Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

قُتِل 52 فلسطينيا حتى الآن جراء الاعتداءات غير القانونيّة على البيوت

وفقًا لتحقيق بتسيلم الأوليّ، منذ بدء الحملة وحتى الفجر، كانت هناك عشرة أحداث قُتل فيها فلسطينيّون جراء هجوم إسرائيليّ على منازل (التفاصيل في نهاية النص). في هذه الأحداث قُتل وفق المعلومات المتوفرة لدى بتسيلم 52 فلسطينيًّا، منهم 19 قاصرًا و12 امرأة. حادثة أخرى، قُتل فيها ستة أفراد من عائلة واحدة، عرّفها الناطق العسكريّ بأنها "تصفية" لأحد هؤلاء الأفراد، ولذلك فهي غير مشمولة في هذه البيانات.

يدّعي الجيش أنّ ضلوع شخص ما في نشاط عسكريّ يكفي لتحويل منزله (بكل شقق سكانه المختلفين) إلى هدف عسكريّ شرعيّ، من دون أيّ حاجة لإثبات علاقة ما بين هذا النشاط وبين المنزل الذي يقطنه مع عائلته. هذا التفسير مرفوض من أساسه وغير قانونيّ. وليس من قبيل الصدفة أن نرى ازديادًا في عدد القتلى والجرحى من بين غير المشاركين في الاقتتال: فالقانون مخصّص لحماية المواطنين؛ وليس صدفة أن يؤدّي خرقه إلى نتائج فتّاكة. لن تنجح أيّ لغة مُنمّقة بخصوص "هجمات جراحيّة" على "بنى تحتيّة ميدانيّة" أن تخفي الحقائق: الاعتداءات غير القانونيّة على البيوت، تشكل عمليات هدم عقابيّة بواسطة القصف الجويّ، مع كل ما يرافق ذلك من خسائر فظيعة بالأرواح.

احد البيوت التي قصفت في قطاع غزة. تصوير: حمد سالم، رويترز، 13/7/2014.
احد البيوت التي قصفت في قطاع غزة. تصوير: حمد سالم، رويترز، 13/7/2014.

هل يحق للجيش قصف بيوت ناشطي حماس؟

منذ يوم الثلاثاء الموافق 8/7/2014، عند بدء القصف على غزة في إطار الحملة العسكرية "الجرف الصامد" وحتى صبيحة يوم الأحد الموافق 13/7/2014، قصف الجيش الإسرائيليّ عشرات البيوت وذلك وفق ما نشرته وسائل الإعلام وبيانات الناطق بلسان الجيش. ويدّعي الناطق العسكريّ أنّ هذا القصف قانونيّ إذ أنّ بيوت ناشطي حماس تعتبر "هدفا عسكريّا شرعيّا". هل هذا صحيح؟

علامَ ينصّ القانون؟

يُعرّف الهدف العسكريّ بما يلي:

تنحصر الأهداف العسكريّة في الأشياء التي تسهم وفق ماهيّتها أو موقعها أو غايتها أو استخدامها، إسهامًا فعّالاً في نشاط عسكريّ، والتي يؤدّي هدمها أو الاستيلاء عليها أو تحييدها، بشكل كامل أو جزئيّ، وفق الملابسات والظروف السائدة في تلك الفترة، إلى تحقيق أفضليّة عسكريّة واضحة. (المادة 52(2)، من المحضر الأول المرفق بمعاهدة جنيف الرابعة)

ويوضح التفسير الرسميّ للصليب الأحمر بأنّ الأشياء التي تسهم بطبيعتها إسهامًا فعّالاً في النشاط العسكريّ لدى الطرف الآخر –مثل مخازن الأسلحة والقواعد العسكريّة ومراكز الاتصالات التي يستخدمها الجيش- تُعتبر أهدافًا عسكريّة. ويُطرح السؤال فيما يخصّ المواقع المدنيّة، التي من الممكن أن تُستخدم أيضًا لأغراض عسكريّة. على سبيل المثال: المدرسة أو الفندق مُعرّفان كموقعيْن مدنيّيْن، ولكن إذا استخدمتهما قوات مسلحة للمبيت أو كمركز للقيادة، فإنهما يتحوّلان إلى هدفيْن عسكرييْن.

