تحقيقات الشرطة العسكرية في حوادث قتل فلسطينيين

تم النشر في: 
1.1.11
تم التعديل في: 
16.4.12

في نهاية عام 2000، وبعد اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية، غيّرت النيابة العسكرية من سياستها المتبعة في التحقيقات والتي مارستها حتى ذلك الوقت. وادّعت النيابة العسكرية أنّ الواقع في الاراضي المحتلة تحوّل إلى "نزاع مسلح" ولذلك لم يعد تبرير لفتح تحقيقات لدى الشرطة العسكرية بشكل أوتوماتيكيّ في الحالات التي يقوم فيها جنود بقتل فلسطينيين. وبدلا من ذلك، ستقوم الوحدة (العسكرية) في مثل هذه الحالات بإجراء استقصاء ميدانيّ تُنقل نتائجه إلى النيابة العسكرية. وإذا كان الاستقصاء المرفق بنتائج إضافية يثير الشكّ في أنّ الجنود شذّوا عن قواعد إطلاق النار بشكل خطير، فسيُفتح تحقيق في المسألة. أما بخصوص حوادث أخرى مثل التنكيل والعنف والسرقة والتي تثير الشكّ في مسلكيات جنائية من طرف الجنود، فلم يطرأ أيّ تغيير في السّياسة المتبعة وتقرّر فتح تحقيق لدى الشرطة العسكرية في هذه الحالات، بمجرد تلقي الشكوى.

في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2003، التمست جمعية حقوق المواطن في إسرائيل و"بتسيلم" المحكمةَ العليا ضدّ المُدّعي العسكريّ العامّ بطلب الأمر بفتح تحقيق لدى الشرطة العسكرية في كلّ حالة يَقتل فيها جنود الجيش الإسرائيلي فلسطينيين لم يشاركوا في الاقتتال. وفي إطار هذا الالتماس، أعلنت نيابة الدولة في نيسان 2011 أنها ستضع سياسة جديدة في كلّ ما يخصّ الضفة الغربية، وما يخصّ الحالات التي يقتل فيها جنودٌ فلسطينيين لم يشاركوا في الاقتتال، مفادها قيام الشرطة العسكرية بالتحقيق في الحادثة بشكل أوتوماتيكيّ. وبحسب هذا البيان، فإنّ هذه السياسة لن تسري في قطاع غزة. وفي أعقاب البيان، ردّت المحكمة العليا الالتماس، رغم معارضة الملتمسين.

التغيير الحاصل على هذه السياسة محمود، إلا أنّ السياسة المتبعة ما تزال تثير العديد من المشاكل:

  1. يتضح من البيان أعلاه أنّ التغيير يستند إلى الهدوء الحاصل ميدانيًا وليس إلى تغيير مبدئيّ في المدارك، أو إلى تغيير في تعريف الواقع على أنه "نزاع مُسلح". وفي حال تبدّل الظروف، يمكن أن تقوم النيابة العسكرية بالعودة إلى السياسة التي اتبعتها أثناء الانتفاضة الثانية. وعليه، وبما أنّ التغيير لم يسرِ على قطاع غزة، فهو لا يستطيع أن يضمن قيام إسرائيل بأداء واجباتها.
  2. ما تزال النيابة العسكرية تُعرّف الواقع في الاراضي المحتلة على أنه "نزاع مُسلح" بشكل جارف. ومع أنّ قسمًا من العمليات التي تحدث في الاراضي المحتلة تشكل نشاطات حربية، إلا أنّ قسمًا كبيرًا من النشاطات التي يقوم بها جنود في الاراضي المحتلة –مثل الحواجز وتفريق المظاهرات والاعتقالات- هي نشاطات شُرطية عادية نفّذها جنود في الانتفاضة الأولى أيضًا. وعلى أيّ حال، حتى إذا قبلنا بتعريف النيابة، فإنّ هذا لا يكفي لإعفاء الجيش من واجب التحقيق في إلحاق الأذى بالمواطنين. فمبادئ القانون الدوليّ تمنع المسّ المتعمَّد بالمواطنين حتى في إطار "النزاع المُسلح".. وفي كلّ حالة يُصاب فيها مواطنون في إطار هذا النزاع، يجب التحقيق في الحادثة من أجل التأكّد من أنّ الجنود تصرّفوا وفق هذه المبادئ.
  3. يتضح من بيان النيابة أنّها تنوي مواصلة الاعتماد على نتائج الاستقصاءات الميدانية لغرض البتّ في مسألة فتح تحقيق في الحالات التي قُتل فيها مواطنون أثناء حوادث الاقتتال في الضفة الغربية، وفي كلّ الحالات التي وقعت في قطاع غزة. إلا أنّ الاستقصاء الميدانيّ ليس الأداة الملائمة لفحص الحاجة لفتح تحقيق جنائيّ. فأولا، يشكل الاستقصاء تلخيصًا لأقوال الجنود الضالعين في الحادثة –الذين سيضطرون لتحمّل المسؤولية في حال اتضح أنّ أحدهم تصرف خلافًا للقانون- ولذلك فإنّ مصداقية هذا الاستقصاء مُتدنيّة. ثانيًا، يتمّ هذا الاستقصاء على يد عسكريين من الجيش لم يُأهّلوا لإجراء التحقيقات. وثالثًا، فإنّ الاستقصاء يهدف لاستخلاص العبر لغرض تحسين الأداء الميدانيّ، وليس لغرض فحص حجم المسؤولية الجنائية الواقعة على الجنود الضالعين في الحادثة.
  4. وفقًا لبيان الناطق العسكريّ الإسرائيليّ والنشر في الإعلام، فإنّ الجيش يواصل إجراء الاستقصاءات الميدانية في جميع الحالات التي يَقتل فيها جنودٌ فلسطينيين، وذلك قبل أن ينجح مُحققو الشرطة العسكرية في الحضور إلى مكان الحادثة والتحقيق مع الجنود وشهود إضافيين. وقد يؤدّي هذا الترتيب الزمني للأحداث إلى إحباط التحقيق لأنّ الجنود الضالعين يُدلون بروايتهم المشتركة في إطار الاستقصاء لما حدث، وبهذا يصبح من الممكن ملاءمة الروايات المختلفة. فضلا عن ذلك، يُسمح لمُعدّي الاستقصاء أن يقوموا بخطوات تحقيق إضافية –منها جمع الأدلة في الميدان وفحص الأسلحة وغيرها- وهي أمور يمكن أن تؤدّي إلى التشويش على تحقيق الشرطة العسكرية. أضف إلى ذلك أنّ نتائج الاستقصاء تُنشر في نهايته، ويمكن أن يؤدي هذا إلى التأثير على مُحققي الشرطة العسكرية.

