خلفية عن الاعتقال الاداري

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11
تم التعديل في: 
29.12.13

الاعتقال الإداري هو اعتقال يتم القيام به استنادا إلى أمر إداري فقط، بدون حسم قضائي، وبدون لائحة اتهام وبدون محاكمة. طبقا للقانون الدولي، فإن مثل هذا الاعتقال يمكن أن يكون قانونيا في ظروف معينة، لكن بسبب المس البالغ بالحقوق في الإجراء القضائي العادل المتأصل في هذه الوسيلة، وعلى ضوء الخطر الواضح من الاستغلال السيئ، فقد وضع القانون الدولي قيودا صارمة بخصوص تطبيقه. طبقا للقانون الدولي، يمكن اعتقال أشخاص في الاعتقال الاداري فقط في الحالات الاستثنائية جدا، كوسيلة أخيرة تهدف الى منع خطر لا يمكن احباطه بوسائل أقل مسا.

إنّ الطريقة التي تستخدم بها إسرائيل الاعتقال الإداريّ تتناقض تناقضًا فجًا مع هذه القيود. ويجري القيام بالاعتقال الإداري في إسرائيل تحت غطاء كبير من السرية، لا يتيح للمعتقلين أن يدبّروا لأنفسهم دفاعا لائقا ولوقت غير محدود. وقد اعتقلت إسرائيل على مر السنين آلاف الفلسطينيين المعتقلين إداريًا بصورة مستمرّة من دون تقديمهم للمحاكمة، ومن دون الإفصاح لهم عن التهم الموجّهة ضدّهم، ومن دون السماح لهم أو لمحاميهم بمعاينة موادّ الأدلة. كما تستعين إسرائيل بهذه الآلية كبديل مريح للإجراء الجنائيّ، حين يفضل الادّعاء عدم الكشف عن الأدلة الموجودة ضدّ المعتقل، وليس كوسيلة لمنع الخطر المستقبليّ. وهكذا أصبح جهاز الدفاع في القانون الإسرائيليّ والقانون الدوليّ مثارًا للسخرية، الذي يهدف لضمان الحقّ في الحرية والمحاكمة العادلة والحقّ في المحاجّة وافتراض البراءة.

إعتقلت إسرائيل في شهر آذار/ مارس 2012، 320 فلسطينيًا اعتقالا إداريًا  (إلى المعطيات المحتلنة)، فيما اعتقلت إداريًا، وعلى مرّ السنين، آلاف الفلسطينيين لفترات تراوحت بين عدة شهور وعدة سنوات. وقد سُجّل أعلى عدد من المعتقلين الإداريين في أثناء الانتفاضة الأولى. ففي الخامس من تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 1989، كان 1,794 فلسطينيًا معتقلين اعتقالا إداريًا. وفي مطلع سنوات التسعين ومنتصفها تراوح عدد المعتقلين بين مئة إلى 350 معتقلا في كلّ لحظة معطاة، وفي نهاية التسعينيات بلغ عددهم سوية عدة عشرات، على الأكثر. في 13 كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2000، وبعد شهرين ونصف الشهر على اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية، اعتقلت إسرائيل 12 معتقلاً أمنيًا فلسطينيًا. وفي شهر آذار/ مارس 2002 بلغ عدد المعتقلين الإداريين 44 معتقلا.

في نيسان/ أبريل 2002، وأثناء حملة "السّور الواقي"، اعتقلت إسرائيل مئات المعتقلين الإداريين الفلسطينيين. وارتفع عددهم حتى نهاية تلك السنة فتجاوز الألف معتقل. ومن وقتها، انخفض عدد المعتقلين الإداريين، حيث بلغ بين السنوات 2005-2007 قرابة 750 معتقلا في المعدّل، في كلّ لحظة معطاة. ومنذ تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2007 انخفض عددهم بشكل متواصل، حيث بلغ في كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2012، 204 معتقلين (الى المعطيات المفصلة).