وبما أنّ المعلومات لا تكون متاحة كلها دائمًا قبل الهجوم العسكريّ، فإنّ القانون يوضح بأنّ كلّ حالة تثير الشكّ بخصوص الاستخدام الجاري لموقع مدنيّ، وبخصوص إسهامه الفعّال في نشاطات الطرف الثاني العسكريّة، فإنّ الموقع سيُعتبر موقعًا مدنيًّا.

إنّ الشروط الدُنيا لاعتبار هدف ما هدفًا شرعيًّا، تتمثل في أنّ المسّ به يجب أن يحقق أفضليّة عسكريّة واضحة للطرف المهاجِم.

ماذا يقول الناطق بلسان الجيش؟

أوضح الناطق العسكريّ في مدوّنة الجيش الأسباب من وراء اعتبار هذا القصف قانونيًا، حسب رأيه. ويدّعي الناطق العسكريّ أن حركة حماس تنشط من داخل التجمعات السكنية المدنية وهي تستخدم في حالات كثيرة منازل الناشطين فيها لأغراض عسكريّة. ويُمكن لهذه البيوت على سبيل المثال، أن تُستخدَم كمخازنَ للسلاح أو مراكز للقيادة والسيطرة أو لغرض إقامة مراكز اتصالات، وعندما تُستخدم المنازل لأغراض عسكريّة فإنها تتحوّل إلى أهداف شرعيّة وفق القانون الدوليّ. ومن أجل البتّ فيما إذا كان الحديث يدور عن هدف عسكريّ، يقول الناطق العسكريّ إنّ الجيش يستخدم "طرقًا متقدّمة"، تشمل الاستخبارات والاستشارة القانونيّة وخبرة الضباط الميدانيّين الطويلة.

أثناء الحملة غيّر الناطق العسكريّ نص بياناته بخصوص عمليات القصف المذكورة، في محاولة منه على ما يبدو لملاءمة تقاريره عن الواقع المرفوض مع أحكام القانون، بأثر رجعيّ. ففي البيان الأول (الصادر يوم 8/7/2014) أفاد الناطق العسكريّ بـ "الهجوم على 4 منازل لناشطين في حركة حماس الإرهابيّة والضالعين في نشاطات إرهابيّة والمنشغلين في توجيه وتنفيذ إطلاق النار حاد المسار باتجاه مناطق دولة إسرائيل". في اليوم التالي أعلن الناطق العسكريّ أنّ الجيش هاجم منازل أخرى تابعة لناشطي حماس "استُخدمت كبنى تحتيّة للقيادة وسيطرة الحركة" أو "كمركز سيطرة لدفع الإرهاب قدمًا". في المساء ذاته توقف الناطق العسكريّ عن إصدار بيانات تتعلق المنازل المهدومة وبدلاً من ذلك أفاد بوقوع "هجوم على بنية تحتيّة ميدانيّة تابعة لجهة رفيعة تابعة لحماس".

إلا أن ثمة هوة سحيقة بين الصياغات القانونيّة الحريصة (بصيغتيْها المختلفتيْن) وبين التعامل مع الحالات العينيّة الخاصة بالمنازل التي قصفها الجيش. لم يدّع الناطق العسكريّ إخفاء أسلحة في المنزل إلا مرة واحدة، ونشر توثيقًا مصوّرًا بالفيديو للهجوم، تظهر فيه تفجيرات ثانويّة للذخيرة التي خُبئت في الموقع. أمّا في سائر البيانات التي نشرها الناطق العسكريّ حول قصف منازل عينيّة، فلم يأتِ على ذكر استخدام عسكريّ أيًّا كان للمنزل. وبدلاً من ذلك وصف الناطق العسكريّ ضلوع صاحبه في النشاطات القائمة ضدّ إسرائيل. ومن ضمن ما ذكره، نشاطات أثناء الحملتين السابقتين، "الرصاص المصبوب" و"عمود السحاب"، والضلوع في المسّ بجنود أو إطلاق القذائف في الماضي والرّاهن أو مقولة عامة بأنه "يشارك في نشاطات إرهابيّة ضدّ دولة إسرائيل".

