قطاع غزة

السيطرة الإسرائيلية على المجال الجوي والمياه الإقليمية لقطاع غزة

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11

تحدد في خطة الانفصال عن غزة أن "إسرائيل ستستمر بصورة حصرية بالسيطرة على المجال الجوي لغزة وأنها ستستمر في تنفيذ نشاطات عسكرية في المجال البحري التابع لقطاع غزة". على ضوء ذلك، فإن المجال الجوي للقطاع وكذلك مياهه الإقليمية يخضعان اليوم للسيطرة الإسرائيلية الحصرية، كما كانا منذ أن احتلت إسرائيل قطاع غزة عام 1967.

إن السيطرة على المجال الجوي تمنح إسرائيل، من بين ما تمنحه، القدرة على الإشراف على ما يجري على الأرض، والقدرة على التدخل في أشكال البث المختلفة التي تتم عبر الهواء، ومن ضمنها البث الإذاعي والبث التلفزيوني. إن السيطرة على المجال البحري تمكّن إسرائيل، من بين ما تمكنها، من تقييد عمليات الصيد لسكان القطاع.

نتيجة لاستمرار سيطرة إسرائيل على هذه المجالات، فإن السلطة الفلسطينية لا تستطيع بمبادرتها تشغيل ميناء بحري أو مطار. إن هذا الواقع يمس بحرية الحركة والتنقل من قطاع غزة واليه وبقدرة سكان القطاع على مزاولة التجارة الخارجية.

السيطرة على المجال الجوي

في سماء غزة تقوم إسرائيل كل يوم بتحليق العديد من الطائرات الحربية ومختلف طائرات الاستطلاع. من خلال وسائل الطيران هذه ووسائل أخرى غيرها، تشرف إسرائيل على ما يجري في القطاع وتستطيع إسرائيل أيضا القيام بهجمات جوية على أهداف في القطاع متى شاءت.

أبقت اتفاقيات أوسلو في يدي إسرائيل السيطرة الحصرية على المجال الجوي لقطاع غزة، لكن تحدد في إطارها انه يمكن للفلسطينيين إنشاء مطار في القطاع. وقد أقيم المطار وافتتح عام 1998، وانطلق منه أسبوعياً عدد محدود من الرحلات الجوية المتجهة إلى الدول العربية. المسافرون الذين وصلوا إلى المطار، تم نقلهم في الباص إلى معبر رفح الحدودي، حيث تم هناك فحصهم من قبل قوات الأمن الإسرائيلية، بشكل مماثل لما يتم مع المارين إلى مصر براً، ومن ثم إرجاعهم إلى المطار. بتاريخ 8.10.2000، فور اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية، عطّلت إسرائيل المطار الذي لم يعد للعمل منذ ذلك الحين. في كانون أول 2001، دمرّت طائرات حربية إسرائيلية مسارات الإقلاع والهبوط في المطار. في فترة الانتفاضة الثانية وإلى حين إكمال خطة الانفصال، استخدم المطار كقاعدة عسكرية إسرائيلية. بعد الانفصال، اتضح أن الجنود الذين تواجدوا في المكان، أتلفوا ودمروا المباني في المطار. في إطار "اتفاقية المعابر" التي وقعت بين إسرائيل والسلطة الفلسطينية في شهر تشرين ثاني 2005، اعترفت إسرائيل بأهمية المطار في غزة والتزمت بالتباحث مع الفلسطينيين حول وضع ترتيبات لتجديد العمل فيه. حتى الآن، لم يتم إجراء أي بحث بهذا الموضوع.

السيطرة على المياه الإقليمية

على امتداد شريط الشاطئ في غزة، لم يتم إنشاء أي جدار حدودي، ولا يتمتع سكان القطاع بحرية الوصول إلى البحر. على كل فلسطيني معني بالإبحار في البحر أن يطلب إذنا من إسرائيل، وكذلك فإن من حصل على إذن، مسموح له الإبحار فقط على مسافة محددة يمكنها الإبحار فيها. وتقوم سفن سلاح البحرية الإسرائيلي بإطلاق النار في أكثر من مرة على وسائط الإبحار التي ابتعدت عن الشاطئ أكثر مما يسمح به هذا التقييد.

في "الاتفاقية المرحلية" التي تم التوقيع عليها بين إسرائيل وبين منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، تعهدت إسرائيل بالسماح لسفن الصيد من غزة بالإبحار إلى مسافة 20 ميل بحري تقريبا (حوالي 37 كيلومتر) من خط الشاطئ، باستثناء بعض المناطق التي حظر الوصول إليها مطلقاً. من الناحية العملية، لم تخصص إسرائيل تصاريح الإبحار لكل الطالبين، وسمحت بصيد الأسماك لمسافة تصل إلى 10 أميال بحرية على أكثر تقدير. بعد الانفصال، قلصت إسرائيل مجال الإبحار المسموح به أكثر وأكثر، ومنذ خطف الجندي جلعاد شليط في 25.6.06، حددت مجال الإبحار بشريط قصير من الشاطئ لتتقلص المسافة إلى ثلاثة أميال فقط. نتيجة لذلك، تلقى قطاع الصيد في غزة ضربة قاسية، وهو مصدر الرزق للكثيرين من سكان القطاع ومصدر الغذاء المهم لسكانه.

