Skip to main content
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

ثلاثة استئنافات قُدمت ضد إغلاق ملفات تحقيق لدى وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش")

مستجدات: في تاريخ 1/5/2013 قام قسم الاسئنافات في النيابة العامة بابلاغ المحامية جابي لاسكي انه تم استقصاء الاستئناف باسم فليب اندرو طروطر من قبل نائب النائب العام، والذي لم يرى ادعاء لتغيير قرار وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحش") باغلاق الملف. ورغم ذلك تم الافادة، ان قسم الاسئنافات قرر نقل الموضوع الى المستوى القيادي. في يوم 30/1/2014 أعلنت نيابة الدولة أنها قررت رفض الاستئناف بخصوص إلقاء قنابل الغاز وعنف الشرطيين أثناء المظاهرة في القرية يوم 13/5/2011.

علمت منظمة "بتسيلم" مؤخرًا بقرار وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") إنهاء العناية بثلاثة ملفات فُتحت في أعقاب شكاوى قُدمت إليها. وطلبت "بتسيلم" تصوير ملفات التحقيق باسم المشتكين. ومن معاينة الملفات اتضح وجود إخفاقات في متابعة وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") لها.

قدمت المحامية جابي لاسكي استئنافيْن في ملفيْن إلى المُدّعي العام، باسم "بتسيلم"، ونُقل ملف ثالث إلى عناية جمعية حقوق المواطن التي قدمت استئنافًا آخر.

فيما يلي تفاصيل الاستئنافات:

عنف وإطلاق قنابل غاز بتصويب مباشر في مظاهرة جرت في قرية النبي صالح يوم 13/5/2011- استئناف على قرار "ماحَش" إغلاق ملف التحقيق بخصوص إصابة متظاهر بقنبلة غاز وعلى قرار عدم التحقيق في العنف الذي مارسه شرطيو "حرس الحدود" تجاه متظاهرين، وإصابة متظاهر آخر برأسه بقنبلة غاز:

جرت في يوم الجمعة، 13/5/2011، في قرية النبي صالح قضاء رام الله، المظاهرة الأسبوعية احتجاجًا على سيطرة المستوطنين على أراضي القرية، حيث شارك في المظاهرة فلسطينيون وإسرائيليون وأجانب. وقام شرطيو "حرس الحدود" بتفريق المظاهرة، حيث لجأ هؤلاء إلى استخدام وسائل تفريق المظاهرات بشكل مكثف، ومارسوا العنف الشديد بموازاة ذلك. وفي أثناء المظاهرة، التي وُثقت بكاميرا متطوّعيْ "بتسيلم"، بلال تميمي ونريمان تميمي، ضرب رجال الشرطة متظاهرين بأيديهم وبالهراوات، وركلوهم بالأرجل وشتموهم ورشّوا على عدد منهم غاز الفلفل واعتقلوا متظاهرين عبر اللجوء إلى العنف غير المعقول.


توثيق لتفريق المظاهرة العنيف. لمعلومات إضافية الرجاء الضغط هنا

إضافة إلى ذلك، أطلق شرطيو "حرس الحدود" أثناء الحادثة قنابل الغاز المسيّل للدموع بتصويب مباشر باتجاه المتظاهرين، فأصيب اثنان منهم: بن رونين، وهو متظاهر إسرائيليّ أصيب في راحة يده وكُسر إصبعاه، وكريس ويتمان، وهو مواطن أمريكي أصيب برأسه. وقد وُثق إطلاق قنبلة الغاز على بن رونين، أيضًا، بواسطة الفيديو.

