Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

مقتل عودة حمد برصاص جنود وهو يجمع الخردوات في مزبلة مجاورة للجدار الأمنيّ. في السنة والنصف الأخيرة جُرح أربعة أشخاص في ملابسات مشابهة

مزبلة بيت حانون. في الخلفية، البرج العسكري. تصوير: محمد صباح، بتسيلم، 15/1/2014.
مزبلة بيت حانون. في الخلفية، البرج العسكري. تصوير: محمد صباح، بتسيلم، 15/1/2014.

في يوم الجمعة، 20/12/2013، أطلق جنود الرصاص على عودة حمد وأردوه قتيلا، فيما كان يعمل في جمع الخردوات في مزبلة بيت حانون. من البحث الميداني الذي أجرته منظمة بتسيلم يتضح ما يلي: في ظهيرة ذلك اليوم وصل الأخوان عودة ورداد حمد إلى مزبلة بيت حانون، التي تقع بجوار الجدار الأمني، من أجل جمع النفايات البلاستيكية والمعدنية لكي يبيعانها لكسب رزقهما. قرابة الساعة 15:20، فيما كان عودة حمد يقصّ مقطعًا من السياج الشائك الذي يسبق الجدار الأمني، أصيب برأسه برصاصة حيّة. وقال أخوه، رداد، لبتسيلم إنه لم يسمع قبل إطلاق هذه الرصاصة أيّ نداءات تحذير أو إطلاق الرصاص في الهواء. رصاصات أخرى أُطلقت بعد ذلك من برج المراقبة العسكرية الذي يقع على بعد قرابة 400 متر من الموقع، أصابت رداد حمد في يده. وبما أنه لم يكن يحمل هاتفًا نقالا، فإنه ركض لطلب المساعدة. سيارة إسعاف تابعة للهلال الأحمر وصلت بمحاذاة الموقع من خلال التنسيق الأمني مع الجيش، واقتربت حتى المكان الذي سمح لها الجيش بالاقتراب، ونزل منها أعضاء الطاقم وفتشوا عن عودة سيرًا على الأقدام. وبعد مرور قرابة نصف ساعة وجدوه وهو يعاني إصابة بالغة، على بعد عدة أمتار من الجدار الأمني. وطيلة هذا الوقت كانت سيارتا جيب عسكريتان تقفان عبر الجهة الأخرى من الجدار الأمنيّ. نُقل عودة إلى المستشفى في بيت حانون وتوفي متأثرًا بجراحه بعد وصوله بقليل.

وقد وصف رداد حمد (23 عامًا) في يوم 21/12/2013، أمام الباحث في بتسيلم محمد صباح ما حدث:

رداد حمد. تصوير: محمد صباح، بتسيلم، 14/1/2014.في الشهور الأخيرة نعمل أنا وأخي بجمع النفايات في المزبلة التي تقع شرقي بيت حانون، بجانب الجدار الأمني شمالي القطاع. نحن نجمع الخردوات البلاستيكية والمعدنية: المواسير والمغلفات والأغطية والعلب والعلب المعدنية والقضبان. لا عمل آخر لنا ونحن مجبرون على إعالة عائلاتنا.

هذا عمل منهك ونحن نعاني الروائح، لكن لا خيار لدينا. نحن نصل إلى المزبلة كل يوم ظهرًا بعد أن يلقي عاملو البلدية النفايات، ونجمع الأشياء ونبيعها لتجار البلاستيك والمعادن. وعمومًا نكسب 20-30 شيكلا لليوم. في يوم الجمعة، 20/12/2013، وقرابة الساعة 12:00 ظهرًا، وصلنا أنا وأخي إلى المزبلة على الدراجة الهوائية. جمعنا الخردوات على بعد أمتار معدودة من الجدار، مقابل الأبراج العسكرية. وفجأة، وقرابة الساعة 15:20، سمعنا صوت إطلاق للرصاص وسمعت أخي عودة يصرخ ويقع. ركضت إليه ووجدته ملقيا على ظهره وهو ينزف من رأسه. بعدها أُطلقت عدة رصاصات أخرى باتجاهنا وأصبت بيدي. لم يكن معي هاتف ولذلك هربت من هناك لاستدعاء النجدة. بعد قرابة الساعة نقلوا أخي إلى المستشفى. وقد مات بعد قرابة عشر دقائق على وصوله هناك.