رغم توجّهات "بتسيلم" المتكرّرة إلى سلطات الجيش، فإننا لم نحصل على معطيات ذات مصداقية فيما يخصّ عدد التحقيقات التي فُتحت في حوادث موت وفيما يخصّ نتائجها.

منذ اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية وحتى نيسان/ أبريل 2011، موعد تغيير السياسة المتبعة، توجّهت منظمة "بتسيلم" إلى النيابة العسكرية بطلب فتح تحقيقات لدى الشرطة العسكرية فيما يخصّ 304 حالات قتل فيها جنودٌ فلسطينيين. ومن بين هذه التوجّهات، أمرت النيابة العسكرية بالتحقيق في 73 حالة فقط. وحتى الآن، ووفق المعلومات المتوفرة لدى "بتسيلم"، فإنّ تسع تحقيقات أدّت إلى تقديم لوائح اتهام، و23 تحقيقًا أُغلقت دون اتخاذ أيّ تدابير ضدّ الجنود. وفي 27 ملفًا إضافيًا انتهى تحقيق الشرطة العسكرية وهم بانتظار حسم النيابة، فيما لا يزال 14 ملفًا قيد التحقيق. أما بخصوص ما تبقى من الحالات، فقد تلقت "بتسيلم" معلومات تفيد بأنّه لم يُفتح تحقيق في 168 حالة، وفي 44 ملفًا لم تبتّ النيابة حتى الآن في مسألة فتح تحقيق. أما فيما يخصّ الملفات الـ 14 الإضافية، فقد أفادت النيابة "بتسيلم" بأنّها لم تعثر عليها، فيما نُقلت خمسة ملفات أخرى إلى سلطات تحقيق أخرى.

إضافة إلى ذلك، ومنذ إعلان النيابة عن تغيير سياستها وحتى نهاية شباط/ فبراير 2012، قتل جنودٌ في الضفة الغربية خمسة فلسطينيين. وفي جميع هذه الحالات فُتح تحقيق لدى الشرطة العسكرية فور وقوع الحوادث، إلا أنّ هذه التحقيقات كلها لم تنتهِ بعد، وفق المعلومات المتوفرة لدى "بتسيلم".

الأمر الجارف بشأن عدم فتح التحقيقات، والإدارة السّيئة للاستقصاءات الداخلية في الوحدات العسكرية، والطريقة المُستخفّة التي أديرت بها التحقيقات التي فُتحت- هذه كلها أوصلت بلاغًا إلى الضباط والجنود مفاده أنه في حال خروجهم على التعليمات والمسّ بالأبرياء، فإنّ احتمال اتخاذ أيّ تدابير ضدّهم يقترب من الصفر.