في أعقاب هذه الحادثة، قدّم خمسة جرحى شكاوى إلى "ماحَش" ضد شرطيي "حرس الحدود" الذين نشطوا وقتها. وتمحورت الشكاوى في إطلاق قنابل الغاز بتصويب مباشر وفي العنف الشديد الذي مارسه رجال الشرطة . ووفق المعلومات المتوفرة لدى "بتسيلم"، فإنّ المتظاهرين الذين اشتكوا لدى وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") حول العنف الذي مارسه عليهم رجال الشرطة وقنابل الغاز التي أطلقوها صوبهم، لم يُلقوا الحجارة ولم يشكلوا بأيّ شكل من الأشكال خطرًا على أفراد قوات الأمن. وفي أعقاب تقديم الشكاوى فتحت وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") ملفَ تحقيق لتركيز معالجتها، وقامت "بتسيلم" بمراقبة معالجة هذه الشكاوى باسم المُشتكين.

في يوم 30/1/2012 تلقى المشتكون بيانًا من "ماحَش" علموا من خلاله بقرار إغلاق ملفّ التحقيق في مسألة إصابة بن رونين بقنبلة غاز، بدعوى قلة الأدلة. أما فيما يتعلق بالادعاءات حول ممارسة شرطيي حرس الحدود للعنف ضد بن رونين وضد المشتكين الآخرين وبما يخص أيضًا إصابة كريس ويتمان بقنبلة غاز، فقد ورد أنّ ملابسات الحادثة لا تبرّر فتح تحقيق جنائيّ.

ومن خلال معاينة ملف التحقيق اتضح أنّ وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") قامت فعلا بجمع شكاوى مُفصّلة من جميع المتضرّرين، إلا أنها لم تحقق إلا في شكوى بن رونين حول إصابته بقنبلة غاز، ولم تتطرّق البتة إلى الشكاوى الأخرى المتعلقة بممارسة العنف وإصابة ويتمان في رأسه جراء التصويب المباشر، رغم أنّ بعض هذه الأمور وُثق بالفيديو مما استلزم استيضاحها.

في يوم 3/5/2012، قدّمت المحامية جابي لاسكي باسم "بتسيلم" استئنافًا إلى الدولة بشأن قرار "ماحَش". وانتقدت المحامية لاسكي في الاستئناف شكل إدارة التحقيق وادّعت أنّ وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") لم تفعل ما يكفي من أجل استيضاح الحقيقة كلها بما يخصّ شكوى بن رونين حول إصابته بقنبلة غاز، وأنه كان بإمكانها وبسهولة أن تحصل على الملفات وشهود عيان آخرين، إلى جانب إجراء فحص جذريّ في مكان الحادثة. كما ادّعت المحامية لاسكي في الاستئناف، أنه ورغم كون تحقيق وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") في هذا الشأن منقوصًا، إلا أنّ هناك الآن أدلة كافية لغرض المحاكمة، وأنه في حال تبيّن وجود نقص ما في الأدلة، فيجب إصدار أمر باستكمال التحقيق كما يجب، وليس الأمر بإغلاق الملف.

أما فيما يتعلق بالشكاوى الأخرى في الملف، والمتعلقة بعنف الشرطيين وإطلاق قنابل الغاز على رأس كريس ويتمان، فادّعت المحامية لاسكي أنّ "ماحَش" تجاهلت عنوة هذه الشكاوى ولم تقم بأيّ تدابير تحقيق مطلوبة من أجل إثبات أو دحض ادعاءات المشتكين. وبدلا من ذلك، قررت "ماحَش" عدم التحقيق في هذه الشكاوى بالمرة، رغم وجود أدلة يمكنها المساعدة في التحقيق. وعليه، طالبت المحامية لاسكي المُدّعي العام للدولة بفتح تحقيق جدّي وشامل لفحص الشكاوى التي لم يُحقق فيها، ومن ضمن ذلك ادعاءات بن رونين بأنه هُوجم بالهراوات، التي لم يُحقق فيها البتة، رغم توثيق الفيديو الذي نُقل إلى "ماحَش".