كان عودة حمد يبلغ من العمر 27 عامًا يوم مقتله. وقد كان متزوجًا من إيمان (20 عامًا) ولم يكن الزوجان قد رزقا بأولاد بعد. وتحدثت زوجته، إيمان، مع الباحث في بتسيلم عن اليوم الذي قُتل فيه زوجها:

في ساعات الظهيرة من يوم الجمعة، 20/12/2013، وصلني أسوأ خبر في حياتي- خبر وفاة زوجي. كنت مصدومة جدًا. لم أفكر أبدًا أنّ مثل هذا الأمر قد يحدث معنا. كأنهم اقتلعوا روحي من جسدي. لقد فقدت أيّ سبب للعيش. المستقبل الذي طالما حلمت به مع زوجي والطفل أو الطفلة تبدّد تمامًا.

وصلني خبر وفاة زوجي بينما كنت منهمكة في التحضير ليوم عيد ميلاده. زيّنت البيت استعدادًا لعودته بعد الظهر. لقد فكر في كسب المال في ذلك اليوم كي نستطيع شراء الحاجيات اللازمة لعيد الميلاد، مثل الكعكة والشموع والكولا. لكن يوم عيد الميلاد تحوّل إلى يوم الموت، وتبدل الفرح بالحزن والحفلة تحولت إلى بيت عزاء. لقد صرت أرملة في لحظات. ومن وقتها وأنا في حالة صدمة كبيرة وحزن وإحباط ويأس.

وقد روت أمه عائشة للباحث في بتسيلم بعض التفاصيل عن ابنها:

عائشة حمد، والدة عودة ورداد حمد. تصوير: محمد صباح، بتسيلم، 28/1/2014.عمل عودة في موقع النفايات وجمع الأحجار. وقد اشتغل كعامل في عدة مجالات كي يكسب رزقه. وفي كل أسبوع عمل في موقع النفايات لثلاثة أو أربعة أيام وجمع هناك قطع المعدن والبلاستيك وباعها للتجار. عندما عرفت أنه يعمل هناك مع أخيه رداد، طلبت منهما أن يتوقفا عن ذلك، لأنني كنت أخشى رصاص الجنود الإسرائيليين في هذه المنطقة. كما أنني قلقت عليهما لأنّ رجال المقاومة يشتبهون بالأشخاص الذين يقتربون من الجدار بأنهم يراقبونهم ويوصلون المعلومات إلى إسرائيل. عمل عودة في بيئة صعبة من القذارة والزبالة كي يعيل نفسه وزوجته ويمول علاجات الإخصاب، لأنهما لم ينجحا في إنجاب الأطفال منذ زواجهما قبل أربع سنوات ونصف السنة. وقد تلقى العلاج وأجرى الفحوصات طيلة الوقت ودفع لقاء ذلك مبالغ كثيرة. فكل فحص تصل تكلفته إلى أكثر من 500 شيكل.

في الرد على التقرير الذي نشر في صحيفة هآرتس يوم 25/12/2013، قال الناطق العسكري: "في ظهيرة يوم الجمعة حضر عدة مشبوهين إلى الجدار الأمني في المنطقة المحظورة، وأتلفوا أكثر من مرة العائق الخاص بالجدار. القوة التي مكثت في الموقع حاولت أكثر من مرة إبعادهم، وبعد أن واصلوا العبث بالجدار، قامت القوة بإجراء اعتقال مشتبه أصيب خلاله أحد المشتبهين. النيابة العسكرية تفحص ملابسات الحادثة وعليه فستتقرر مسألة فتح تحقيق لدى الشرطة العسكرية المحققة أم لا".

ويتضح من البحث الميداني الذي أجرته بتسيلم أنّ عودة حمد قام فعلا بقص جزء صغير من السياج الشائك المحاذي للجدار الأمني، كي يبيعه على ما يبدو، إلا أنّ البحث الميداني يشير أيضًا إلى أنّ ادعاء الناطق العسكري بتنفيذ الإجراء المتبع لاعتقال مشتبه به غير صحيح. الحقيقة أنّ الرصاص أصاب رأس عودة ولم يصبه في الجسم السفلي من جسده، تشير إلى أنّ إطلاق الرصاص جرى خلافًا للإجراء المتبع لاعتقال مشتبه به، الذي يحظر إطلاق الرصاص على الرأس في أي مرحلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتضح من إفادة رداد حمد أنه لم تجر أيّ محاولة لتحذير الأخوين أو إبعادهما عن الموقع قبل إطلاق الرصاص.

