Skip to main content
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

القيود الصارمة على صيد الأسماك 

في "الاتفاقية المرحلية" التي تم توقيعها بين إسرائيل وبين منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في إطار عملية أوسلو، التزمت إسرائيل بالسماح لسفن الصيد من غزة بالإبحار حتى مسافة تقارب العشرين ميلاً بحرياً (حوالي 37 كيلومتر)، عن خط شاطئ قطاع غزة، وقد استثنيت من الاتفاقية المناطق الفاصلة في الحدود مع كل من إسرائيل ومصر والتي حُظرَ دخولها بشكل قاطع. غير أنه وعلى أرض الواقع، فإن إسرائيل لم تمنح تصاريح إبحار لكل من طلبها، وسمحت بالإبحار فقط حتى مسافة 12 ميلاً بحرياً على الأكثر. في أعقاب اختطاف الجندي جلعاد شليط في يوم 25.6.06، منعت إسرائيل بشكل تام صيادي الأسماك من غزة من الخروج إلى البحر طوال أربعة أشهر وبعد تجدد الصيد، قلّلت المسافة إلى ستّة أميال بحرية. توقف الصيد تماماً خلال حملة "الرصاص المصبوب"، ما بين الأشهر كانون أول 2008 وحتى كانون ثاني 2009، وذلك بسبب التواجد المكثف لسلاح البحرية وتم تحديد مجال الصيد مرة أخرى بعد تجدّده مع انتهاء الحملة إلى ثلاثة أميال بحرية فقط (أي حوالي 5,5 كيلومتر).

إضافة إلى القيود الصارمة المفروضة على صيد الأسماك، فقد وثقت منظمة بتسيلم حالات مضايقة واعتداء على الصيادين من قبل جنود سلاح البحرية، وقد شملت أيضا حالات قتل، اعتقالات، توقيف ومصادرة القوارب ومعدات الصيد. في بعض الحالات، استخدمت هذه الوسائل أيضاً ضد صيادين لم يتجاوزا المجال المسموح للصيد كما حدده الجيش.

من ضمن الوسائل التي وثقتها منظمة بتسيلم، "تعليمات السباحة"، الخطيرة والمهينة، والتي أجبر من خلالها الجنودُ الصيادينَ على الإبحار إلى عمق كبير، ثم أمروهم تحت تهديد السلاح بخلع ملابسهم والسباحة في البحر إلى أن يصلوا إلى سفينة سلاح البحرية متجاهلين تماماً ظروف الطقس وحالة الجو. بعدها، تم وضع الصيادين على سفينة أبحرت إلى ميناء أشدود، وهناك تم اقتيادهم وأياديهم مكبله وأعينهم معصوبة إلى التحقيق والذي استغرق ساعات طويلة وفي نهايته تمت إعادتهم إلى حاجز إيرز، أو إلى قلب البحر، حيث المكان الذي تركوا فيه قوارب الصيد التي ضُبطوا عليها، حيث اضطروا إلى السباحة مرة أخرى من أجل العودة إلى قواربهم. يستدل من إفادات الصيادين الذي خضعوا "لتعليمات السباحة" ومن المعطيات في أجهزة الـ GPS التي بحوزتهم، بأن مثل هذه الاعتقالات تمت أيضا داخل المنطقة التي عرّفها الجيش على أنها منطقة مسموح الصيد فيها.

إن حظر الخروج إلى المياه العميقة والمخاطر التي ينطوي عليها كل خروج إلى البحر، تحرم صيادي الأسماك من فرص الوصول إلى مخزون أسماك غني ويضطرون أن يكتفوا بأسماك ذات جودة أقل وحجم أصغر. في ظل هذا الوضع، يواجه صيّادو الأسماك صعوبات في الحصول على كمية كافية من الأسماك من أجل معيشتهم بل وحتى تغطية مصاريف الإبحار. وفي ظل عدم توفر مصادر رزق أخرى في القطاع، يضطر بعض صيادي الأسماك إلى خرق حظر الصيد وتعريض حياتهم للخطر. إلى جانب ذلك، تعاني المناطق التي يسمح الصيد فيها في المياه الضحلة من ظاهرة الصيد المفرط نتيجة للقيود المفروضة على الصيد ونتيجة لتقليص مساحات الصيد المسموحة، الأمر الذي يؤدي بالتالي إلى انخفاض مخزون الأسماك ويضر بأماكن نمو وتكاثر الأسماك الصغيرة وهذا يعرض مخزون الأسماك في المستقبل إلى الخطر.

لقد تلقى قطاع صيد الأسماك في غزة ضربة قاسية. وفقا لتقديرات مختلفة، فإن معيشة حوالي 3,000 عائلة في غزة، والتي يصل تعدادها إلى حوالي 19,500 نسمة مرتبطة بشكل مباشر بصناعة الأسماك، وهناك حوالي 2,000 عائلة أخرى تعتاش من صناعات أخرى متعلقة بصيد الأسماك، مثل بناء وصيانة القوارب وبيع أدوات الصيد. خلقت القيود المفروضة وضعاً سخيفاً، حيث أن صيّادي الأسماك عاطلون عن العمل وفي الوقت نفسه يقوم تجار الأسماك باستيراد الأسماك من إسرائيل، مما يرفع سعر الأسماك ويحرم الكثير من العائلات من إمكانية شراء هذا المصدر البروتيني الحيوي. أدى التدنّي في العرض إلى ارتفاع أسعار الأسماك، حيث تراوح سعر أسماك السردين، وهي من أكثر أنواع الأسماك طلباً في أسواق غزة، ما بين 10-12 شيكل للكيلو في سنة 2008، وما بين 25-23 شيكل للكيلو في شهر أيار 2009.