رشّ غاز الفلفل عن مسافة قصيرة على وجه متظاهر غير عنيف في قرية النبي صالح، 17/6/2011- استئناف على قرار إغلاق ملف التحقيق:

في يوم 17/6/2011، شارك فيليب أندرو طروطر، وهو مواطن ألماني، في مظاهرة جرت في قرية النبي صالح. وفي أثناء المظاهرة، وفيما كان طروطر يقف ضمن مجموعة من المتظاهرين لم يلجأوا إلى العنف في مقابل مجموعة من شرطيي "حرس الحدود" سدّت عليهم الطريق، هاجم شرطي حرس الحدود طروطر بواسطة رشّ غاز الفلفل على وجهه من مسافة قصيرة. ومن خلال توثيق الفيديو الذي صوّرته "بتسيلم" يتبيّن وبوضوح أنّ الاعتداء حصل بشكل يناقض تمامًا تعليمات الاستعمال التي تظهر في الإرشادات الشرطية حول استخدام بخاخ الفلفل، والتي تنص على عدم القيام بالرش من مسافة تقل عن متر ونصف المتر، وعلى أنه لا يمكن اللجوء إلى هذه الوسيلة إلا ضدّ مشبوه بالاعتداء أو رافض للاعتقال أو من يحاول الهرب من الاعتقال بشكل عنيف. وورد في التعليمات أيضًا، أنه حتى في حال تحقق هذا الشرط، يظلّ استخدام البخّاخ ضد مُعتدٍ مسموحًا به في حال عدم القدرة على السّيطرة عليه بوسيلة أخرى، أو في حال وجود خوف حقيقي من أنّ التلامس الجّسديّ معه سيؤدّي إلى ضرر أكبر. وتشدد التعليمات على منع استخدام البخّاخ ضد من يعارض الاعتقال بشكل سلبيّ.


توثيق الحادثة بالفيديو

في يوم 30/6/2011 قدّم طروطر شكوى إلى "ماحَش" وحوّل إليها توثيق الحادثة. وقد راقبت "بتسيلم" باسمه علاج "ماحَش" لهذه الشكوى.

في يوم 16/2/2012 أخبرت "ماحَش" بتسيلم بأنه تقرّر إغلاق الملف في نهاية التحقيق، كون ملابسات المسألة لا تبرر اتباع إجراءات جنائية.

ويتبيّن من معاينة ملف التحقيق الذي نُقل إلى بتسيلم أنّ وحدة التحقيق مع افراد الشرطة ("ماحَش") حققت مع الشرطي المشتبه بالاعتداء، تحت التحذير. وفي بلاغه تعرّف الشرطي على نفسه في الفيديو وصدّق على استخدامه للبخّاخ ضد المشتكي، إلا أنه ادّعى أنّ استخدامه للبخاخ كان معقولاً.

وباستثناء شهادتيْ المشتكي والمشتبه به لم تُجمع شهادات أخرى في الملف. وفي إطار التحقيق أجري تقرير مشاهدة لتصوير الفيديو للحادثة وجُمع تقرير عمل وتقرير مهمة من الحادثة، إلا أنه لم تجرِ أيّ إجراءات تحقيق إضافية. ومع انتهاء التحقيق أعلمت "ماحَش" الشرطي المشتبه بالاعتداء بأنه تقرّر بعد فحص الأدلة والمواد عدم مقاضاته جنائيًا وبأنّ الملف مغلق. وخلافًا للبيان الذي نُقل إلى المشتكي، قالت "ماحَش" للشرطي المشتبه به إنّ القرار اُتخذ نتيجة لغياب المصلحة العامة.

في يوم 3/5/2012 قدّمت المحامية جابي لاسكي، باسم "بتسيلم"، استئنافًا إلى المُدعي العام للدولة، بشأن قرار "ماحَش". وادّعت المحامية لاسكي في الاستئناف أنه وفي ضوء التوثيق البصري للحادثة ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار لباقي الأدلة في الملف، فإنه لا خلاف على ظروف وملابسات الحادثة، بأنّ المشتبه به لم يكن يتمتع بأيّ صلاحية قانونية لاستخدام القوة ضد المشتكي وأنّ استخدام بخّاخ الفلفل ضد المشتكي جرى بشكل مخالف تمامًا للتعليمات الشرطية المُلزمة. كما ادّعت المحامية لاسكي أنّ قرار "ماحَش" إغلاق الملف نتيجة لانعدام المصلحة العامّة، كما بُلغ الشرطي المشتبه، هو غير معقول بالمرة من الناحية القيمية والقضائية، وأنه يمسّ بسلطة القانون وسيادته وبالصالح العام الكائن في منع ارتكاب المخالفات وبثقة الجمهور في جهاز فرض القانون. وطلبت المحامية لاسكي من المُدعي العام إلغاء قرار "ماحَش" وإصدار أمر لتقديم المشتبه به للمحاكمة.