إذًا، هل هذا قانونيّ؟

لا. كي يتحوّل منزل تابع لناشط من حماس (أو أي تنظيم آخر) إلى هدف عسكريّ شرعيّ، يجب على الجيش أن يثبت أنّ المنزل أسهم إسهامًا فعّالاً في نشاط المنظمة، وأنّ المسّ به سيؤدّي إلى أفضليّة عسكريّة واضحة لصالح إسرائيل.

إلا أنّ الجيش لم يتطرّق في بياناته المتعلقة بالغالبية الساحقة من عشرات الهجمات على منازل أعضاء حماس أو تنظيمات مسلحة أخرى، إلى أيّ نشاط عسكريّ عينيّ تمّ داخل المنزل أو منه، والذي من الممكن أن يبرّر تحويله إلى هدف عسكريّ قانونيّ، يمكن للمسّ به أن يمنح إسرائيل أفضليّة عسكريّة واضحة. وبدلاً من ذلك، قرّر الناطق العسكريّ التركّز في تاريخ الناشط الذي يسكن المنزل- وهو أمر لا صلة له بتاتًا بهذه المسألة.

ويكتسب الاعتداء غير القانونيّ على البيوت فداحةً أكبر إذا ما أخذنا بعين الاعتبار المسّ الواسع والكبير بالمدنيّين الذين مكثوا فيها. ويدّعي الناطق العسكريّ أنّ الجيش يقوم بكلّ ما يستطيع من أجل تقليص المسّ بالمدنيّين وأنهم يتلقون تحذيرًا مسبقًا. صحيح أنّ الجيش حذّر في حالات كثيرة السكان ومن ثمّ قصف بيوتهم الفارغة، إلا أنّ المدنيّين لم يتمتعوا في حالات أخرى بوقت كافٍ لترك بيوتهم، وفي حالات أخرى رفضوا إخلاءه رغم الإنذار. في مثل هذه الحالات يُحظر التعامل مع المنزل وكأنه خالٍ من سكّانه. إن الجيش لا يقوم بأيّ منّة للسكان عندما يحذّرهم سلفًا بنيّته قصف منازلهم إذ يُلزم القانون الإنسانيّ الدوليّ الجيش بتحذير المواطنين وينصّ أيضًا على وجوب أن يكون الإنذار "فعّالاً". لذلك عندما يصدر تحذير غير فعّال فإنّ الجيش لا يقوم بواجبه وتكون النتائج فتّاكة: إذا لم يمنح الجيش الناس ما يكفي من الوقت لترك منازلهم أو إذا تجاهل أنهم لم يخلوها- فإنّ الأمر يشابه عدم إصدار إنذار البتّة.

يسعى القانون الإنسانيّ الدوليّ لتقليص المسّ بالمواطنين لأقلّ ما يمكن، وسط ظروف الاقتتال، وفرض حدود أمام القوات المقاتلة. صحيح أنّ أحكامه تشمل في أكثر من حالة مصطلحات ضبابيّة مثل "أفضليّة عسكريّة" و"تناسبيّة"، ولا توفر دائمًا إجابات حاسمة بخصوص شكل النشاط المرغوب، وفي حالات كثيرة يُمنح القادة الميدانيون قدرًا كبيرًا من تحكيم الرأي، إلا أنّه لا يمكن اعتبار كلّ تفسير معقولاً. ويجب تفسير الأوامر وفق روح القانون وبما يلائم هدفه: توفير الحماية لغالبية المدنيّين.

