تأثير القيود على الاقتصاد في الاراضي المحتلة

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11

 على الرغم من كثرة العوامل التي تؤثر على الأوضاع الاقتصادية في الاراضي المحتلة، يبدو أنه لا يوجد من يخالف الرأي بأن القيود الجارفة التي تفرضها إسرائيل منذ بداية انتفاضة الأقصى على حرية الحركة والتنقل، بأنها أحد العوامل الرئيسية في دهورة الاقتصاد الفلسطيني وزيادة نسبة البطالة والفقر.

نتيجة للإغلاق التام الذي تفرضه إسرائيل على الاراضي المحتلة منذ بداية الانتفاضة الحالية، فقد فَقَدَ عشرات آلاف الفلسطينيين أماكن عملهم في إسرائيل. قبل الانتفاضة الحالية، عمل في إسرائيل وفي المستوطنات حوالي 110,000 فلسطيني، وهم يشكلون ربع القوى العاملة تقريبا في الاراضي المحتلة. ومنذ ذلك الحين تغيّر عدد الفلسطينيين الذين يدخلون للعمل في إسرائيل من آن لآخر ومدى تطبيق الإغلاق. ومع هذا، فإن العدد قليل جدا مقارنة بعدد الفلسطينيين الذين عملوا قبل ذلك في إسرائيل.

في الضفة الغربية ذاتها، تُلحق القيود المفروضة على حرية الحركة والتنقل ضررا بالغا بقدرة الكثيرين على الوصول إلى أماكن عملهم وكذلك إمكانية شحن البضائع بين الاراضي المختلفة. نتيجة لذلك فقد طرأ ارتفاع كبير على أسعار النقل، الأمر الذي يؤثر على نسبة أرباح المنتجين. وقد تحولت التجارة بين مناطق الضفة المختلفة إلى تجارة مكلفة وغير قابلة للتوقعات وغير ناجعة. إحدى النتائج البارزة لهذا الوضع هي تقسيم السوق التجارية في الضفة الغربية إلى أسواق محلية وصغيرة أكثر. إن القيود المفروضة على وصول المزارعين من الضفة إلى أراضيهم الواقعة في منطقة التماس وفي غور الأردن أدت إلى إلحاق الضرر الكبير بقطاع الزراعة في هذه المناطق. أما قطاع السياحة الذي بدأ ينتعش في الضفة الغربية في أعقاب اتفاقيات أوسلو فهو يعاني أيضا من ضرر ملحوظ بسبب عدم قدرة الزوار المفترضين من داخل الضفة على الحركة في الضفة من منطقة لأخرى والوصول إلى مناطق الترفيه.

إن القيود التي تفرضها إسرائيل على المعابر التجارية بين الضفة الغربية وبين إسرائيل تلحق ضررا بالغا بالعلاقات التجارية للموردين والمصدرين الفلسطينيين مع باقي العالم. نتيجة لذلك، يلحق الضرر أيضا بعمليات إنتاجية كثيرة متعلقة بالمواد الخام المستوردة. إن هذا الضرر خطير بصورة خاصة على خلفية التبعية الحاسمة للاقتصاد الفلسطيني بالتجارة الخارجية التي تشكل حوالي 80% من الناتج المحلي الخام. نتيجة لإغلاق المعابر يلحق الضرر أيضا بالتجارة الداخلية في الاراضي المحتلة، بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة.

إن إسرائيل تسيطر أيضا على كافة أشكال الحركة من غزة واليها، وبضمن هذا حركة البضائع المستوردة إلى غزة والبضائع المصدرة منها. إن التجارة الخارجية لغزة تتم تقريبا فقط مع إسرائيل أو عن طريق موانئها. غير انه منذ سيطرة حماس على غزة، في حزيران 2007، فإن القطاع محاصر. بعد سيطرة حماس على القطاع، غيّرت إسرائيل ترتيبات الحركة في المعابر الحدودية الخمسة الخاضعة لسيطرتها (ايرز، كارني، ناحل عوز، صوفا وكرم أبو سالم)، وباستثناء بعض الحالات الاستثنائية والقليلة، لا تسمح إسرائيل بمرور الأشخاص أو البضائع من غزة إلى إسرائيل أو العكس. أما معبر كارني، "شريان الحياة للقطاع"، الذي تمر عبره معظم البضائع المستوردة إلى غزة والمصدرة منها، فهو معطل تقريباً. نتيجة لذلك، فقد تعطلت وتعرقلت الكثير من الفروع التجارية فيما تتفاقم الأزمة الاقتصادية التي يعاني منها سكان القطاع.