إعتداء شرطيين على قاصر في رأس العمود يوم 23/9/2011- استئناف على قرار إغلاق ملف التحقيق:

في يوم 6/10/2011 قدّم "ح.ج." (17 عامًا) من سكان رأس العمود شكوى إلى "ماحَش" جراء اعتداء شرطيين عليه. ويتضح من الإفادة التي أدلى بها "ح.ج." أمام "ماحَش" أنه في يوم 23/9/2011، وأثناء مواجهات بين الشرطة وبين مجموعة شباب فلسطينيين في حيّ رأس العمود، وصل المشتكي صدفة إلى موقع الحادثة، حيث التقى هناك بالشرطيين الذين مارسوا ضده العنف الشديد ممّا أدّى إلى إصابته بإصابات متفرقة في جسمه وإلى كُسريْن في كاحله. أضف إلى ذلك أنّ "ح.ج." لم يُنقل إلى العلاج في المستشفى فورًا، رغم إصابته الخطيرة، بل أُخذ في البداية في سيارة إسعاف شرطية إلى مقرّ المسكوبية، ومن ثمّ جرى نقله إلى مستشفى "هداسا هار هتسوفيم" بواسطة سيارة إسعاف تابعة لنجمة داود الحمراء.

ح.ج.
"ح.ج." وافراد الشرطة أثناء الحادثة، كما وثقتها كاميرا سليمان خضر يوم ٢٣/٩/٢٠١١

وبالإضافة إلى الشكوى المفصلة التي قُدمت بشأن الاعتداء العنيف وتصرّف الشرطة في ظلّ إصابته في رجله، وفر "ح.ج." لـ "ماحَش" صورًا يظهر فيها رجال الشرطة الذين كانوا ضالعين في الحادثة، إلى جانب تفاصيل اتصال بشاهدي عيان. وقد أجرت "بتسيلم" استقصاءً في الحادثة ورافقت شكوى "ح.ج." أمام "ماحَش". وقد نقلت المنظمة إلى "ماحَش" الملفات الطبية الخاصة بعلاج "ح.ج." بعد الحادثة وصورًا أخرى، وتابعت معالجة الشكوى.

في يوم 2/1/2012 أُرسل إلى "ح.ج." بيان من "ماحَش" جاء فيه أنه بعد فحص الشكوى ومعاينة المواد المتعلقة بالحادثة التي جمعتها "ماحَش"، اُتخذ قرار مفاده أنّ ملابسات الموضوع لا تبرر فتح تحقيق جنائيّ. إلا أنّ هذه الرسالة، التي حُفظت نسخة منها في ملف "ماحَش"، لم تصل العائلة أو المحامي الذي يمثل المشتكي في دعوى التعويضات المادية. وعلمت "بتسيلم" بقرار "ماحَش" عدم فتح التحقيق في أعقاب ردّ أرسلته "ماحَش" على مطلب تحيينات روتينيّ حول عدة ملفات، وذلك يوم 13/3/2012.

