حصار غزة: 1.5 مليون مواطن تحت الحصار

تم النشر في: 
31.5.10

تفرض إسرائيل حصارا مشددا منذ حزيران 2007 عندما اعتلت حماس الحكم. وفقا لمصادر إسرائيلية رسمية، فإن الحصار يهدف إلى التسبب في إسقاط حكومة حماس وإطلاق سراح جلعاد شليط، ولهذا يعتبر الحصار عقابا جماعيا للسكان المدنيين ولهذا فهو غير قانوني.

حتى بعد الانسحاب- إسرائيل تسيطر على قطاع غزة من الخارج

مع أن إسرائيل سحبت قواتها من قطاع غزة في أيلول 2005 إلا أنها أبقت بيديها السيطرة التامة على المجال الجوي والمجال البحري في قطاع غزة إلى جانب سيطرتها على معظم المعابر على حدود القطاع. ولهذا فإن سكان غزة الذين يرغبون بالخروج منها يحتاجون مصادقات من إسرائيل. منذ بدء الحصار، تمنح إسرائيل المصادقات في حالات قليلة فقط، وهي تعتبرها حالات "إنسانية". وتتبع إسرائيل هذه السياسة أيضا بالنسبة للمواطنين الذين يرغبون بالمرور عبر إسرائيل وصولا إلى الضفة الغربية.

إن الخروج عن طريق معبر رفح، الخاضع للمسئولية المصرية، يخضع للقيود وتقوم مصر بفتح المعبر في الحالات الاستثنائية فقط. وحتى لو استطاعت مصر فتح معبر رفح في أوقات متقاربة فهذا لا يعني إعفاء إسرائيل من المسئولية عن سكان قطاع غزة، وبضمن هذا المسئولية عن المرضى الذين لا يستطيعون الحصول على العلاج المطلوب لهم داخل قطاع غزة.

قيود صارمة على الاستيراد

ينبغي على التجارة الخارجية بين غزة وباقي العالم أن تتم عبر إسرائيل، طبقا للاتفاقيات التي تم التوقيع عليها بين إسرائيل ومصر. كمية البضائع التي تسمح إسرائيل اليوم بإدخالها إلى قطاع غزة أقل من ربع الكمية التي سمحت بدخولها قبل فرض الحصار وهي كميات بعيدة للغاية عن تلبية إحتياجات السكان. كما أن تشكيلة البضائع أقل بكثير وتصل اليوم إلى حوالي 150 نوعا من البضائع التي تسمح إسرائيل بإدخالها إلى قطاع غزة مقارنة مع حوالي 4000 نوع كانت إسرائيل تسمح بإدخالها قبل فرض الحصار. وترفض إسرائيل نشر قائمة البضائع التي تسمح بدخولها إلى قطاع غزة والقواعد التي يتم وفقها تحديد هذه البضائع. وقد توجهت جمعية "مسلك" إلى محكمة الشئون الإدارية وطلبت الحصول على هذه المعلومات غير أن الدولة رفضت وادعت أن الأمر يمس بالأمن القومي وعلاقات إسرائيل الخارجية. لغاية الآن لم يتم حسم الملف.

صعوبة بناء وترميم المباني المهدمة

من بين ما تمنعه إسرائيل، فهي تمنع إدخال مواد البناء إلى قطاع غزة، وبضمن ذلك الحديد والاسمنت. وقد بقي هذا المنع على حاله حتى بعد حملة "الرصاص المصبوب" على قطاع غزة الذي هدم خلالها حوالي 3500 بيت وأصيبت آلاف البيوت الأخرى بأضرار جزئية. كما لحقت أضرار بالغة بالبنى التحتية. نتيجة لذلك، لا يمكن ترميم آلاف المباني التي هدمت خلال الحملة.

انقطاع التيار الكهربائي بصورة مستمرة- ومياه المجاري تصب في البحر

ألحق الحصار ضررا بالغا بتزويد الكهرباء لسكان قطاع غزة. منذ أيلول 2007، عندما أعلنت إسرائيل عن قطاع غزة بأنه "كيان معادي"، وفي أعقاب إطلاق صواريخ القسام، قللت إسرائيل من تزويد السولر الصناعي المطلوب لتفعيل محطة توليد الطاقة في قطاع غزة. في أعقاب الالتماس الذي تقدمت به منظمتي "مسلك" و"عدالة" إلى محكمة العدل العليا الاسرائيلية، تعهدت الدولة بتزويد قطاع غزة بحوالي 63% من كمية السولر المطلوبة من أجل تلبية احتياجات السكان، غير أنها من الناحية الفعلية تقوم بتزويد كميات اقل. بسبب هذه السياسة فإن حوالي 98% من سكان قطاع غزة يعانون من انقطاع التيار الكهربائي لمدة 8- 10 ساعات في اليوم. أما 2% الباقين فإنهم لا يحصلون على الكهرباء مطلقا، ومن بين ذلك بسبب النقص في قطع الغيار بحيث لا يمكن تصليح البنى التحتية وبحكم القرب من الحدود مع إسرائيل.

