Skip to main content
Menu
المواضيع

النيابة العسكريّة أغلقت ملف التحقيق بمقتل لبنى الحنش من دون محاكمة الجنديّ الذي أطلق النار عليها أو قائده

لبنى الحنش. الصورة بلطف العائلة.القرار يعكس تعاملاً مستخفًّا مع حياة الفلسطينيّين ويوصل رسالة خطيرة إلى الجنود والقيادة

نشرت النيابة العسكريّة في موقع الانترنت الخاصّ بها بيانًا يفيد بإغلاق ملف التحقيق بشأن مقتل لبنى الحنش برصاص الجيش الإسرائيليّ، من دون تقديم أيّ أحد للمحاكمة. وسُوّغ قرار إغلاق الملف بأنّ الجنديّ الذي أصاب الحنش وقريبتها أطلق الرصاص صوب شخص ألقى قبل ذلك زجاجة حارقة على سيارات إسرائيليّة. ووفقًا للنيابة العسكريّة، فقد "اتضح من التحقيق ظاهريًّا أنّ الجندي مطلق الرصاص لم يرَ المرحومة أثناء إطلاق النار"، وذلك برغم أنها كانت تقف بجوار سبيل فرار المشتبه به الذي أطلِق الرصاص عليه. وتدّعي النيابة أنّ أوامر إطلاق النار تسمح "بإطلاق النار صوب مخرّبين فور الاعتداء، بما في ذلك اعتداء بزجاجة حارقة"، ولذلك فإنّ إطلاق الرصاص لم يخالف المعمول به ولا يشكل مخالفة جنائيّة أيًّا كانت. وأضافت النيابة العسكريّة أنه إلى جانب ذلك، سيتلقى قائد برتبة مقدّم كان مع الجنديّ أثناء الحادثة توبيخًا قياديًّا، لأنه فشل في نقل أوامر إطلاق النار إلى مرؤوسيه، وأضافت أنها لم تجد علاقة سببيّة مباشرة بين هذا الفشل وبين مقتل الحنش.

لا يستوي تسلسل الحدث، كما ورد في بيان النيابة العسكريّة، مع الحقائق التي طرحها استقصاء بتسيلم. ولكن حتى لو سلّمنا برواية النيابة، فإنّ الجنديّ مطلق الرصاص والذي لم يكن يتعرّض لخطر على حياته أثناء إطلاقه الرصاص، كان ملزمًا بالتأكّد من عدم إصابة أيّ عابر سبيل بالرصاص. ليس من المعقول أن تسمح النيابة العسكريّة باستخدام سلاح فتّاك من دون اتخاذ تدابير حذر دُنيا. ولذلك، فإنّ ردّ النيابة القائل بأنّ الجندي مطلق الرصاص لم يرَ لبنى الحنش أثناء إطلاق الرصاص، لا يمكن أن يبرّر البتة إغلاق الملف. أولاً، أشار فحص بتسيلم في موقع الحدث إلى عدم وجود عائق ماديّ يمنع الجندي مطلق الرصاص من رؤية الموقع الذي وقفت فيها لبنى وسعاد جعارة، وحتى إنّ سعاد جعارة قالت لبتسيلم إنها رأت الجنديّ مطلق الرصاص من الموقع الذي تلقت فيه الرصاصة. ثانيًا، حتى إذا كان هذا الادّعاء صحيحًا والجنديّ أطلق الرصاص من دون أن يرى لبنى وسعاد جعارة، فإنّ هذا يعني أنّ مطلق الرصاص لم يتطلّع جيّدًا إلى المنطقة قبل إطلاقه الرصاص، أو أنه أطلق الرصاص برغم أنّ مدى رؤيته كان مسدودًا.

إنّ قرار النيابة العسكريّة يجسّد مرة أخرى كيف أنّ جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكريّ يمتنع وبشكل منهجيّ عن تطبيق القانون على الجنود الذين كانوا ضالعين بالمسّ بفلسطينيّين، وهي بهذا تشجّع التعامل المُستخفّ مع حياة وسلامة أجساد الفلسطينيّين، وتشجّع سهولة إطلاق النار. وتوجّهت بتسيلم إلى الشرطة العسكريّة المحققة للحصول على نسخة من ملف التحقيق بغية تقديم استئناف على قرار إغلاق الملف.