ويتضح من معاينة ملف التحقيق المنقول إلى "بتسيلم"، أنّ "ماحَش" اكتفت بفحص سطحيّ للشكوى قبل أن تقرّر عدم فتح تحقيق. في أعقاب هذا، نقلت "بتسيلم" الملف إلى العناية القضائية في جمعية حقوق المواطن في إسرائيل. وفي يوم 8/5/2012، قدّمت المحامية ميخال بومرنتس من جمعية حقوق المواطن إلى المُدعي العام للدولة استئنافًا على قرار "ماحَش" في الملف. وادّعت المحامية بومرنتس في الاستئناف أنّ معالجة ملف التحقيق جرت بشكل غير مُرضٍ وأنه يمكن القيام بإجراءات تحقيق أخرى بوسعها إلقاء الضّوء على الأحداث. ورغم أنّ المشتكي أبلغ "ماحَش" بتفاصيل شهود عيان على الحادثة، إلا أنه لم تجرِ أيّ محاولة لدعوتهم للإدلاء بشهاداتهم. كما أنّ "ماحَش" اكتفت ببيانات الشرطيين الداخلية في يوم الحادثة ولم تُجرِ معهم أيّ استيضاحات بعد تقديم الشكوى.

وطالبت المحامية بومرنتس المُدّعي العام إصدار أمره لـ "ماحَش" بفتح تحقيق جنائيّ يشمل التحقيق مع الشرطيين المشتبهين وجمع إفادات شهود العيان، ومن ضمنهم افراد شرطة آخرون حضروا الحادثة والشهود الذين نقل المشتكي أسماءهم إلى "ماحَش"، أو شهود آخرون يمكن أن تساعد شهاداتهم في إلقاء الضوء على ملابسات الحادثة.

3 appeals submitted regarding closure of 3 investigations of police officers

Published: 
6 Jun 2012
Updated: 
13 May 2013

Update: On 1 May 2013 Adv. Gaby Lasky was informed by the Appeals Dept. at the State Attorney’s Office that the appeal filed on behalf of Philip Andrew Trotter had been reviewed by the Deputy State Attorney. The Deputy State Attorney did not change the decision by the Department for the Investigation of Police to close the case. However, Adv. Lasky was further informed that the Appeals Dept. had decided to transfer the matter to be handled by commanding officers.

B’Tselem recently learned of the decision by the Police Investigations Unit (PIU) to close the files on three cases dealing with complaints submitted to the unit. Acting on behalf of the complainants, B’Tselem obtained and examined copies of the case files and found investigative errors and omissions.

In two of the cases, an appeal has been submitted to the State’s Attorney by Atty. Gabi Lasky on behalf of B’Tselem. The third case was passed on to the Association for Civil Rights in Israel, which has also submitted an appeal.

Details of the appeals:

Violence and firing of tear gas canisters directly at protesters in a demonstration at a-Nabi Saleh on 13 May 2011 – An appeal filed against the decision to close a case regarding a demonstrator who was injured by a tear gas canister, and the decision not to investigate Border Police violence toward demonstrators and the injuring of another demonstrator who was shot in the head by a gas canister.

On Friday 13 May 2011, there was a demonstration at a-Nabi Saleh, northwest of Ramallah, against the takeover of the village’s land for Israeli settlements. Such demonstrations are held weekly in a-Nabi Saleh, and are attended by Palestinians, Israelis, and foreign citizens. The demonstration was dispersed by Border Police officers who made extensive use of crowd dispersal techniques and acted quite violently, as documented on video by B’Tselem volunteers Bilal Tamimi and Nariman Tamimi. While dispersing the demonstration, police officers beat demonstrators with their fists and with a club, kicked them, cursed them, sprayed some of them with pepper spray, and used unreasonable force in arresting demonstrators.


Video footage documenting the violent dispersal of the demonstration. Fore further information on the incident click here

Moreover, Border Police officers shot tear gas canisters directly at protesters, wounding two individuals; Ben Ronen, an Israeli demonstrator, was shot in the hand and two of his fingers were broken, and Chris Whiteman, an American, sustained a head wound. The shooting of a tear gas canister at Ben Ronen was also captured on video.