إن انقطاع التيار الكهربائي بصورة متواصلة إلى جانب النقص في قطع الغيار يؤدي إلى عدم انتظام العمل في آبار المياه ومحطات تحلية المياه. نتيجة لذلك، وإلى جانب السحب الزائد للمياه على مر السنين، فإن جودة المياه في قطاع غزة متدنية حيث ظهر أن 93% من الآبار في قطاع غزة ملوثة بمستويات عالية من الكلوريد والنترات، أكثر من المستويات الموصى بها من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية. تزويد المياه مشوش وهناك آلاف السكان غير المرتبطين بشبكة المياه. كما لحق الضرر بمعالجة المجاري حيث يتم كل يوم تسييل حوالي مائة ألف كوب من مياه المجاري غير المعالجة أو المعالجة جزئيا إلى البحر.

حظر شبه تام على تصدير البضائع من قطاع غزة

قبل فرض الحصار خرجت من قطاع غزة كل يوم حوالي 70 شاحنة محملة بالبضائع بهدف تصديرها، بما في ذلك الأثاث، الملابس والمنتوجات الزراعية وغيرها. أما اليوم، فإن إسرائيل تحظر التصدير بصورة تامة تقريبا. منذ فرض الحصار ولغاية نهاية نيسان 2010، سمحت إسرائيل فقط بإرساليات محدودة وقليلة من التوت والورود التي كانت في طريقها من قطاع غزة إلى أوروبا.

المس البالغ بالزراعة والصيد

أصيب قطاع غزة الزراعي بصورة بالغة من الحصار وفقد آلاف الأشخاص مصدر رزقهم، ومن بين ذلك، بسبب منع إدخال مواد أساسية مثل مواد الإبادة الزراعية وقطع الغيار لأنظمة الري ومنع التصدير. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يستطيع المزارعون الذين يمتلكون أراض تقع بمحاذاة الحدود مع إسرائيل الوصول إلى أراضيهم، حيث أعلنت إسرائيل عن مناطق واسعة هناك بأنها "شريط أمن" يحظر الوصول إليها أو أنها مقيدة وانتهجت تعليمات خاصة بفتح النار تسمح بإطلاق النار على كل من يدخل إليها حتى لو لم يشكل خطرا. وقد قلصت إسرائيل مناطق صيد الأسماك ومنذ حملة "الرصاص المصبوب" فقد قيدت الصيد في مجال يصل إلى حوالي 3 أميال بحرية وهو مجال تقل فيه الأسماك ويجد الصيادون صعوبة في الاسترزاق وتلبية احتياجات السكان.

النتيجة- انهيار اقتصادي وفقر مدقع

أدت هذه السياسة إلى انهيار الاقتصاد في غزة. وقد أدى منع إدخال المواد الخام ومنع التصدير من قطاع غزة إلى إغلاق حوالي 95% من المصانع والورشات في قطاع غزة. وقد فقد عشرات آلاف المواطنين وظائفهم لتصل معدلات البطالة إلى أكثر من 40%. نتيجة لهذا الوضع، فإن أكثر من 70% من سكان قطاع غزة يتعلقون بالمساعدات التي تصل من المنظمات الدولية لشراء الغذاء. في العام 2007 كانت المساعدات الإنسانية لغزة تصل إلى 3% من مجموع الاستيراد إلى قطاع غزة فيما ارتفعت في العام 2009 إلى 26%.