لقد أصيب عودة حمد برأسه من دون أن يشكل أيّ خطر على أحد. وفيما كان يستلقي مصابا على مقربة من الجنود الذين كانوا يمكثون عند الجهة الأخرى من الجدار، أضاع طاقم الهلال الأحمر وقتا ثمينا في محاولة للعثور عليه. لم يقدم له الجنود المساعدة الطبية، ولم يساعدوا طاقم سيارة الإسعاف بالعثور عليه. توجّهت بتسيلم إلى النيابة العسكرية مطالبة بفتح تحقيق جنائي لاستيضاح ملابسات إطلاق الرصاص وترك حمد المصاب من دون مساعدة طبية. وبعد مرور أكثر من شهر على وقوع الحادثة، لم تقم النيابة العسكرية بعد بإخبار بتسيلم ما إذا كان سيُفتح تحقيق أم لا.

ويتضح من البحث الميداني اذي أجرته بتسيلم أنه وقعت حوادث أخرى أطلق خلالها الجنودُ النار على جامعي النفايات في هذه المزبلة، إلا أنّ غالبية حالات إطلاق النار لم تؤدّ إلى إصابات. وبالإضافة إلى الأخوين عودة ورداد حمد ولخالد حمد، فإنّ لدى بتسيلم معلومات تتعلق بثلاث حالات أخرى أصيب بها مواطنون برصاص جنود في هذه المزبلة في السنة والنصف الأخيرة، أحدهم يعمل في بلدية بيت حانون.

يؤدي الوضع الاقتصادي الصعب في قطاع غزة إلى حمل الشبان على المخاطرة بحياتهم بجمع النفايات، وذلك في غياب مصدر آخر للرزق. وقال مدير بلدية بيت حانون للباحث في بتسيلم محمد صباح، إنّ البلدية تحاول منع وصول جامعي النفايات إلى المكان وحتى إنها تفرض الغرامات على من يُضبط وهو في المزبلة. وتحدث شابان آخران أصيبا في ملابسات مشابهة في الإفادتين اللتين أدليا بهما أمام الباحث الميداني في بتسيلم، محمد صباح، عن الظروف التي حملتهم على المخاطرة بجمع النفايات بمقربة من الجدار وإلى إصابتهما:

خالد حمد (18 عامًا)، والذي أصيب برجله في مزبلة بيت حانون يوم 14/7/2013 في ملابسات مشابهة، قال في إفادته يوم 21/7/2013:

أنا عامل. وأنا أعمل أحيانًا في هدم الحيطان وأحصل على 40 ش.ج. لقاء يوم العمل وأحيانًا أعمل سائقًا لعربة وأنقل الأحمال. أحيانا يوجد عمل ليومين فقط أو أسبوع في الشهر، وعندها أجمع قطع البلاستيك والخردوات المعدنية وأبيعها للتجار. ولقاء ثلاثة كيلوغرامات من البلاستيك أحصل على شيكل واحد.

قبل عدة أيام سمعت بوجود شبان يجمعون الخردوات في المزبلة التي تقع شمال-شرق بيت حانون على بعد قرابة 200 متر من الجدار الأمنيّ. قررت الذهاب معهم. في يوم الخميس، 11/7/2013، ذهبنا أنا وأخي صالح (19 عامًا) معهم وجمعنا الخردوات. كسبنا سوية 40 ش.ج.. عدنا إلى هناك يوم الجمعة أيضًا وفي يوم السبت كسبنا سوية 90 ش.ج. أخرى. في الغداة قدمنا إلى هناك مرة أخرى، وفي هذه المرة أصبت برجلي اليسرى برصاص جنود كانوا يمرون بسيارة جيب عسكرية بجوار الجدار.

أحمد حسنين. تصوير: محمد صباح، بتسيلم، 10/4/2012، في مستشفى الشفاء في غزة.أحمد حسنين (25 عامًا)، والذي أصيب برجله يوم 9/4/2012، في مزبلة تقع في جحر الديك، جنوب-شرق مدينة غزة، تحدّث هو أيضًا في إفادته التي أدلى بها أمام بتسيلم:

بعد وفاة والدي أصبحت المعيل الوحيد في العائلة. أنا أعمل في جمع النفايات برغم الصعوبة والخطر والحرج المنوطة بالتنقيب في الزبالة والنفايات. يجب عليّ فعل ذلك لأنني لا أملك عملا آخر. أنا أكسب 30-50 ش.ج. في يوم العمل. هذا لا يكفي لكسب الرزق لكنها الإمكانية الوحيدة. الآن أنا أفتقر لهذا حتى بسبب إصابتي. لقد كان إطلاق الرصاص علي عقابًا لأنني أحاول كسب رزقي من البحث في النفايات.