Following the demonstration, five protesters submitted complaints to the Police Investigations Unit (PIU) against the Border Police officers who were at the demonstration. The complaints addressed the firing of tear gas canisters aimed directly at demonstrators and the extremely violent behavior of the police. B’Tselem’s information indicates that the complainants did not throw stones at the police officers nor endanger them in any way. Following submission of the complaints, the PIU opened one investigation addressing all the complaints relating to this demonstration. B’Tselem monitored the progress of the investigation on behalf of the complainants.

On 30 January 2012 the complainants were notified by the PIU that the case involving Ben Ronen’s injury from a tear gas canister was being closed due to insufficient evidence. As to the allegations of violent behavior by the police officers against Ben Ronen and the other complainants, and as to the injury sustained by Chris Whiteman after being shot by a tear gas canister, the circumstances were deemed insufficient to justify opening a criminal inquiry.

Examining the case file disclosed that although the PIU did collect detailed complaints from all those injured, it only investigated the complaint by Ben Ronen and completely neglected the other complaints regarding violent behavior and the head injury to Whiteman from a tear gas canister aimed directly at him, notwithstanding the fact that some of these were documented on video, and certainly called for clarification. On 3 May 2012, Attorney Gabi Lasky on behalf of B’Tselem submitted an appeal to the State Attorney on the PIU decision. Lasky criticized the handling of the investigation and argued that the PIU did not do enough to uncover the truth concerning the complaint by Ben Ronen of an injury from a tear gas canister, and that it could have easily accessed additional documents and eyewitnesses and conducted a more thorough examination at the site of the incident. Lasky also argued in the appeal that although the PIU investigation was deficient, there was already sufficient evidence to issue an indictment, and that if further evidence is needed they could call for the proper completion of an investigation rather than close the case.

In regard to the violent behavior of police towards other complainants and Chris Whiteman’s head wound from a tear gas canister aimed directly at him, Lasky argued that the PIU blatantly ignored these complaints and took none of the steps required to either substantiate or refute the complainants’ allegations. Among other things, the PIU chose not to investigate these complaints at all despite the existence of evidence that could have helped the investigation. Thus, Lasky demanded that the State Attorney call for a serious and thorough investigation into the complaints that were not addressed. This should include Ben Ronen’s complaint that he was attacked with a club, which was not investigated despite video documentation that was conveyed to the PIU.

Appeal against the decision to close an investigation regarding spraying pepper spray at close range in a nonviolent demonstrator’s face at the village of a-Nabi Saleh, 17 June 2011:

On 17 June 2011, Philip Andrew Trotter , a German citizen, participated in a demonstration in a-Nabi Saleh. During the demonstration, Trotter was standing with a group of protesters not engaged in any violence and facing a row of Border Police blocking their way, when a policeman sprayed pepper spray in Trotter’s face from a short distance. Video of the incident filmed by B’Tselem clearly shows that the attack absolutely contravened the police regulations for the use of pepper spray, which is not to be used less than a meter and a half away from the object being sprayed, and even then may only be used against someone who appears about to attack the police or to resist or evade arrest in a violent manner. The regulations further specify that the spray may only be used if the suspect cannot be overcome by other means or when there is a real suspicion that physical contact with the suspect could cause even greater harm. The rules emphasize that the spray is not to be used against someone passively resisting arrest.


Video footage from the incident

On 30 June 2011, Trotter submitted a complaint to the PIU and provided documentation of the incident. B’Tselem has monitored the handling of Trotter’s case by the PIU.

On 16 February 2012, the PIU notified B’Tselem that it completed the investigation and decided to close the case since the circumstances did not justify a criminal proceeding.

The file conveyed to B’Tselem showed that the policeman suspected of the attack was interrogated under caution by the PIU. The suspect identified himself by name on the video and confirmed that he had used pepper spray against the complainant, but alleged that he did so in a reasonable manner.

Apart from the testimonies of the complainant and the suspect, no further testimony was collected in the case. The investigation included a report based on viewing the video of the incident, and the PIU obtained the incident report and an operational report on the mission, but no further investigatory action was taken. At the conclusion of the investigation, the PIU notified the policeman suspected of the attack that after weighing the evidence, no criminal charges would be brought against him and the case would be closed. Contrary to the explanation provided in the notification to the complainant, the PIU notification to the suspect stated that the decision was taken due to insufficient public interest in the case.