خلفية عن الحادثة:

كانت لبنى الحنش، وهي من سكان بيت لحم، قد بلغت قرابة 22 عامًا من عمرها عند مقتلها. في يوم 23/1/2013 ذهبت في زيارة لقريبة لها وهي سعاد جعارة (38 عامًا وقتها)، من سكان مخيم العروب للاجئين، وتنزّهتا في ممرّات البستان التابع للكلية التكنولوجية المجاورة لمخيم العروب للاجئين، والذي يستخدمه سكان المنطقة كموقع ترفيهيّ. وقرابة الساعة 14:30 مشت الاثنتان باتجاه بوابة الكلية الموجودة عند شارع رقم 60، ومن هناك كان من المفترض أن تعود لبنى إلى بيتها. عندما كانتا على بعد نحو 100 متر من البوابة، أُطلق الرصاص باتجاههما فجأة. في هذه المرحلة رأت سعاد جعارة جنديًا يطلق الرصاص عليهما، وكان يقف إلى جانب الطريق، عبر الجهة الثانية للبوابة. وقد أصيبت لبنى الحنش بالرصاص في رأسها وأصيبت سعاد جعارة في يدها. ثم نُقلت الاثنتان كل على حدة إلى مستشفى الأهلي في الخليل، حيث توفيت لبنى متأثرة بجراحها بعد نحو الساعة.

الباحث الميداني في بتسيلم يفحص الميدان. تصوير: موسى ابو هشهش.23/1/2014
الباحث الميداني في بتسيلم يفحص الميدان. تصوير: موسى ابو هشهش.23/1/2014

في يوم 23/1/2013 وصفت سعاد جعارة أمام الباحث في بتسيلم موسى أبو هشهش، ما حدث:

تجوّلنا في الكلية التي كانت خالية تمامًا من الطلاب والأساتذة لمدة ساعة ونصف تقريبًا. وقرابة الساعة 14:30 ذهبت مع لبنى باتجاه المدخل الجانبيّ المؤدّي إلى شارع رقم 60. رغبت لبنى بانتظار سيارة مسافرة إلى بيت لحم للعودة إلى البيت. عندما سرنا في ممرّ أشجار الصنوبر، سمعت فجأة صوت عدة رصاصات. وفور ذلك رأيت جنديًا ببزة عسكرية يقف وراء بوابة الدخول المغلقة، على بعد نحو 100 متر عنّا. ومن ورائه وقفت سيارة بيضاء توجّهت نحو الخليل. وفي اللحظة التي استدرت كي أهرب شعرتُ بشيء ما يصيبني بيدي اليسرى. أدركت أنني أصبت بالرصاص وبدأت الركض، مُخلّفة لبنى ورائي. اِعتقدت أنها تركض خلفي. ركضت قرابة 50 مترًا حتى رأيت شخصيْن من طاقم الكلية. قام أحدهما بلفّ يدي وذهب الثاني للبحث عن لبنى.

نقلوني من هناك بسيارة خصوصيّة إلى العيادة القريبة، ومن هناك بسيارة إسعاف إلى مستشفى في الخليل. وصلت عائلتي إلى المستشفى ولم تخبرني بحقيقة وضع لبنى. قال لي أخي إنها أصيبت وإنها موجودة في نفس المستشفى ووضعها جيّد. خضعت لعلمية جراحية في يدي لأنّ الرصاصة التي أصابتني مرّت من خلال كفّ يدي وأصابت بعض أوتار إحدى أصابعي. قبل العملية بقليل سمعت من مريضات أخريات في المستشفى أنّ لبنى توفيت. صرخت وشعرت بأنني على وشك أن يُغمى عليّ. لم أصدّق ما حدث. لقد كانت سعيدة جدًا أثناء جولتنا في الكلية. أنا أيضًا كنت سعيدة أثناء زيارتها للمكان- وهي زيارتها الأولى والأخيرة.