في إطار الاتفاقيات المختلفة التي تم إبرامها بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين منذ بداية عملية اوسلو، تم الاتفاق المرة تلو الأخرى على أن يعمل الطرفان من أجل إنشاء ميناء بحري في غزة وتنظيم عمله. في صيف العام 2000، بدأت عمليات البنى التحتية لإنشاء الميناء، غير أنه في تشرين أول من تلك السنة، بعد اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية، قامت طائرات سلاح الجو الإسرائيلي بقصف موقع البناء في الميناء. في أعقاب ذلك، أوقفت الدول المانحة تبرعاتها للسلطة الفلسطينية لتمويل المشروع ولم يتم تجديد العمل مرة أخرى حتى هذا اليوم. في اتفاقية المعابر في العام 2005، وافقت إسرائيل على السماح بتجديد أعمال الإنشاء في الميناء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ومن أجل حث المتبرعين والمستثمرين الأجانب على الاستثمار في المشروع، فقد تعهدت إسرائيل في هذا الاتفاق بمنح ضمانات بعدم المس بالميناء مرة أخرى، وبأن تتعاون من أجل وضع الترتيبات الأمنية وغيرها الضرورية اللازمة لتشغيله. لغاية الآن، لم ينفذ شيء من هذا.

Gaza Strip

Israel's control of the airspace and the territorial waters of the Gaza Strip

Published: 
1 Jan 2013

The disengagement plan states: "Israel will hold sole control of Gaza airspace and will continue to carry out military activity in the waters of the Gaza Strip." Therefore, Israel continues to maintain exclusive control of Gaza's airspace and the territorial waters, just as it has since it occupied the Gaza Strip in 1967. 

Control of the airspace enables Israel, among other things, to monitor the actions on the ground, and to interfere with radio and TV broadcasts. Control of the waters enables Israel, for example, to limit the activity of Gaza fishermen.

Due to Israel's control of Gaza's air and sea space, the Palestinian Authority cannot, on its own initiative, operate a seaport or airport. This situation infringes the right to freedom of movement to and from Gaza and impairs the ability of Gazans to carry out foreign trade.

Control of airspace

Israeli combat and intelligence-gathering aircraft fly daily over the Gaza Strip. By these and other means, Israel can monitor the activity on the ground and attack targets whenever it wants.

The Oslo Agreements Israel gave Israel full control over Gaza's airspace, but established that the Palestinians could build an airport in the area. Gaza Airport was duly built and opened in 1998, providing a limited number of weekly flights to Arab countries. Passengers leaving from the airport were transported by bus to Rafah Crossing, where they were checked by Israel in the same manner as those leaving for Egypt by land, before being taken back to the airport.

On 8 October 2000, immediately after the outbreak of the second intifada, Israel closed down the airport, and it has not opened since. In December 2001, the Israeli Air Force bombed the airport's runways. From the beginning of the second intifada to the completion of the disengagement plan in 2005, the airport served as an Israeli military base. When the soldiers left and after the disengagement plan was implemented, it was found that soldiers at the base had vandalized and destroyed the buildings. In the Agreement on Movement and Access (AMA), which Israel and the Palestinian Authority signed in November 2005, Israel recognized the importance of the airport in Gaza, and made a commitment to discuss arrangements to reopen it with the Palestinians. No discussions on this matter have ever been held.

Control of territorial waters

While there is no fence along Gaza's coastline, residents do not have open access to the sea. Palestinians wanting to go to sea need to request a permit from Israel, and those who obtain a permit are restricted in the distance they can go from shore. Israeli patrol boats have at times fired at boats that exceeded the distance allowed.

In the Interim Agreement, signed by Israel and the PLO, Israel agreed to allow fishing boats from Gaza to go some twenty nautical miles (about thirty-seven kilometers) from the coastline (except for a few areas, to which they were prohibited entry). In practice, Israel did not issue permits to all applicants, and allowed fishing up to a distance of no more than twelve nautical miles. Following the disengagement, Israel reduced the fishing area even more, and since the abduction of the soldier Gilad Shalit, on 25 June 2006, fishermen have not been allowed to go further than three nautical miles from shore. As a result, the fishing sector in Gaza, which provides a livelihood to many families and is an important source of food for residents of the area, suffered a harsh blow.

In the agreements signed by the parties since the beginning of the Oslo peace process, the sides repeatedly agreed to work toward building and operating a seaport in Gaza. In the summer of 2000, infrastructure work for the port began, but in October of that year, following the outbreak of the second intifada, Israel bombed the seaport construction site. As a result, the donor states ceased funding the project, and no work has been done on the seaport since then. In the AMA of November 2005, mentioned above, Israel agreed to allow renewal of the construction work. Moreover, in order to assure that foreign donors and investors would be willing to invest in the project, Israel promised that it would not strike the port again and would cooperate in establishing the security and other arrangements needed to operate it. To date, no action has been taken in this matter.