On 3 May 2012, Attorney Gabi Lasky on behalf of B’Tselem appealed to the State Attorney against the PIU decision regarding this incident. Lasky stated in the appeal that given the visual documentation of the circumstances of the incident and considering the other evidence in the file, there can be no dispute that the suspect had no legal authority to use force against the complainant and that the use of pepper spray against the complainant was done in total contravention of the applicable police regulations. Lasky also alleged that the PIU decision to close the case due to a lack of public interest, as the suspect policeman was told, is completely unreasonable from a moral and legal standpoint, it harms the rule of law and the public interest in preventing crime, and undermines public trust in the law enforcement system. Attorney Lasky called on the State Attorney to revoke the PIU decision and order that the suspect brought to trial.

Appeal against the decision to close the case regarding an attack on a minor by Israel Police officers at Ras al-’Amud on 23 September 2011:

On 6 October 2011, H.J., a 17-year-old resident of Ras al-’Amud, submitted a complaint to the Police Investigations Unit about an attack by policemen. His testimony to the PIU revealed that on 23 September 2011, when there were clashes between the police and a group of Palestinian youths in the Ras al-’Amud neighborhood, the complainant happened to be in the area and was treated violently by the police. As a result, he was bruised and his ankle was fractured in two places. Furthermore, despite his severe injuries, H.J. was not taken for immediate treatment at a hospital, but rather was taken first by police ambulance to the Russian Compound, and only thereafter evacuated by a Magen David ambulance to Hadassah Hospital-Mt. Scopus.

ח.ג'. והשוטרים בעת האירוע, כפי שתועדו במצלמתו של סלימאן ח'דר, 23.9.11.
H.J. and the police officers during the incident. Photo: Sliman Khader, 23 Sept. 2011

In addition to the detailed complaint H.J. provided of the violent attack against him and the fact that the police ignored his broken ankle, H.J. also gave the PIU pictures in which the policemen involved in the attack are visible, and he provided contact information for two eyewitnesses to the incident. B’Tselem investigated this incident and assisted H.J. submit the complaint to the PIU. B’Tselem also gave the PIU additional photographs and the documentation of H.J.’s medical treatment after the incident, and monitored the handling of the complaint.

On 2 January 2012, a notice was sent to H.J. from the PIU stating that after examining his complaint and reading the material about the incident that the PIU had collected, a decision was made that the circumstances do not warrant opening a criminal investigation. A copy of this letter of notification remained in the PIU case file, but the letter itself never reached the family or the attorney representing the complainant in his suit for civil damages. B’Tselem only learned of the PIU decision not to open an investigation into the incident following receipt of the PIU response to a B’Tselem request for a routine update on several cases, on 13 March 2012.

Review of the investigation file conveyed to B’Tselem showed that the PIU made do with a superficial inquiry into the complaint before deciding not to open an investigation. B’Tselem passed the case on to the Association for Civil Rights (ACRI) in Israel for further handling. On 8 May 2012, Attorney Michal Pomerantz of ACRI submitted an appeal to the State Attorney against the PIU’s decision. Pomerantz argued that the handling of the case was inadequate and that additional investigatory steps could have been taken to cast light on what happened. Despite the fact that the complainant had given the PIU contact information for eyewitnesses to the incident, no attempt was made to summon these individuals for questioning. Likewise, the PIU made do with internal reports provided by the policemen on the day of the incident and did not conduct any clarification with them after the complaint was submitted.

Attorney Pomerantz called on the State Attorney to instruct the PIU to open a criminal investigation into the incident, which should include questioning the suspects and taking testimony from eyewitnesses such as other policemen present at the incident and the individuals whose names were given to the PIU by the complainant or other witnesses whose testimony could shed light on the circumstances of the incident.