في التقرير الذي نشرته صحيفة هآرتس يوم الحادثة، ورد من الناطق العسكريّ أنّ "القوة التي سارت في الطريق هُوجمت بالحجارة والزجاجات الحارقة، وأطلقت الرصاص باتجاه مصدر الحجارة لأنها شعرت بالخطر". فيما بعد وفي نفس اليوم، نُشر أنّ قائدًا في قيادة المركز تحدّث عن وجود كيس فيه عدة زجاجات حارقة في المنطقة، إلا أنّ الناطق العسكريّ رفض الردّ على السّؤال ما إذا كانت المرأتان مستهدفتين بالرصاص. من خلال التقارير التي وردت في الإعلام يتضح أيضًا أنّ الجندييْن الضالعيْن في الحادثة كانا نائب قائد كتيبة يهودا، المقدّم شاحر سفدا، وجنديًا آخر كان بصحبته، وأنّ الاثنين كانا يسيران بسيارة مدنيّة على شارع رقم 60 وبعد أن شاهدا راشقين للحجارة والزجاجات الحارقة قرّرا التوقف والخروج من السيارة، وعندها أطلقا الرصاص وحاولا ملاحقة الراشقين.

لم ينجح تحقيق بتسيلم في تأكيد أو دحض الادّعاء القائل بأنّ إطلاق الرصاص سبقه رشق للحجارة وللزجاجات الحارقة، إلا أنه أشار أنّ سعاد ولبنى الحنش لم يكن لهما أيّ علاقة بما حدث، وأنهما لم تكونا تعيان ما يحدث من حولهما وفق إفادة سعاد. لذلك، لم يكن أيّ تبرير لإطلاق الرصاص صوب الاثنتيْن. ردّ الجيش لا يتطرّق بتاتًا لحقيقة أنّ الرصاص أصاب عابرتيْ سبيل، أو لحقيقة أنّ إطلاق الرصاص الحيّ باتجاه الجزء العلويّ لشخص ما غير مسموح إلا في حال شكّل هذا الشخص خطرًا فوريًا على الجنود أو أشخاص آخرين، وهذا شرط من الواضح أنه لم يُستوفَ في هذه الحالة..

MAG Corps closes investigation into killing of Lubna al-Hanash without indicting soldier who fired or his commander

Published: 
29 Jun 2014

Lubna al-Hanash, photo courtesy of the familyThe decision reflects lack of respect for the lives of Palestinians and conveys a dangerous message to soldiers and commanders

The MAG Corps posted a notice on its Hebrew website stating that the investigation into the killing of Lubna al-Hanash by military gunfire has been closed without filing charges. The MAG Corps ultimately made a decision in the case only after al-Hanash’s father petitioned the HCJ. His petition, filed by B’Tselem, demanded an end to the foot-dragging in the case.

According to the notice, the case was closed because the soldier who fired the shots that killed al-Hanash and injured a relative who was with her, was firing at a person who had lobbed a Molotov cocktail at Israeli cars. The notice stated that the investigation "indicated that the soldier who fired did not notice the deceased at the time of shooting", despite the fact that al-Hanash had been standing close to the escape route of the person targeted. The MAG Corps claimed that as the open-fire regulations permit "opening fire toward terrorists immediately after an attack, including an attack using Molotov cocktails", the shooting did not breach regulations and did not constitute a criminal offense. It added, however, that a lieutenant colonel who was with the soldier at the time will receive a disciplinary reprimand for failing to convey the open-fire regulations to soldiers under his command, and that no direct causal link was found between the said failing and the killing of al-Hanash.

The details of the incident as provided by the MAG Corps differ substantially from the facts uncovered by B'Tselem's investigation. Yet even in accordance with MAG Corps' reasoning, the soldier who fired the shots – whose life was not in danger at the time – was obligated to ensure that no bystander be harmed. It is unreasonable that the MAG Corps permit use of a lethal weapon without minimal precautions. Therefore, the explanation given that the soldier did not notice al-Hanash at the time of the shooting cannot in any way justify the decision to close the case. First, B'Tselem's examination of the scene found that no physical obstacle in the terrain could have blocked the soldier's view of the spot where al-Hanash and her relative, Sou'ad, were standing; the latter even told B'Tselem that she saw the soldier who fired the shots, from the spot where she had been hit. Second, even if the soldier had shot without noticing the two women, this serves to indicate that he did not examine the area carefully before shooting, or that he fired even though he did not have a clear line of vision.

