالحق في التظاهر. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ينبغي على السلطة الفلسطينية أن تتيح لنشطاء حقوق الإنسان القيام بعملهم الحيوي، طبقا لتصريح الأمم المتحدة بخصوص المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان من العام 1998، الذي يفيد بأحقية نشطاء حقوق الإنسان بالحماية خلال عملهم. بناء على التجربة الكبيرة لمنظمة بتسيلم، فإن تصوير الوقائع خلال حدوثها يعتبر أداة هامة للتحقيق في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان وكذلك منعها مسبقا.

بتسيلم تدعو السلطة الفلسطينية إلى الانتهاء في أسرع وقت من التحقيق في الحادث.

Intra-Palestinian violations

1 Sept. ’10: Palestinian Authority must investigate actions of its forces during dispersal of demonstration

Published: 
1 Sep 2010

On Wednesday, 25 August 2010, members of a new organization of Palestinian political parties, independent activists, and civil society movements attempted to hold a conference at the Protestant Club in Ramallah, to discuss their opposition to renewal of negotiations with Israel without a freeze on construction in the settlements.

As reported in Ha'aretz, several dozen persons were invited to the conference, but before they could convene, hundreds of young people entered the hall shouting slogans in support of the Palestinian Authority's president, Mahmud Abbas, and waving placards with his picture. B'Tselem's investigation indicates that, following the disruption, the organizers of the conference decided to walk in a procession to the offices of the local television station, Watan, and hold a press conference there. According to Ha'aretz, the young people continued to disrupt the gathering and prevented the participants from holding a peaceful procession. Palestinian police broke up the procession after a vehicle of the PA's General Intelligence Service blocked the marchers' way.

The Palestinian human rights organization al-Haq, whose offices are situated opposite the building where the conference was held, stated that some of its employees went to the spot to document the incident. When one of them, Wisam Ahmad, tried to film the events, a member of the General Intelligence Service attacked him and knocked his camera to the ground. Ahmad picked up the camera and continued filming, but members of the General Intelligence Service, who were in civilian dress, forbid him to film. When he demanded that they explain why it was forbidden, they assaulted him and confiscated his camera. His colleague, Nina ‘Atallah, was injured when she tried to aid him. She was taken to hospital for treatment. In addition to al-Haq's camera, General Intelligence Service members also confiscated film equipment and video tapes from journalists covering the incident. One member of the PLO Supreme Council was arrested during the procession.

The Palestinian Council of Human Rights Organizations condemned the action of the security forces as a violation of the right to demonstrate and the right to free speech of the persons taking part in the conference and the procession. The Palestinian Authority denied any connection with the disturbance of the conference, and the office of President Mahmud Abbas announced the establishment of a commission to investigate the events.

B'Tselem calls on the Palestinian Authority to enable fulfillment of the right to freedom of speech and the right to demonstrate, which are fundamental rights enshrined in international law. The flagrant interference with public assembly as described above seriously infringed the right of free speech, and dispersal of the procession, which according to reports had few participants and was not violent, was a disproportionate infringed the right to demonstrate. The PA must also enable human rights activists to carry out their vital work, in keeping with the UN Declaration on Human Rights Defenders, of 1998, which states that human rights activists are entitled to protection in the course of their work. B'Tselem's vast experience shows that filming events live is an important tool in investigating human rights violations, as well as a means to prevent the violations from occurring.

B'Tselem calls on the Palestinian Authority to speedily complete an investigation of the event.