تسلسل الأحداث

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11

  • نيسان 2002- أثناء حملة "السور الواقي" يزيد جنود الجيش الاسرائيلي بصورة ملحوظة من استخدام الفلسطينيين كدروع بشرية.
  • أيار 2002- مركز عدالة يقدم التماسا الى محكمة العدل العليا باسك سبع منظمات لحقوق الانسان ضد استخدام الفلسطينيين كدروع بشرية، والجيش الاسرائيلي يعلن أنه سيتوقف عن استخدام المدنيين الفلسطينيين لغرض تنفيذ المهام العسكرية، بإستثناء " اجراء الجار".
  • آب 2002- مصرع نضال أبو محسن أثناء ارغامه من قبل الجيش الاسرائيلي ليكون لهم درعا بشريا في اطار " اجراء الجار". ورداً على توجه اضافي الى محكمة العدل العليا، من قبل منظمات حقوق الانسان، تُصدر المحكمة أمراً مؤقتا تحظر من خلاله على الجيش الاسرائيلي استعمال هذا الإجراء. الجنود الاسرائيليون يستمرون في استعماله.
  • تشرين الثاني 2002- تنشر بتسيلم تقريرا يشتمل على خمس حالات قام خلالها جنود الجيش الاسرائيلي بخرق أمر المحكمة. منظمات حقوق الانسان تقدم طلباً طبقا لأمر تحقير المحكمة.
  • كانون الأول 2002- الدولة تقدم ردها الى محكمة العدل العليا، وتدعي أن الجيش لم يعد يستخدم المواطنين الفلسطينيين كـ "دروع بشرية" وإنما "يستعين بالسكان لغرض منع المس بحياة الانسان". وقد أُرفِقَت مع الجواب لائحة جديدة تسمى "التحذير المسبق" والتي من المقرر أن تستبدل "اجراء الجار". وطبقاً للائحة الجديدة فإن "الاستعانة" بالمواطنين مسموحة إذا لم تكن حياة "المُعين"، وفق رؤية القائد العسكري في المنطقة، معرضة للخطر، وكذلك إذا كان "المُعين" يوافق على ذلك. منظمات حقوق الانسان تقدم ردها وتدعي أن الإجراء الجديد لا يتفق مع أي معيار قانوني وأن الادعاء القائم على أن "الاستعانة" بالمواطن لا تشكل خطرا على حياته عارية عن الصحة. وقد اشتمل الرد على افادات حول حالات اضافية تم من خلالها استعمال المواطنين الفلسطينيين كـ "دروع بشرية" والتي جرت بعد اصدار الأمر المؤقت من قبل محكمة العدل العليا.
  • كانون الثاني 2003- محكمة العدل العليا تقلص الأمر الاحترازي، وتسمح بإستخدام إجراء "التحذير المسبق". استجابة لطلب المحكمة، تقدم منظمات حقوق الانسان رأياً قانونيا يحدد أن الاجراء غير قانوني. الجيش الاسرائيلي لم يقدم بعد رده على ادعاءات الملتمسين، وبدأ في استعمال اجراء "التحذير المسبق".
  • تموز 2003- محكمة العدل العليا تناقش التماس منظمات حقوق الانسان، وتتناول في اطار المداولة قانونية اجراء "التحذير المسبق"، وكذلك الطلب الخاص المتعلق بتحقير المحكمة والذي قدمته المنظمات بعد أن استمر الجيش الاسرائيلي في استخدام "الدروع البشرية". محكمة العدل العليا تمدد سريان مفعول الأمر الاحترازي حتى اشعار آخر.
  • نيسان 2004- منظمات حقوق الانسان تتقدم بطلب الى المحكمة العليا لإصدار أمر احترازي يحظر على سلطات الجيش استخدام السكان المدنيين الفلسطينيين كـ "دروع بشرية" و/أو كـ "رهائن"، بما في ذلك التوجه اليهم من أجل المشاركة في أثناء أية عملية عسكرية، واستعمالهم في اطار هذه العمليات، بصورة مطلقة ودونما أي علاقة برأي أية جهة عسكرية. وقد أرفقت مع الطلب افادات وشهادات خطية قامت المنظمات بجمعها بخصوص حالات اضافية من استخدام المواطنين كـ "دروع بشرية" خلال الاشهر تشرين الاول 2003 ونيسان 2004.