إن القيود التي تفرضها إسرائيل على حركة العمال والبضائع في الأراضي المحتلة هي قيود جارفة بصورة عامة وليست محدودة بوقت. ونظرا للانعكاسات القاسية لهذه السياسة على السكان، فإنها تُعتبر انتهاكا لمجموعة من الحقوق التي يتوجب على إسرائيل احترامها بموجب الميثاق الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية، الاجتماعية والثقافية: حق كل إنسان في الاسترزاق بكرامة، الحق في مستوى حياة لائق، الحق في الغذاء، الملبس والسكن اللائق، والحق في الاستفادة من أعلى مستوى صحي، بدني ونفسي يمكن الحصول عليه.

Effect of restrictions on the economy

Published: 
1 Jan 2011

Despite the many factors affecting the economic situation in the West Bank, it is generally undisputed that the sweeping restrictions on movement since the outbreak of the second intifada are a major reason for the deterioration of the Palestinian economy and the increase in unemployment and poverty.

As a result of the comprehensive closure on the Occupied Territories that Israel imposed at the beginning of the current intifada, tens of thousands of Palestinians lost their jobs in Israel. Before the intifada, some 110,000 Palestinians were employed in Israel and the settlements, some one-quarter of the workforce in the Occupied Territories. Since then, the number of Palestinians entering Israel to work has varied, depending on the number of entry permits Israel issues and the degree to which it enforces the closure. However, the number of Palestinians entering the country to work is much less than it was prior to the intifada.

Within the West Bank, the restrictions make it very hard for Palestinians to get to their jobs and to transport goods from area to area. This has led to an increase in transportation costs and consequently to lower profits. Trade from one section to another in the West Bank has become expensive, uncertain, and inefficient. The economy in the West Bank has been split into smaller, local markets. Restrictions on access of West Bank farmers to their lands in the “seam zone” and in the Jordan Valley have severely harmed the farming sector in these areas. Tourism, which began to flourish after the Oslo Agreements, has also suffered greatly because of the inability of Palestinians to get to the vacation sites.

The restrictions imposed on the commercial crossing points between the West Bank and Israel have critically impaired trade ties carried out by Palestinian importers and exporters with the rest of the world. The restrictions also affect manufacturers who rely on imported raw materials. The harm is especially grave in light of the dependence of the Palestinian economy on foreign trade, which constitutes about 80 percent of its gross domestic product. The closing of the crossings also harms internal trade between the West Bank and the Gaza Strip.

Israel also controls all movement to and from Gaza, including imports and exports. Gaza's foreign trade is almost exclusively with Israel or is conducted via Israeli ports.  Since the takeover of Gaza by Hamas, in June 2007, the Gaza Strip has been under siege. Israel changed the crossing arrangements at the five border crossings under its control (Erez, Karni, Nahal Oz, Suffa, and Kerem Shalom) and, except for a few cases, does not permit persons or goods to cross between Gaza and Israel. The Karni Crossing, “Gaza's lifeline,” through which most of the goods coming into or leaving Gaza pass, is almost completely closed, paralyzing many trade sectors and creating a growing economic crisis.

Most of the restrictions on the movement of workers and goods are sweeping and indefinite in duration. Because of the severe consequences on the local population, this policy breaches a variety of rights that Israel must respect under the Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: the right to gain a livelihood, the right to an adequate standard of living, including adequate nutrition, clothing, and housing, and the right to the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health.