The decision to close the case without charges demonstrates yet again how Israel's military law enforcement authorities systematically refrain from enforcing the law on soldiers involved in harm to Palestinians. This policy promotes lack of respect for the lives and safety of Palestinians and encourages a trigger-happy approach. B'Tselem has written to the Military Police Investigation Unit (MPIU) demanding a copy of the investigation file, in order to appeal the decision.

The incident:

Lubna al-Hanash of Bethlehem was just shy of her 22nd birthday. On 23 January 2013, she went to visit a relative, Sou’ad Ja’rah, 38, a resident of al-‘Arrub RC. The two women went for a stroll along the garden paths in the nearby College of Technology, which serves as a recreation area for al-‘Arrub residents. At approximately 2:30 P.M., they were walking towards an entrance gate to the college, located on Route 60, from where Lubna was supposed to travel back home. When they were about 100 meters away from the gate, shots were suddenly fired at them. At this point, Sou’ad perceived the soldier who shooting at them. He was standing by the road, on the other side of the closed gate. Lubna sustained a gunshot wound to her head and Sou’ad to a hand. The two women were taken separately to Al-Ahli Hospital in Hebron, where Lubna died of her wounds about an hour later.

B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad examines the scene of the incident. Photo by Musa Abu Hashhash, B’Tselem, 23 Jan. 2013
B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad examines the scene of the incident. Photo by Musa Abu Hashhash, B’Tselem, 23 Jan. 2013

That same day, Sou’ad Ja’rah related the events to B’Tselem field researcher Musa Abu Hashhash:

We walked around the campus – which was empty, with no students or teachers around, for about an hour and a half. At around 2:30 P.M., I was walking with Lubna towards the side entrance that leads to Route 60. She wanted to wait there for a ride back to Bethlehem. We were walking down the pine tree path when suddenly, I heard several shots. Right away, I noticed a soldier in uniform standing on the other side of the closed gate, about 100 meters away from us. Behind him was a parked white car, facing in the direction of Hebron. As soon as I turned around to run away, I felt something hit my left hand. I realized I’d been hit by the gunfire and I started running, leaving Lubna behind. I thought she was running just behind me. I ran about 50 meters, until I saw two people from the college staff. One of them bandaged my hand and the other went to find Lubna.

I was taken in a private car to a nearby medial clinic, and from there by ambulance to a hospital in Hebron. My family, who came to the hospital, kept Lubna’s condition from me. My brother only told me that she’d been hit and was in the same hospital as me, in okay condition. I had surgery on my hand, because the bullet went through it and injured the tendons of one finger. Just before I went into surgery, I heard from other patients there that Lubna had died. I started screaming and was sure I’d faint. I couldn’t believe it. She had been so happy walking through the campus. I was happy too, that she was seeing the place – her first and last visit there.

In an article that Israeli daily Ha’aretz ran on the day of the incident, the IDF Spokesperson was quoted stating that a soldiers who were “driving along the road were attacked with stones and Molotov cocktails, and the soldiers, who felt they were in danger, opened fire at the source of the stone-throwing.” Later that day, it was reported that an officer in Central Command said that a bag containing several Molotov cocktails had been found in the area, but the IDF Spokesperson would not say whether the women had been the target of the gunfire. Media reports further indicate that the soldiers involved in the incident were Lieut. Col. Shahar Safda, Second-in-command of the Yehuda Brigade, and another soldier. They were driving along Route 60 in a civilian car when they noticed stones and Molotov cocktails being thrown, at which point they decided to stop and get out of the car. They then opened fire and tried to pursue the stone-throwers.

B’Tselem’s inquiries have been unable to confirm or refute the claim that stones and Molotov cocktails had been thrown in the vicinity prior to the shooting. They did find, however, that Lubna al-Hanash and Sou’ad Ja’rah had nothing to do with the alleged assault and – as can be gleaned from Sou’ad’s testimony – were unaware of it. Therefore, there was no justification for firing at the women. The military’s response makes no mention of the fact that the two passersby were hit by the gunfire, nor that firing live ammunition at the upper torso is permitted only when the targeted individual poses immediate mortal danger to soldiers or civilians, which was clearly not the case in this instance.