"اقتصاد الانفاق"

نتيجة لسياسة الحصار المفروضة على قطاع غزة، فقد تطور خلال السنين الأخيرة "اقتصاد الأنفاق" التي تربط بين جنوب قطاع غزة وبين رفح المصرية. وقد تم إدخال الكثير من البضائع خلال هذه السنوات إلى قطاع غزة بواسطة الأنفاق، التي تشرف حكومة حماس على عملها وتجبي الضرائب من أصحابها. بالإضافة إلى المؤن الاستهلاكية، يقوم الفلسطينيون ومن خلال الأنفاق بتهريب الوسائل القتالية من أنواع مختلفة، بما في ذلك الصواريخ. في أعقاب توسيع النشاطات في الأنفاق أبلغ في العام 2008 عن توفر منتجات مختلفة في الأسواق مرة أخرى وعن الانخفاض في أسعار البضائع نتيجة زيادة العرض. ومع هذا فإن إدخال البضائع بهذه الطريقة لا يمكن له أن يكون بديلا مناسبا عن النشاط الاقتصادي المستقر لقطاع غزة.

احتجاز جلعاد شليط كرهينة- انتهاك صارخ

في حزيران 2006 تم خطف الجندي جلعاد شليط ومنذ ذلك الحين يتم احتجازه أسيرا في مكان وظروف غير معروفة. وقد أوضح آسروه أنهم يحتجزونه رهينة وطالبوا بإطلاق سراح سجناء فلسطينيين مسجونين في إسرائيل. لغاية اليوم رفض الخاطفون تمكين ممثلي الصليب الأحمر الدولي أو أي جهة دولية أخرى بزيارته. خلال السنة نشرت حماس شريط فيديو يظهر فيه شليط. وعدا عن ذلك، بقدر ما هو معلوم لبتسيلم، لم يتم تحويل أية معلومات أخرى حول حالته الصحية والنفسية.

إن جلعاد شليط رهينة بسبب ملابسات القبض عليه والطريقة التي يتم فيها احتجازه. يمنع القانون الإنساني الدولي بصورة تامة الإمساك بشخص واحتجازه بالقوة بهدف تفعيل الضغط على الطرف الخصم وإرغامه على الاستجابة لطلبات معينة من خلال تهديد حياته أو سلامة بدنه إذا لم تتم الاستجابة للطلبات. إن أخذ الرهائن يعتبر جريمة حرب يتحمل كل الضالعين فيها المسئولية الجنائية الشخصية.

يقع على قيادة حماس في غزة واجب إطلاق سراح جلعاد شليط بصورة فورية وبدون شروط. وإلى حين إطلاق سراحه، يتوجب على الجهات التي تحتجز شليط معاملته بصورة إنسانية وتمكين ممثلي الصليب الأحمر الدولي من زيارته.

The siege on the Gaza Strip: 1.5 million people imprisoned

Published: 
31 May 2010

Since June 2007, when Hamas seized control of the Gaza Strip, Israel has imposed a tight blockade on the area. According to Israeli officials, the objective of the siege is to bring down the Hamas government and lead to the release of Gilad Shalit. The siege thus constitutes collective punishment of the civilian population, and as such it is unlawful.

Even after the withdrawal, Israel controls the Gaza Strip

Although Israel withdrew its forces from the Gaza Strip in September 2005, it continues to maintain complete control of the area's airspace and territorial waters, and of most of the land crossings. As a result, Gaza residents wishing to leave the area must first obtain a permit from Israel. Since the siege began, Israel has only granted permits in rare cases that it classifies as “humanitarian.” The policy also applies to residents who merely wish to cross through Israel in order to reach the West Bank.

Departure from the Gaza Strip via Rafah Crossing, for which Egypt is responsible, is also limited; Egypt only opens the crossing in exceptional cases. Even if Egypt is able to open the crossing more often, this does not eliminate Israel's responsibility toward the residents of the Gaza Strip, including ill persons who are unable to obtain necessary treatment in the area.

Harsh restrictions on imports

Under agreements between Israel and Egypt, the Gaza Strip's foreign trade must be conducted through Israel. The quantity of goods that Israel allows into the area is less than one-quarter the quantity that entered prior to the siege, and far below the amount required for the population's needs. The range of goods that Israel allows in is also much smaller: 150 types of goods compared with 4,000 before the siege. Israel refuses to publish the list of products permitted into the Gaza Strip, or the rules used in determining the list. The NGO Gisha filed an action in the Administrative Court demanding this information. In refusing the demand, the state argued that providing this information would harm state security and Israel's foreign relations. The court has not yet given its decision.

Difficulties in rebuilding destroyed and damaged buildings

Israel prohibits the importing of building materials, including iron and cement. The prohibition has remained in place even after Operation Cast Lead, during which 3,500 houses were completely destroyed, thousands more damaged, and extensive harm caused to infrastructures. Israel's prohibition is preventing the reconstruction of thousands of buildings destroyed during the operation.