ومع هذا، طرأ ارتفاع على عدد المعتقلين الإداريين خلال عام 2011: في كانون الثاني/ يناير 2011 بلغ عدد المعتقلين الإداريين 219 معتقلاً، وفي كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2011 بلغ عددهم 307 معتقلين. وقد اعتقل قرابة 29% منهم رهن الاعتقال لفترة تراوحت بين نصف السّنة والسّنة، وقرابة 24% آخرين، لفترة تراوحت بين السّنة والسّنتيْن. وقد اُعتقل 17 معتقلا لفترة متواصلة تراوحت بين سنتيْن حتى أربع سنوات ونصف السّنة، فيما اُعتقل معتقل واحد لأكثر من خمس سنوات.

وعلى مرّ السّنين، اعتقلت إسرائيل اعتقالا إداريًا عددًا من المواطنين الإسرائيليين، من بينهم مستوطنون. والحديث يدور عن حالات معدودة وغالبيتهم اعتقلوا لفترات قصيرة.

على مدار السنين اعتقلت إسرائيل آلاف الفلسطينيين ضمن الاعتقال الإداري لفترات تراوحت بين بضعة أشهر إلى بضعة سنين. العد الأكبر من المعتقلين الإداريين تم تسجيله خلال الانتفاضة الأولى. بتاريخ 5 تشرين الثاني من العام 1989 تم التحفظ على 1794 فلسطينيا في الاعتقال الإداري. في مطلع سنوات التسعينيات وفي أواسطها كان عدد المعتقلين يتراوح ما بين 100 إلى 350 معتقلا في كل لحظة معطاة، وفي ختامها وصل العدد مرة واحدة إلى عشرات على أقصى تقدير. بتاريخ 13 كانون الأول 2000، بعد مرور حوالي شهرين ونصف على الانتفاضة الثانية، احتفظت إسرائيل بـ 12 معتقلا إداريا فلسطينيا. وقد وصل عدد المعتقلين الإداريين في شهر آذار 2002 إلى 44 معتقلا إداريا. في نيسان 2002، خلال حملة "السور الواقي" اعتقلت إسرائيل مئات الفلسطينيين ضمن الاعتقال الإداري. وفي نهاية العام ذاته ارتفع عددهم ليتجاوز الألف ومنذ ذلك الحين يتناقص عدد المعتقلين الإداريين. في الأعوام 2005- 2007 كان عدد المعتقلين الإداريين حوالي 750 معتلا إداريا بالمعدل في الوقت ذاته. منذ تشرين الثاني 2007 هناك تناقص مستمر، وفي آب 2010 وصل عددهم إلى 189 معتقلا إداريا (للمعطيات المفصلة).

على مدار السنوات اعتقلت إسرائيل بواسطة الاعتقال الاداري عددا من المواطنين الاسرائيليين، ومن بينهم مستوطنون. يدور الحديث عن حالات قليلة وغالبية المعتقلين جرى اعتقالهم لفترات قصيرة.

هناك ثلاثة قوانين مختلفة تتيح لإسرائيل الاحتفاظ بالفلسطينيين في الاعتقال الإداري:

  1. البنود 294-284 للأمر بشأن تعليمات الأمن [نص منسق] (يهودا والسامرة) (رقم 1651)، 5770 – 2009، وهو جزء من التشريعات العسكرية السارية في الضفة الغربية. يتم احتجاز معظم المعتقلين الإداريين استنادا إلى أوامر اعتقال فردية يتم إصدارها استنادا إلى هذا الأمر.

  2. قانون الصلاحيات الخاص بالطوارئ (اعتقالات) الساري في إسرائيل، الذي استبدل الاعتقال الإداري الذي كان ساريا في أنظمة الطوارئ من فترة الانتداب البريطاني. يتم التحفظ على مواطنين من سكان المناطق الفلسطينية المحتلة استنادا إلى هذا القانون فقط في حالات نادرة.

  3. قانون سجن المقاتلين غير القانونيين الذي سرى مفعوله في العام 2002. وقد كان القانون يهدف بالأصل إلى التمكن من التحفظ على لبنانيين كانوا مسجونين في ذلك الوقت في إسرائيل كـ"ورقة مساومة" لغرض استعادة أسرى وجثامين. أما اليوم فإن إسرائيل تستعمل القانون من أجل اعتقال فلسطينيين من سكان قطاع غزة بدون تقديمهم للمحاكمة، وذلك رغم انه تم الغاء التشريعات العسكرية بخصوص قطاع غزة مع تطبيق خطة "الانفصال" في شهر أيلول 2005.