وثقت بتسيلم في السابق تقييد الوصول إلى المناطق المحاذية للجدار والسياسة غير القانونية المتمثلة في إطلاق الرصاص على المزارعين وجامعي الخردوات الذين يقتربون من الجدار. وبناءً على معطيات المفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان (OHCHR)، أطلق جنود الرصاص في النصف الثاني من عام 2013 على 29 مدنيا في المناطق المحاذية للجدار الأمني في غزة. بعد حملة "عمود السحاب" نُشر في وسائل الإعلام عن تسيير تسهيلات معينة في تقييد الوصول إلى المناطق المحاذية للجدار الأمنيّ، إلا أنّ الناطق العسكريّ أعلم منظمة "مسلك" بعد قرابة ثلاثة أشهر على ذلك بأنّ تقييد الوصول لهذه المناطق تسري على الاراضي التي تبعد 300 متر عن الجدار، كما جرى تعريف ذلك رسميًا في السابق. 17% من مناطق قطاع غزة و35% من الأراضي الزراعية في القطاع موجودة في هذا النطاق. وقد طالبت بتسيلم آنذاك بأن يلغي الجيش الحظر المفروض على الوصول المناطق المحاذية للجدار. وفي حال وجود حاجة حيوية لمنطقة أمنية تكون محظورة الدخول، يجب على الجيش أن يُنشئها في داخل الأراضي الإسرائيلية.

ما دام الجيش يقف مكتوف الأيدي إزاء ذلك، فإنّ عليه أن يوضح للسكان الفلسطينيين جيدًا ما هي المناطق التي يمنع الدخول إليها والامتناع كلية عن استخدام الرصاص الحي كوسيلة لإبعاد المدنيين عن هذه المناطق. من حق إسرائيل بل ومن واجبها أن تدافع عن المنطقة الحدودية وأن تحول دون وقوع عمليات ضدّها، لكن عليها أن تفعل ذلك في إطار القانون، ومن خلال الامتناع عن المس بالأشخاص الذين لا يشكلون تهديدا على أمنها وبأرزاقهم. إنّ حالة قتل عودة حمد الخطيرة تشكل تجسيدًا آخر للسياسة المتواصلة والمحظورة المتمثلة باللجوء إلى وسائل فتاكة بغير وجه بحق ضد مدنيين، كما تجسد أوامر إطلاق النار التي تسمح بإلحاق الإصابات –القاتلة أحيانًا- في وضعيات لا تشكل خطرًا على الحياة.

المكان

Fatal gunfire near Gaza perimeter fence garbage dump: Soldiers shoot ‘Odeh Hamad who was scrap-collecting; 4 scrap-collecting civilians injured in last 18 months

Published: 
3 Feb 2014

Beit Hanoun garbage dump and barbed wire fence ‘Odeh Hamad was cutting when shot. Photo by Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem, 15 January 2014
Beit Hanoun garbage dump and barbed wire fence ‘Odeh Hamad was cutting when shot. Photo by Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem, 15 January 2014

On Friday, 20 December 2013, soldiers shot and killed ‘Odeh Hamad while he was collecting junk and scraps at Beit Hanoun garbage dump, which is adjacent to the Gaza perimeter fence. B’Tselem’s inquiries indicate that ‘Odeh Hamad and his brother and Radad arrived at the Beit Hanoun garbage dump around midday to collect plastic and metal scraps that they sell to make a living. At approximately 3:20 P.M., as ‘Odeh Hamad was cutting part of the barbed wire near the perimeter fence, he was struck in the head by a live bullet. His brother, Radad, told B’Tselem that they had heard neither warnings nor shots fired in the air prior to the shooting. Shots were then fired from the military tower located approx. 400 meters away, and Radad Hamad suffered a gunshot wound to his arm.