Frequent blackouts, sewage flowing into the sea

The siege also severely impairs the supply of electricity in the Gaza Strip. Since September 2007, when Israel declared the Gaza Strip a “hostile entity” following the firing of Qassam rockets, Israel has cut reduced the supply of industrial fuel, which is needed to operate the power station in Gaza. Following a petition filed by the NGOs Gisha and Adalah, the state agreed to supply some 63 percent of the fuel needed to meet all the residents' needs. In practice, however, it provides less than this quantity. As a result of Israel's policy, 98 percent of Gaza residents suffer from planned blackouts lasting up to eight or ten hours a day. The other two percent of the population do not receive any electricity at all, in part due to the shortage of spare parts, which makes it impossible to repair infrastructure, or due to the proximity of their homes to the border with Israel.

The frequent power cuts and shortage of spare parts prevent the proper operation of wells and desalination plants. When combined with excessive pumping over the years, the result is that the water in the Gaza Strip is of poor quality. At the end of 2009, 93 percent of the wells were found to be polluted with high quantities of chloride and nitrates, far in excess of the World Health Organization's recommended levels. The water supply is defective, and thousands of residents are not even connected to the water grid. Waste treatment has also been affected: every day, some 100,000 cubic meters of untreated, or partially untreated, wastewater flow into the sea.

Almost complete prohibition on exports

Prior to the siege, seventy trucks with goods intended for export, such as furniture, clothes, and agricultural produce, left the Gaza Strip daily. Israel currently prohibits almost all exports. From the beginning of the siege to the end of April 2010, Israel has only allowed the export of strawberries and flowers intended for the European market in isolated cases.

Serious harm to the agriculture and fishing sectors

Agriculture has been hit hard by the siege and thousands of persons have lost their source of livelihood. This is due, in part, to the prohibition on the entry of basic items such as pesticides and spare parts for irrigation systems, as well as the prohibition on exports. In addition, farmers in areas near the Israeli border are unable to reach their land because Israel has declared extensive sections of land a “security strip” to which access is forbidden or restricted. Moreover, Israel has adopted open-fire regulations that permit the shooting of any person who enters these areas, even if the person does not pose any danger. Israel has also restricted the area in which fishing is allowed; since Operation Cast Lead, fishermen are not allowed to go more than three nautical miles from the coast. The waters within this range yield a meager supply of fish, and fishermen find it difficult to make a living and to meet the demand for fish.

The result - economic collapse and severe poverty

Israel's policy has led to economic collapse in Gaza. The prohibition on bringing in raw materials and on exports has led to the closing of 95 percent of the factories and workshops in the area. Tens of thousands of persons have lost their livelihood, and unemployment now exceeds 40 percent. As a result, more than 70 percent of the population depends on aid from international organizations to obtain food. In 2007, humanitarian aid amounted to 3 percent of imports; by 2009, this figure had risen to 26 percent.

The tunnels economy

As a result of the siege policy, an economy has developed in recent years based on tunnels between the southern Gaza Strip and Rafah, Egypt. Large quantities of goods have been imported through these tunnels. The Hamas government supervises the functioning of the tunnels and collects taxes from the operators. In addition to necessities, Palestinians also smuggle in weapons, including rockets. Following the expansion of tunnel activity, it was reported in 2008 that various products were once again available in the markets, and that prices had fallen somewhat due to increased supply. Nevertheless, the use of tunnels for this purpose is not a proper substitute for a stable local economy.

Holding Gilad Shalit as a hostage - a grave breach

The soldier Gilad Shalit was abducted in June 2006, and has been held since then in an unknown location under unknown conditions. His captors have made it clear that he is being held as a hostage and are demanding the release of Palestinians imprisoned in Israel. The abductors have not allowed representatives of the International Red Cross, or any other international body, to visit him. Over the year, Hamas published a video tape showing Shalit. Other than that, as far as B'Tselem knows, no information has been provided about his physical or mental health.

Shalit is a hostage due to the circumstances in which he was seized and the manner in which he is being held. International humanitarian law absolutely forbids the taking and holding of a person by force for the purpose of pressuring the adversary to comply with certain demands, while threatening to harm the person if the demands are not met. The taking of hostages is considered a war crime, for which all the persons involved bear personal criminal liability.

The Hamas leadership in Gaza bears an obligation to release Shalit immediately and unconditionally. Pending his release, his captors must treat him humanely and enable representatives of the ICRC to visit him.