ردا على توجه بتسيلم بهذا الخصوص، قال المتحدث باسم الجيش الإسرائيلي بأن تحديد مناطق صيد الأسماك في القطاع تمّ لأغراض أمنية وعلى رأسها الحاجة إلى منع تهريب السلاح وتسلل المخربين من وإلى القطاع، ولتفادي العمليات الإرهابية في البحر بواسطة قوارب ناسفة ومنع تهريب الجندي المخطوف جلعاد شليط إلى خارج القطاع.

إن من واجب إسرائيل أن تدافع عن حدودها وعن سكانها، وفي حال وجود أي تهديد فإن من واجبها أيضاً العمل على إحباطه. مع ذلك، فإن التهديدات الأمنية لا تبرر المساس الخطير والجارف بصناعة صيد الأسماك، والعنف الذي تتم ممارسته ضد صيّادي الأسماك، تعذيبهم واعتقالهم بصورة عشوائية. إن إطلاق النار من السفن التابعة لسلاح البحرية يعرّض حياة البشر إلى الخطر، وهو يشكل انتهاكاً للقانون الإنساني الدولي، الذي يُلزم الجيش بالتمييز ما بين المواطنين وبين المقاتلين كما يحظر عليه توجيه الهجمات ضد السكان المدنيين.

من أجل ضمان عدم المساس بهذه الحقوق، فإن على حكومة إسرائيل أن تنشر تعليمات فتح النار في بحر غزة، وأن تكفّ فوراً عن الاعتقالات العشوائية لصيادي الأسماك والتنكيل بهم وأن ترفع القيود الخطيرة المفروضة على صيد الأسماك.

Restrictions on fishing

Published: 
1 Jan 2011

In the Interim Agreement, signed by Israel and the PLO as part of the Oslo Accords, Israel undertook to allow fishing boats from Gaza to go some 20 nautical miles (about 37 kilometers) from the coastline, except for several buffer zones near the borders with Israel and Egypt, to which they were prohibited entry. In practice, however, Israel did not issue permits to all the fishermen who requested them, and allowed fishing up to a distance of 12 nautical miles. Following the abduction of Cpl. Gilad Shalit, on 25 June 2006, Israel prohibited Gazan fishermen from going to sea for four months, and when fishing was again allowed, the distance was reduced to six nautical miles from shore. During the course of Operation Cast Lead, December 2008-January 2009, fishing ceased entirely due to the massive presence of Israeli naval forces. When fishing was resumed after the operation, the army reduced the distance to about three nautical miles (some 5.5 kilometers).


Video on the topic, Nov. 2008.

In addition to the harsh restrictions on fishing, B'Tselem has documented cases in which naval forces have attacked and harassed fishermen. The documented cases include, for example, gunfire, detention, delay, and confiscation of boats and fishing equipment. In some cases, these actions were also taken against fishermen who did not exceed the permitted distance from shore.

One of the techniques documented by B'Tselem is the “swimming procedure.” In this dangerous and degrading procedure, soldiers forced fishermen to sail into deep waters and then ordered them, while threatening them with weapons, to undress and swim to the navy's ship, in total disregard for the weather. The fishermen were then lifted onto the ship, which sailed to Ashdod Port. At the port, the fishermen were taken, handcuffed and blindfolded, to prolonged interrogation. Then, they were returned either to Erez Checkpoint or to the spot where their boats had been left, forcing them to swim back to the boats. According to testimonies of fishermen who underwent the “swimming procedure” and data from their GPS devices, these detentions took place in the area in which Israel's military had declared fishing was permitted.

The prohibition on entering deep waters and the danger now inherent to every excursion to sea deny fishermen access to areas abundant with fish, limiting their catches small fish of poor quality. As a result, it is extremely hard to earn a living from fishing, or even cover fishing expenses. Given the lack of other sources of income in the Gaza Strip, some fishermen are left no option but to violate the prohibition and endanger their lives. Also, the restriction of fishing to shallow waters has led to a sharp reduction of the fish population and harm to the habitat of young fish, endangering the future fish population.

The fishing sector in Gaza has suffered a sharp blow. According to various estimates, the livelihood of some 3,000 families in Gaza, comprising some 19,500 people, depends directly on the fishing industry, and another 2,000 families make a living from affiliated industries, such as building and maintenance of boats and sale and maintenance of equipment. The imports also raise the cost of fish, preventing many families from obtaining an important source of protein.. Because of the short supply, the price of fish has risen. Sardines, the fish with the highest demand in Gaza, rose from 10-12 shekels a kilo in 2008 to 23-25 shekels in May 2009.

In a response to B'Tselem in February 2007, the IDF Spokesperson's Office stated that the IDF's actions to limit the fishing area in Gaza was intended to serve security needs, primarily the need to prevent the smuggling of weapons and the movement of terrorists to and from Gaza, terrorist attacks at sea by booby-trapped boats, and the smuggling of the abducted soldier Gilad Shalit from Gaza.

Israel has the obligation to protect its borders and residents and, when a threat arises, to take action to thwart it. However, security threats cannot justify the harsh and extensive harm to the fishing industry and the abuse and arbitrary detention of fishermen. Gunfire from naval ships endangers lives and breaches international humanitarian law, which requires the army to distinguish between citizens and combatants, and prohibits attacks against civilians.

To ensure these rights are not violated, the government of Israel must make public the open-fire regulations relating to the waters off the coast of Gaza, immediately cease the arbitrary detention and abuse of fishermen, and remove the harsh restrictions on fishing.