Having no phone on his person, Radad ran to get help. Subsequent to coordinating the matter with the military, a Red Crescent ambulance drove up to the spot permitted by the military permitted. The paramedics then got out and, on foot, began searching for ‘Odeh Hamad. Only half an hour later did they find him. He was lying critically wounded a few meters away from the fence. Throughout the search, two Israeli military jeeps were parked on the other side of the perimeter fence. ‘Odeh Hamad was taken to hospital in Beit Hanoun and died shortly after arrival.

Radad Hamad, 23, related the incident to B’Tselem field researcher Muhammad Sabah:

Radad Hamad. Photo by Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem, 14 Jan. 2014For the past two months, my brother ‘Odeh and I have been collecting scraps at the garbage dump northeast of Beit Hanoun, near the perimeter fence in the northern Gaza Strip. We collect plastic and metal scraps: pipes, packaging, lids, boxes, cans and poles. We have no other job and we have to provide for our families.

It’s exhausting work and we hate the smell, but there’s no choice. We go to the dump every day around noon, after the municipality workers dump the garbage. We collect the stuff and sell it to plastic and metal traders. We usually make about 20-30 shekels [approx. 6-9 USD] a day.

On Friday, 20 December 2013, at around 12:00 noon, my brother and I bicycled to the garbage dump. We started gathering scraps a few meters away from the fence, across from the military towers. Suddenly, at around 3:20, I heard gunfire, and then heard my brother shout and fall down. I ran over and found him lying on his back. His head was bleeding. Then a few more shots were fired in our direction, and I got hit in the arm. I didn’t have a phone on me, so I ran to get help. About an hour later, my brother was taken to hospital. He died about ten minutes after getting there.

‘Odeh Hamad had turned 27 on the day he was killed. He was married to Iman, 20, and the couple had no children. Iman, ‘Odeh Hamad’s wife, told B’Tselem’s field researcher about the day her husband was killed:

On the afternoon of Friday, 20 December 2013, I got the worst news of my life – that my husband was dead. I was in total shock. I never thought anything like this would happen to us. It was like my soul had been torn from my body. I had nothing left to live for. The future I’d always dreamed about, with my husband and a baby, was lost.

I got the message that my husband was killed while I was busy preparing for his birthday celebration. I was decorating the house so it would be ready when he got home in the afternoon. He thought he’d make enough money that day to buy groceries for the celebration: a cake, candles and soda. But the birthday became a day of death, our happiness turned into grief and the party turned into a gathering of mourners. Just like that, I became a widow. Since then I’ve been in shock, sad, frustrated and hopeless.

'Odeh's mother, ‘Aishah, told B’Tselem researcher Muhammad Sabah about her son:

‘Aishah Hamad, ‘Odeh and Radad Hamad’s mother. Photo by Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem, 28 Jan. 2014‘Odeh worked at the garbage dump and also collected gravel. He worked in all kinds of things to make a bit of money every day and earn a living. He worked three or four days a week at the garbage dump, collecting metal and plastic that he sold to traders. When I learned that he and his brother Radad were working there, I asked them not to, because I was afraid of gunfire by Israeli soldiers around there. I was also worried about them because resistance operatives suspect people who go close to the fence of spying on them and then giving this information to Israel. ‘Odeh worked in a tough environment of dirt and garbage to support his wife and himself, and to pay for fertility treatments, because they hadn’t managed to have children since they got married, four and a half years ago. He was getting treatment and having tests done all the time and spent a lot of money on it. Every test cost him more than 500 shekels [approx. 140 USD].

In response to an article about the incident published in Israeli daily Ha’aretz on 25 December 2013, the Military Spokesperson said that “on Friday, at midday, several suspects came to close to the perimeter fence, within the area to which entry is prohibited, and sabotaged the fence barrier several times. The troops on site repeatedly tried to distance them, but as the sabotage continued, the force carried out suspect arrest procedure, during which one of the suspects was injured. The MAG Corps is looking into the circumstances of the incident and a decision whether to launch an MPIU investigation will be made accordingly.”

B’Tselem’s inquiries indicate that ‘Odeh Hamad did, indeed, cut some of the barbed wire close to the military perimeter fence, apparently in order to sell the metal. However, B’Tselem’s inquiries have found that, contrary to the Military Spokesperson’s claim, a ‘suspect arrest procedure’ was not carried out. The fact that Hamad was hit in the head rather than in his legs indicates that the shooting did not follow this procedure, which prohibits shooting at the head at any stage. Moreover, according to Radad Hamad’s testimony, no attempt was made prior to the shooting to warn the brothers or to get them to move away from the fence.