يقوم موقف بتسيلم على أن ينبغي على حكومة إسرائيل إطلاق سراح جميع المعتقلين الإداريين أو محاكمتهم من خلال محاكمة عادلة بسبب المخالفات المنسوبة لهم وفقا للاشتباه. ورغم هذا، بقدر ما يتم استعمال أداة الاعتقال الإداري، يجب أن يتم الأمر في الحالات الشاذة فقط، عندما لا يكون هناك خيار آخر وبطريقة تناسبية- طبقا للقواعد المحددة في القانون الدولي.

Administrative Detention

Published: 
1 Jan 2011
Updated: 
29 Dec 2013

Illustration photo.Administrative detention is detention without charge or trial that is authorized by administrative order rather than by judicial decree. Under international law, it is allowed under certain circumstances. However, because of the serious injury to due-process rights inherent in this measure and the obvious danger of its abuse, international law has placed rigid restrictions on its application. According to international law, administrative detention can be used only in the most exceptional cases, as the last means available for preventing danger that cannot be thwarted by less harmful means.

Israel's use of administrative detention blatantly violates the restrictions of international law. Israel carries it out in a highly classified manner that denies detainees the possibility of mounting a proper defense. Moreover, the detention has no upper time limit. Over the years, Israel has placed thousands of Palestinians in administrative detention for prolonged periods of time, without trying them, without informing them of the charges against them, and without allowing them or their counsel to examine the evidence. In this way, the military judicial system ignores the right to freedom and due process, the right of defendants to state their case, and the presumption of innocence, all of which are protections clearly enshrined in both Israeli and international law.

As of the end of June 2012, Israel was holding about 285 Palestinians in administrative detention (for detailed figures click here).

Over the years, Israel has held thousands of Palestinians in administrative detention, for periods ranging from several months to several years. The highest number of administrative detainees was documented during the first intifada. On 5 November 1989, Israel was holding 1,794 Palestinians in administrative detention. In the early and mid-1990s, the number of administrative detainees ranged from 100 to 350 at any given moment, and by the end of the decade, there were no more than a few dozen detainees held at the same time. On 13 December 2000, two and a half months after the second intifada erupted, Israel held 12 Palestinians in administrative detention. In March 2002, the number stood at 44

In April 2002, during Operation Defensive Shield, Israel administratively detained hundreds of Palestinians. By the end of the year, more than 1,000 Palestinians were being held as administrative detainees. Since then, the number has declined. In 2005-2007, there was an average of about 750 administrative detainees at any given moment, and that number has consistently fallen since November 2007. In December 2010, the number of administrative detainees stood at 204 (for detailed figures click here).

Yet in 2011, this trend was reversed and there was an increase. In January, Israel was holding 219 administrative detainees, but by December that number had risen to 307. Some 29 percent of the administrative detainees were held for a period of between six to twelve months, and 24 percent for one to two years. Seventeen administrative detainees were held between two and four and a half years, and one was in administrative detention for over five years.

Over the years, Israel has also held a few Israeli citizens in administrative detention, among them settlers. These cases are scarce and most of the detainees were held for short periods.

Three pieces of legislation enable Israel to hold Palestinians in administrative detention:

  1. Articles 284-294 of the Order regarding Security Provisions [Consolidated Version] (Judea and Samaria) (No. 1651), 5770-2009, which is part of the military legislation in the West Bank. Most administrative detainees are held under individual detention orders issued pursuant to this order. 
  2. The Emergency Powers (Detentions) Law, which applies in Israel and replaced the administrative-detention arrangement established in the Emergency Regulations of the Mandate period. It is rare for residents of the Occupied Territories to be administratively detained under this law.
  3. The Internment of Unlawful Combatants Law, which came into force in 2002. Originally, the law was intended to enable the holding of Lebanese citizens who were being held in Israel at the time as “bargaining chips” for the return of captives and bodies. Now, Israel uses the law to detain without trial Palestinian residents of the Gaza Strip, where the military legislation was repealed upon implementation of the “disengagement” plan, in September 2005.

B'Tselem's position is that the government of Israel must release all administrative detainees or prosecute them, in accordance with due process, for the offenses they allegedly committed. As long as Israel continues to use administrative detention, it must do so in a way that comports with international law - only in the most exceptional cases, when there is no other alternative, and in a proportionate manner.