  • آب 2004- تقدمت منظمة عدالة في يوم 16.8.2004 بطلب الى محكمة العدل العليا طبقا لأمر تحقير المحكمة تتطالب بإلزام الجيش بتنفيذ الامر التي اصدرته المحكمة والذي يمنع الجيش من استخدام الاشخاص كدرع بشري او/و كرهائن في اثناء عملياته العسكرية. وطُلِبَ من محكمة العدل العليا، من بين ما طُلِبً، فرض غرامة على سلطات الجيش.
  • وجاء في الطلب أن الجيش مستمر في خرق أمر محكمة العدل العليا والذي يحظر على استعمال الأشخاص كدرع بشري. ومع الطلب تم ارفاق ثماني افادات جديدة قام محققو بتسيلم بجمعها، بخصوص اقدام الجيش على استخدام المواطنين الفلسطينيين كـ "دروع بشرية" و/أو رهائن، منذ كانون الثاني حتى تموز 2004.
  • أيلول 2004- يوم الأحد الموافق 5.9.2004، ناقشت محكمة العدل العليا الالتماس الذي قدمته منظمة عدالة في أيار 2002 ضد استخدام المواطنين الفلسطينيين كـ "دروع بشرية" و/أو رهائن. وقد انتقد رئيس محكمة العدل العليا، القاضي أهارون براك، اجراء "التحذير المسبق" والذي استبدل "اجراء الجار"، ودعى الجيش الى التنازل عنه، من خلال المبرر أن ميثاق جنيف يحظر استخدام السكان المحليين في الأعمال القتالية للجيش المحتل. وقد قال الرئيس براك أثناء مناقشة الالتماس أنه: "من بين مائة حالة يساعد الجار فيها قوات الجيش الاسرائيلي بمحض ارادته، ستبقى هناك 99 حالة دونما موافقته. ومن الصعب جدا التحقق من الرغبة، والخشية هي من حضور وحدة عسكرية في الليل، حيث لن تجد جارا لا يوافق على التعاون معها بسبب الخوف". وقد أعلنت محكمة العدل العليا أن قرار الحكم سيُعطى في موعد آخر.
  • في يوم 6.10.05 قررت محكمة العدل العليا ان استخدام المواطنين الفلسطينيين في نطاق العمليات العسكرية منوع منعا باتا. كما وألغت المحكمة استخدام بإجراء "الإنذار المسبق".
  • عام 2007- على الرغم من حكم محكمة العدل العليا وأوامر الجيش التي صدرت قبله وفي اعقابه، يستمر الجيش في استعمال فلسطينيين كدروع بشرية. خلال العام 2007، على سبيل المثال، وثقت بتسيلم 14 حالة قام خلالها الجنود باستعمال مدنيين فلسطينيين كدروع بشرية. في شهر شباط 2007 على سبيل المثال، أرغم جنود قاصريين فلسطينيين، عمرهما 11 و- 15 عاما، مرافقتهم في أعمال تمشيط قاموا بها وان يفتحوا لهم أبواب البيوت والغرف. في شهر تموز 2007 جرحت فتاة عمرها 14 عاما من بيت حانون شمالي قطاع غزة في ساقها وبطنها جراء إطلاق النار من قبل قوات الجيش عندما استخدمها الجنود كدرع بشري. وقد توجهت بتسيلم إلى النيابة العسكرية وطالبت بالتحقيق في الحوادث. يتضح من متابعات بتسيلم أن شرطة التحقيقات العسكرية شرعت بالتحقيق في 13 حالة، وأن حالتين ما تزالا قيد التحقيق، وأنه أغلقت الملفات في 7 حالات فيما تم تحويل 4 ملفات للمعاينة من قبل النيابة.
  • تشرين الأول 2007- قرر النائب العسكري الرئيسي الامتناع عن إجراء محاكمة جنائية لقائد قوات الجيش الإسرائيلي في الضفة الغربية، البريغادير جنرال يائير جولان، الذي أمر في خمس حالات باستعمال "إجراء التحذير المسبق". وقد قرر النائب العسكري الاكتفاء بعقوبة تأديبية خفيفة. هذا القرار يرسل رسالة استخفاف من حيث قيمة حياة الفلسطينيين وكذلك المحكمة العليا.
  • خلال حملة "الرصاص المصبوب" التي دارت في قطاع غزة في كانون الثاني 2009 وصلت إلى بتسيلم ومنظمات أخرى معلومات حول الحالات التي استخدم خلالها الجنود فلسطينيين كدروع بشرية. وفي حالة واحدة تمت محاكمة جنديين بعد أن أمرا ولدا عمره 9 سنوات، تحت تهديد السلاح، بفتح حقيبة شكا بأنها مُفخخة. وقد حكم عليهما بالسجن لمدة ثلاثة اشهر مع وقف التنفيذ وخفض الرتبة من رتبة رقيب أول لرتبة رقيب.