‘Odeh Hamad was shot in the head despite posing no danger to anyone. While he was lying wounded, close to the soldiers on the other side of the fence, Red Crescent paramedics wasted precious time trying to find him. The soldiers offered Hamad no medical assistance, nor did they help the paramedics locate him. B’Tselem has written to the MAG Corps demanding that a criminal investigation be launched to examine the circumstances of the shooting, including the fact that the injured Hamad was not given any medical assistance. Although the incident took place over a month ago, the MAG Corps has yet to notify B’Tselem of its decision.

B’Tselem has documented previous cases in which soldiers shot at scrap collectors at the Beit Hanoun garbage dump, yet in most cases there were no injuries. B’Tselem knows of four other cases in the past year and a half in which civilians – including Odeh and Radad Hamad’s brother Khaled and an employee of Beit Hanoun Municipality – were injured under similar circumstances by military gunfire in the garbage dump.

The harsh economic situation and the scarcity of jobs in Gaza leads young men to risk their lives collecting scraps close to Israel’s military perimeter fence. The head of the Beit Hanoun Municipality told B’Tselem field researcher Muhammad Sabah that the municipality is trying to prevent scrap collectors from entering the garbage dump, even fining those it finds there. Two other young men injured in similar incidents told Sabah of the circumstances that made them risk their lives in such a fashion, and of how they were injured.

Khaled Hamad, 18, was shot in the leg at the Beit Hanoun garbage dump on 14 July 2013. In his testimony, given on 21 July 2013, he related what happened:

I’m a laborer. Sometimes I work tearing down walls and get 40 shekels [approx. 10 USD] for a day’s work; at other times, I drive carts and transport goods. Some months I have a job for only two days or a week, so then I collect plastic and metal and sell them to traders. You get one shekel for three kilos of plastic.

A few days ago, I heard that some guys were collecting scraps at the garbage dump northeast of Beit Hanoun, about 200 meters from the perimeter fence. I decided to join them. On Thursday, 11 July 2013, my brother Saleh (19) and I went there with them and collected scraps. The two of us together made 40 shekels. We went back again on Friday and Saturday and made another 90 shekels [approx. 26 USD] together. The next day, we went again, and that then I was shot in the left leg by soldiers driving along the fence in a jeep.

Ahmad Hasanein at a-Shifaa Hospital in Gaza. Photo by Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem, 10 April 2012Ahmad Hasanein, 25, was shot in the leg on 9 April 2012 at the Juhor a-Dik garbage dump, southeast of Gaza City. Following is his account of the incident as told to B’Tselem:

After my father died, I became our family’s sole provider. I work collecting junk even though it’s hard, dangerous and unpleasant to go through garbage. I have to do it because I have no other job. I make about 30 to 50 shekels [approx. 8 to 14 USD] for a day’s work. It’s not enough for a living, but it’s my only option. Now I don’t even have that, because of my injury. That gunfire was my punishment for trying to make a living out of digging through rubbish.

B’Tselem has documented Israel’s restrictions on Palestinian access to areas close to the perimeter fence and the illegal policy of firing at farmers and scrap collectors who get close to the fence. According to OHCHR figures for June to December 2013, 29 civilians were shot by soldiers in areas near the perimeter fence. After Operation Pillar of Defense (November 2012), the media reported the restrictions on access would be somewhat eased. Yet, three months later, the Military Spokesperson informed Israeli human rights organization Gisha - Legal Center for Freedom of Movement that Palestinians may not come nearer than 300 meters from the fence – the same as the previously authorized distance. 17% of the Gaza Strip and 35% of its agricultural land are located within these restricted areas. At the time B’Tselem demanded that these restrictions be lifted. Moreover, if there must be an off-limits buffer zone between Israel and Gaza, the military must establish it in Israeli territory.

Until it does so, the military must make it absolutely clear to residents of Gaza which areas are off-limits, and must not use live ammunition to keep civilians out of these areas. It is Israel’s right and duty to protect its borders and to prevent hostile activity. Yet it must do so within the parameters of the law, and at all times avoid injury to people who do not pose a security risk and not harm these individuals’ livelihood. The grave incident in which ‘Odeh Hamad was killed demonstrates yet again the ongoing, illegal policy of using lethal firearms against civilians without justification, and of rules of engagement that permit inflicting injuries, even fatal injuries, in non-life-threatening situations.