Military Police investigations regarding the deaths of Palestinians

Published: 
1 Jan 2011
Updated: 
16 Apr 2012

At the end of 2000, a short time after the beginning of the second intifada, the Military Advocate General Corps (MAG) changed its policy regarding Military Police investigations. The MAG declared that the reality in the territories had become an “armed conflict” and hence there was no longer a justification for automatically opening a Military Police investigation in cases in which soldiers killed Palestinians. Instead, in such cases, an operational inquiry would be conducted within the unit and its findings would be transferred to the MAG. If the inquiry and other findings revealed that soldiers had seriously breached the open-fire regulations, an investigation would be opened. The new policy was not to apply when suspicion arose of criminal behavior by a soldier in cases of abuse, violence, and pillage. In these cases a Military Police investigation was to be opened upon receipt of the complaint.

In October 2003, the Association for Civil Rights in Israel and B’Tselem petitioned the Israeli High Court of Justice against the new policy. The petitioners requested that the MAG be required to order a Military Police investigation into every case in which a soldier killed a Palestinian civilian who was not taking part in hostilities. In April 2011, in the framework of the petition, the State Attorney's Office announced a new policy: a Military Police investigation would be opened automatically in every case in the West Bank in which a soldier killed a Palestinian civilian who was not taking part in hostilities. The announcement also stated that this policy would not apply to the Gaza Strip. Following this announcement, the High Court of Justice rejected the petition, despite the objections of the appellants.

This policy change is welcome. The current policy, however, remains problematic in several ways.

    1. As the announcement reveals, the change is based on the fact that the situation in the field has calmed down, and does not stem from a principled change in the approach or a change in the definition of the reality as an “armed conflict”. Should circumstances change, the MAG's office may revert to the policy it held during the second intifada according to which it does not automatically opening an investigation. For this reason, and since the change does not apply to the Gaza Strip, it does not ensure compliance with Israel’s obligations.

    2. The MAG still sweepingly defines the reality in the territories as an armed conflict. Some of the military activity in the Occupied Territories is indeed combat action; however, a significant portion of the tasks carried out by soldiers - such as staffing checkpoints, dispersing demonstrations, and arrests - constitute regular policing. These are functions which soldiers carried out during the first intifada as well. Furthermore, even if we accept the MAG’s definition, this does not absolve the army of its duty to investigate injury to civilians. International law prohibits intentional attacks on civilians even in cases of "armed conflict." In every case in which civilians are injured in such a conflict, the incident must be investigated to ensure that the soldiers complied with these rules.

    3. The operational inquiry will remains the basis on which a decision will be made as to whether to order a criminal investigation into civilian deaths in the Gaza Strip, and into those cases where civilians were killed in combat activities in the West Bank. Yet an operational inquiry is not the appropriate method by which to make such a determination. Firstly, an operational inquiry is a summary of the information provided by the soldiers involved in an incident – the same soldiers who will have to take responsibility if it is found that they carried out actions that were illegal. As such, the reliability of an operational inquiry is inherently limited. Secondly, an operational inquiry is carried out by military personnel who have not been trained to conduct investigations. And thirdly, an operational inquiry is intended to help improve operational activity, not to examine criminal responsibility of the soldiers involved.

    4. According to statements by the army spokesperson and press report, the army continues to conduct operational inquiries into every incident in which Palestinians were killed by soldiers. The operational inquiry occurs before an MPIU investigation is opened, and the investigators are able to take testimony from soldiers and other witnesses. This chronology is liable to thwart the criminal investigation since in the course of the operational inquiry the soldiers involved describe the events together, which could enable them to coordinate their stories. Moreover, those who conduct the inquiry are authorized to investigate further – including by taking testimony in the field, examining weapons, etc. – all activities which could taint the MPIU investigation. Lastly, when the operational inquiry concludes, its findings are published and can influence the MPIU investigators. Despite repeated requests by B'Tselem, the military authorities have not provided the organization with reliable data concerning the number of Military Police investigations opened in cases of death or the outcomes of those investigations.

From September 2000 to April 2011, when the MAG Corps changed its investigation policy, B'Tselem demanded a criminal investigation into 304 cases in which soldiers killed Palestinians. From the information available to B’Tselem, it appears that investigations were opened in only 73 of these cases. As far as B'Tselem knows, indictments were filed in nine of these cases, and 23 investigations were closed with no measures taken against soldiers; in 27 cases the MPIU completed the investigation but the case was still awaiting the decision of the Military Advocate General; and 14 cases are still under investigation. B'Tselem was informed that, regarding 168 cases, no investigation would be opened and that in 44 cases, the MAG Corps had not yet decided whether to open an investigation. Regarding 14 cases, the MAG Corps told B'Tselem that the files could not be located, and five files had been transferred to other investigative bodies.

In addition, between the MAG announcement of its change in policy and through the end of February 2012, five Palestinians have been killed on the West Bank by soldiers. In each of these cases, a MPIU investigation was opened immediately after the event although, insofar as is known to B’Tselem, none of them has yet been concluded. The decision not to open Military Police investigations as a rule, the flaws in operational inquiries, and the negligent handling of the rare investigations that were opened, have all conveyed a message to commanders and soldiers that there is little chance they will be held accountable even if they stray from the orders they receive and injure innocent persons.