Timeline of events

Published: 
1 Jan 2011
  • April 2002 - During Operation Defensive Shield, soldiers greatly increase the use of Palestinians as human shields.

  • May 2002 - Seven human rights organizations petition the High Court of Justice against the use of Palestinians as human shields. The IDF informs the court that it will stop using civilians for military tasks, except for the "neighbor procedure".

  • August 2002 - Nidal Abu Mukhsan is killed while serving as a human shield during implementation of the "neighbor procedure." Following another petition filed by the human rights organizations, the court issues a temporary injunction forbidding the IDF to use the procedure. Soldiers continue to use it.

  • November 2002 - B'Tselem publishes a report that describes five cases in which soldiers violated the court's order. The petitioners file an application in accordance with the Contempt of Court Ordinance.

  • December 2002 - The State files its response to the Court, in which it contends that the army is no longer using Palestinians as human shields but only “is assisted by residents to prevent the loss of life.” The State attaches the “prior warning procedure,” which is intended to replace the “neighbor procedure.” According to the new procedure, “assistance” by civilians is allowed if, in the judgment of the military commander in the field, the life of the “person giving assistance” is not endangered, provided that the individual consents. In reply, the human rights organizations contend that the new procedure is unlawful and that it is incorrect to state that such “assistance” does not endanger the person's life. The petitioners include testimonies relating to cases in which civilians were used as human shields after the High Court issued the temporary injunction.

  • January 2003 - The High Court of Justice reduces the temporary injunction, and allows use of the “prior warning procedure.” At the request of the High Court, the human rights organizations file a legal opinion stating that the procedure is unlawful. The IDF has not yet responded to the petitioners' arguments. In the meanwhile, it implements the “prior warning procedure”.

  • July 2003 - The High Court hears the petition of the human rights organizations, in which the parties argue the legality of the “prior warning procedure” and the application to hold the respondent in contempt of court, which was filed after the IDF continued to use human shields. The High Court extends the validity of the temporary injunction until further order.

  • April 2004 - The human rights organizations file an application with the High Court for a temporary order directing the IDF to refrain from using Palestinians as human shields and/or hostages, and to forbid the IDF from asking them to take part in any military action, or to use them in any such action, without exception and without army officials having any discretion in the matter. The petitioners attach testimonies and affidavits relating to additional cases, dating from December 2003 to April 2004, in which civilians were used as human shields.

  • August 2004 - On 16 August 2004, Adalah files an application requesting that the Court order the IDF, in accordance with the Contempt of Court Ordinance, to comply with the High Court's order prohibiting it from using individuals as human shields or hostages in military operations. The application also requests that the High Court impose a fine on the military authorities.

    In its application, Adalah contends that the IDF is continuing to violate the High Court prohibition on the use of human shields. Attached to the application are eight new testimonies, which were given to B'Tselem, involving cases in which the IDF used Palestinians as human shields or hostages between the period January-July 2004.


  • September 2004 - On 5 September 2004, the High Court hears the petition filed by Adalah in May 2002 against the use of Palestinians as human shields or hostages. Supreme Court President Aharon Barak criticizes the “prior warning procedure,” which replaced the “neighbor procedure,” and urges the IDF to forego use of the procedure, on the grounds that the Fourth Geneva Convention prohibits the use of local residents in military actions by the occupying army. In his comments, President Barak says that, “Out of one hundred cases in which the neighbor willingly helps the army, ninety-nine of them will be against his will. It is very hard to verify willingness, and the fear is that, when a contingent of soldier come at night, out of fear no neighbor will refuse to cooperate with the soldiers.” The High Court announces that it will give it decision at a later time.

  • October 2005 - On 6 October 2005, the High Court of Justice rules that it is illegal for the IDF to use Palestinian civilians during military actions and that it is forbidden to use the prior warning procedure.

  • 2007 - Despite the High Court's decision and army orders preceding and following it, security forces continue to use Palestinians as human shields. In 2007, B'Tselem documented 14 such cases. For example, in February, soldiers forced two Palestinian minors, aged 11 and 15, to accompany them in combing houses and opening the doors to the houses and the rooms. In July, a 14-year-old girl from Beit Hanun, in the northern Gaza Strip, was shot in the leg and stomach when soldiers used her as a human shield. The organization wrote to the Military Advocate General Corps, demanding an investigation into each of the cases. B'Tselem’s monitoring indicates that a Military Police investigation was opened in 13 of them: in two of the cases, the investigation is continuing; in seven cases, the file was closed; and four were transferred to a military advocate for a decision whether to file charges.

  • October 2007 - The Judge Advocate General decides not to prosecute the commander of IDF forces in the West Bank, Brig.-Gen. Yair Golan, who in five cases ordered use of the “prior-warning procedure.” The JAG suffices with a light disciplinary punishment. This decision transmits a message of contempt for Palestinian life and the High Court.
  • During the course of Operation Cast Lead, which took place in Gaza in January 2009, B'Tselem and other organizations were informed of cases in which soldiers used Palestinians as human shields. In one case, two soldiers were prosecuted for ordering a nine-year-old boy gunpoint to open a bag that they suspected was booby-trapped. The two were given a three-month conditional sentence and demoted from staff sergeant to private.