يقول الناطق العسكريّ والمستشارون القضائيّون للجيش إنّ ضلوع شخص ما في نشاط عسكريّ يكفي لتحويل منزله (بكل شقق سكانه المختلفين) إلى هدف عسكريّ شرعيّ، من دون أيّ حاجة لإثبات علاقة ما بين هذا النشاط وبين المنزل الذي يقطنه مع عائلته. هذا التفسير مرفوض من أساسه وغير قانونيّ. وليس من قبيل الصدفة أن نرى ازديادًا في عدد القتلى والجرحى من بين غير الضالعين في الاقتتال: فالقانون مخصّص لحماية المواطنين؛ وليس صدفة أن يؤدّي خرقه إلى نتائج فتّاكة. لن تنجح أيّ لغة مُنمّقة بخصوص "هجمات جراحيّة" على "بنى تحتيّة ميدانيّة" أن تخفي الحقائق: تشكل الاعتداءات غير القانونيّة على المنازل عمليات هدم عقابيّة بواسطة القصف الجويّ، مع كل ما يرافق ذلك من خسائر فظيعة بالأرواح.

تفاصيل القتلى في الحالات الموثقة:

عائلة كوارع - 8 قتلى،

عائلة ملكة - 3 قتلى،

عائلة المصري - 4 قتلى،

عائلة نواصرة- 4 قتلى،

عائلة شلط- قتيل،

عائلة الحاج- 8 قتلى،

عائلة الكاس- قتيل،

عائلة الغنام - 5 قتلى،

عائلة البطش- 17 قتلى،

عائلة خطاب- قتيل،

عائلة حمد - تم تعريفه كاغتيال - 6 قتلى (يشمل حافظ حمد)،

B'Tselem info sheet: 52 Palestinians killed in bombings of homes in Gaza Strip, which are unlawful

Published: 
13 Jul 2014

A house bombed in Gaza. Photo: Muhammad Salem, reuters, 13 July 2014
A house bombed in Gaza. Photo: Muhammad Salem, reuters, 13 July 2014

According to B'Tselem's initial findings, from the start of Operation Protective Edge there were ten incidents in which Palestinians in the Gaza Strip were killed when the Israeli military bombed homes. 52 people were killed in these incidents, of them 19 minors and 12 women. An additional incident, in which six members of the same family were killed was defined by the military as a targeted killing, and was therefore not included in this figure.

Official spokespeople state that it is enough for a person to be involved in military activity to render his home (and his neighbors' homes) legitimate military targets, without having to prove any connection between his activity and the house in which he and his family live. This interpretation is unfounded and illegal. It is not a coincidence that the number of uninvolved civilians killed or injured by these bombings is growing. The law is meant to protect civilians and, unsurprisingly, violating it has lethal consequences. Euphemisms such as "surgical strikes" or "operational infrastructure" cannot hide the facts: illegal attacks of homes, which constitute punitive home demolition from the air, come at a dreadful cost in human life.

Detailed discussion:

Is it legal for the military to bomb the homes of Hamas operatives?

From 8 July 2014, when the military launched Operation Protective Edge, to early Sunday 13 July, the military bombed dozens of houses in the Gaza Strip, according to media reports and statements by the IDF Spokesperson. According to the latter, these bombings are legal because the private homes of Hamas activists are "a legitimate military objective". Is that true?

What does the law say?

International humanitarian law defines a military target as follows:

"[…] military objectives are limited to those objects which by their nature, location, purpose or use make an effective contribution to military action and whose total or partial destruction, capture or neutralization, in the circumstances ruling at the time, offers a definite military advantage." (Article 52 (2), Protocol I Additional to the Fourth Geneva Convention)

The official interpretation of the International Committee of the Red Cross makes it clear that objectives which, by their nature, make an effective contribution to hostile military action – such as weapon storage, military bases and communication centers used by the military – are considered military targets. Questions may arise regarding civilian sites, which may also serve military needs. For example, schools and hotels are, by definition, civilian sites, but if armed forces stay in them or use them as headquarters, they become legitimate military targets.

As full information is not always available prior to the attack, the law emphasizes that if any doubt arises as to the use of a civilian site and its effective contribution to hostile military actions, it must be considered civilian.

Another prerequisite for a legitimate objective is that attacking it must provide a definite military advantage.

What does the IDF Spokesperson say?

In an official blog, the IDF Spokesperson explained the reasoning behind the military's view that these bombings are legal. According to the military, Hamas operates within the civilian population in Gaza and often uses the homes of its activists for military purposes. For instance, the homes can be used for weapon storage, as command and control centers, or for establishing a communications center. When used in this way, they become legitimate objectives under international law. To decide whether a target is a military objective or not, the military has stated that it uses "advanced methods" – including intelligence, legal advice, and the longstanding experience of officers in the field.

Over the course of the current operation, the IDF Spokesperson changed the wording of statements concerning these bombings, apparently in an attempt to retroactively match his reports of reality to the requirements of the law. The first statement (8 July) reported that "among the targets attacked were four homes of activists in the Hamas terror organization who are involved in terrorist activity and direct and carry out high-trajectory fire towards Israel…”. The next day, another statement was issued reporting that the military had attacked additional homes of Hamas activists "which functioned as command and control infrastructure for the organization” or as "a control center for advancing terrorism". The same evening, the IDF Spokesperson stopped reporting that homes were destroyed, stating instead that "the operational infrastructure of a senior Hamas functionary was attacked".

There is a vast gap between the military's carefully-worded legal interpretations (in various versions) and its statements on specific cases of homes bombed. Only in one case did the IDF Spokesperson claim that weapons were hidden in the house and published video footage of the bombing, which shows secondary explosions of concealed ammunition. In all other statements, the military described the homeowner's involvement in hostile activity against Israel. Mentions of such activity included activity during the two previous military operations in Gaza – Operation Cast Lead and Operation Pillar of Defense – as well as involvement in harming soldiers, in current or past firing of rockets, or a general description of "taking part in terror activity against the State of Israel".

So, is it legal?

No. For the private home of an operative in Hamas (or any other armed organization) to become a legitimate military objective, the military must show that the house has effectively contributed to the organization's activity and that harming it would provide Israel with a definite military advantage. The military has attacked dozens of homes of operatives in Hamas or in other armed organizations since the current operation began; yet in the vast majority of these cases, it made no mention of any concrete military activity that took place in the house, which would meet the above legal requirements. Instead, the IDF Spokesperson chose to emphasize the history of the activist living in the house, which is irrelevant to these legal considerations.

The gravity of these illegal attacks is compounded by the resulting extensive harm to civilians. According to the IDF Spokesperson, the military does its best to minimize harm to civilians, including warning them of impending attacks. Indeed, in many cases, the military warned inhabitants and bombed the evacuated homes. However, in other cases, the inhabitants were not given sufficient time to leave their homes, and in some cases they refused to leave despite the warning given. In such cases, the military must not treat the houses as empty.

The military is not doing civilians any favors by warning them that their homes are to be bombed. International humanitarian law requires the military to warn civilians and to ensure that the warning is "effective". An ineffective warning breaches the military's legal obligations, with lethal results: if civilians are not given enough time to leave their homes, or if the military ignores their decision to stay, it is as though they were not warned at all.

The aim of international humanitarian law is to minimize harm to civilians under warfare and to restrict the warring parties. Some of its definitions are vague, such as "military advantage" or "proportionality", and do not always provide unequivocal guidelines for action. Many of its requirements leave extensive room for the discretion of commanders in the field. However, it is not open to any and all interpretations. The word of the law must be interpreted in its original spirit, in keeping with its overreaching aim: to provide maximum protection to civilians.

The IDF Spokesperson and the military's legal counsels state that it is enough for a person to be involved in military activity to render his home (and his neighbors' homes) legitimate military targets, without having to prove any connection between his activity and the house in which he and his family live. This interpretation is unfounded and illegal. It is not a coincidence that the number of uninvolved civilians killed or injured by these bombings is growing. The law is meant to protect civilians and, unsurprisingly, violating it has lethal consequences. Euphemisms such as "surgical strikes" or "operational infrastructure" cannot hide the facts: illegal attacks of homes, which constitute punitive home demolition from the air, come at a dreadful cost in human life.

List of cases:

Kaware' Family, 8 fatalities   

Malakeh family, 3 fatalitie

Al-Masri family, 4 fatalities

a-Nawasrah family, 4 fatalities

Shalat family, one fatality

Al-Haj family, 8 fatalities

Al-Kas family, one fatality

Al-Ghanam family, 5 fatalities

Al-Batsh family, 17 fatalities

Al-Khatab family, one fatality

Hamad family, 6 fatalities (include Hafez Hamad)